DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendments filed on 05/28/2026.
In the application claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of the independent claims 1, 9, and 18 were fully considered; however, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, that prior art “Freiburger does not disclose determining whether a current switch setting corresponds to an actual state of a newly assigned second system following reassignment of control. Freiburger likewise does not disclose preventing operation of the second system until an actual system state matches a switch-indicated control state… Zhu does not disclose or suggest reassignment of a switch from controlling one system to controlling another system1. Nor does Zhu disclose determining whether a reassigned switch position corresponds to an actual operating state of a newly controlled second system. Zhu's monitoring of unsafe laser operating conditions is fundamentally different from the claimed comparison between (i) a current switch control state following reassignment and (ii) an actual state of the second system. Even if Freiburger and Zhu were combined, the resulting combination would merely provide a remappable switch assembly with generic operational inhibition based on unsafe operating conditions. The combination still would not teach or suggest the claimed synchronization logic in which control of a second system is prevented until the actual state of that second system matches the control state indicated by the reassigned switch.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Freiburger teaches reassignment of the claimed switch setting, “the mode control switch 90 actuated in the first position A patrol mode, mode A operates the CAN bus switch mapping in a first mode in which the switches and switch positions operate a first set of allocated functions which may include those mode A functions shown in block 92. While operating in mode A, switch 1 position 1 (S1, P1) controls the radar,… when the mode control switch 90 is actuated in position B, mode B labeled lights and siren, provides functions in the CAN bus switch mapping 2 mode shown in block 94. While operation in mode B, switch 1 position 1 (S1, P1) controls the code 3 lights which include all lights on” See ¶ 0040. Freiburger also teaches to determine that the switch setting between two states is set to a control state of the second system, i.e. lights, after the mode is changed, i.e. claimed reassignment, to mode B. Freiburger teaches, “the mode control switch 90 allows a user to select two different modes of the switch assembly such that additional functionality may be achieved with the switches by designating a desired mode of operation. It should further be appreciated that the mode control switch 90 may include more than two positions, such that additional functions may be controlled with the switch assembly.” See ¶ 0040.
With respect to, determine that a switch setting between two states is set to a control state different from an actual state of the second system, Zhu teaches, “[a]pparatus and methods are provided for guarding against unintended exposure to light from a light-emitting device used to direct light to a subject for detection by a light detector. A sensor signal indicative of light detected by the light detector is sampled.” See abstract. Zhu teaches, “Power switch 44 may incorporate a lever, a push button, a toggle, a rocker switch or any suitable mechanism which switches power on and off, and engages with guard 42 to prevent unintended exposure of light emerging from ports 23.” See ¶ 0038. Zhu teaches, “mechanical interlock that prevents operation of a switch that must be switched on to supply power to at least the part of the apparatus that powers light emitters 20; An electronic circuit 70 that monitors at least electrical current being supplied to light emitters 20 and shuts off the current supplied to light emitters 20 if the electronic circuit detects that one or more of light emitters 20 is operating in a continuous wave mode (or in a mode that does not match a pattern being monitored for by the circuit);” See ¶ 0068-0071. Zhu checks to makes sure that the light emitters 20 is set in the proper position, by “User controls 59 indicates that a user wishes to operate the apparatus in a mode that requires light emitters 20 to be operational” – This is equivalent to the claimed “a switch setting between two states,” – “The signal output from light detector 14 correlates with the operation of light emitters 20 (i.e. light detector 14 is detecting signals when one or more of light emitters 20 is emitting light… if light emitters 20 are intended to operate in a pulsed mode, this condition may require one or more of: the outputs of light detectors 55 have a corresponding pulsed waveform; at least a certain fraction of samples of the outputs of light detectors 55 is less than a threshold” This is equivalent to the claimed, determine that setting between two states is set to a control state different from an actual state, See ¶ 0049-0056. Zhu teaches, “for each value of the sampled signal detected at light detector 14, a flag may be set corresponding to certain conditions (e.g. the sampled signal value is higher or lower than a threshold, and emitted light is or is not expected at the time of sampling).” See ¶ 0079, if that is the case Zhu would know that settings do not correspond to an expected value. Zhu teaches, “method 80 compares the sampled signal value to a threshold (the threshold is selected to be indicative of a signal level that could correspond to a valid detected pulse).” See ¶ 0073, Zhu teaches, “If block 83 determines that the sampled signal has a value exceeding the threshold then method 80 proceeds to block 89.” See ¶ 0076, Zhu teaches, “…In the event of a NO decision at block 89 (indicating that light emitters 20 could be emitting light when they are not intended to be on) method 80 proceeds to block 91 which inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and block 92 which generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.” See ¶ 0076. Therefore, Zhu’s system knows the operating mode, knows the states of the user control, determine whether the user control/switch is in expected operational condition or not, and when they are not intended to be on, inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.
