DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema US 4756547 A in view of Weldy US 4353567 A.
Regarding independent claim 1, Trema discloses [a front suspension system for a vehicle having a frame 38 and a front wheel 1,] (Fig. 4, Col. 7, lines 14-41) comprising:
[the frame 38;] (Fig. 4, Col. 7, lines 14-41)
[the front wheel having a wheel hub;] (Fig. 1-2 and 4)
[a steering knuckle 3 disposed on the wheel hub of the front wheel;] (Fig. 1-2 and 4; Col. 4, lines 41-68)
[a lower control arm 20 having a first end disposed on the frame and a second end disposed on the wheel hub;] (Fig. 4; Col. 7, lines 14-41)
[a steering arm 3a affixed to the steering knuckle;] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Weldy illustrates wherein the steering arm 3a is connected to the steering knuckle 3.)
[a steering linkage 22, 29 connected to the steering arm.] (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 7, lines 42-56)
Trema does not disclose a three-wheeled vehicle; wherein the front suspension system is configured to enable the three-wheeled vehicle to transition between an upright posture and a turning posture, the turning posture characterized by the front wheel leaning in a direction of a turn.
Weldy teaches [a three-wheeled vehicle 12;] (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 28-35) [wherein the front suspension system is configured to enable the three-wheeled vehicle to transition between an upright posture and a turning posture, the turning posture characterized by the front wheel leaning in a direction of a turn;] (Fig. 3-8; Col. 3, lines 3-19) [a steering knuckle comprising a lower portion disposed substantially parallel to the front wheel.] (Fig. 2; Col. 2, lines 37-55; As shown in Fig. 2, Weldy illustrates wherein the steering knuckle 28 comprising a lower portion disposed substantially parallel to the front wheel 10.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the leaning three-wheeled vehicle configuration of Weldy with the front suspension system of Trema with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the front suspension system to be incorporated into a leaning three-wheeled vehicle, thus improving vehicle stability and maneuverability during turning.
Regarding claim 2, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the steering knuckle 3 is hook-shaped, comprising a top portion that extends upward and over the front wheel 1,] (Fig. 1-2 and 4; Col. 4, lines 41-68) and the steering knuckle lower portion recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the lower portion of the steering knuckle 3 is disposed on the wheel hub.] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Trema illustrates wherein the lower portion of the steering knuckle 3 is disposed on the wheel hub.)
Regarding claim 5, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the first end of the lower control arm 20 is connected to the frame 38 using pivot joints or bushings.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the first end of the lower control arm 20 is connected to the frame 38 using pivot joints or bushings.)
Regarding claim 10, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the steering linkage 22, 29 includes a top side and a bottom side, and the bottom side of the steering arm 3a is affixed to the steering knuckle 3.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the steering linkage 22, 29 includes a top side and a bottom side, and the bottom side of the steering arm 3a is affixed to the steering knuckle 3.)
Regarding claim 11, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [an upper control arm 44, wherein the steering arm 3a includes a projection at a distal end that is received by the upper control arm.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates an upper control arm 44, wherein the steering arm 3a includes a projection at a distal end that is received by the upper control arm.)
Regarding claim 13, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the steering linkage 22, 29 comprises a lower steering link 29 and an upper steering link 22.] (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 5, lines 11-35)
Regarding claim 14, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the lower steering link 29 includes an extension that is affixed to the steering arm 3a.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the lower steering link 29 includes an extension that is affixed to the steering arm 3a.)
Regarding claim 15, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the lower steering link 29 is hingedly attached to the extension of the steering arm 3a.] (Fig. 4; Col. 7, lines 42-56)
Regarding claim 16, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the upper steering link 22 is connected to the lower steering link 29 via a bearing 27 that allows for multiaxial rotation of the upper steering link.] (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 8, lines 29-46)
Regarding claim 19, Trema, as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [a steering column 43 in communication with the steering linkage 22, 29.] (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 64-68; Col. 7, lines 1-13)
Claims 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema in view of Weldy and further in view of Thiers US 20080202827 A1
Regarding claim 4, Trema, as modified, further discloses [wherein the lower control arm 20 is disposed on only one side of the front wheel 1.] (Fig. 2 of Trema; As shown in Fig. 2, Trema illustrates wherein the lower control arm 20 is disposed on only one side of the front wheel 1.)
