DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9-10, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a receiver bore within the restoration portion, the overdenture portion and the receiver portion” and depends from claim 5 which requires the portions to be offset relative to one another. Therefore, it is unclear how a bore extends through all of the portions. For examining purposes, it was understood that the “restoration bore” is within the restoration portion. Clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the seam is located between a platform of the first portion”. It is unclear whether the recited “platform” is the same as the restorative platform recited in claim 1. It was understood that the platform of claim 6 is the restorative platform of claim 1.
Claim 14 recites thew limitation “wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components includes a resilient member”. It is unclear whether all of or at least one of the restorative abutment components includes a resilient member. For examining purposes, it was understood that at least one of the plurality of restorative abutment components includes a resilient member. Clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein the channel is removable from the neck”. It is unclear how the channel can be removable from the neck since a channel is a through opening (i.e. negative space). For examining purposes, it was understood that the first proximal portion and the second distal portion are removable from one another.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
First rejection:
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sutter (WO2005058178 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Sutter teaches a hybrid abutment for a restorative dental system (abstract), the hybrid abutment (see Figure 1 and abstract) comprising:
a restoration portion (121) and an overdenture portion (123), wherein the restoration portion and the overdenture portion are each operable to couple to at least one restorative abutment component of a plurality of restorative abutment components (11, 15, 17) along a restorative axis (see Figures);
a receiver interface (105+107) comprising at least one region (107) operable to couple to a corresponding region on a receiver (implant 1, 3, 5) along an installation axis (161) (see abstract and Figures and pages 6-7); and
a restorative platform separating the restoration portion and the overdenture portion from the receiver interface (see annotated Figure below), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components are interchangeable without changing the hybrid abutment (abstract and see page 10).
Regarding claim 2, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the restorative axis and the installation axis are coaxial (see Figure 2), and wherein the restoration portion, the overdenture portion, and the receiver interface are substantially straight (see Figures).
Regarding claim 8, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the restoration portion, the overdenture portion, and the receiver interface are components of a main body for the hybrid abutment (see Figure 1), and wherein the main body comprises a first portion and a second portion separated by a seam (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding claim 9, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 8 (see rejection above), wherein the seam (lower perimeter of 121) is located between a platform of the first portion and a ridge sidewall (sidewalls of 121) of the restoration portion (121) on the second portion (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 8 (see rejection above), wherein the seam is located within a ridge sidewall of the restoration portion such that the ridge sidewall has sections in both the first portion and the second portion (the seam is formed by the lower perimeter of restorative portion 121 and therefore the sidewall of the restorative portion extend in the second portion and the seam is part of the first portion).
Regarding claim 11, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein a ridge sidewall of the restoration portion is an exterior tool interface (see Figure 28; such that tool 481 engages the sidewall of the restoration portion 121).
Regarding claim 12, Sutter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the receiver is an implant operable to be installed within a jawline of a patient (see 1, 3, 5; and abstract and page 10).
Regarding claim 13, Sutter teaches a restorative dental system (abstract), comprising:
a plurality of restorative abutment components (11, 15, 17); and
a hybrid abutment (7), comprising:
a restoration portion (121) and an overdenture portion (103), wherein the restoration portion and the overdenture portion are each operable to couple to at least one restorative abutment component of the plurality of restorative abutment components along a restorative axis (see Figures);
a receiver interface (105+107) comprising at least one region (107) operable to couple to a corresponding region on a receiver (1, 3, 5) along an installation axis (161) (see abstract and Figures and pages 6-7); and
a restorative platform separating the restoration portion (121) and the overdenture portion (103) from the receiver interface (105+107) (see rejection above), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components are interchangeable without changing the hybrid abutment (abstract and see page 10).
Regarding claim 15, Sutter teaches the restorative dental system of claim 13 (see rejection above), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components (11, 15, 17) includes a restorative component that at least includes an interior cavity (see Fig. 1; each of the components has a cavity), wherein the restoration portion (121) includes a ridge sidewall that is contoured to conform to an interior surface of the restoration portion (via 165, 175, 197).
Regarding claim 17, Sutter teaches a method for installing a dental restorative system, the method (abstract) comprising:
coupling a hybrid abutment (7) to a receiver (1, 3, 5) (see Figure 1); and
coupling a restorative abutment component of a plurality of restorative abutment components (11, 15, 17) to at least one of a restoration portion (121) and an overdenture portion (103) of the hybrid abutment (see Figure 3),
wherein the restoration portion and the overdenture portion are each operable to couple to at least one restorative abutment component of the plurality of restorative abutment components (see Figures 2-3; such that the side walls of the restoration portion 121 engages with the inner sidewall 165 of the abutment component 11 and the overdenture is received within the cavity of the abutment component, such that the portions are “operable to couple” as functionally claimed) along a restorative axis (161) (see Figures 2-4), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components are interchangeable without changing the hybrid abutment (see abstract and Figures and see page 10).