With respect to, prevent control of the second system via the upfitter switch until the actual state of the second system matches the control state, Zhu teaches, “light-emitting apparatus has multiple redundant systems for preventing damaging exposure to light including two or more of, and preferably all three of: A mechanical interlock that prevents operation of a switch that must be switched on to supply power to at least the part of the apparatus that powers light emitters 20; An electronic circuit 70 that monitors at least electrical current being supplied to light emitters 20 and shuts off the current supplied to light emitters 20 if the electronic circuit detects that one or more of light emitters 20 is operating in a continuous wave mode (or in a mode that does not match a pattern being monitored for by the circuit); and, A data processor that monitors one or more inputs and inhibits the operation of light emitters 20 by way of an interface 54 if any of the conditions fails to be satisfied.” See ¶ 0068-0071. Zhu further teaches, Zhu teaches, “If block 83 determines that the sampled signal has a value exceeding the threshold then method 80 proceeds to block 89.” See ¶ 0076, Zhu teaches, “…In the event of a NO decision at block 89 (indicating that light emitters 20 could be emitting light when they are not intended to be on) method 80 proceeds to block 91 which inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and block 92 which generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.” See ¶ 0076. Therefore, Zhu teaches, to determine whether the switch is in expected operational condition or not, and when they are not intended to be on inhibits operation of light emitters 20, i.e. prevent control of the second system, until the expected operation is output, and until the expected operation for the particular mode is recognized by Zhu’s system.
Applicant further argues, “[t]he Office Action does not identify any teaching or suggestion in the cited references indicating that Freiburger suffers from a problem involving mismatch between a reassigned switch-indicated control state and an actual state of a newly controlled second system. Nor does the Office Action explain why one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Freiburger to include the claimed state-synchronization logic… here is nothing in Zhu suggesting that Freiburger suffers from a deficiency in which reassignment of switch control could improperly operate a second system due to a mismatch between a current switch-indicated control state and an actual state of the second system. Accordingly, the purported rationale for combining Zhu with Freiburger is unsupported by the cited references. Nor do the references explain how Zhu's inhibition logic would function in the context of Freiburger. Neither reference discloses monitoring whether a reassigned switch state corresponds to an actual state of a newly controlled second system, or enabling operation only after such correspondence exists. Absent such functionality, the cited combination cannot teach or suggest ‘preventing control of the second system via the upfitter switch until the actual state of the second system matches the control state,’ as recited.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Freiburger and a system that can identify whether the current out is an expected output and the system notifies the user the status with a message, inhibits operation of light emitters 20. It would behoove Freiburger to looking in to other light emitting system that can identify whether the current out is an expected output and where the system can further notify the user the status of the state with a message, inhibits operation of light emitters 20 when detected state of the output does not correspond to expected output for the particular mode. This modification would not change the principal operation of Freiburger nor render it inoperable yet allow Freiburger system to identify whether the current out is an expected output and inhibits operation of light emitters when detected state of the output does not correspond to expected output for the particular mode, as suggested by Zhu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freiburger (US 2011/0220469 A1), and further in view of Zhu (US 2010/0127627 A1).