Trema, as modified, does not disclose wherein the lower control arm is generally L-shaped.
Thiers teaches [wherein the lower control arm is generally L-shaped.] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the lower control arm 72 is generally L-shaped.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the L-shaped lower control arm of Thiers with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the lower control arm to provide packaging clearance and accommodate the suspension geometry while supporting the wheel hub, thus improving integration of the suspension components without altering the intended operation of the front suspension system.
Regarding claim 8, Trema, as modified, further discloses [a dampening system 9.] [Fig. 1-4; Col. 4, lines 41-68)
Trema, as modified, does not disclose the dampening system being communication with the lower control arm.
Thiers teaches wherein [the dampening system 68 is in communication with the lower control arm;] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0093; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the dampening system 68 is in direct communication with the lower control arm 72.) [wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element 68 disposed between the lower control arm and the frame.] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0093; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element 68 disposed between the lower control arm 72 and the frame.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the dampening system arrangement of Thiers with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for damping forces to act directly through the lower control arm to absorb shock and vibrations, thus improving ride comfort, suspension performance, and vehicle stability.
Regarding claim 9, Trema, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the dampening element arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema in view of Weldy and further in view of Klindworth DE 19823002 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Trema, as modified, does not disclose a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable.
Klindworth teaches [a connection element 96 between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable;] (Fig. 1-2; Page 5, lines 3-13; Klindworth discloses a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle in the form of the actuating rod 96, which establishes the connection between the steering knuckle 16 and the lower control arm 24. Klindworth further discloses that the actuating rod 96 includes multi-joints 100 having several degrees of freed, thus permitting relative lateral movement between the steering knuckle and the lower control arm during steering and suspension articulation.) [wherein the connection element includes a bearing or joint 100 to facilitate movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle.] (Fig. 1-2; Page 5, lines 3-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the laterally movable connection element of Klindworth with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for relative movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle during steering and suspension articulation while maintaining the mechanical connection, thus improving suspension compliance and steering performance over differing operating conditions.
Regarding claim 7, Trema, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the connection element joint recited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema in view of Weldy and further in view of Boulton US 10336399 B2.
Regarding claim 12, Trema, as modified, further discloses [wherein the upper control arm 44 is connected to the frame 38 at a proximal end and to the steering arm 3a at the distal end.] (Fig. 4 of Trema; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the upper control arm 44 is connected to the frame 38 at a proximal end and to the steering arm 3a at the distal end.)
Trema, as modified, does not disclose wherein the upper control arm is A-shaped.
Bouton teaches [wherein the upper control arm is A-shaped.] (Fig. 2-3; Col. 7, lines 61-67; Col. 8, lines 1-4; As shown in Fig. 2-3, Bouton illustrates wherein the upper control arm 140 is A-shaped.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the A-shaped upper control arm of Boulton with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for increased structural integrity and improved distribution of suspension loads while maintaining proper wheel alignment throughout suspension, thus improving the strength and stability of the front suspension system.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema in view of Weldy and further in view of Ishii et al. CN 103895785 B (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Trema, as modified, does not disclose a steering fork in communication with the steering linkage.
Ishii et al. teaches [a steering fork 68 in communication with the steering linkage;] (Fig. 4; Page 7, lines 17-22) [wherein the steering fork is generally C-shaped and receives an end of the upper steering link at an open end of the steering fork.] (Fig. 4; Page 7, lines 17-29; Ishii et al. illustrates in Fig. 4 wherein the steering fork 68 is generally C-shaped. Ishii et al. further discloses that the steering fork 68 receives an end 1 of an upper link 71 at an open end of the steering fork.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the C-shaped steering fork configuration of Ishii et al. with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the upper steering link to be securely coupled to the steering linkage while accommodating the required steering movement and articulation, thus improving steering force transmission and maintaining reliable steering operation.
Regarding claim 18, Trema, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the steering fork configuration recited in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trema in view of Weldy, Thiers, Klindworth, and Ishii et al.
