Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites establishing a flow time based on the flow information but there is insufficient antecedent basis for the flow information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805).
Claim 1.
Marsters teaches a control system (Figure 1, ABSTRACT, 0036) comprises:
a control unit (Figure 1-113, 114, 115, see also alternative 126 , 0035, 0063-64 e.g. “FIG. 1 depicts a simplified block diagram of an irrigation system 110 according to some embodiments. The irrigation system 110 comprises a plurality of irrigation controllers 112-118 distributed over a geographic area, with at least some of the plurality of irrigation controllers 112-118 being cooperated in an irrigation sub-system 120. Typically, a first irrigation controller 112 of the irrigation sub-system 120 communicates with each of the other irrigation controllers 113-116 of the irrigation sub-system 120, while the other irrigation controllers 113-116 of the irrigation sub-system 120 typically do not communicate between each other. It is noted, however, that in some embodiments one or more of the other irrigation controllers 113-116 (e.g., second irrigation controller 113) can act as a relay or repeater to forward a communication from the first irrigation controller 112 to a subsequent irrigation controller (e.g. fifth irrigation controller 116). Each of the irrigation controllers 112-118, in some implementations, are configured to couple with and control one or more irrigation valves or solenoids 122 to control the supply of water to one or more water distribution devices 124, such as but not limited to sprinklers, drip lines, and other such water distribution devices.
a first valve operably connected to the control unit and in fluid communication with a first irrigation line to control flow through the first irrigation line (Figure 1-134, 122, 0035 e.g. “in some implementations, are configured to couple with and control one or more irrigation valves or solenoids 122 to control the supply of water to one or more water distribution devices 124, such as but not limited to sprinklers, drip lines, and other such water distribution devices.”)
a first flow sensor provided in fluid communication with the first irrigation line, the first flow sensor operable to provide flow information associated with flow if water through the first irrigation line (0039, 0063-64 e.g. “The irrigation sub-system 120 is further configured to provide cooperative sharing of one or more control elements 134, which in some instances can be master valves, override switches, other switches, pumps, sensors, station valves, flow sensors, or other such control elements. For simplicity, the below description refers to master valves 134 and/or sensors 136, however, other control elements can similarly be used and shared within an irrigation sub-system 120. The one or more shared master valves 134 are shared between two or more of the SS 112 and CSs 113-116, and communication between the SS 112 and the CSs 113-116 provides for the control of the shared master valve 134 so that it is open or opened when each of the two or more of the SS 112 or CSs 113-116 that share the master valve 134 are to implement irrigation.”)
Marsters does not expressly teach the radio limitations described below. Romney et al. teaches the radio limitations described below
a first radio operably connected to the control unit and switchable from an active state in which the radio sends and receives information and a latent state in which it does not transmit or receive (Romney et al., 0082-84, 0105, 0120-0121, claim 3 e.g. “The sensor controller 1408 may place the radio 1406 in a low power mode (e.g., ramp down power to the radio 1406) in between transmission of flow measurement reports. Similarly, the sensor controller 1408 may place the ultrasonic flow sensor 1410 in a low power mode (e.g., ramp down power to the ultrasonic flow sensor 1410) in between flow measurements. By selectively powering down the radio 1406, sensor controller 1408, and/or the ultrasonic flow sensor 1410 when they are not in use, the sensor controller 1408 may significantly increase time periods between charging and/or replacement of the battery 1404.”)
a power source electrically connected to the control unit and first radio and to provide power thereto, wherein the control unit activates the first radio after receiving flow information indicating flow of water in the first irrigation line (0023 e.g. “In one embodiment, a wireless flow sensor device includes a battery, an ultrasonic flow sensor, a radio, and a sensor controller. The battery is configured to store and provide electrical energy to power the wireless flow sensor device. The ultrasonic flow sensor is configured to perform flow measurements to determine a rate of water flow in an irrigation system. The radio is configured to transmit flow measurement reports to a base station. The sensor controller is configured to control timing of flow measurements and flow measurement reports, see Marsters, 0063-64
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Romney et al., namely providing a radio that selectively activates to a high power mode responsive to receiving flow information in addition to providing a battery for powering a sensor, radio, and a controller, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the irrigation controller to comprise the radio and battery means of Marsters for communicating irrigation data while optimizing battery power for powering the controller, sensor, and radio. Romney is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the communication means of Marsters, 0060-61.