Consider claim 9, Freiburger teaches, a system Freiburger teaches, “vehicle user controls, and more particularly relates to switch assemblies that provide outputs configurable by user defined functions (e.g., lights, sirens, radio, etc.).” See ¶ 0002, comprising:
a processor, Freiburger teaches, “the translation module 24 includes control circuitry, shown as a controller 30 having a microprocessor 32 and memory 34… Stored within memory 34 and executable by microprocessor 32 is a switch command processing routine 100 and one or more user defined vehicle functions 200.” See ¶ 0030 configured to:
reassign control of an upfitter switch from a first system to a second system, responsive to occurrence of a vehicle-detectable trigger event, Freiburger teaches, “[w]ith the mode control switch 90 actuated in the first position A patrol mode, mode A operates the CAN bus switch mapping in a first mode in which the switches and switch positions operate a first set of allocated functions which may include those mode A functions shown in block 92. While operating in mode A, switch 1 position 1 (S1, P1) controls the radar, switch 1 position 2 (S1, P2) controls the digital video camera, switch 2 position 1 (S2, P1) controls the police radio, and switch 2 position 2 (S2, P2) controls the public announcement speaker. In contrast, when the mode control switch 90 is actuated in position B, mode B labeled lights and siren, provides functions in the CAN bus switch mapping 2 mode shown in block 94. While operation in mode B, switch 1 position 1 (S1, P1) controls the code 3 lights which include all lights on, switch 1 position 2 (S1, P2) controls the code 2 lights which include all rear lights, switch 2 position 1 (S2, P1) controls the code 1 lights which include the front lights, and the switch 2 position 2 (S2, P2) controls the takedown lights which typically include the center lights on the light bar of an emergency vehicle” See ¶ 0040;
With respect to, determine that a current upfitter switch setting between at least two states is set to a control state [[different from an actual state]] of the second system, following the reassigning, Freiburger teaches, “the mode control switch 90 allows a user to select two different modes of the switch assembly such that additional functionality may be achieved with the switches by designating a desired mode of operation. It should further be appreciated that the mode control switch 90 may include more than two positions, such that additional functions may be controlled with the switch assembly.” See ¶ 0040,
With respect to, determine that a switch setting between at least two states is set to a control state different from an actual state of the second system, in an analogous art, Zhu teaches, “[a]pparatus and methods are provided for guarding against unintended exposure to light from a light-emitting device used to direct light to a subject for detection by a light detector. A sensor signal indicative of light detected by the light detector is sampled.” See abstract. Zhu teaches, “Power switch 44 may incorporate a lever, a push button, a toggle, a rocker switch or any suitable mechanism which switches power on and off, and engages with guard 42 to prevent unintended exposure of light emerging from ports 23.” See ¶ 0038. Zhu teaches, “mechanical interlock that prevents operation of a switch that must be switched on to supply power to at least the part of the apparatus that powers light emitters 20; An electronic circuit 70 that monitors at least electrical current being supplied to light emitters 20 and shuts off the current supplied to light emitters 20 if the electronic circuit detects that one or more of light emitters 20 is operating in a continuous wave mode (or in a mode that does not match a pattern being monitored for by the circuit);” See ¶ 0068-0071. Zhu checks to makes sure that the light emitters 20 is set in the proper position, by “User controls 59 indicates that a user wishes to operate the apparatus in a mode that requires light emitters 20 to be operational” – This is equivalent to the claimed “a switch setting between two states,” – “The signal output from light detector 14 correlates with the operation of light emitters 20 (i.e. light detector 14 is detecting signals when one or more of light emitters 20 is emitting light… if light emitters 20 are intended to operate in a pulsed mode, this condition may require one or more of: the outputs of light detectors 55 have a corresponding pulsed waveform; at least a certain fraction of samples of the outputs of light detectors 55 is less than a threshold” This is equivalent to the claimed, determine that setting between two states is set to a control state different from an actual state, See ¶ 0049-0056. “for each value of the sampled signal detected at light detector 14, a flag may be set corresponding to certain conditions (e.g. the sampled signal value is higher or lower than a threshold, and emitted light is or is not expected at the time of sampling).” See ¶ 0079, if that is the case Zhu would know that settings do not correspond to an expected value. Zhu teaches, “method 80 compares the sampled signal value to a threshold (the threshold is selected to be indicative of a signal level that could correspond to a valid detected pulse).” See ¶ 0073, Zhu teaches, “If block 83 determines that the sampled signal has a value exceeding the threshold then method 80 proceeds to block 89.” See ¶ 0076, Zhu teaches, “…In the event of a NO decision at block 89 (indicating that light emitters 20 could be emitting light when they are not intended to be on) method 80 proceeds to block 91 which inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and block 92 which generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.” See ¶ 0076. Therefore, Zhu’s system knows the operating mode, knows the states of the user control, determine whether the user control/switch is in expected operational condition or not, and when they are not intended to be on, inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.
