DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reference patent claims metallurgically fused first layer as do the claims of the instant application. While the instant application specifies technique to be used and those of the reference patent do not, it would be expected that no matter what technique is specified, the resulting articles would be indistinguishable since both lead to same structural bonding feature. Regarding Claims 17 and 18, the specified oxides and carbides appear to be quintessential examples of those specified in Claim 15, which are claimed in Claim 1 of the reference patent, which examples are rendered obvious as being immediately envisaged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 15, the bond coating is to be metallurgically bonded to substrate. However, CVD, one of the claimed methods, would not be expected to lead to such type of bonding since high temperatures required for metallurgical bonding would not be expected to be achieved. It is unclear how therefore CVD could lead to required type of bonding.
Regarding Claim 15, it is unclear whether there is any difference in “chromium” and “chrome”. This issue pertains to Claims 17 and 18 as well and the use of these terms in those claims.
Regarding Claim 16, it is unclear what characterizes and distinguishes “nanometer” and “micrometer” sizes. Any size can be expressed in one or the other of these units of length, and so it is unclear what constitutes the respective sizes.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, whether the claim is making a distinction or providing an equivalent alternative formulation in the specified group member pairs. For example, for group members “titanium oxide” and “TiOx”, are these to be understood as different expressions of the same type of oxide or to be understood as different scope of types of oxide? Does “titanium oxide” mean TiO2, only, for example? The same indefiniteness applies to other analogous oxide possible pairs in Claim 17 and the carbides of Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 17, it is unclear whether these oxides are necessarily present or whether, if oxides are present, they must be of these types. Analogous rejection applies to carbides of Claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darolia USPN 8,512,874. Darolia teaches metal component substrate having bond coat layer formed of metals including Zr or Ta (col. 5, lines 56-62) wherein the layer is formed by EBPVD and heat treatment so as to interdiffuse the coating with the substrate (col. 7, lines 13-54). Darolia teaches that ceramic TBC layer, such as YSZ, (Figure 2 at 26; col. 9, line 43) can be applied by thermal spraying (col. 4, line 38) wherein the ceramic can be one of many others as well (col. 4, line 33 through col. 5, line 12: [CMAS, which includes silica, i.e., silicon oxide]). In view of the interdiffused nature of the bondcoat, it can be characterized as being metallurgically fused and indistinguishable from one formed by CVD or other methods claimed since no claimed process parameters are specified that would be expected to lead to bonding that would not encompass Darolia. As well, the EBPVD in combination with heat treatment may be considered a type of fusion welding. Nevertheless, these methods arguably also may not be encompassed by the claimed product-by-process steps of this claim. However, the resulting articles in Darolia would be expected to have metallurgical bonding that is the same as or substantially the same as that encompassed by the claims in view of the interdiffusion and integral bonding that results therefrom. Absent evidence to the contrary, there is no expectation of a structural or compositional nature to the bonding formed by the claimed techniques that would necessarily be absent in Darolia’s bonding.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darolia USPN 8,512,874 in view of Huddleston et al. USPA 2007/0098987. Darolia teaches metal component substrate having bond coat layer formed of metals including Zr or Ta (col. 5, lines 56-62) wherein the layer is formed by EBPVD and heat treatment so as to interdiffuse the coating with the substrate (col. 7, lines 13-54). Darolia teaches that ceramic TBC layer, such as YSZ, (Figure 2 at 26; col. 9, line 43) can be applied by thermal spraying (col. 4, line 38) wherein the ceramic can be one of many others as well (col. 4, line 33 through col. 5, line 12: [CMAS, which includes silica, i.e., silicon oxide]). In view of the interdiffused nature of the bondcoat, it can be characterized as being metallurgically fused and indistinguishable from one formed by CVD or other methods claimed since no claimed process parameters are specified that would be expected to lead to bonding that would not encompass Darolia. Darolia may not teach claimed oxide in that CMAS may not be considered oxide of silicon. Huddleston teaches that oxide of titanium incorporated into YSZ is an effective TBC material for gas turbine (paragraph 49) and teaches other ceramics meeting oxide of titanium and silicon requirement (paragraph 21) all which can be in powder form (paragraph 24 [micron sized]) that is thermally sprayed (paragraph 32; and Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of invention to choose effective ceramic TBC material in Darolia such as those mentioned in Huddleston and to apply such ceramic by thermal spray means suggested by Darolia and Huddleston at particle size taught as effective by Huddleston in order to obtain coating layer that provides expected TBC performance required in gas turbine environment. The EBPVD in combination with heat treatment may be considered a type of fusion welding. Nevertheless, these methods arguably also may not be encompassed by the claimed product-by-process steps of this claim. However, the resulting articles in Darolia would be expected to have metallurgical bonding that is the same as or substantially the same as that encompassed by the claims in view of the interdiffusion and integral bonding that results therefrom. Absent evidence to the contrary, there is no expectation of a structural or compositional nature to the bonding formed by the claimed techniques that would necessarily be absent in Darolia’s bonding.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
28 September 2025