DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4 October 2024, 8 January 2025 and 2 June 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0075866 by Gagne-Keats et al.
As to claims 1, 9 and 16, Gagne-Keats discloses an electronic device (Gagne-Keats: Fig 1 -100; Page 2, Sec 26; mobile device)/method/non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising:
at least one processor (Gagne-Keats: Page 2, Sec 18; “In one example, the mobile device includes a processor configured to execute the multiple software programs stored at the non-private memory only when the mobile device is in a non-private mode, execute the one or more trusted programs only when the mobile device is in a private mode, and enable switching between the non-private mode and the private mode during reboot of the mobile device”); and
memory configured to store instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (Gagne-Keats: Page 2, Sec 18; An embodiment includes a mobile device with a non-private memory that is configured to store multiple software programs. The multiple software programs can include an application and a driver program. The driver program controls operation of a cellular radio, Wi-Fi radio, global positioning system (GPS) module, Bluetooth radio, camera device, microphone device, or a USB port. The mobile device includes a private memory configured to store a copy of the multiple software programs and additionally store one or more trusted software programs (“trusted programs”). The trusted programs are exclusively stored in the private memory of the mobile device.”), cause the electronic device to:
identify a user input while the electronic device is operating in a first mode (Gagne-Keats: Page 2, Sec 26 – Page 3, Sec 28; “The mobile device 100 can be switched between private and non-private modes by, for example, rebooting the mobile device 100 to a selected mode” and “The mobile device 100 has a display screen that presents a user interface 102 (“UI 102”) such as a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes controls for rebooting.”) wherein, in the first mode of the electronic device, each of a plurality of storage areas of the memory is associated with a corresponding directory name based on a first mounting operation (Gagne-Keats: Page 4, Sec 39-41; “[0039] At 302, software programs are stored at a non-private memory associated with the mobile device. The software programs can include application software and driver software. As indicated earlier, the driver program controls operation of a RAT device, a PNT device, an I/O device, or a communications port of the mobile device. In one example, the software programs stored on the non-private memory are executable when the mobile device is in a non-private mode and/or private mode.
[0040] At 304, copies of the software programs and one or more trusted software programs are stored at a private memory of the mobile device. The trusted software programs are only stored in the private memory of the mobile device. The mobile device can execute a trusted software program stored on the private memory only when the mobile device is in a private mode. The mobile device can transfer or copy data from the private memory to the non-private memory when the mobile device is in the private mode. However, the reverse procedure of transferring or copying data from the non-private memory to the private memory may be unavailable or blocked. The mobile device can be booted in a non-private mode that forbids access to copies of software programs stored on the private memory or booted in a private mode that allows access to the software programs stored on the private memory. In one example, the mobile device can only execute trusted software programs stored on the private memory only when the mobile device is in the private mode. [0041] At 306, the mobile device can switch between a non-private mode and a private mode upon reboot. The non-private mode forbids access to the private memory and the private mode allows access to the private memory. In one example, the mobile device can switch from private mode to non-private mode in response to completion of a first authentication procedure. The mobile device can switch from non-private mode to private mode in response to completion of a second authentication procedure different from the first authentication procedure. For example, the second authentication procedure can include an additional authentication factor.”);
in response to the identified user input, turn off the electronic device to cause the directory names to be disassociated from the corresponding storage areas, and turn on the electronic device to boot the electronic device to a second mode (Gagne-Keats: Page 2, Sec 26 and Page 4, Sec 41; “ FIG. 1 illustrates a mobile device 100 that can be switched between a private mode and a non-private mode. In one example, the mobile device 100 is set to non-private mode by default. The mobile device 100 can be switched between private and non-private modes by, for example, rebooting the mobile device 100 to a selected mode” and “At 306, the mobile device can switch between a non-private mode and a private mode upon reboot. The non-private mode forbids access to the private memory and the private mode allows access to the private memory. In one example, the mobile device can switch from private mode to non-private mode in response to completion of a first authentication procedure. The mobile device can switch from non-private mode to private mode in response to completion of a second authentication procedure different from the first authentication procedure. For example, the second authentication procedure can include an additional authentication factor”), and