Regarding independent claim 20, Trema discloses [a front suspension system for a vehicle having a frame 38 and a front wheel 1,] (Fig. 4, Col. 7, lines 14-41) comprising:
[the frame 38;] (Fig. 4, Col. 7, lines 14-41)
[the front wheel having a wheel hub;] (Fig. 1-2 and 4)
[a hook-shaped steering knuckle 3 disposed on the wheel hub of the front wheel;] (Fig. 1-2 and 4; Col. 4, lines 41-68)
[the steering knuckle comprising a top portion that extends upward and over the front wheel,] (Fig. 1-2 and 4; Col. 4, lines 41-68)
[a lower control arm 20 having a first end disposed on the frame and a second end disposed on the wheel hub,] (Fig. 4; Col. 7, lines 14-41)
[wherein the lower control arm is disposed on only one side of the front wheel;] (Fig. 2 of Trema; As shown in Fig. 2, Trema illustrates wherein the lower control arm 20 is disposed on only one side of the front wheel 1.)
[a steering arm 3a affixed to the steering knuckle,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the steering arm 3a is connected to the steering knuckle 3.)
[the steering arm having a top side and a bottom side,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the steering arm 3a has a top side and a bottom side.)
[wherein the bottom side of the steering arm is affixed to the steering knuckle;] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the bottom side of the steering arm 3a is affixed to the steering knuckle 3.)
[an upper control arm 44 is connected to the frame 38 at a proximal end,] (Fig. 4 of Trema; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the upper control arm 44 is connected to the frame 38 at a proximal end and.)
[wherein the steering arm 3a includes a projection at a distal end that is received by the upper control arm;] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates an upper control arm 44, wherein the steering arm 3a includes a projection at a distal end that is received by the upper control arm.)
[a steering linkage 22, 29 connected to the steering arm,] (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 7, lines 42-56)
[the steering linkage including a lower steering link 29 including an extension that is affixed to the steering arm 3a,] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Trema illustrates wherein the lower steering link 29 includes an extension that is affixed to the steering arm 3a.)
[wherein the lower steering link 29 is hingedly attached to the extension of the steering arm 3a,] (Fig. 4; Col. 7, lines 42-56)
[an upper steering link 22 is connected to the lower steering link 29 via a bearing 27 that allows for multiaxial rotation of the upper steering link;] (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 8, lines 29-46)
[a steering column 43 in communication with the steering linkage 22, 29.] (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 64-68; Col. 7, lines 1-13)
Trema does not disclose a three-wheeled vehicle; wherein the front suspension system is configured to enable the three-wheeled vehicle to transition between an upright posture and a turning posture, the turning posture characterized by the front wheel leaning in a direction of a turn; and the steering knuckle having a lower portion disposed substantially parallel to the front wheel; wherein the lower control arm is generally L-shaped; a dampening system in communication with the lower control arm, wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element disposed between the lower control arm and the frame; a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable and includes a bearing or joint to facilitate movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle; a C-shaped steering fork in communication with the steering linkage, wherein the steering fork receives an end of the upper link at an open end of the steering fork.
Weldy teaches [a three-wheeled vehicle 12;] (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 28-35) [wherein the front suspension system is configured to enable the three-wheeled vehicle to transition between an upright posture and a turning posture, the turning posture characterized by the front wheel leaning in a direction of a turn;] (Fig. 3-8; Col. 3, lines 3-19) [a steering knuckle comprising a lower portion disposed substantially parallel to the front wheel.] (Fig. 2; Col. 2, lines 37-55; As shown in Fig. 2, Weldy illustrates wherein the steering knuckle 28 comprising a lower portion disposed substantially parallel to the front wheel 10.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the leaning three-wheeled vehicle configuration of Weldy with the front suspension system of Trema with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the front suspension system to be incorporated into a leaning three-wheeled vehicle, thus improving vehicle stability and maneuverability during turning.
Trema, as modified, does not disclose wherein the lower control arm is generally L-shaped; a dampening system in communication with the lower control arm, wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element disposed between the lower control arm and the frame; a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable and includes a bearing or joint to facilitate movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle; a C-shaped steering fork in communication with the steering linkage, wherein the steering fork receives an end of the upper link at an open end of the steering fork.
