DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 01 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the overlapping scope of species A and B would not be overly burdensome to conduct a search. The examiner agrees with such traversal. Therefore, the restriction requirement between species A and B has been withdrawn. Claims 4 and 19 will be examined on the merits along with claims 1-3, 5-18 and 20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fixation device(s) in claims 5-8, 11-14, 16, 17 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 17 recites the limitation "the approximation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0069890 in view of Donate et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2013/0030480.
Regarding claim 1, Moore et al. discloses a method for approximation of two bones, the method comprising: engaging a first anchor (82) with a first bone (6); fixating a second anchor (38) to a second bone (4); fixating a flexible segment (32) between the first anchor and the second anchor, wherein the flexible segment is configured to adjust a distance between the first and second bones, and wherein the flexible segment comprises one or more suture ends (both 26b) extending from the second anchor and proximally from the second bone; and fixating both suture ends to the first bone (via anchors 40a, 40b) at a first distance from the first anchor (Fig. 7 and paragraph [0035]).
Moore et al. does not disclose the flexible segment extending proximally from the second anchor.
Donate et al. discloses a device for approximating two bones with a first anchor (22) engaged with a first bone (84); a second anchor (24) fixated to a second bone (82); and a flexible segment (40) with a suture end that extends proximally from the second anchor and the second bone (Figs. 4B and 6F) as such configuration allows the flexible segment to be pulled through the second anchor in the direction of arrow 66 (Fig. 4B) to pull the first and second anchors closer to one another, but also allows one-way passage of the flexible segment such that the flexible segment is prevented from being pulled in the opposite direction to permit the system to hold whatever tension is created by the surgeon pulling on the flexible segment (paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible segment of Moore et al. to extend proximally from the second anchor in view of Donate et al. such that the flexible segment allows for one-way passage through the second anchor thus preventing the flexible segment from being pulled in an opposite direction to permit the system to hold whatever tension is created by the surgeon.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Moore et al. discloses wherein engaging the first anchor (82) with the first bone (6) comprising fixating the first anchor to the first bone (via flexible segment 34); wherein engaging the first anchor (82) with the first bone comprising engaging the first anchor with a first side of the first bone (6) (examiner annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claims 5-8 and 10, Moore et al. discloses wherein fixating the suture ends (both 26b) to the first bone (6) comprises fixating a first suture end with a first fixation device (40a); fixating the first fixation device to a posterior side of the first bone; engaging a second suture end with a second fixation device (40b); and fixating the second fixation device to an anterior side of the first bone; wherein fixating the suture ends to the first bone restricts rotation of the second bone (4) with respect to the first bone (6) (examiner annotated Fig. 7 above and paragraphs [0025], [0035], [0037]).
Regarding claims 11-14, 16, 17, and 20 Moore et al. discloses a method for approximation of two bones, the method comprising: engaging a first anchor (82) with a first bone (6); fixating a second anchor (38) to a second bone (4); fixating a flexible segment (32) between the first anchor and the second anchor, wherein the flexible segment is configured to adjust a distance between the first and second bones, and wherein the flexible segment comprises one or more suture ends (both 26b) extending from the second anchor and proximally from the second bone; engaging a first suture end (26b) with a first fixation device (40a); engaging a second suture end (also 26b) with a second fixation device (40b); fixating the first fixation device to a posterior side of the first bone; and fixating the second fixation device to an anterior side of the first bone at a first distance from the first anchor; and wherein fixating the fixation devices to the anterior and posterior sides of the first bone restricts rotation of the second bone with respect to the first bone (examiner annotated Fig. 7 and paragraphs [0025], [0035], [0037]).
Moore et al. does not disclose the flexible segment extending proximally from the second anchor.
Donate et al. discloses a device for approximating two bones with a first anchor (22) engaged with a first bone (84); a second anchor (24) fixated to a second bone (82); and a flexible segment (40) with a suture end that extends proximally from the second anchor and the second bone (Figs. 4B and 6F) as such configuration allows the flexible segment to be pulled through the second anchor in the direction of arrow 66 (Fig. 4B) to pull the first and second anchors closer to one another, but also allows one-way passage of the flexible segment such that the flexible segment is prevented from being pulled in the opposite direction to permit the system to hold whatever tension is created by the surgeon pulling on the flexible segment (paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible segment of Moore et al. to extend proximally from the second anchor in view of Donate et al. such that the flexible segment allows for one-way passage through the second anchor thus preventing the flexible segment from being pulled in an opposite direction to permit the system to hold whatever tension is created by the surgeon.
Regarding claim 19, Moore et al. discloses wherein engaging the first anchor (82) with the first bone (6) comprising engaging the first anchor with a first side of the first bone (examiner annotated Fig. 7 above).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0069890 in view of Donate et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2013/0030480 as applied to claims 5 and 11 above, and further in view of Choinski, U.S. PG-Pub 2014/0243892.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Moore et al. in view of Donate et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein the fixation devices are knotless anchors.
Choinski discloses using knotless (zero profile) anchors for fixation of ligaments (paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixation devices of Moore et al. to be knotless anchors further in view of Choinski to permit zero profile fixation of soft tissue to the bones.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donate et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2013/0030480 in view of Moore et al. U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0069890.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 17, and 18, Donate et al. discloses a method for approximation of two bones, the method comprising: engaging a first anchor (22) with a first bone (84); fixating a second anchor (24) to a second bone; fixating a flexible segment (40) between the first anchor and the second anchor, wherein the flexible segment comprises a suture end extending proximally from the second anchor and the second bone (along direction 66); and wherein engaging the first anchor with the first bone comprises inserting a distal end (34) of the first anchor into a first hole (86) in a first side of the first bone (84) such that there is a first distance between the distal end of the first anchor and a second side of the first bone (Figs. 4A-4B and examiner annotated Fig. 6F below).
Donate et al. does not disclose engaging the suture end with a first fixation device; and fixating the first fixation device to an anterior side of the first bone at a first distance from the first anchor.
Moore et al. discloses a system having first (82) and second (38) anchors with a flexible segment (32), wherein the flexible segment has suture ends (26b) engaged with fixation devices (40a, 40b) that are fixated to anterior and/or posterior sides of a first bone (6) at a first distance from the first anchor (examiner annotated Fig. 7 above) as such permits coupling soft tissue to the bone at a substantially anatomically correct position to facilitate repair and/or reattachment of soft tissue (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Donate et al. to include a first fixation device engaged with the suture end and fixated to an anterior side of the first bone at a first distance from the first anchor in view of Moore et al. to permit coupling soft tissue to the bone at a substantially anatomically correct position to facilitate repair and/or reattachment of soft tissue.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775