DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the application filed 4 October 2024.
Claims 1-12 were elected to in the provisional election described below.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to an introducer sheath, classified in A61M25/0662.
II. Claims 13-15, drawn to a method of manufacturing, classified in A61M25/0009.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product can be made by another and materially different process. Invention I does not require encasing the outer casing with a shrink tube to form a structure, or the removal of the mandrel in order to be made.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter.
The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Paul Kempf on 8 October 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to examine the invention of Group I, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the phrase “preferably in a range of”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, the claims recite “range of 130-175 degrees C” for claim 3 and “range of 500-1500 kDa” for claim 4, and the claims also recite “preferably in a range of 165-172 °C” for claim 3 and “preferably in a range of 700-1,300 kDa” and “preferably in a range of 800-1,200 kDa” for claim 4, which are both narrower statements of the range/limitations of their respective claims. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitations preceded by “preferably in a range of” are determined to hold no patentable weight.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “an outer surface of the inner liner” and “the core of the inner liner”. It is unclear whether the “outer surface” would be the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner 130, the outer surface of the inner liner which faces the reinforcing layer 140, or both. Likewise, since the inner liner is a hollow body, it is unclear whether the “core” would be the hollow lumen of the inner liner or the volume between the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner 130 and the outer surface of the inner liner that faces the reinforcing layer 140. For the purposes of examination, “an outer surface of the inner liner” is interpreted as –an inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner—and “the core” is interpreted as –a volume of the inner liner between the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner and an external surface of the inner liner--.
Furthermore, the limitation of claim 5, “the core” has insufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of examination, the core is interpreted as described above.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the metal strip” in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the metal strip of claim 12 is meant to refer to the braded metal strip or the spiral metal strip of claim 11. For the purposes of examination, “the metal strip” is interpreted to mean –the reinforcing layer--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eversull et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20140343537 A1), hereinafter Eversull, in view of Sterling (US Patent No. 4481323 A).
Regarding claim 1, Eversull discloses an introducer sheath (Eversull: Fig. 1) for introducing intervention devices into vascular systems (para. 0015), comprising: an introducer sheath body (Fig. 1, device 11) comprising a proximal end (Fig. 1, proximal end 12), a distal end (Fig. 1, distal end 13), and a cavity (Fig. 1, lumen of device 11) that extends between the proximal end (12) and the distal end (13), wherein the introducer sheath body (11) has an inner lining (Fig. 2, inner layer 3), an outer casing (Fig. 2, outer layer 8), and a reinforcing layer (Fig. 2, reinforcing layer 6) arranged between the inner lining (3) and the outer casing (Fig. 2, layer 6 is between layers 3 and 8), wherein the inner liner (3) consists of a material comprising a thermoplastic elastomer (layer 3 may comprise thermoplastic elastomers such as polyether bloc amide; para. 0017 and 0032).
Eversull does not expressly disclose that the material comprises a siloxane, wherein the elastomer has a weight percentage in a range of 90-99 percent by weight, and the siloxane has a weight percentage in a range of 1-10 percent by weight, in each case relative to the total weight of the material.
Sterling teaches an introducer sheath (Fig. 6, tube 33) comprising an inner liner (Fig. 7, inner surface of shaft 34) consisting of a material comprising a thermoplastic elastomer (thermoplastic elastomer; col 7, ln 49-59) and a siloxane (polysiloxane; col 7, ln 49-59), wherein the elastomer (col 7, ln 49-59) has a weight percentage in a range of 90-99 percent by weight (polysiloxane constitutes 1-7% of the total weight of the elastomeric composition, meaning the thermoplastic elastomer comprises the remaining 93-99%; col 11, ln 1-7), and the siloxane has a weight percentage in a range of 1-10 percent by weight (polysiloxane constitutes 1-7% of the total weight of the elastomeric composition; col 11, ln 1-7), in each case relative to the total weight of the material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sheath of Eversull such that the inner liner consists of a thermoplastic elastomer and a siloxane, wherein the elastomer has a weight percentage in a range of 90-99 percent by weight, and the siloxane has a weight percentage in a range of 1-10 percent by weight, in each case relative to the total weight of the material as taught by Sterling in order to produce a greater surface smoothness that retains elastomeric properties at very low temperatures, is nontoxic, and prevents negative effects from leaching (col 4, ln 39-43 and col 13, ln 39-56).
Regarding claim 2, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the elastomer is a polyether block amide copolymer (Eversull: polyether block amide; para. 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the polyether block amide copolymer is meltable in order to fil underlying gaps (Eversull: para. 0023).
