Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication dated 10/4/24
Original claims 1-20 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 10-12 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230284180[hereinafter Oh] in view of Balasubramanian et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230007503 [hereinafter Balasubramanian].
As per claims 1, 18, 19 and 20 Ho discloses A user equipment, UE (fig. 3 (UE)); for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a paging radio network temporary identifier, P-RNTI (par. 0069), for receiving a paging message associated with sensing (para. 0070-0071 (sensing is associated over P-RNTI to the different paging types of paging message);
receive information associated with paging occasions, PO, to be monitored that are associated with the P-RNTI (para. 0207);
receive a paging message based on the received P-RNTI and the information associated with the POs (para. 0069-0071).
Ho does not explicitly disclose determine sensing suitability of the UE based on the received paging message; and transmit a request to transfer to radio resource control (RRC) connected state based on the determined sensing suitability.
Balasubramanian discloses determine sensing suitability of the UE based on the received paging message(see par. 0090); and transmit a request to transfer to radio resource control (RRC) connected state based on the determined sensing suitability(see par. 0042, 0082). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Balasubramanian into the system of Ho to provide sensing capability and generate and transmit of measurement reports based on sensing capabilities. information associated with the UEs and Based on the sensing capability information indicated for each of the set of second UEs, the first UE select a subset of second UEs and transmit an indication of the sensing capability information associated with the subset of second UEs to the base station.
As per claim 2. Balasubramanian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the P-RNTI or the information associated with the POs is received responsive to transmitting capability information for the UE (see par. 0042, 0082).
As per claim 3, Balasubramanian discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the paging message comprises at least one sensing suitability condition for use in determining the sensing suitability of the UE(see par. 0042, 0082)..
As per claim 4, Balasubramanian The UE of claim 3, wherein the sensing suitability condition comprises at least one of a loci and a radius from the loci, a stationary condition, a radio sensing capability, a battery threshold, a clock synchronization with respect to downlink of the serving cell or global navigation satellite system (GNSS), whether the UE can fulfill sensing quality, whether the UE has information about characteristics associated with physical objects around the UE, supported non-3GPP sensing capability, an application identifier associated with a sensing task/operation, or a combination thereof(see par. 0088, 0092).
As per claim 9, the UE of claim 1, wherein the paging message comprises a measurement configuration for performing measurements in an RRC IDLE and/or RRC INACTIVE state(see par. 0076).
As per claim 13, Ho discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the PO based at least in part on the information associated with the PO(see par. 0219).
As per claim 14, Ho discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein, in response to the UE not comprising a sensing capability, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to not monitor POs associated with the sensing capability(see par. 0219).
As per claim 15, Ho discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein, in response to the UE comprising a sensing capability, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to monitor POs associated with the sensing capability(see par. 0219).
As per claim 17, HO The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication and/or configuration information for storing obtained sensing data while in an RRC INACTIVE or RRC IDLE state and store the obtained sensing data according to the received indication or configuration(see par. 0069).
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466