DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s initial application filed 4 October 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the guide channel has a cover connected to a film hinge” and “wherein the magnet is arranged by a snap-on mechanism in a form-fitting manner or by an adhesive attachment in a firmly bonded or magnetic manner or via another magnet” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A stationary machine tool for machining, a core drill, the machine tool comprising” in line 1. It is unclear whether the limitation “a core drill” is positively recited or is an optional limitation related to the stationary machine tool. For the purposes of examination this limitation has been considered to be optional.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the drill motor cable" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the first tool stand housing interior has an upper area and a lower area relative to a dashed line below.” It is unclear how “a dashed line below” is to be interpreted in the claim, as “a dashed line below” does not provide any metes and bounds that would convey understanding to one of ordinary skill in the art as to how to locate or define the dashed line, and what it should be below. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that this limitation should read “wherein the first tool stand housing interior has an upper area and a lower area that is below a dashed line horizontally dividing the first tool stand housing interior.”
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the lower area" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “wherein the magnet is a two-pole neodymium magnet with a diameter of more than 5 mm”, and the claim also recites “or more than 10 mm, or more than 20 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 211218877 U).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a stationary machine tool (CNC milling machine) for machining, the machine tool comprising: a tool stand 1 with a first tool stand housing interior 4; a chip guidance system comprising 5/22/23 at least one magnet 23 and a magnetic field induced by the at least one magnet, the at least one magnet in the first tool stand housing interior being arranged such that chips created by a machining process and entering the first interior of the tool stand housing are deflected by the chip guidance system; a motor (motor for magnet roller 5); a second tool stand housing interior 2 with an electronic unit (milling machine control connected to milling tool, not labeled, see figure 1) arranged therein; and a partition wall (wall of flow passage 4, see figure 1) separating the second tool stand housing interior from the first tool stand housing interior, the partition wall comprising at least one opening (outlet opening of liquid cooling plate 3) so that there is a connection between the motor and the electronic unit, wherein the magnet is attached to the partition wall (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses wherein the first tool stand housing interior 4 is partly formed by a removable housing cover (walls of flow passage 4).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses wherein the magnet 23 is adapted to be reversibly removed after removal of the housing cover (the magnet may be removed when the flow passages are disassembled).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng discloses wherein the first tool stand housing interior 4 has an upper area (vertical portion in figure 1) and a lower area (slanted portion in figure 1) relative to a dashed line below.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng discloses wherein the magnet 23 is arranged in the lower area (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng discloses wherein the magnet 23 is a permanent magnet (neodymium iron boron magnet).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng discloses wherein the magnet 23 is arranged by a snap-on mechanism 26 in a form-fitting manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Zheng does not disclose wherein the magnet is an electromagnet. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of magnets to substitute a permanent magnet with an electromagnet for the purpose of being able to turn the magnetic field of the magnet on and off.
Regarding claim 12, Zheng discloses wherein the magnet is a two-pole neodymium magnet (one of the plurality of magnets 23). Zheng does not disclose the magnet has with a diameter of more than 5 mm. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have selected a magnet having a diameter more than 5 mm for the purpose of using the magnet with a machine tool requiring a magnet of this size, because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 and 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 9 June 2026