Claim 2.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 1, wherein the control unit comprises:
a processor (Marsters, Figure 1, 0068, 0070, 0170)
memory operably connected to the processor including processor executable code that when executed by the processor performs steps of (Marsters 0170-0172)
receiving the flow information (Marsters 0039, 0042, 0044-45, 0049-51, 0063)
generating a first activation signal to activate the first radio when the flow information is received indicating flow of water in the first irrigation line (Romney, 0082-84)
providing the first activation signal to the first radio to activate the first radio (Romney, 0082-84)
Claim 3.
The control system of claim 2, wherein the first activation signal activates the first radio for a predetermine period of time (Romney, 0082-84)
Claim 4.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 2, wherein the memory includes processor executable instructions that when executed by the processor performs steps of:
generating a deactivation signal a predetermined period of time after the activation signal is generated (Romney, 0082-84)
sending the deactivation signal to the first radio (Romney, 0082-84)
Claim 8.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the radio limitations described below. Romney teaches the radio limitations described below while the applied combination of Marsters and Romney teaches the application of the radio to a first valve and first flow sensor. Marsters teaches the configuration described below for applying a radio to a second valve and flow sensor
a second valve operably connected to the control unit and in fluid communication with a second irrigation line to control flow through the second irrigation line (Figure 1-114, 115, 122, 130 e.g. see multiple controllers coupled to an common irrigation line and additional branches/second lines)
a second flow sensor provided in fluid communication with the second irrigation line, the second flow sensor operable to provide second flow information associated with flow of water through the second irrigation line (Figure 1-136, 0042, 0063-64)
wherein the control unit (0067 e.g. see activates the first radio after receiving second flow information indicating flow of water in the second irrigation line (supra claim 1 for activating radio responsive to receiving measurements, see Romney, 0082-84)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Romney et al., namely providing a radio that selectively activates to a high power mode responsive to receiving flow information in addition to providing a battery for powering a sensor, radio, and a controller, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means between distributed irrigation controllers coupled to first and second values and first and second sensor and controlled via a central controller, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the irrigation controller/central controller to comprise the radio and battery means of Marsters for communicating irrigation data while optimizing battery power for powering the controller, sensor, and radio. Romney is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the communication means of Marsters, 0060-61.
Claim 9.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 8, wherein the control unit activates the first radio after receiving the first flow information or the second flow information (Romney, 0082-84, supra claim 1
Claim 10.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the second radio limitations described below. Romney teaches the second radio limitations described below
further comprising a second radio operably connected to the control unit, wherein the control unit activates the second radio after receiving the first flow information indicating flow of water in the first irrigation line (Romney, see second radio, 0022-23, supra claim 1 for control unit limitations, see Marsters 0062-64 for providing sensor data to central controller)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Romney et al., namely providing a second radio that selectively activates to a high power mode responsive to receiving flow information in addition to providing a battery for powering a sensor, radio, and a controller, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means between distributed irrigation controllers coupled to first and second values and first and second sensor and controlled via a central controller, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the irrigation controller/central controller to comprise the radio and battery means of Marsters for communicating irrigation data while optimizing battery power for powering the controller, sensor, and radio. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to achieve redundant communication in the event the first radio fails. Romney is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the communication means of Marsters, 0060-61.
Claim 18.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 2, wherein the processor executable instructions include watering program instructions that when executed by the processor perform steps of:
generating a first valve activation signal to activate the first valve to supply water to the first irrigation line (supra claim 1)
Claim 19.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 8, wherein the processor executable instructions include watering program instructions that when executed by the processor perform steps of:
generating a second valve activation signal to activate the second valve to supply water to the second irrigation line (supra claim 1)
Claim 20.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 2, wherein the memory includes processor executable code that, when executed by the processor, performs steps of:
calculating a flow rate based on the flow information; Romney 0082-84
generating a flow rate message when the flow rate exceeds a first threshold or falls below a second threshold; Romney 0082-84 and
transmitting the flow rate message using the first radio. Romney 0082-84
Claim 21.
