Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claim 17 “override comprises a mechanical tumbler”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Dost et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2014-0167425).
For claim 15, Dost et al. discloses an assembly comprising:
an electronic lock (100, para. [0024]) configured to electronically move between a first state, wherein the electronic lock engages an anchor (120), and a second state, wherein the electronic lock does not engage the anchor (The position, when the retainer 111 engages the bolt 120, defines the first state. The position, when the retainer 111 disengages the bolt 120, defines the second state.); and
an override (Override mechanism 300 includes 310 striker and trigger 130. Para. [0027]) comprising a mechanical linkage (330, 320, 321, 310 and 130) connected to the electronic lock (Figures 3-4), wherein the override is manually operable to move the electronic lock from the first state to the second state by action of the mechanical linkage (Pulling the lever 330 releases the retainer 111. Para. [0028].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dost et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2014-0167425) in view of Ayrest (U.S. Pub. App. 2015-0240520).
For claim 1, Dost et al. discloses, in Figures 1-5, a lock system comprising:
an electronic lock (100, para. [0024]) comprising an electronic actuator (110 and access control device, para. [0025]) and a retainer (111), wherein the electronic actuator is configured to move the retainer (111) from a first position to a second position (The position, when the retainer 111 engages the bolt 120, defines the first position. The position, when the retainer 111 disengages the bolt 120, defines the second position.);
a mechanical lock comprising a body, wherein the mechanical lock is configured to transition from an immobile state to a mobile state when engaged by a key, the body is movable from a third position to a fourth position when the mechanical lock is in the mobile state, and the body is not movable from the third position to the fourth position when the mechanical lock is in the immobile state; and
an override actuator (Override mechanism 300 includes 310 striker and trigger 130. Para. [0027]) connected to the mechanical lock and the electronic lock, wherein the override activator is configured to move the retainer (111) from the first position to the second position when the body moves from the third position to the fourth position.
Ayrest teaches, in Figures 1-33, a mechanical lock (cam lock) that can be operated by a key 101 to move the body 67 from locked state (third position) to unlocked state (fourth position) as in Figures 5-6 (Para. [0022]), and thus providing a secured and safe operation of the locking system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dost et al. with a mechanical lock that locks the movement of the striker 310 of the override actuator such that the mechanical lock is able to transition from an immobile state to a mobile state when engaged by the key, the body is movable from a third position to a fourth position when the mechanical lock is in the mobile state, and the body is not movable from the third position to the fourth position when the mechanical lock is in the immobile state, as taught by Ayrest with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a secured and safe operation of the lock.
Dost et al. modified with features of Ayrest teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 2, the combination teaches the lock system of claim 1, wherein the mechanical lock comprises a lever (91 of Ayrest) configured to rotate when the body (67 of Ayrest) moves from the third position to the fourth position, and the override actuator is connected to the lever (When Dost et al. modified with features of Ayrest, override actuator will be connected to the lever.)
For claim 3, Dost et al. discloses the lock system of claim 2, wherein the override actuator comprises a cable (320) connected to the lever (330, para. [0027].)
For claim 4, Dost et al. discloses the lock system of claim 3, wherein the override actuator comprises a sleeve through which the cable extends such that the sleeve and the cable form a Bowden cable (320 defines the Bowden cable with cable and sleeve. Figure 3.)
For claim 5, the combination teaches the lock system of claim 4, wherein the retainer (111 of Dost et al.) is configured to return from the second position to the first position when the body (67 of Ayrest) moves from the fourth position to the third position if the electronic actuator is inactive (When Dost et al. modified with features of Ayrest as in claim 1, and in the event of power failure [Para. 007 of Dost et al.], the override actuator is activated to move the body to from the fourth position to the third position.)
For claim 6, the combination teaches the lock system of claim 1, wherein the lock system is configured to move the retainer (111 of Dost et al.) from the second position to the first position when the body (67 of Ayrest) moves from the fourth position to the third position (The retainer 111 is biased to the first position [Para. 0026 of Dost et al.]. The override actuator enable mechanical actuation of retainer 111 [Para. 0027 od Dost et al.] to move to the second position. When the body [67 of Ayrest] moves from the fourth position to the third position, the striker plate 310 is biased to the first position, i.e., the retainer 111 is free to move to the first position [Para. 0028 of Dost et al.] Thus, Dost et al. modified with Ayrest teaches the claimed limitation.)
For claim 7, Dost et al. discloses the lock system of claim 6, wherein the retainer (111) is biased toward the first position (Para. [0026].)
For claim 8, Dost et al. discloses the lock system of claim 7, wherein the override actuator is biased toward a position allowing the retainer to return from the second position to the first position (Figure 3.)
For claim 9, Dost et al. discloses the lock system of claim 8, comprising a spring (311), wherein the override actuator comprises a cable (320), and a bias on the override actuator is provided by the spring acting on the cable (Para. [0028], Figures 3-4.)
