Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28th, 2025 has been considered and made of record in the application file history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh et al., U.S. Publication Number 2025/0106801 A1 (hereinafter Singh).
Regarding claim 1, Singh teaches a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0066] and fig. 1; UE 150), comprising: at least one memory (1150) (see paragraph [0188] and fig. 11); and
at least one processor (1120) coupled with the at least one memory (1150) (see paragraph [0188] and fig. 11) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a paging message for a sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises sensing service information (i.e., At operation 1005, the AMF triggers paging towards the UEs identified in operation 1003. The paging message is transmitted only to the network nodes identified in operation 1004, and such network nodes receive the paging message. The paging approach may be denoted as “sensing assisted paging”) (see paragraph [0152] and fig. 10A; step 1005);
determine whether to reply to the paging message based in part on whether the UE is configured to participate in the sensing service (i.e., At operation 1007, the UEs receive the paging message transmitted in operation 1006. If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver ...) (see paragraph [0155] and fig. 10A; step 1007); and
transmit a service request message comprising an indication that the service request message is a response to the paging message for the sensing service (i.e., If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver, the UE initiates to setup the RRC connection and transmits the RRC connection setup request to network node. The UE indicates the establishment cause as “sensing” in the RRC connection setup request message. At operation 1008, the connection is set up between the AMF and the UE via the network node. The establishment cause of “sensing” is transmitted to the AMF from the UE via the network node, and received by the AMF from the UE.) (see paragraph [0155-0156], fig. 10A; step 1007 and fig. 10B; step 1008).
Regarding claim 2, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to store sensing service configuration information comprising radio resources for the paging message, permission to participate in the sensing service, or a combination thereof (i.e., At operation 702 the NG-RAN transmits, to the UE, an RRC setup message, and the UE receives from the NG-RAN the RRC setup message. In addition, Singh teaches “a UE may have various connection management states, such as a CM-Connected state and a CM-Idle state, which are maintained at non-access stratum (NAS) layer at both UE and AMF”) (see paragraphs [0104 & 0109-0111] and fig. 7A; step 702).
Regarding claim 3, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the radio resources are stored in an access stratum (AS) layer and are received from a radio access network (RAN) (i.e., At operation 702 the NG-RAN transmits, to the UE, an RRC setup message, and the UE receives from the NG-RAN the RRC setup message. In addition, Singh teaches “a UE may have various connection management states, such as a CM-Connected state and a CM-Idle state, which are maintained at non-access stratum (NAS) layer at both UE and AMF”) (see paragraphs [0104 & 0109-0111] and fig. 7A; step 702).
Regarding claim 4, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Singh teaches wherein information corresponding to the permission to participate in the sensing service is stored at a non-access stratum (NAS) layer received from a core network device (i.e., sensing data is stored and forward from SeMF 221 within CN 210) (see paragraphs [0104, 0152 & 0153] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine, based on the stored sensing service configuration information and the received sensing service information in the paging message, whether the UE is allowed to participate in the sensing service in a current location, for a sensing task type, for a sensing task identifier (ID), or a combination thereof (e.g., The paging message may include one or more of the following: paging record(s) that include UE ID (e.g., S-TMSI) obtained from AMF in operation 1003 or an indication to page any sensing capable UEs received from AMF in operation 1004; and/or target sensing method(s) which the selected UE needs to support)(see paragraphs [0152, 0154 & 0182]).
Regarding claim 6, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the sensing service information in the paging message comprises a requested sensing device type, a sensing task type, a sensing task identifier (ID), or a combination thereof (e.g., The paging message may include one or more of the following: paging record(s) that include UE ID (e.g., S-TMSI) obtained from AMF in operation 1003 or an indication to page any sensing capable UEs received from AMF in operation 1004; and/or target sensing method(s) which the selected UE needs to support)(see paragraphs [0152, 0154 & 0182]).