Second rejection:
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ilter et al. (US 10,052,179 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ilter teaches a hybrid abutment for a restorative dental system (abstract), the hybrid abutment (see Figure 1 and abstract) comprising:
a restoration portion (see annotated Figure below) and an overdenture portion (66), wherein the restoration portion and the overdenture portion are each operable to couple to at least one restorative abutment component of a plurality of restorative abutment components along a restorative axis (see Figures; the restorative abutment components are functionally recited and therefore the restoration and overdenture portions are fully capable of receiving an abutment component (e.g. a prosthesis);
a receiver interface (62) comprising at least one region (62) operable to couple to a corresponding region on a receiver (implant 1, 3, 5) along an installation axis (161) (see abstract and Figures and Col. 4 lines 20-39); and
a restorative platform separating the restoration portion and the overdenture portion from the receiver interface (see annotated Figure below), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components are interchangeable without changing the hybrid abutment (Col. 6 lines 31-68; the abutment is fully capable of receiving a variety of copings, prosthetics, and is described to benefit from commonality of parts between different cuff heights, angulation options, and being “universal”).
Regarding claim 3, Ilter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), further comprising a restoration bore (70) at least within the restoration portion (see Figure 4A), wherein the restoration bore is operable to receive a restoration connector (54) to secure a restorative abutment component of the plurality of restorative abutment components to the restoration portion along the restorative axis (Col. 4 lines 47-67).
Regarding claim 4, Ilter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 3 (see rejection above), wherein the restoration bore includes an interior tool interface (threaded portion 22; see Figure 4a and Col. 4 lines 39-45 such that screw is rotatably inserted into the threaded portion of the bore 22 using a driver).
Regarding claim 5, Ilter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 1 (see rejection above), wherein the restorative axis and the installation axis are offset at an angle, and wherein the restoration portion (64+52) and the overdenture portion (66) are each offset at an angle from the receiver interface (62).
Regarding claim 6, Ilter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 5 (see rejection above), further comprising a receiver bore (70) within the restoration portion (see Figure 4A), the overdenture portion, and the receiver interface, wherein the receiver bore is operable to receive a receiver connector (54) to secure the receiver interface to the receiver (10) along the installation axis (see Fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilter et al. (US 10,052,179 B2), in view of Montero (US 11,213,372 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Ilter teaches the hybrid abutment of claim 5 (see rejection above), but is silent to wherein the receiver bore is operable to receive a plug that is configured to prevent matter from entering an interior of the hybrid abutment via the receiver bore.
Montero teaches a system comprising a dental implant (802), a dental abutment (806) secured to the implant via a retention screw (804). Montero further teaches a plug device (1200) may be inserted into a bore after the retention screw is inserted into the bore to prevent debris from entering into the interior of the implant and abutment before a crown or prosthetic is placed (see Figs. 12A-12B and Col 15 lines 60 – Col. 16 lines 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify system to include a plug to close off the bore, as taught by Montero, because it would prevent debris from entering into the system prior to placement of the prosthesis.
Claim(s) 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutter (WO2005058178 A2), in view of Boehm (US 9,907,629 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Sutter teaches the restorative dental system of claim 13 (see rejection above). Sutter teaches the plurality of abutment components comprise contact surfaces (165, 175, 197) along an annular surface of the components and configured to engage the abutment (see Figures and page 10 paragraph 3, page 11 paragraphs 4-5, page 12 paragraphs 2-4), but is silent to wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components includes a resilient member that defines an interior cavity with an interior arcuate surface,
wherein the overdenture portion includes an exterior sidewall that is contoured to conform to the interior arcuate surface of the resilient member, and wherein the resilient member is at least partially embedded within an overdenture.
Boehm teaches a multi-part abutment comprising an abutment portion (AB) and an abutment component/cap (KA) and the abutment portion and abutment component engage at a plurality of contact surfaces including contact surfaces (ZU, ZO), which are made having a depth for a precise fit (Col. 7 lines 1-53). Boehm teaches the abutment component further comprises a resilient O-ring consisting of elastically deformable material as to enhance the engagement forces between the cap and abutment (Col. 6 lines 24-39 and see Figures) and can be designed for removable or permanent connection (Col. 8 lines 31-43). Boehm teaches an overdenture portion of the abutment comprises annular surfaces (NU) configured to receive and retain the O-ring (see Figures 3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system to include a resilient insert or an o-ring, as taught by Boehm, because it would provide resilient forces between the abutment and abutment component that may provide sealing properties and a resilient connection between them.