With respect to, prevent control of the second system via the upfitter switch until the actual state of the second system matches the control state, Zhu teaches, “light-emitting apparatus has multiple redundant systems for preventing damaging exposure to light including two or more of, and preferably all three of: A mechanical interlock that prevents operation of a switch that must be switched on to supply power to at least the part of the apparatus that powers light emitters 20; An electronic circuit 70 that monitors at least electrical current being supplied to light emitters 20 and shuts off the current supplied to light emitters 20 if the electronic circuit detects that one or more of light emitters 20 is operating in a continuous wave mode (or in a mode that does not match a pattern being monitored for by the circuit); and, A data processor that monitors one or more inputs and inhibits the operation of light emitters 20 by way of an interface 54 if any of the conditions fails to be satisfied.” See ¶ 0068-0071. Zhu further teaches, Zhu teaches, “If block 83 determines that the sampled signal has a value exceeding the threshold then method 80 proceeds to block 89.” See ¶ 0076, Zhu teaches, “…In the event of a NO decision at block 89 (indicating that light emitters 20 could be emitting light when they are not intended to be on) method 80 proceeds to block 91 which inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and block 92 which generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.” See ¶ 0076. Therefore, Zhu teaches, to determine whether the switch is in expected operational condition or not, and when they are not intended to be on inhibits operation of light emitters 20, i.e. prevent control of the second system, until the expected operation is output, and until the expected operation for the particular mode is recognized by Zhu’s system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the invention of Freiburger and a system that can identify whether the current out is an expected output and the system notifies the user the status with a message, inhibits operation of light emitters 20. It would behoove Freiburger to looking in to other light emitting system that can identify whether the current out is an expected output and where the system can further notify the user the status of the state with a message, inhibits operation of light emitters 20 when detected state of the output does not correspond to expected output for the particular mode. This modification would not change the principal operation of Freiburger nor render it inoperable yet allow Freiburger system to identify whether the current out is an expected output and inhibits operation of light emitters when detected state of the output does not correspond to expected output for the particular mode, as suggested by Zhu, where “apparatus has multiple redundant systems for preventing” unexpected output “in an operating mode that does not match a pattern being monitored for by the circuit” as suggested by Zhu, See ¶ 0068-0071, in an effort to prevent the user from being in a “dangerous” See ¶ 0005, situation.
Consider claim 1, a method comprising:
reassigning control of an upfitter switch from a first system to a second system, responsive to occurrence of a vehicle-detectable trigger event;
determining that a current upfitter switch setting between at least two states is set to a control state different from an actual state of the second system, following the reassigning; and
preventing control of the second system via the upfitter switch until the actual state of the second system matches the control state, See rejection of claim 9.
Consider claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein the control state is set to any other state other than an off state and the actual state is off, and wherein the preventing ceases at least responsive to toggle of the upfitter switch control state to off, Freiburger teaches, “mode control switch 90 has a first position A, which in one example is designated as a patrol mode, and a second position B, which in this example is designated as lights and siren. With the mode control switch 90 actuated in the first position A patrol mode, mode A operates the CAN bus switch mapping in a first mode in which the switches and switch positions operate a first set of allocated functions which may include those mode A functions shown in block 92.” See ¶ 0040.
Consider claim 3, the method of claim 1, further comprising issuing an in-vehicle alert responsive to determining that the control state and actual state do not match, Zhu teaches, “In the event of a YES decision at block 84 (indicating that a pulse was not detected but ought to have been detected) method 80 proceeds to block 85 which inhibits operation of light emitters 20 and block 86 which generates a message (such as a display, warning light, sound, etc.) indicating to users what has occurred.” See ¶ 0075, 0077, 0086, 0088.
Consider claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein the method further includes presenting a plurality of second systems for selection and wherein the second system is a system indicated by selection of one of the plurality of second systems, Freiburger teaches, “the mode control switch 90 is a separate switch located on the vehicle 10, such as on the dash or on the steering wheel or at another location that is within reach of the user, to control a plurality of modes of the switch assembly… when the mode control switch 90 is actuated in position B, mode B labeled lights and siren, provides functions in the CAN bus switch mapping 2 mode shown in block 94. While operation in mode B, switch 1 position 1 (S1, P1) controls the code 3 lights which include all lights on, switch 1 position 2 (S1, P2) controls the code 2 lights which include all rear lights, switch 2 position 1 (S2, P1) controls the code 1 lights which include the front lights, and the switch 2 position 2 (S2, P2) controls the takedown lights which typically include the center lights on the light bar of an emergency vehicle.” See ¶ 0040.
Consider claim 5, the method of claim 4, wherein the presenting includes presenting via an in-vehicle display. Examiner takes Official notice that it is well known in the prior art to present the warning for the driver at an in-vehicle display.