The applied prior art teaches the control system of claim 2, wherein the memory includes processor executable code that when executed by the processor performs steps of:
generating a flow signal indicating that flow has been detected based on the flow information; Romney 0082-84 and
transmitting the flow signal using the first radio after the first radio is activated, Romney 0082-84
Claim 22.
Marsters, as modified, supra claim 1, teaches a control system comprises:
a control unit including:
a processor (Marsters, 0058, 0068, supra claim 1)
memory operably connected to the processor including processor executable code including a watering program that when executed by the processor provides control signals (Marsters, 0045-46, 0051-53
a first valve operably connected to the control unit and in fluid communication with a first irrigation line to control flow through the first irrigation line based on the control signals (Marsters,Figure 2, 0073)
a first radio operably connected to the control unit and switchable from an active state in which the radio sends and receives information and a latent state in which it does not transmit or receive, supra claim 1
a power source electrically connected to the control unit and first radio and to provide power thereto, supra claim 1
wherein the control unit activates the first radio in accordance with the watering program. Supra claim 1 (e.g. see accordance with the watering program as receiving flow information responsive to executing the program)
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805) in view over Nemecek (PG/PUB 20200232939)
Claim 5.
The control system of claim 2 but does not teach the deactivation signal limitations described below. Nemecek teaches the deactivation limitation described below
wherein the memory includes processor executable instructions that when executed by the processor performs steps of:
generating a deactivation signal after the flow information indicates that water is not flowing through the first irrigation line (Romney, 0082-84 e.g. see placing from high to low power mode responsive to sending the deactivation signal to the first radio (Romney, 0082-84, see Nemecek 0039 e.g. “In a Radio OFF Step 240 Radio Circuit 165 is turned OFF, e.g., returned from the awake mode to the sleep mode. Radio OFF Step 240 may be performed by Sleep Circuit 155 in response to Clock Circuit 160 and/or in response to successful completion of Send Data Step 140.”, see deactivating after completing transmission, and see the transmission of Romney, the combination reading on ‘generating a deactivation signal after the flow information indicates that water is not flowing through the first irrigation line.’)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Nemeck., namely deactivating a radio upon completing transmission, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers including controlling radio activation and deactivation based on measurement intervals,, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the controller to issue a deactivation signal to the radio for conserving battery power.
Claim 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805) in view over Wong (USPN 11395225)
Claim 6.
The control system of claim 1 but does not teach at least zigbee described below. Wong teaches Zigbee described below
wherein the first radio is configured to send and receive information using at least one of LTE, Cat-M, LTE-M, Cat NB-IoT, LTE Cat1, LoRaWAN, and Zigbee communication (The hub device 202, the VA device 208, the sensors 204, the automation devices 206, the gateway devices 210, client devices 214, 216, and/or endpoint devices 230 may use one or more wired and/or wireless communication protocols to communicate, including, for example and without limitation, Wi-Fi (e.g., the user's network 218), X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, Z-Wave, and/or a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN), such as a chirp spread spectrum (CSS) modulation technology network (e.g., LoRaWAN), an Ultra Narrow Band modulation technology network (e.g., Sigfox, Telensa, NB-IoT, etc.), the long-range LPWAN communication protocols according to the present application, and/or the like.)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Wong, namely employing multiple types of communication protocols, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the radio communicate using at least Zigbee in consideration of range and power requirements. Wong is reasonably pertinent to a problem of radio communication, summary of invention,
Claim 7.
The control system of claim 1 but does not teach the frequency limitations described below. Wong teaches the frequency limitations described below
wherein the first radio operates at a sub-Gigahertz frequency (Wong, Although not illustrated in FIG. 1A, one or more of the gateway devices 120, 142, 144, 146, 148 may be communicatively coupled to the gateway device 130 via an intermediary or bridge device (not shown). The bridge device may include a first wireless radio for communicating using wireless signals of a first type or protocol and a second wireless radio for communicating using wireless signals of a second type or protocol. For example, the gateway devices 120, 142, 144, 146, 148 may communicate with the bridge device via the first wireless radio using wireless signals in a sub-gigahertz band (e.g., around 900 MHz, such as in the range of 902-928 MHz), while the bridge device may communicate with the gateway device 130 via the second wireless radio using Wi-Fi signals. In other embodiments, any of the gateway devices 120, 130, 142, 144, 146, 148 may itself/themselves comprise a bridge device having a first wireless radio for communicating using wireless signals of a first type or protocol (e.g., 900 MHz) and a second wireless radio for communicating using wireless signals of a second type or protocol (e.g., Wi-Fi)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Wong, namely employing multiple types of communication protocols, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the radio communicate using at least Zigbee in consideration of range and power requirements. Wong is reasonably pertinent to a problem of radio communication, summary of invention,
Clam 11.