For claim 10, Dost et al. discloses a unit comprising: the lock system of claim 1; an anchor (120); a first portion (Side wall of the tray compartment. Para. [0025]); and a second portion (Lid, para. [0024]); wherein: the retainer (111) is configured to engage the anchor (120) when the first portion contacts the second portion and the retainer is in the first position, the retainer is configured to prevent the first portion from moving out of engagement with the second portion when the retainer engages the anchor (When the lid is in the closed position, the retainer is configured to engage the anchor, and prevent the first portion from moving out of engagement with the second portion.), and the retainer is configured to disengage the anchor when the retainer moves from the first position to the second position (In the open position, the retainer is configured to disengage from the anchor.)
For claim 11, the combination teaches the unit of claim 10, wherein the unit is a cooler comprising: a merchandise storage space; a payment interface; a frame comprising the first portion of the unit; and a door comprising the second portion of the unit, wherein the door is configured to prevent manual access to the merchandise storage space when the retainer engages the anchor and to enable manual access to the merchandise storage space when the first portion is out of contact with the second portion (Dost et al. modified with features of Ayrest teaches a lock system between a door and a frame to securely lock the interior space. The lock system can be used in any intended environment including a cooler with a merchandise storage space and a payment interface.)
For claim 12, Dost et al. discloses the unit of claim 11, wherein either the first portion or the second portion comprises the anchor and the other of the first portion or the second portion comprises the retainer of the electronic lock (The lid comprises the retainer [0024] and the side wall comprises the anchor 120 [0025].)
For claim 13, the combination teaches the unit of claim 11, wherein the unit is configured to activate the electronic actuator to move the retainer to the second position in response to receipt of a payment or payment authorization by the payment interface (Dost et al. modified with features of Ayrest teaches a lock system between a door and a frame to securely lock the interior space. The lock system can be used in any intended environment including a cooler to move the retainer to the second position in response to receipt of a payment or payment authorization by the payment interface.)
For claim 14, Dost et al. discloses the unit of claim 10, wherein: the first portion comprises a frame, the electronic lock is movably mounted to the frame, and the electronic lock is biased relative to the frame; or the second portion comprises a door, the anchor is movably mounted to the door, and the anchor is biased relative to the door (The lock is mounted on the lid [0024] and the anchor 120 is mounted to the frame [0025]. The retainer 111 is biased to the locked state, para. [0026].)
Dost et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the lock is mounted to the frame and the anchor is mounted to the door. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lock on the frame and anchor on the lid, since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. One skill in the art would realize that having the lock on the frame and anchor on the lid would not affect the function of the invention.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dost et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2014-0167425) in view of Larson (U.S. Patent No. 4,407,147).
For claim 16, Dost et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein: the override is configured to be in an inoperable state when a security token is absent, the inoperable state preventing manual operation of the override to move the electronic lock from the first state to the second state, and the override is configured to move from the inoperable state to an operable state when the security token is presented to the override.
Larson teaches, in Figures 1-21, a tumbler lock with mechanical key and a locking member 29, which can be turned to locking and unlocking positions by the key (Col. 3, L25-29; Col.5, L29-32). Larson teaches a secured and safe locking system (corresponds to security token.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dost et al. with a mechanical tumbler lock that locks the movement of the striker 310 of the override actuator such that the override is configured to be in an inoperable state when a security token is absent, the inoperable state preventing manual operation of the override to move the electronic lock from the first state to the second state, and the override is configured to move from the inoperable state to an operable state when the security token is presented to the override, as taught by Larson with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a secured and safe operation of the lock.
For claim 17, the combination teaches the assembly of claim 16, wherein: the security token is a mechanical key, the override comprises a mechanical tumbler configured complementarily to the mechanical key, and the override is configured to move from the inoperable state to the operable state when the mechanical key is presented to the override by being placed into engagement with the mechanical tumbler (Larson teaches, in Figures 1-21, a tumbler lock with mechanical key and a locking member 29, which can be turned to locking and unlocking positions by the key [Col. 3, L25-29; Col.5, L29-32]. Dost et al. modified with Larson teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 18, Dost et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, wherein the override is operable to move the electronic lock from the first state to the second state without drawing from any electrical power source (Pulling the lever 330 releases the retainer 111. Para. [0028].)
For claim 19, Dost et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, wherein the override comprises an override actuator that comprises the linkage (330, 230, 321, and 310. Figures 3-4.)
For claim 20, Dost et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, comprising: a first portion of the assembly, wherein the first portion of the assembly comprises at least part of the electronic lock (Lock 100 is on the lid, which is the first portion [0024].); and a second portion of the assembly, wherein the second portion of the assembly comprises the anchor (Anchor 120 is on the side wall, which is the second portion [0025]); wherein the first portion of the system can be disengaged from the second portion of the system (Retainer 111 and anchor are disengaged, [0025-0026]), and the electronic lock prevents disengagement of the first portion of the system from the second portion of the system when the electronic lock engages the anchor (Retainer 111 and anchor are engaged, [0025-0026].)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. Prior art cited but not applied includes Compeau (U.S. Patent No. 7,823936); Fannon (U.S. Patent No. 8,317,237); and Lurie (U.S. Pub. App. 2009-0071209).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675