Regarding claim 7, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection with an RRC establishment cause indicating that the RRC connection is established in response to the paging message (i.e., the UE initiates to setup the RRC connection and transmits the RRC connection setup request to network node. The UE indicates the establishment cause as “sensing” in the RRC connection setup request message. At operation 1008, the connection is set up between the AMF and the UE via the network node. The establishment cause of “sensing” is transmitted to the AMF from the UE via the network node, and received by the AMF from the UE.) (see paragraph [0155-0156], fig. 10A; step 1007 and fig. 10B; step 1008).
Regarding claim 8, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the paging message is received from a radio access network (RAN) (i.e., sensing assisted paging message is received from the NG-RAN) (see paragraphs [0154-0155], [0165-0168] and fig. 10A; step 1006).
Regarding claim 9, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the service request message is transmitted to a radio access network (RAN) (i.e., UE indicates the establishment cause as “sensing” in the RRC connection setup request message. At operation 1008, the connection is set up between the AMF and the UE via the network node. The establishment cause of “sensing” is transmitted to the AMF from the UE via the network node, and received by the AMF from the UE.) (see paragraph [0155-0156], fig. 10A; step 1007 and fig. 10B; step 1008).
Regarding claim 10, Singh teaches a processor for wireless communication (see paragraph [0066] and fig. 1; UE 150), comprising: at least one controller (1120) coupled with at least one memory (1150) (see paragraph [0188] and fig. 11) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a paging message for a sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises sensing service information (i.e., At operation 1005, the AMF triggers paging towards the UEs identified in operation 1003. The paging message is transmitted only to the network nodes identified in operation 1004, and such network nodes receive the paging message. The paging approach may be denoted as “sensing assisted paging”) (see paragraph [0152] and fig. 10A; step 1005);
determine whether to reply to the paging message based in part on whether the processor is configured to participate in the sensing service (i.e., At operation 1007, the UEs receive the paging message transmitted in operation 1006. If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver ...) (see paragraph [0155] and fig. 10A; step 1007); and
transmit a service request message comprising an indication that the service request message is a response to the paging message for the sensing service (i.e., If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver, the UE initiates to setup the RRC connection and transmits the RRC connection setup request to network node. The UE indicates the establishment cause as “sensing” in the RRC connection setup request message. At operation 1008, the connection is set up between the AMF and the UE via the network node. The establishment cause of “sensing” is transmitted to the AMF from the UE via the network node, and received by the AMF from the UE.) (see paragraph [0155-0156], fig. 10A; step 1007 and fig. 10B; step 1008).
Regarding claim 11, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 10. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to store sensing service configuration information comprising radio resources for the paging message, permission to participate in the sensing service, or a combination thereof (i.e., At operation 702 the NG-RAN transmits, to the UE, an RRC setup message, and the UE receives from the NG-RAN the RRC setup message. In addition, Singh teaches “a UE may have various connection management states, such as a CM-Connected state and a CM-Idle state, which are maintained at non-access stratum (NAS) layer at both UE and AMF”) (see paragraphs [0104 & 0109-0111] and fig. 7A; step 702).
Regarding claim 12, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the radio resources are stored in an access stratum (AS) layer and are received from a radio access network (RAN) (i.e., At operation 702 the NG-RAN transmits, to the UE, an RRC setup message, and the UE receives from the NG-RAN the RRC setup message. In addition, Singh teaches “a UE may have various connection management states, such as a CM-Connected state and a CM-Idle state, which are maintained at non-access stratum (NAS) layer at both UE and AMF”) (see paragraphs [0104 & 0109-0111] and fig. 7A; step 702).