The control system of claim 10, but does not teach the short range limitations described below. Wong teaches the short range limitations described below , wherein the second radio provides short range wireless communication ( e.g. “The hub device 202, the VA device 208, the sensors 204, the automation devices 206, the gateway devices 210, client devices 214, 216, and/or endpoint devices 230 may use one or more wired and/or wireless communication protocols to communicate, including, for example and without limitation, Wi-Fi (e.g., the user's network 218), X10, Ethernet, RS-485, 6LoWPAN, Bluetooth LE (BLE), ZigBee, Z-Wave, and/or a low-power wide-area network (LPWAN), such as a chirp spread spectrum (CSS) modulation technology network (e.g., LoRaWAN), an Ultra Narrow Band modulation technology network (e.g., Sigfox, Telensa, NB-IoT, etc.), the long-range LPWAN communication protocols according to the present application, and/or the like
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Wong, namely employing multiple types of communication protocols, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the radio communicate using at least Zigbee in consideration of range and power requirements. Wong is reasonably pertinent to a problem of radio communication, summary of invention,
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805) in view over Pabon (USPN 7729860)
Claim 12.
The control system of claim 1 but does not teach the turbine limitations below. Pabon teaches the turbine limitations described below.
wherein the first flow sensor is a turbine flow sensor and configured to provide power to the power source when water is flowing through the first irrigation line (e.g. “A second embodiment provides a sensor-transmitter station wherein the attribute is pressure difference, and the energy-harvesting sensor includes a turbine electrical generator having a turbine located within a sample flow line through a wall of the downhole drilling assembly, and a pressure-operated, piston-driven, spring-loaded sleeve valve adapted to control flow through the sample flow line in accordance with the pressure difference.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Pabon, namely generating power for components using water flow, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) and a first sensor between distributed irrigation controllers including battery based power systems, would achieve an expected and predictable result via employing the power harvesting means of Pabon via adapting the first sensor of Marsters.
Claim 13.
The control system of claim 8 but does not teach the turbine limitations below. Pabon teaches the turbine limitations described below.
wherein the second flow sensor is a turbine flow sensor configured to provide power to the power source when water is flowing through the second irrigation line (e.g. “A second embodiment provides a sensor-transmitter station wherein the attribute is pressure difference, and the energy-harvesting sensor includes a turbine electrical generator having a turbine located within a sample flow line through a wall of the downhole drilling assembly, and a pressure-operated, piston-driven, spring-loaded sleeve valve adapted to control flow through the sample flow line in accordance with the pressure difference.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Pabon, namely generating power for components using water flow, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) and a second sensor between distributed irrigation controllers including battery based power systems, would achieve an expected and predictable result via employing the power harvesting means of Pabon via adapting the second sensor of Marsters.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805) in view over Johnson et al. (PG/PUB 20210140151)
Claim 14.
The control system of claim 2 but does not teach the leak limitations described below. Johnson teaches the leak limitations described below
wherein the memory includes processor executable instructions that when processed by the control system perform steps of processing the first flow information and determining whether water is leaking from the first irrigation line (Johnson, 0005 e.g. “In at least one embodiment, the method includes generating an alert indicating a risk of leaks in the liquid delivery system in response to a determination of whether valves in the liquid delivery system are communicatively coupled to a central system. In at least one embodiment, the method includes selectively suspending a predetermined schedule for liquid delivery based on the leak indicator. In at least one embodiment, the method includes detecting an event in the liquid delivery system, identifying a corresponding type of the event as a leak event type or a non-leak event type, and adjusting execution of a predetermined program for operating the liquid delivery system in response to detecting the event and the corresponding type being the leak event type. In at least one embodiment, the adjusting includes disabling the liquid delivery system based on detection of the event and the corresponding type being the leak event type. In at least one embodiment, the method includes maintaining the execution of the predetermined program based on detection of the event and the corresponding type being the non-leak event type. In at least one embodiment, the method includes communicating metadata to a central system, receiving sensor data from a sensor in the mainline, and converting the sensor data from a sensor interface format selected from a plurality of sensor interface formats to the metadata.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Johnson, namely detecting leaks, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers including battery based power systems, would achieve an expected and predictable result via employing the leak detection means of Johnson to minimize waste and identify irrigation faults. Johnson is in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 15.
