Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0288402 (“Rashidian” or “R”) in view of US 4370657 (“Kaloi” or “K”)
1: R teaches a radiofrequency (RF) module (100), comprising: a primary board (110); a controller (124) supported by the primary board (as shown); and an antenna assembly (150) supported by the primary board and connected with the controller (as shown), the antenna assembly including: an array of antenna elements (that of the 224s), each antenna element having: an active patch (the 224s).
However, R fails to teach that each element has a passive patch separated from the active patch by a slot; wherein one of the active patch and the passive patch has a greater surface area than the other of the active patch and the passive patch.
Nevertheless, K teaches an antenna element (that of fig 2A) having an active patch (31) and a passive patch (32) separated from the active patch (as shown) by a slot (the space between 31 and 32).
It would have been obvious to replace R’s 224s with K’s antenna elements. The motivation would have been to obtain improved directivity.
2: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the active patch and the passive patch include a set of edges defining a rectangular perimeter (as shown in fig 2A of K).
3: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the slot extends from a first side of the rectangular perimeter to a second side of the rectangular perimeter (as shown in fig 2A of K).
5: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the slot extends from a first portion of a first side of the rectangular perimeter to a second portion of the first side (as shown in fig 2A of K).
6: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the active patch has a single edge on the rectangular perimeter, and at least one further edge inside the rectangular perimeter (as shown in fig 2A of K).
7: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the active patch has an edge that is colinear with an edge of the passive patch (as shown in fig 2A of K).
8: R teaches that the antenna assembly is integrated with the primary board (as shown).
9: R teaches that the primary board includes a plurality of layers (as shown in fig 2A of R); and the modified device of claim 1 would such that the active patch and the passive patch of each antenna element are contained in the same layer of the primary board (as shown in fig 2A of K, all components of the antenna element are on the same layer).
10: The modified device of claim 1 would be such that the active patch has a greater surface area than the passive patch (as shown in fig 2a of K).
11: R teaches that the antenna assembly further includes: a plurality of subarray dividers each connected with a respective subset of the antenna elements (each element has its own 216 and 228, as shown, which separate each of the elements).
12: R teaches a communications interface (104) on an upper surface of the primary board (as shown).
13: R teaches that the communications interface comprises a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface (0011).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845