DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-19, is/are filed on 10/4/2024 are currently pending. Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all apparatus claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,516 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,516 B2 substantially correspond to claims 1-19 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1.
Instant claim 2 is anticipated by reference claim 2. Instant claim 3 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches the filter element as a cylinder surrounding a central axis, and a conical or outwardly splayed cylinder is an ordinary alternative of that cartridge geometry. Instant claim 4 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches depth-type filter cartridges having nominal pore sizes of 3, 5, and 10 micrometers. Instant claim 5 is anticipated by reference claim 4. Instant claim 6 is anticipated by reference claim 12. Instant claim 7 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 8 is obvious over reference claim 3 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches laboratory filter cartridges used with vacuum receivers, and a reservoir volume of 50 ml to 2 L is the ordinary flask capacity for those cartridges. Instant claim 9 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 10 is obvious over reference claim 5 because a device positioned in a reservoir of a vacuum filter apparatus is routinely provided with an integrated vacuum pump as the vacuum source for that reservoir. Instant claim 11 is anticipated by reference claim 5. Instant claim 12 is anticipated by reference claim 6. Instant claim 13 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches a cylindrical filter element mounted in a cylindrical housing with end fittings, and a shoulder flange extending from a central opening across the filter top and beyond the body is an ordinary seating flange for that housing. Instant claim 14 is obvious over reference claim 1 because reference claim 1 already places in the inner space a flow director that displaces more volume toward the bottom end, which is the director of smaller top cross-section than bottom cross-section. Instant claim 15 is obvious over reference claim 2 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches that pleated filter formed as a sheet and mounted in a cylindrical housing. Instant claim 16 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges having nominal pore sizes of 1, 2, 3, and 5 micrometers. Instant claim 17 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 7,125,434 teaches a transverse filter-media depth of at least about 0.5 inch, within about 0.1 inch to about 2 inches. Instant claim 18 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches cartridge diameters of about 4.8 cm to about 17.8 cm, within an inner-cavity diameter of about 0.5 cm to about 60 cm. Instant claim 19 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter end diameters of about 4.5 inches to about 7 inches, within a shoulder-flange diameter of about 3 inches to about 7 inches.
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all apparatus claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,589,198 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) of U.S. Patent No. 10,589,198 B2 substantially correspond to claims 1-19 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent. Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 2 is anticipated by reference claim 2. Instant claim 3 is anticipated by reference claim 3. Instant claim 4 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches cylindrical filter cartridges, including depth-type cartridges, having nominal pore sizes of 3, 5, and 10 micrometers.
Instant claim 5 is anticipated by reference claim 4. Instant claim 6 is anticipated by reference claim 5. Instant claim 7 is anticipated by reference claim 6. Instant claim 8 is anticipated by reference claim 7. Instant claim 9 is anticipated by reference claim 8. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by reference claim 9. Instant claim 11 is anticipated by reference claim 10. Instant claim 12 is anticipated by reference claim 11. Instant claim 13 is anticipated by reference claim 12. Instant claim 14 is anticipated by reference claim 13. Instant claim 15 is anticipated by reference claim 14. Instant claim 16 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges adapted for filtration at nominal pore sizes of 1, 2, 3, and 5 micrometers, each of which is 5 microns or less. Instant claim 17 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 7,125,434 teaches a depth filter whose filtration material has a depth of at least about 0.5 inch, which lies within about 0.1 inch to about 2 inches. Instant claim 18 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges having diameters of about 4.8 cm to about 17.8 cm, which lie within an inner-cavity diameter of about 0.5 cm to about 60 cm. Instant claim 19 is obvious over reference claim 12 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges of about 11.4 cm (about 4.5 inches) and about 17.8 cm (about 7 inches) in diameter, so a shoulder-flange diameter of about 3 inches to about 7 inches is an overlapping end-fitting size for those cartridges.
