DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is in response to the election made without traverse filed on July 2, 2026, in which Applicant has elected claims 1-5 without traverse. Accordingly, claims 1-8 remain pending for examination.
Status of Claims
3. Claims 1-8 are pending, of which claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on July 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
5. Claim set 6-8 stands withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 2, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
8. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talebi Fard et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0182896 A1), hereinafter “Talebi Fard”.
As to claim 1, Talebi Fard discloses a method of giving notification of whether a radio access network (RAN) supports a time-sensitive networking (TSN) talker/listener in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: notifying, by the RAN, either an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a session management function (SMF) by using an NGAP message (wherein in an example embodiment, with reference to FIG. 28, Talebi Fard discloses that in response to instantiation, creation or configuration of a time sensitive network (TSN) bridge or upon establishment of a packet data unit (PDU) session via the TSN bridge by a user equipment (UE) that is connected to an end station of a TSN system, an access and mobility management function (AMF) may perform an initial context setup procedure and may send an initial context setup request message to a base station, next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, gNB, eNodeB, and/or the like. Talebi Fard teaches that the purpose of the initial context setup procedure may be to establish necessary overall initial UE context at the NG-RAN node, including N1 singling connection, PDU session context, the Security Key, Mobility Restriction List, UE Radio Capability, UE Security Capabilities, and/or the like. The AMF may initiate the Initial Context Setup procedure if a UE-associated logical NG-connection exists for the UE or if the AMF has received the RAN UE NGAP ID IE in an INITIAL UE MESSAGE or if the NG-RAN node has already initiated a UE-associated logical NG-connection by sending an INITIAL UE MESSAGE via another NG interface instance. The procedure may employ UE-associated signaling. During the initial context setup procedure, Talebi Fard teaches that the AMF or a session management function (SMF) may provide the TSN bridge configuration parameter to the NG-RAN node. For example, the initial context setup request message may comprise the TSN bridge configuration parameter. The AMF may receive the TSN bridge configuration parameter from a SMF, policy control function (PCF), and/or the like when a wireless device (UE) establishes a PDU session via the TSN bridge. In an example, the AMF may receive the TSN bridge configuration parameter during a registration procedure for the UE. The SMF may send an N11 message over the N11 interface to the AMF indicating confirmation of the PDU session context setup (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_createSMContext message, and/or the like). In an example, the AMF may receive from the PCF the TSN bridge configuration parameter during a UE policy association establishment/modification. The AMF may receive the TSN bridge configuration parameter from a UDM during the registration procedure. When the AMF receives the TSN bridge configuration parameter (e.g., TSN bridge ID, bridge ID, and/or the like), the AMF may send the TSN bridge ID to the NG-RAN node via N2 (NGAP) procedures such as the initial context setup request message (See again, FIG. 28). The NG-RAN node may be configured for the TSN bridge based on the TSN bridge configuration parameter, and as further shown in FIG. 28, may respond to the AMF with an initial context setup response message) (Talebi Fard, FIG. 28, paragraph [0322]).
Regarding claim 2, Talebi Fard discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the NGAP message is an NGAP initial context setup message (wherein again, the procedure is a next generation application protocol procedure using N2/NGAP signaling/messaging, and is an initial context setup request) (Talebi Fard, paragraph [0322]).
Regarding claim 3, Talebi Fard discloses a method of giving notification of whether a radio access network (RAN) supports a time-sensitive networking (TSN) talker/listener in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: notifying, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF) by using a service based interface (SBI) (wherein the AMF may send to the SMF, an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request (e.g., comprising: the TSN bridge ID, the TSN bridge configuration parameter, N2 SM information received from T-RAN and N2 SM Information from source NG-RAN (Secondary RAT usage data), UE Location Information, UE presence in LADN service area, and/or the like). The AMF may send the N2 SM information by invoking the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request service operation for each PDU Session in the lists of PDU Sessions received in the N2 Path Switch Request) (Talebi Fard, paragraph [0336]).
Regarding claim 4, Talebi Fard discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the SBI is either Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext or Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext (again, using the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) (Talebi Fard, paragraph [0336]).
Regarding claim 5, Talebi Fard discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the SBI includes information on whether the RAN supports the TSN talker/listener in either SmContextCreateData or SmContextUpdateData (wherein the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request may comprise either an indication that the PDU Session Is To Be Switched (together with information on the N3 addressing to use and on the transferred QoS flows) or an indication that the PDU Session is to be Rejected (together with a rejection cause). In particular, for a PDU Session to be switched to the Target NG-RAN, upon receipt of the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request, the SMF may determine whether the existing UPF can continue to serve the UE of the TSN bridge. If the existing UPF cannot continue to serve the UE, a UPF reallocation may be performed. In an example, the determining by the SMF may be based on the TSN bridge ID, or a mapping of a PDU session to a bridge ID and determining whether an available UPF of the TSN bridge has connectivity with the target NG-RAN node. If a PDU Session is rejected by the Target NG-RAN with an indication that the PDU session was rejected because User Plane Security Enforcement is not supported in the Target NG-RAN and the User Plane Enforcement Policy indicates “Required,” the SMF may trigger the release of the given PDU Session) (Talebi Fard, paragraph [0336]).
Conclusion
9. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action. For instance, Li (USPGPUB 2024/0298209) discloses systems and methods for improving deterministic packet delivery in a network. For example, a Time Sensitive Networking (TSN) capability for a transport network may be provided by a base station, so TSN can be used in the transport network. During Quality of Service (QoS) flow establishment, stream requirements may be transmitted. A latency requirement of QoS may be obtained as part of a deterministic latency used for delivering traffic or improved transport (See Abstract). TIWARI (USPGPUB 2020/0396788) discloses a method for handling a closed access group (CAG) related procedure in a wireless communication system. A network may receive a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message from a user equipment (UE). The network may determine whether the at least one CAG identifier (ID) broadcasted in a CAG cell is included in an allowed CAG list of the UE (100) in response to the RRC resume request message. The network may proceed with a RRC resume procedure in response to determining that the at least one CAG ID is included in the allowed CAG list (See Abstract). TALEBI FARD (WO 2020/150333) discloses a wireless device that receives from a first station or a TSN bridge, a request indicating configuration of a time sensitive network (TSN) bridge for transmission of a stream of data packets. The wireless device sends to a session management function (SMF), a non-access stratum message comprising at least one parameter for configuration of the TSN bridge. The wireless device receives from the SMF, a response message indicating that the TSN bridge is configured for transmission of the stream of data packets. The wireless device sends to the first station, a message indicating successful configuration of the TSN bridge (See Abstract). Talebi Fard (USPGPUB 2021/0219357) discloses a session management function (SMF) that receives, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a first request message. The first request message is for a time sensitive network (TSN) bridge. The SMF selects, based on the first request message, a user plane function (UPF) that supports TSN functionality. The SMF sends, to the UPF, a second request message to configure the UPF for the TSN bridge. The second request message comprises an identifier of the TSN bridge, as well as an identifier of a port associated with TSN packet transmission (See Abstract).
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KOSTAS J. KATSIKIS whose telephone number is (571)270-5434. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kamal B. Divecha can be reached at 571-272-5863. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KOSTAS J KATSIKIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453