The control system of claim 14 but does not teach the leak limitations described below. Johnson teaches the leak limitations described below
wherein the step of processing the first flow information includes comparing the first flow information to a state of the first valve, wherein when the first flow information indicates water flow in the first irrigation line when the first valve is closed, a leak is indicated (Johnson,0045-47 e.g. “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 10, in at least one embodiment, central system 150 periodically initiates a technique that reduces or eliminates the impact of the air or gas captured with water or other fluid in the irrigation system, e.g., pressure damage, pipe cavitation, or blowout (i.e., an uncontrolled release of fluid). In some embodiments, central system 150 performs the blowout prevention technique at the beginning of any scheduled test (e.g., a mainline test). In general, fill time is the amount of time to reach a fully charged state, i.e., the time for the mainline to reach maximum pressure. In a fully charged state, if the mainline has no leaks, fluid flow is constant. Each mainline has an expected fill time determined during an initial configuration test of the fluid delivery system. Differences in an actual fill time and the expected fill time and a consumption profile for the fluid delivery system can indicate a leak and the expected fill time is useful for quantifying the loss of water due to system leaks after the mainline is fully charged. A constant flow rate can be used to detect the fully charged state in the absence of a pressure sensor. If the master valve is closed, a leak is present if the mainline is fully charged and there is constant flow.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Johnson, namely detecting leaks, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers including battery based power systems, would achieve an expected and predictable result via employing the leak detection means of Johnson to minimize waste and identify irrigation faults. Johnson is in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 16. The control system of claim 8 but does not teach the leak limitations described below. Johnson teaches the leak limitations described below
wherein the memory includes processor executable instructions that when processed by the control system perform steps of:
processing the second flow information and determining whether water is leaking from the second irrigation line (Figure 11, supra claim 14)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Johnson, namely detecting leaks, to the teachings of Marsters, namely providing communication means (e.g. central controller) between distributed irrigation controllers including battery based power systems, would achieve an expected and predictable result via employing the leak detection means of Johnson to minimize waste and identify irrigation faults. Johnson is in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 17.
The control system of claim 16, wherein the step of processing the second flow information includes comparing the second flow information to a state of the second valve, wherein when the second flow information indicates water flow in the second irrigation line when the second valve is closed, a leak is indicated (supra claim 15)
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marsters (PG/PUB 20130060389) in view over Romney et al. (PG/PUB 20160219805) in view over O-Dell (PG/PUB 20200045897)
Claim 23.
A control system but does not expressly teach the flow time, comparison, and alert limitations described below. O-Dell teaches the flowtime, comparison, and alert limitations described below comprises:
a control unit including, supra claim 1
a processor; supra claim 1
memory operably connected to the processor including processor executable code including a watering program that when executed by the processor provides control signals; supra claim 1
a first valve operably connected to the control unit and in fluid communication with a first irrigation line to control flow through the first irrigation line based on the control signals; supra claim 1
a first radio operably connected to the control unit and switchable from an active state in which the radio sends and receives information and a latent state in which it does not transmit or receive; supra claim 1
a power source electrically connected to the control unit and first radio and to provide power thereto, supra claim 1
wherein the processor executable code, when executed by the processor, performs steps of:
establishing a flow time based on the flow information (O’Dell, ABSTRACT e.g. see expected flow that is learned, 0006, 0018-0019, 0022-23, 0026-27
comparing the flow time to the watering program to determine whether the flow time corresponds to an on time for the first valve in accordance with the watering program (O’Dell, 0027 e.g. see comparing learned flow to the flow occurring at a start time to determine abnormal operation and issuing alert)
transmitting the alert message using the first radio, supra claim 1 (O’Dell, 0026-27)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of O’Dell for communicating an alert responsive to comparing expected flow to actual flow upon start, to the teachings of Marsters, as modified, namely using a radio to communicate data, would achieve an expected and predictable result via adapting the radio to perform a function of communicating the alerts generated responsive to the comparison. O’Dell is in the same field of endeavor and pertinent to a problem of monitoring flow, as described, ABSTRACT
Claim 24.