Consider claim 6, the method of claim 4, wherein the presenting includes presenting via a mobile device display. Examiner takes Official notice that it is well known in the prior art to present the warning for the driver via a mobile device display.
Consider claim 10, the system of claim 9, wherein the control state is set to any other state other than an off state and the actual state is off, and wherein the processor is configured to cease the prevention at least responsive to toggle of the upfitter switch control state to off, See rejection of claim 2.
Consider claim 11, the system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to issue an in-vehicle alert responsive to determining that the control state and actual state do not match, See rejection of claim 3.
Consider claim 12, the system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to present a plurality of second systems for selection and wherein the second system is a system indicated by selection of one of the plurality of second systems, See rejection of claim 4.
Consider claim 13, the system of claim 12, wherein the presentation includes presentation via an in-vehicle display, See rejection of claim 5.
Consider claim 14, the system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to instruct presentation of a plurality of second systems for selection and wherein the second system is a system indicated by selection of one of the plurality of second systems, See rejection of claim 4. Examiner takes Official notice it is well known in the prior art for the vehicle to instruct presentation of systems for selection.
Consider claim 15, the system of claim 14, wherein the presentation occurs via a mobile device, See rejection of claim 6.
Consider claim 18, a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, (Freiburger teaches, “the translation module 24 includes control circuitry, shown as a controller 30 having a microprocessor 32 and memory 34. The controller 30 may otherwise be configured to include other analog and/or digital circuitry for processing and storing various routines and data. Memory 34 may include random access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), electronically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), or other known electronic storage medium. Stored within memory 34 and executable by microprocessor 32 is a switch command processing routine 100 and one or more user defined vehicle functions 200.” See ¶ 0030 ) cause the processor to perform a method comprising: reassigning control of an upfitter switch from a first system to a second system, responsive to occurrence of a vehicle-detectable trigger event; determining that a current upfitter switch setting between at least two states is set to a control state different from an actual state of the second system, following the reassigning; and preventing control of the second system via the upfitter switch until the actual state of the second system matches the control state, See rejection of claim 1.
Consider claim 19, the storage medium of claim 18, wherein the control state is set to any other state other than an off state and the actual state is off, and wherein the preventing ceases at least responsive to toggle of the upfitter switch control state to off, See rejection of claim 2.
Consider claim 20, the storage medium of claim 18, the method further comprising issuing an in-vehicle alert responsive to determining that the control state and actual state do not match, See rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 7-8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freiburger (US 2011/0220469 A1), in view of Zhu (US 2010/0127627 A1), and further in view Seki (US 2018/0057006 A1).
Consider claim 7, the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event includes an environmental condition, (i.e. incident data captured by the external sensors of the vehicle) detected by a vehicle, In an analogous art, Seki teaches, “controller is configured to propel the vehicle autonomously to a pickup location to pick up a passenger, and to turn on the main switch if the passenger is detected within a predetermined area at the pickup location.” See ¶ 0006, Seki teaches, “main controller 38 carries out calculations based on the incident data or information from the internal sensor 42 and the external sensor 55 as well as the preinstalled data,” See ¶ 0043, “The vehicle Ve may be operated autonomously without a driver to pick up a passenger at a desired pickup location by entering a desired pickup time and location into the main controller 38. To this end, the main controller 38 automatically turns on the main switch 41 at a time calculated based on the desired pickup time and location.” See ¶ 0054.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention (effective filing date for AIA application) to modify the combination of Freiburger-Zhu and trigger a switch state in response to the predefined environment and location of vehicle as suggested by Seki ¶ 0043 and 0054, in an effort to “vehicle to promptly launch” the switch in response to the trigger conditions.
Consider claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event includes a vehicle location corresponding to at least one predefined location with which the second system is preassocaited, Seki teaches, “The vehicle Ve may be operated autonomously without a driver to pick up a passenger at a desired pickup location by entering a desired pickup time and location into the main controller 38. To this end, the main controller 38 automatically turns on the main switch 41 at a time calculated based on the desired pickup time and location.” See ¶ 0054.
Consider claim 16, the system of claim 9, wherein the trigger event includes an environmental condition detected by a vehicle, See rejection of claim 7.
Consider claim 17, the system of claim 9, wherein the trigger event includes a vehicle location corresponding to at least one predefined location with which the second system is preassocaited, See rejection of claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Omer S Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686
1 Zhu was not cited to teach the reassignment of the switch from controlling one system to controlling another system. See Freiburger ¶ 0040.