Thiers teaches [wherein the lower control arm is generally L-shaped; ] (Fig. 2; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the lower control arm 72 is generally L-shaped.) [wherein [the dampening system 68 is in communication with the lower control arm;] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0093; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the dampening system 68 is in direct communication with the lower control arm 72.) [wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element 68 disposed between the lower control arm and the frame.] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0093; As shown in Fig. 2, Thiers illustrates wherein the dampening system includes a dampening element 68 disposed between the lower control arm 72 and the frame.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the L-shaped lower control arm of Thiers with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the lower control arm to provide packaging clearance and accommodate the suspension geometry while supporting the wheel hub, thus improving integration of the suspension components without altering the intended operation of the front suspension system. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the dampening system arrangement of Thiers with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for damping forces to act directly through the lower control arm to absorb shock and vibrations, thus improving ride comfort, suspension performance, and vehicle stability.
Trema, as modified, does not disclose a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable and includes a bearing or joint to facilitate movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle; a C-shaped steering fork in communication with the steering linkage, wherein the steering fork receives an end of the upper link at an open end of the steering fork.
Klindworth teaches [a connection element 96 between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle, wherein the connection element is configured to be laterally movable;] (Fig. 1-2; Page 5, lines 3-13; Klindworth discloses a connection element between the second end of the lower control arm and the steering knuckle in the form of the actuating rod 96, which establishes the connection between the steering knuckle 16 and the lower control arm 24. Klindworth further discloses that the actuating rod 96 includes multi-joints 100 having several degrees of freed, thus permitting relative lateral movement between the steering knuckle and the lower control arm during steering and suspension articulation.) [wherein the connection element includes a bearing or joint 100 to facilitate movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle.] (Fig. 1-2; Page 5, lines 3-13)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the laterally movable connection element of Klindworth with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for relative movement between the lower control arm and the steering knuckle during steering and suspension articulation while maintaining the mechanical connection, thus improving suspension compliance and steering performance over differing operating conditions.
Trema, as modified, does not disclose a C-shaped steering fork in communication with the steering linkage, wherein the steering fork receives an end of the upper link at an open end of the steering fork.
Ishii et al. teaches [a steering fork 68 in communication with the steering linkage;] (Fig. 4; Page 7, lines 17-22) [wherein the steering fork is generally C-shaped and receives an end of the upper steering link at an open end of the steering fork.] (Fig. 4; Page 7, lines 17-29; Ishii et al. illustrates in Fig. 4 wherein the steering fork 68 is generally C-shaped. Ishii et al. further discloses that the steering fork 68 receives an end 1 of an upper link 71 at an open end of the steering fork.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the C-shaped steering fork configuration of Ishii et al. with the front suspension system of Trema, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the upper steering link to be securely coupled to the steering linkage while accommodating the required steering movement and articulation, thus improving steering force transmission and maintaining reliable steering operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen US 8162342 B2 – comprises a shock-absorbing suspension device including a mounting rod adapted to be mounted on a frame of a wheeled vehicle, a wheel rod adapted to be mounted on a wheel axle to transmit a shock force generated as a result of movement of the vehicle over an uneven road surface, a counteracting member pivotally mounted on the wheel rod, upper and lower linking bars connected to the mounting rod and the counteracting member to form a four-bar linkage mechanism so as to dampen the shock force, and first and second arms pivotally connected to each other and respectively connected to the wheel rod and the mounting rod so as to stabilize movement of the mounting rod in an upright direction.
Parker US 4526249 A – comprises a suspension system for the front wheel of a motorcycle. A pair of upper and lower control arms extend forwardly from the body of the motorcycle and are attached by universally pivotable ball joints to a kingpin which extends along one side of the front wheel. The front wheel includes an offset hub and is journalled in a cantilevered arrangement to a bearing assembly which is affixed to the lower end of the kingpin and which is positioned at the center of the wheel. The control arms are hinged to the body and are appropriately sprung and damped so that the kingpin and front wheel swing vertically in suspension travel with respect to the body in response to weight and shock loads on the front wheel. The kingpin is connected to a handlebar assembly by means of a telescopic splined steering column. A variety of springing and damping mechanisms may be adapted to the suspension system.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611