Regarding claim 20, Sutter teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection above). Sutter teaches the plurality of abutment components comprise contact surfaces (165, 175, 197) along an annular surface of the components and configured to engage the abutment (see Figures and page 10 paragraph 3, page 11 paragraphs 4-5, page 12 paragraphs 2-4), but is silent to specifically engaging a resilient insert within the restorative abutment component to the hybrid abutment; or
engaging the resilient insert within the restorative abutment component to the hybrid abutment and coupling the restorative abutment component to the hybrid abutment via a connector, wherein the restorative abutment component is interchangeable between being coupled to the hybrid abutment via the resilient insert and the connector to only being coupled to the hybrid abutment via the resilient insert.
Boehm teaches a multi-part abutment comprising an abutment portion (AB) and an abutment component/cap (KA) and the abutment portion and abutment component engage at a plurality of contact surfaces including contact surfaces (ZU, ZO), which are made having a depth for a precise fit (Col. 7 lines 1-53). Boehm teaches the abutment component further comprises a resilient O-ring consisting of elastically deformable material as to enhance the engagement forces between the cap and abutment (Col. 6 lines 24-39 and see Figures) and can be designed in various configuration as to alter it for removable or permanent connection (Col. 8 lines 31-43). Boehm teaches an overdenture portion of the abutment comprises annular surfaces (NU) configured to receive and retain the O-ring (see Figures 3, 6). In Figure 10, Boehm shows the abutment and an abutment cap coupled without a ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system to include a resilient insert or an o-ring, as taught by Boehm, because it would provide resilient forces between the abutment and abutment component that may provide sealing properties and a resilient connection between them.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutter (WO2005058178 A2), in view of Aravena (US 6,244,867 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Sutter teaches the restorative dental system of claim 15 (see rejection above), wherein the plurality of restorative abutment components (11, 15, 17) includes a restorative component (11, 17) with a first proximal portion with a channel (159) and a neck (see annotated Fig. below), and a second distal portion with the interior cavity that is operable to engage the hybrid abutment (see Figures 1-2), but does not teach wherein the channel is removable from the neck.
Aravena teaches an abutment having a first portion (9C) comprising a channel (220) and a second portion (1B) comprising a neck (211) and the two portions each being a separate part that frictionally engage together (Col. 4 lines 38-67) that way they can be removed as a unit from the implant and also be disengaged from one another (Col. 5 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the abutment component to be separable into two parts such that each part of the multi-part system can be controlled individually.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutter (WO2005058178 A2), in view of Montero (US 11,213,372 B2).
Regarding claim 18, Sutter teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection above), the method further comprising: inserting a connector (25) into a receiver bore to couple the hybrid abutment to the receiver (see Figures 2-3) but does not teach inserting a plug within the receiver bore of the hybrid abutment after insertion of the connector.
Montero teaches a system comprising a dental implant (802), a dental abutment (806) secured to the implant via a retention screw (804). Montero further teaches a plug device (1200) may be inserted into a bore after the retention screw is inserted into the bore to prevent debris from entering into the interior of the implant and abutment before a crown or prosthetic is placed (see Figs. 12A-12B and Col 15 lines 60 – Col. 16 lines 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method to include inserting a plug into the bore after the connector/screw, as taught by Montero, because it would prevent debris from entering into the system prior to placement of the prosthesis.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutter (WO2005058178 A2), in view of Spindler (US 2022/0183798 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Sutter teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection above), wherein coupling the hybrid abutment (7) to the receiver (1) comprises:
coupling a first portion (portion formed by lower part of 7) of the hybrid abutment to the receiver (1) (see Figures 2-3);
inserting a connector (25) into a receiver bore and a cavity within the first portion of the hybrid abutment (see Figures 2-3).
Sutter does not teach coupling a second portion of the hybrid abutment to the first portion of the hybrid abutment. Spindler teaches a system having a superstructure/abutment (20+60) and comprising a restoration portion (35, Fig. 1), an overdenture portion (26, Fig. 1) and a platform (31, Fig. 1) between a first top part of the superstructure and a second lower part (6) of the superstructure and the first part and second part being separate/removable from the second part and engageable thereon via a threaded connection (72) (see Figures).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sutter to have the first part (stem) and the second part be separable and connected by a threadable connection, as taught by Spindler, because it would provide increased stability due to the threaded connection and would allow material optimization in cases where different materials are desired to have different characteristics at different parts of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached to this office action.
/LINA FARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
3/23/2026