Marsters, as modified by Romney and O’dell, teaches a control system comprises:
a control unit including:
a processor; supra claim 23
memory operably connected to the processor including processor executable code including a watering program that when executed by the processor provides control signals; supra claim 23
a first valve operably connected to the control unit and in fluid communication with a first irrigation line to control flow through the first irrigation line based on the control signals; supra claim 23
a first radio operably connected to the control unit and switchable from an active state in which the radio sends and receives information and a latent state in which it does not transmit or receive; supra claim 23
a power source electrically connected to the control unit and first radio and to provide power thereto, supra claim 23
wherein the processor executable code, when executed by the processor, performs steps of:
determining an on time for the first valve based on the watering program; supra claim 23
determining whether water is flowing in the first irrigation line during the on time; supra claim 23
generating an alert message when the flow information indicates that water is not flowing in the first irrigation line during the on time; supra claim 23
transmitting the alert message using the first radio, supra claim 23
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20090099701 discloses a distributed control system involving a central controller adjusting distributed controllers based on sensor information, including radio communication, 0031 e.g. “ Further, some remote access systems employ hand-held radios, such as radios communicating over UHF or other radio frequency. In many countries, however, the radio frequencies are controlled by governmental regulations, and often require licensing (e.g., from the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in the United States) in order to utilize these radio frequencies. This licensing can add signification cost and complication to a remote access system. Further in some countries, access to appropriate radio frequencies cannot be obtained preventing wireless access using these radio frequencies. Additionally, these hand-held radio devices have a relatively limited range of operation. Still further, typically these hand-held radio devices have limited functionality and user interfaces, limiting the effectiveness of these devices and further limiting the type of information and/or amount of information that can be provided to a user utilizing the hand-held radio.”
6600971 discloses distributed irrigation control involving radio communication e.g. “In one variation of the invention, a DTMF radio receiver, which receives and decodes tones from handheld radios for remote systems, can be optimally placed at one of the satellite controllers 15. The user can send a DTMF message to the receiver that can be addressed to any satellite controller 15. The DTMF message is prefaced with a satellite address and is forwarded on the bus from the satellite controller 15 with the receiver to the controller that was addressed in the message. Thus, the message is received and forwarded on the bus to the specified satellite controller 15.”
20180122235 0042-43 e.g. “When a sensor detects a change in chemical composition it could activate the sensor radio so that it could communicate with a base station to share more information. Obviously, the inventive technology would be useful in a variety of remote imaging application, where the remote imager is normally off until an event of interest is sensed, at which time the remote imager turns on and allows a base station to communicate with it to receive image data relating to the event,” see also 0062 e.g. “[0062] Use of sensor-controlled switch 210 to manage power is advantageous when compared to the use of a duty cycled system for two reasons. First, sensor-controlled switch 210 is always listening for valid conditions and therefore can immediately turn on circuitry when it detects a valid condition. It can immediately turn on radio 306, for example, so that radio 306 can listen for transmissions from human interface device 103, or transmit an attention signal to let other radios know it is on, or a combination of both. While sensor-controlled switch 210 is listening, there is no need to provide power to circuitry such as interrupt responsive circuitry or timer circuitry. Instead, all circuitry can be completely off. In contrast, a duty cycled system cannot receive or respond to radio signals during the time it is in a low power state. Therefore, a system that relies on a duty cycled radio will incur an average response delay of half of the time that the duty cycled radio is in the low power state. If the duty cycled radio has just completed a listening cycle when a transmitter begins sending requests to respond to the duty cycled radio, the duty cycled radio will not be able to receive the request and respond until it has completed the low power portion of its duty cycle and turns on to listen mode again. In some systems this delay could be 1 second. In other systems the delay could be as much as an hour or more. With sensor-controlled switch 210, however, the system is always listening for conditions deemed valid for turning on radio 306.”)
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117