DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
As to claim 2, the phrase “the processing circuitry decides to each communication frame” is grammatically incorrect. The examiner interprets the phrase as “the processing circuitry decides for each communication frame.”
As to claim 4, the phrase “wherein the processing circuitry notifies of a cause which fails the allocation result to satisfy the constraint condition” is grammatically incorrect. The examiner interprets the phrase as “wherein the processing circuitry notifies of a cause which causes the allocation result to fail to satisfy the constraint condition.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Citation No. 2 from the information disclosure statement filed on 4/24/25 (hereafter referred to as “Hellmanns”).
As to claim 1, Hellmanns discloses a communication control apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry:
to determine whether or not a delay is allowed which is estimated to occur when a group allocation method is applied to a communication frame included in a communication stream, wherein the group allocation method is for allocating a time slot for transmitting a communication frame in a unit of group of one or more communication frames having a common attribute (Pg. 299, second column, “Moreover, we distinguish between isochronous streams, cyclic streams, and best effort streams”; Pg. 300, first column, “Isochronous streams typically require minimal end-to-end delays and minimal jitter bounds, e.g., for motion control applications […] For cyclic traffic, we assume that the end-to-end delay may not exceed one network cycle time and that the jitter may be in the magnitude of one cycle time”; Pg. 301, first column, section B, “Class-based scheduling is a TAS-based approach to give e2e delay and jitter guarantees to cyclic streams […] class-based scheduling, streams sharing jitter and deadline requirements are scheduled as a group. To provide isolation among different groups, all streams of one group as assigned to a dedicated traffic class”)stream according to the group allocation method (Pg. 302, first column, second paragraph, “Class-based scheduling gives guarantees in the range of one cycle time e2e delay and jitter. These guarantees are sufficient for cyclic traffic”), (Pg. 302, second column, section C, first paragraph, “Stream-based scheduling is another way to use the TAS. In contrast to class-based scheduling, it considers each stream individually rather than groups of streams. Therefore, it is well-suited for isochronous traffic [...] This approach guarantees minimal queuing delays"; Pg. 302, second column, section C, second paragraph, "the talker application provides the data just in-time and the network can deliver the data within the reserved time slots"); and
to perform calculation to allocate the time slot to the communication frame included in the communication stream according to the decided allocation method (Pg. 302, second column, section C, second paragraph; Pg. 303, first column, section B).
Hellmanns is silent on to decide, when the delay is allowed, to allocate the time slot to the communication frame included in the communication stream according to the group allocation method, and to decide, when the delay is not allowed, to allocate the time slot to the communication frame included in the communication stream according to a frame allocation method for allocating the time slot in a unit of communication frame.
However, Hellmanns already discloses that since none of the stream-based scheduling and the class-based scheduling is capable to serve all use cases, a combination of these approaches is required (Pg. 303, second column, section VI).
Further, Hellmanns mentions that the stream-based scheduling is well-suited for isochronous traffic/streams requiring minimal or zero delay (Pg. 302, second column, section C) and that class-based scheduling "gives guarantees in the range of one cycle time e2e delay and jitter. These guarantees are sufficient for cyclic traffic" (Pg. 302, first column, second paragraph) and is thus suitable for cyclic traffic/streams requiring a certain delay. Therefore, because the control apparatus supports both above-mentioned scheduling methods, the decision by the control apparatus to use the class-based scheduling method when delay is allowed (cyclic traffic) and to use the stream-based scheduling method when delay is not allowed (isochronous traffic) is an obvious combination of the scheduling methods already disclosed by Hellmanns.
The test for obviousness is not that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the teachings of Hellmanns in the aforementioned manner in order to serve all use cases with a combination of stream-based scheduling and the class-based scheduling (Pg. 303, second column, section VI).
As to claim 2, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above. Hellmanns discloses the invention is applied to a plurality of frames (Pg. 299, left column, section A, second paragraph).
As to claim 3, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above. Hellmanns discloses “making an informed decision when choosing between stream-based TAS, class-based TAS, and frame preemption by comparing these mechanisms in selected scenarios using our TSN network simulation tool NeSTiNg” (Pg. 298, left column, Abstract, ln. 17-20).
As to claim 4, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above. Hellmanns discloses “making an informed decision when choosing between stream-based TAS, class-based TAS, and frame preemption by comparing these mechanisms in selected scenarios using our TSN network simulation tool NeSTiNg” (Pg. 298, left column, Abstract, ln. 17-20).
As to claim 5, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above. Hellmanns discloses “making an informed decision when choosing between stream-based TAS, class-based TAS, and frame preemption by comparing these mechanisms in selected scenarios using our TSN network simulation tool NeSTiNg” (Pg. 298, left column, Abstract, ln. 17-20).
As to claim 6, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above.
As to claim 7, the claim is rejected for reasons similar to those given for claim 1 above.
Conclusion
/Brian Whipple/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2447
2/11/26