Regarding claim 13, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Singh teaches wherein information corresponding to the permission to participate in the sensing service is stored at a non-access stratum (NAS) layer received from a core network device (i.e., sensing data is stored and forward from SeMF 221 within CN 210) (see paragraphs [0104, 0152 & 0153] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Singh teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0060], fig. 1; UE 150 and fig. 7A), the method comprising:
receiving a paging message for a sensing service, wherein the paging message comprises sensing service information(i.e., At operation 1005, the AMF triggers paging towards the UEs identified in operation 1003. The paging message is transmitted only to the network nodes identified in operation 1004, and such network nodes receive the paging message. The paging approach may be denoted as “sensing assisted paging”) (see paragraph [0152] and fig. 10A; step 1005);
determining whether to reply to the paging message based in part on whether the UE is configured to participate in the sensing service (i.e., At operation 1007, the UEs receive the paging message transmitted in operation 1006. If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver ...) (see paragraph [0155] and fig. 10A; step 1007); and
transmitting a service request message comprising an indication that the service request message is a response to the paging message for the sensing service (i.e., If the UE is capable of the requested sensing, or if the target sensing method(s) are indicated in the paging message and the UE accepts performing sensing as a sensing transmitter or as a sensing receiver, the UE initiates to setup the RRC connection and transmits the RRC connection setup request to network node. The UE indicates the establishment cause as “sensing” in the RRC connection setup request message. At operation 1008, the connection is set up between the AMF and the UE via the network node. The establishment cause of “sensing” is transmitted to the AMF from the UE via the network node, and received by the AMF from the UE.) (see paragraph [0155-0156], fig. 10A; step 1007 and fig. 10B; step 1008).
Regarding claim 15, Singh teaches an apparatus for performing a first network function (e.g., an AMF 212) (see paragraph [0087] and fig. 2), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (1150) (see paragraph [0188] and fig. 11); and
at least one processor (1120) coupled with the at least one memory (1150) (see paragraph [0188] and fig. 11) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a service request message corresponding to a user equipment (UE), wherein the service request message comprises an indication that the service request message is a response to a paging message for a sensing service (i.e., the AMF receives a service request (e.g., NAS Service Request or RRC Connection Setup with establishment cause "sensing") from a UE after the UE is paged for a sensing service; The establishment cause "sensing" in the RRC message or NAS message indicates the service request is in response to a sensing-related paging message. The flow is: UE is paged for a sensing service → UE responds by initiating connection/service request → AMF receives this request with an indication of the cause) (see paragraphs [0152, 0154-0156], [0415]-[0421], fig. 10A; steps 1005 & 1006 & fig. 10B; step 1008);
determine whether the UE is allowed to participate in the sensing service (i.e., AMF determines whether the UE subscription allows sensing capability and services, and determines whether to accept or reject the NAS registration request message) (see paragraph [0113] and fig. 7A; step 706); and
send a response message indicating whether the UE is allowed to participate in the sensing service (i.e., AMF transmits a NAS registration accept message to RAN/UE) (see paragraphs [0115 & 0120], fig. 7A; step 708 and fig. 7B; step 712).
Regarding claim 16, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive sensing service related information, and the sensing service related information is received together with the service request message as part of information from radio access network (RAN) (i.e., At operation 704, the NG-RAN transmits, to the AMF, the NAS registration request message using NG application protocol (NGAP). The NG-RAN receives, from the AMF, the NAS registration request message, which includes the additional IE indicating the UE's sensing capability and sensing methods) (see paragraph [0111] and fig. 7A; step 704).
Regarding claim 17, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to exchange information with a second network function, consider sensing service related information, or a combination thereof (i.e., At operation 707, the AMF may communicate with the sensing management function (SeMF) to update a database that stores the UE's sensing capability) (see paragraphs [0114-0115] and fig. 7A; step 707).
Regarding claim 18, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 17. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the second network function comprises a sensing function (SF) (e.g., sensing management function (SeMF 221) (see paragraphs [0088 & 0115] and figs. 2 & 7A).
Regarding claim 19, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the first network function comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraphs [0087 & 0113] and figs. 2, 7A & 10A).
Regarding claim 20, Singh discloses all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Singh teaches wherein the response message is sent to a radio access network (RAN) that transmitted the service request message service (i.e., AMF transmits a NAS registration accept message to RAN/UE) (see paragraphs [0115 & 0120], fig. 7A; step 708 and fig. 7B; step 712).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al., U.S. Publication Number 2025/0106740 A1 discloses method and apparatus for providing sensing service and communication device and storage medium.
Qiao et al., U.S. Publication Number 2024/0056783 A1 discloses locally integrated sensing and communication.
Zhang et al., U.S. Publication Number 2024/0284506 A1 discloses method for implementing sensing service and device.
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645