Eversull does not expressly disclose the polyether block amide copolymer has a melting point in a range of 130-175 °C.
Sterling teaches a thermoplastic elastomer having a melting point in the range of 130-175 °C (Sterling: 160-225 °C; col 11, ln 63 – col 12, ln 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the melting point of the polyether block amide copolymer to be in the range of 130-175 °C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, the melting point is a characteristic of the thermoplastic elastomer composition in order to achieve a sufficient heat for melting during construction of the sheath (Eversull: para. 0023) (Sterling: col 11, ln 63 – col 12, ln 3).
Regarding claim 4, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above.
Eversull does not expressly disclose the siloxane has a molecular weight in a range of 500-1,500 kDa.
Sterling teaches a siloxane has a molecular weight in a range of 500-1,500 kDa (Sterling: the total molecular weight of the macromolecule is 50,000-600,000 kDa, in which the polysiloxane constitutes 1-7%. Therefore, polysiloxane has a molecular weight of 500-42,000 kDa; col 10, ln 8-17 and col 11, ln 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of Eversull such that the siloxane has a molecular weight in a range of 500-1,500 kDa as taught by Sterling in order to remove very low molecular weight elements that could leach and irritate patient tissues (Sterling: col 10, ln 63-68).
Regarding claim 5, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above.
Eversull does not expressly disclose a siloxane concentration in the material on an inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner is higher than in a volume of the inner liner between the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner and an external surface of the inner liner.
Sterling teaches a siloxane concentration in the material on an inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner is higher than in a volume of the inner liner between the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner and an external surface of the inner liner (Sterling: polysiloxane has a higher concentration at the composition’s surface; col 8, ln 43-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sheath of Eversull such that a siloxane concentration in the material on an inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner is higher than in a volume of the inner liner between the inner surface of the lumen of the inner liner and an external surface of the inner liner as taught by Sterling in order to produce a suitable surface smoothness and biocompatibility to prevent attachment and clotting of blood to the polymer (Sterling: col 8, ln 61-64).
Regarding claim 6, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the inner lining is substantially free of fluorine compounds (Both Eversull and Sterling do not disclose the composition of the inner lining comprising fluorine compounds. Therefore, the inner lining is considered to be substantially free of fluorine compounds).
Regarding claim 7, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the inner lining has an inner diameter in a range of 1.3-12 mm (Eversull: Annotated Fig. 2 above, the inner diameter of the inner layer 3 has an inner gap 2 size, or G, between 0.05-0.25 mm, which is between the layer 3 and the mandrel 1. The diameter shown in Fig. 2 is equal to 19*G, therefore, the inner diameter of the inner layer 3 is in a range of 0.95-4.75 mm; para. 0022).
Regarding claim 9, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the outer casing comprises a polyether block amide copolymer (Eversull: polyether block amide; para. 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the reinforcing layer comprises a braided metal strip and/or a spiral metal strip (Eversull: reinforcing layer 6 may comprise braided metal; para. 0003 and 0018).
Regarding claim 12, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above, wherein the metal strip has a thickness in a range of 0.2-0.5 mm (Annotated Fig. 2 above, inner gap 2 size, or G, is between 0.05-0.25 mm, which is the space between the layer 3 and the mandrel 1. Reinforcing layer 6 is shown to have a thickness of 4*G, therefore, the thickness of layer 6 is 0.2-1 mm).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eversull in view of Sterling, in further view of Myint et al (US Patent Publication No. 20240033467 A1), hereinafter Myint.
Regarding claim 8, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above.
Eversull in view of Sterling does not expressly disclose the inner lining has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm.
Myint teaches a sheath (Myint: Fig. 1, device 10), comprising an inner lining (Fig. 1, inner liner 14), which has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm (0.1-0.15 mm; para. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sheath of Eversull in view of Sterling such that the inner lining has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm as taught by Myint in order to achieve sufficient tensile strength to avoid puncture or tearing of the liner (Myint: para. 0020).
Regarding claim 10, Eversull in view of Sterling discloses the sheath above.
Eversull in view of Sterling does not expressly disclose the outer casing has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm.
Myint teaches an outer casing (Myint: Fig. 1, outer member 12) has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm (0.06-1 mm; para. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the outer casing have a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm as taught by Myint, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, applicant has not disclosed that this limitation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the outer casing has a wall thickness in a range of 0.1-0.3 mm, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
Conclusion
/LEI GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783