while the electronic device is being booted to the second mode:
identify a portion of the plurality of storage areas in which log information is stored (Gagne-Keats: Page 5, Sec 48; “FIG. 4 is a block diagram 400 that illustrates modified content of the non-private memory 402 that can be restored from content of private memory 404. As shown, the non-private memory 402 stores applications 406 including App 1, App 2, and App 4. App 3 has been removed from the non-private memory 402. The non-private memory 402 also stores driver programs 408 for the cellular radio, WiFi, Bluetooth, camera, microphone, or USB ports. The driver program for the GPS has been removed. The non-private memory 402 includes other software 410: software 1 and software 2. The private memory 404 includes counterpart copies of all the applications 406, driver programs 408, and other software 410, which can be used to restore any of the software programs (e.g., App 3, GPS) removed from the non-private memory 402. The private memory 404 additionally stores trusted programs (e.g., Trusted App 1, Trusted App 2, Trusted App 3) that have been vetted by a trusted source.”); and
perform a second mounting operation, different from the first mounting operation, to associate a portion of the directory names with the identified portion of the storage areas, and to not associate a remaining portion of the storage areas with a remaining portion of the directory names such that the remaining portion of the directory names remains disassociated with the remaining portion of the storage areas to disable access to information stored in the remaining portion of the storage areas (Gagne-Keats: Page 5, Sec 48; FIG. 4 is a block diagram 400 that illustrates modified content of the non-private memory 402 that can be restored from content of private memory 404. As shown, the non-private memory 402 stores applications 406 including App 1, App 2, and App 4. App 3 has been removed from the non-private memory 402. The non-private memory 402 also stores driver programs 408 for the cellular radio, WiFi, Bluetooth, camera, microphone, or USB ports. The driver program for the GPS has been removed. The non-private memory 402 includes other software 410: software 1 and software 2. The private memory 404 includes counterpart copies of all the applications 406, driver programs 408, and other software 410, which can be used to restore any of the software programs (e.g., App 3, GPS) removed from the non-private memory 402. The private memory 404 additionally stores trusted programs (e.g., Trusted App 1, Trusted App 2, Trusted App 3) that have been vetted by a trusted source.”).
As to claims 2, 10 and 17, Gagne-Keats further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: store, in the identified portion of the storage areas, the log information that is accumulated by at least one software application executed by the processor when the electronic device is operating in the first mode(Gagne-Keats: Page 7, Sec 70; “At 708, the access monitoring function causes the mobile device to covertly record human-device interactions in a log during a time period. For example, the mobile device can capture one or more images with its camera when subsequent activity commences. The access monitoring function can monitor and record inputs, communications, or other inputs/outputs during the period that commenced when a first activity was detected and terminates at a later point in time. As such, the access monitoring function of the mobile phone can covertly record activity during transitions from idle to active states.”.)
As to claims 3, 11 and 18, Gagne-Keats further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: bypass associating the remaining portion of the directory names to the remaining portion of the storage areas while the electronic device is booted in the second mode Gagne-Keats: Page 2, Sec 26 and Page 4, Sec 41; “ FIG. 1 illustrates a mobile device 100 that can be switched between a private mode and a non-private mode. In one example, the mobile device 100 is set to non-private mode by default. The mobile device 100 can be switched between private and non-private modes by, for example, rebooting the mobile device 100 to a selected mode” and “At 306, the mobile device can switch between a non-private mode and a private mode upon reboot. The non-private mode forbids access to the private memory and the private mode allows access to the private memory. In one example, the mobile device can switch from private mode to non-private mode in response to completion of a first authentication procedure. The mobile device can switch from non-private mode to private mode in response to completion of a second authentication procedure different from the first authentication procedure. For example, the second authentication procedure can include an additional authentication factor”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0075866 by Gagne-Keats et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0089569 by Baribault et al.
As to claims 5, 13 and 20, Gagne-Keats discloses all recited elements of claims 1, 9 and 16 from which claims 5, 13 and 20 depend.
Gagne-Keats does not expressly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is being booted in the second mode, identify the portion of the storage areas based on whether an owner of each of the storage areas corresponds to a sub-user indicated by authority information of the second mode.