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all apparatus claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,446,592 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) of U.S. Patent No. 11,446,592 B2 substantially correspond to claims 1-19 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent. Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 2 is anticipated by reference claim 2. Instant claim 3 is anticipated by reference claim 3. Instant claim 4 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges having nominal pore sizes of 3, 5, and 10 micrometers. Instant claim 5 is anticipated by reference claim 4. Instant claim 6 is anticipated by reference claim 6. Instant claim 7 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 8 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches laboratory-scale filter cartridges used with vacuum receivers, and a reservoir of 50 ml to 2 L is the ordinary capacity of a vacuum-filter flask paired with those cartridges. Instant claim 9 is anticipated by reference claim 7. Instant claim 10 is obvious over reference claim 1 because a vacuum filtration apparatus of the type positioned in a receiver, as required by reference claim 8, is routinely driven by an integrated vacuum pump that supplies the vacuum at the receiver. Instant claim 11 is anticipated by reference claim 8. Instant claim 12 is anticipated by reference claim 9. Instant claim 13 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches a cylindrical filter cartridge mounted in a housing with end fittings, and extending a radial shoulder flange beyond the housing body is an ordinary end-cap seal for seating that cartridge in a vacuum receiver. Instant claim 14 is obvious over reference claim 1 because reference claim 1 already mounts a flow director of smaller top cross-section than bottom cross-section in the filter inner space, and seating that same director in the housed cartridge of U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 does not change the director. Instant claim 15 is obvious over reference claim 2 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches the same class of filter formed as a pleated sheet and mounted in a cylindrical housing. Instant claim 16 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter cartridges having nominal pore sizes of 1, 2, 3, and 5 micrometers. Instant claim 17 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 7,125,434 teaches a filter-media depth of at least about 0.5 inch, within about 0.1 inch to about 2 inches. Instant claim 18 is obvious over reference claim 1 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches cartridge diameters of about 4.8 cm to about 17.8 cm, within about 0.5 cm to about 60 cm. Instant claim 19 is obvious over reference claim 6 because U.S. Patent No. 5,614,105 teaches filter end diameters of about 4.5 inches to about 7 inches, which fall in a shoulder-flange diameter of about 3 inches to about 7 inches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The term ‘about’ in claim(s) 17-19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term ‘about’ is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear from the specification what size in inches is covered by ‘about.’ For the purposes of examination, the relevant claim limitations are interpreted without this term. Applicant may overcome this rejection by deleting the word ‘about‘ from the claim(s).
Claim 18 recites "the inner cavity." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 recites "an inner space," not an inner cavity. For purposes of examination, "the inner cavity" is read as "the inner space."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Herrin (US 20100243554 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Herrin discloses a filter device (filter assembly 10; Figs. 1-6; [0034]) comprising: a filter element (outer filter element 12) surrounding a central axis (central longitudinal axis 20) and comprising a top end (first end 24), a bottom end (second end 26), an external filter surface (outer face of side wall 22), an internal filter surface (inner face of side wall 22), and an internal space (hollow core 45) between the central axis and internal surface ([0034], [0036], [0050]); a flow director (inner filter element 14) positioned within the internal space (hollow core 45) ([0003], [0036]) and displacing more of the internal space toward the bottom end of the filter than the flow director displaces toward the top of the filter ([0037], [0039]). Herrin's first end 24 is the top end. The arm 44 of the open endcap assembly 16 extends axially upward ([0041]), and the central fluid outlet 56 of the joint endcap 18 projects axially upward into the core ([0043]). So the open endcap assembly 16 sits at the top and the joint endcap 18 sits at the bottom. Fluid enters through inlet 38 into the annular fluid passage 34 and flows radially outward through the outer filter element 12 ([0045], [0050]). The inner face of side wall 22 is therefore the internal filter surface, and the outer face is the external filter surface. Herrin teaches that the radius of the inner filter element 14 can gradually increase from its first end 30 to its second end 32 ([0037]), and that the volume of the annular fluid passage 34 can gradually decrease from the first end 24 to the second end 26 ([0039]). The inner filter element 14 therefore takes up more of the hollow core 45 near the bottom end than near the top end.
Claim 1 does not require the flow director to be impermeable. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Herrin's inner filter element 14, which sits in the hollow core 45 and guides fluid through the annular passage 34 toward the outer filter element 12, is a flow director.
Regarding claim 2, Herrin discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the filter is a pleated filter (outer filter element 12 can be made of a generally circumferentially pleated filter media, [0046]; pleat formations 70 and 170, [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Herrin discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the filter is cylindrical, conical, or splayed outward toward the top (filter assembly 10 can be generally cylindrically shaped, [0034]; outer filter element 12 can be longitudinally tapered, with its radius gradually decreasing from the first end 24 to the second end 26, so that it is wider at the top, [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Herrin discloses the device of claim 1, wherein a bottom end (second end 32) of the flow director (inner filter element 14) comprises a lateral flange (joint endcap 18) extending out radially, which flange comprises a top surface (annular receiving channel 61) in sealing contact with the filter bottom end (second end 26) ([0043]: the joint endcap 18 seats both the second end 26 and the second end 32 in channel 61 and can seal both ends).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Monzen (US 4664682 A).
[AltContent: textbox (Central sleeve)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Monzen teaches a filter device (20) comprising: a filter element (35) surrounding a central axis and comprising a top end, a bottom end, an external filter surface (outer surface of 35), an internal filter surface (inner surface of 35), and an internal space (41) between the central axis and the internal surface; a flow director (42) positioned within the internal space and displacing more of the internal space toward the bottom end of the filter than the flow director displaces toward the top of the filter.
Regarding claim 2, Monzen teaches wherein the filter is a pleated filter (C6/50-55).
Regarding claim 3, Monzen teaches wherein the filter is cylindrical (C5/60, FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Monzen teaches wherein the flow director has a parabolic cross-section in a plane through the central axis (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Monzen teaches further comprising a shoulder flange (the horizontal extending portion of 33) extending radially out from the filter top end in a plane perpendicular to the central axis.
Regarding claim 7, Monzen teaches wherein a reservoir (not shown) is positioned above the filter top end and hermetically sealed to the filter top end (aspirated blood inlet ports 24, filter-built-in infusion and transfusion ports 25, and a priming port 26 – meaning there are blood storage placed above) (C5/1-15).
Regarding claim 9, Monzen teaches wherein a bottom end of the flow director comprises a lateral flange (37) extending out radially, which flange comprises a top surface (top surface of 37) in sealing contact with the filter bottom end.
Regarding claim 11, Monzen teaches positioned in a reservoir of a vacuum filter apparatus (intended use).
Regarding claim 12, Monzen teaches further comprising a central sleeve (see fig. above) shaped to fit into an interior space between the filter element and the flow director, whereby positioning the sleeve into the interior space displaces sample up to provide improved contact with the filter element (intended use).
Regarding claim 13, Monzen teaches a filter device comprising: a first cylindrical or conical filter element (35) mounted within a cylindrical or conical housing (21) and comprising a central axis, a top end (top end of the housing), a bottom end (bottom end of housing), an outer surface (outer radial surface of the housing), an inner surface (interior surface of the housing), and an inner space (interior volume) having a volume between the central axis and filter inner surface; wherein the housing comprises: a cylindrical or conical body (see body 23) comprising a top, bottom, and sides; a housing top end comprising a shoulder flange (radially extending flange of 23) extending radially from a central opening (25); wherein the flange extends from the central opening across the filter top end, and extends radially in a plane beyond the body; and, a housing bottom end extending across the cylindrical body bottom (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Monzen teaches further comprising a flow director (42) comprising a top end and a bottom end; wherein the flow director is mounted within the inner space and comprises a smaller cross-section at the flow director top end than a cross-section at the flow director bottom end (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Monzen teaches wherein the filter element comprises a pleated sheet (C6/50-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 10, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Monzen (US 4664682 A).
Regarding claim 4, Monzen does not teach wherein the filter is a depth filter having pore size ranging from 3 microns to 10 microns. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration.
Regarding claim 8, Monzen does not teach wherein the reservoir has a volume ranging from 50 ml to 2 L. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration.
Regarding claim 10, Monzen does not teach further comprising an integrated vacuum pump. However, the apparatus is used in an extracorporeal circulation system. Using a vacuum pump is well-known in the art and in fact the reference implies that it is attached to one (C1/15-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used a vacuum pump as it is standard practice in extracorporeal circulation systems to facilitate fluid flow, and integrating the pump into the unit is a routine engineering modification to reduce the overall footprint of the system.
Regarding claim 16, Monzen does not teach wherein the filter element is adapted for filtration with an average pore size of 5 microns or less. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration (see at least US 6136189 A, claims 2, 8).
Regarding claim 17, Monzen does not teach wherein the filter comprises a depth dimension traversly through a filter media ranging from about 0.1 inches to about 2 inches. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration.
Regarding claim 18, Monzen teaches wherein a diameter of the inner cavity ranges from about 0.5 cm to about 60 cm. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration.
Regarding claim 19, Monzen teaches wherein a diameter of the shoulder flange ranges from about 3 inches to about 7 inches. However, these parameters are well-known and readily optimized to improve filtration based on its design. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected to appropriate size that provides best function in terms of design and filtration.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777