Baribault discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is being booted in the second mode, identify the portion of the storage areas based on whether an owner of each of the storage areas corresponds to a sub-user indicated by authority information of the second mode (Baribault: Fig 7, Page 5, Sec 69 - Page 6, Sec 72; “[0069] Turning now to FIG. 7, an example selection component 102 is shown in accordance with an embodiment of the innovation. Generally, in addition to providing a menu or interpreting an affirmative user command (e.g., voice command), the selection component 102 can include a context-based selection component 702 and an identity-based selection component 704. As will be described in greater detail below, a policy or rule (e.g., implementation scheme) can be applied in connection with each of the illustrated sub-components (702, 704). Additionally, MLR mechanisms (or logic) can be employed to determine and/or infer an appropriate OS (or stage of OS) to implement in a given context or as related to a given identity.[0070] The context-based selection component 702 can incorporate contextual awareness into the decision-making process of selecting an appropriate OS by processing information received, accessed or otherwise obtained from sensory mechanisms--which can include environmental as well as physiological sensors (e.g., global position systems, calendars, clocks, anxiety detectors, microphones, activity monitors, etc.). In other words, contextual factors including, but not limited to, user environment, device environment, date, time of day, location, engaged activity, schedule/appointments, enterprise affiliation, or the like can be factored into logic decisions when determining (or inferring) an appropriate OS (or stage of OS) to install. [0071] The identity-based selection component 704 enables a user to define a specific `identity` or persona by which an OS can be selected. A user can have multiple `identities` or personas which can define criteria related to, but not limited to, policies, preferences, security, data access, or the like. Accordingly, these identities can be used to determine and/or infer an appropriate OS. [0072] In operation, rules or implementation schemes can be defined into a policy or preference which can then be employed to assess selection criteria. While not illustrated, it will be understood that the innovation described herein is contemplated to include a user interface (UI) which enables rule generation. In addition to rules-based logic, the innovation can also employ MLR mechanisms to determine or infer an OS in accordance with most any number of factors. For instance, an identity (or persona) can be used to automatically select an OS for installation or boot.”).
Gagne-Keats and Baribault are analogous art because they are from the common area of device protection.
It would have been obvious, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the identity information of Baribault in the system of Gagne-Keats. The rationale would have been to limit access to specific area by identity (Baribault: Fig 7, Page 5, Sec 69 - Page 6, Sec 72).
As to claims 6 and 14, the modified Gagne-Keats/Baribault reference further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the electronic device to: identify the authority information different from a first authority information wherein the first authority information indicates an owner-user who has access to all of the storage areas of the memory, and wherein the first authority information is used to perform the first mounting operation (Baribault: Fig 7, Page 5, Sec 69 - Page 6, Sec 72; “[0069] Turning now to FIG. 7, an example selection component 102 is shown in accordance with an embodiment of the innovation. Generally, in addition to providing a menu or interpreting an affirmative user command (e.g., voice command), the selection component 102 can include a context-based selection component 702 and an identity-based selection component 704. As will be described in greater detail below, a policy or rule (e.g., implementation scheme) can be applied in connection with each of the illustrated sub-components (702, 704). Additionally, MLR mechanisms (or logic) can be employed to determine and/or infer an appropriate OS (or stage of OS) to implement in a given context or as related to a given identity.[0070] The context-based selection component 702 can incorporate contextual awareness into the decision-making process of selecting an appropriate OS by processing information received, accessed or otherwise obtained from sensory mechanisms--which can include environmental as well as physiological sensors (e.g., global position systems, calendars, clocks, anxiety detectors, microphones, activity monitors, etc.). In other words, contextual factors including, but not limited to, user environment, device environment, date, time of day, location, engaged activity, schedule/appointments, enterprise affiliation, or the like can be factored into logic decisions when determining (or inferring) an appropriate OS (or stage of OS) to install. [0071] The identity-based selection component 704 enables a user to define a specific `identity` or persona by which an OS can be selected. A user can have multiple `identities` or personas which can define criteria related to, but not limited to, policies, preferences, security, data access, or the like. Accordingly, these identities can be used to determine and/or infer an appropriate OS. [0072] In operation, rules or implementation schemes can be defined into a policy or preference which can then be employed to assess selection criteria. While not illustrated, it will be understood that the innovation described herein is contemplated to include a user interface (UI) which enables rule generation. In addition to rules-based logic, the innovation can also employ MLR mechanisms to determine or infer an OS in accordance with most any number of factors. For instance, an identity (or persona) can be used to automatically select an OS for installation or boot.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 12, 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0111120 by Thakre et al. discloses the use of alternate OS systems on a device
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0300206 by Furuta discloses control of portions of a storage device
Conclusion
MICHAEL S. MCNALLY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2432
/Michael S McNally/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432