[AltContent: ][AltContent: ]DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025, 02/26/2025 are in compliance with
the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Inventorship
(f) or (g) prior art under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 1,2,4,5,6.12.18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomura (US Patent 5153477 hereinafter “Jomura”) in view of Ishizaki (US PG Pub 20210104658 hereinafter “Ishizaki”).
Re-claim 1, Jomura discloses a vibration apparatus (annotated fig.1a), comprising: a vibration generating part (5), wherein the vibration generating part comprises:
a plurality of electrode layers (annotated fig.1a, 2a,2b);
a plurality of vibration layers disposed between the plurality of electrode layers(2a,2b), the plurality of vibration layers including a piezoelectric material (col.1, L.12, PZT); a first connection member (3a) configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a first group among the plurality of electrode layers (positive electrode 2a); and a second connection member (3b) configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a second group among the plurality of electrode layers (negative internal electrodes 2b),
and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers (2a,2b) is configured to have a shape, which differs from a shape of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers (layers of 1, see fig.3f,see fig.3g, shape of 2a, 2a, se fig.1b, or fig.3a, 3b), and is configured substantially to have a size being smaller than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers (2a,2b, see annotated fig.1a).
Jomura fails to explicitly show the plurality of electrode layers is configured to is configured to have a size being smaller than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers.
However, Ishizaki teaches the plurality of electrode layers (16) is configured to is configured to have a size being smaller (fig.2, shows 16 is smaller) than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers (30, or 4a,4b,10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device if Jomura wherein the plurality of electrode layers is configured to is configured to have a size being smaller than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers as shown Ishizaki to add to rigidity of device and minimize cracks (Ishizaki, P[0013]).
Re-claim 2, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
However, Jomura fails to explicitly show wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is configured to have a tetragonal shape, and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers is configured to have a non-tetragonal shape.
However, Ishizaki shows wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers (10) is configured to have a tetragonal shape (see fig.4, shape of 10 is tetragonal), and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers is configured to have a non-tetragonal shape (16 shape is not
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device if Jomura wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is configured to have a tetragonal shape, and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers is configured to have a non-tetragonal shape as shown Ishizaki to add to rigidity of device and minimize cracks (Ishizaki, P[0013]).
Re-claim 4, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Jomura as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is disposed between two electrode layers vertically adjacent to each other among the plurality of electrode layers.
However, Ishizaki teaches wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers (28) is disposed between two electrode layers (26b,25a,25b,25a) vertically adjacent to each other among the plurality of electrode layers (28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device if Jomura wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is disposed between two electrode layers vertically adjacent to each other among the plurality of electrode layers as shown Ishizaki to add to rigidity of device and minimize cracks (Ishizaki, P[0013]).
Re-claim 5, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first connection member and the second connection member (3a,3b,5,6) are disposed at one lateral surface of the vibration generating part (see fig.3c, 3e).
Re-claim 6, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers (2a,2b) comprises a main electrode (2a,2b) and a sub-electrode (21a,21b) protruding from the main electrode (2a,2b), wherein the first connection member is electrically (3a is connected to 2a, 21a) connected to the sub-electrode of the electrode layer in the first group (group in one side), and wherein the second connection member (3b) is electrically connected to the sub-electrode (21b) of the electrode layer in the second group (see fig.3a-g).
Re-claim 12, Jomura teaches the vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers comprises: a main electrode (2a,2b); a sub-electrode (21a,21b) protruding from the main electrode; and one or more patterning regions (regions are parts of whole) region of 21a,21 connection in fig.3c)shown in fig. in a peripheral region of the sub-electrode (21a,21, showing making pattern parallel or angular in fig.3e).
Re-claim 18, Jomura as modified discloses an electronic apparatus (title), comprising: a passive vibration member (9); and one or more vibration generating apparatuses (5,more than one or at least 2) configured to vibrate the passive vibration member (9), wherein the one or more vibration generating apparatuses comprise the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomura in view of Ishizaki, and in further view of Watabe (JP2007087910A hereinafter “Watabe”).
Re-claim 3, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1,
Jomura fails to teach wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member.
However, Watabe teaches wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern (32) disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers (see fig.3) and electrically connected to the second connection member (31a, or 31b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device if Jomura wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member as shown by Watabe to add to rigidity of device making it reliable and east to manufacture (Watabe, P[0011]).
Claim 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomura in view of Ishizaki, and in further view of Ohta (US PG Pub 20180090667 hereinafter “Ohna”).
Re-claim 8, Jomura as modified disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 4 above.
Jomura further teaches wherein the first connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the first group, and wherein the second connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the second group.
However, Ohna teaches the first connection member (20a,20b) passes through the plurality of vibration layers (11,12) and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the first group (group 1 connected to 20a), and wherein the second connection member (10a,10b) passes through the plurality of vibration layers (11,12) and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the second group (7,8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura where the first connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the first group, and wherein the second connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the second group as shown by Ohna to add to rigidity of device making it reliable control decrease in strength, crack is controlled (Ohno, P[0004-0006]).
Re-claim 9, Jomura as modified disclose the vibration apparatus of claim 8 above.
Jomura further teaches wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member.
However, Ohna teaches wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern (31,32) disposed at an uppermost electrode layer (4) of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member (10a,10b) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura where wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member as shown by Ohna to add to rigidity of device making it reliable control decrease in strength, crack is controlled (Ohno, P[0004-0006]).
Claim 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomura in view of Ishizaki, and in further view of Ishizaki (US PG Pub 20200243745 hereinafter “Ishizaki2).
Re-claim 13, Jomura teaches vibration apparatus of claim 12.
However Jomura fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers further comprises a dummy pattern part disposed at the one or more patterning regions.
However, Ishizaki2 teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers (fig.4a) further comprises a dummy pattern part (18) disposed at the one or more patterning regions (regions of 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura where wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers further comprises a dummy pattern part disposed at the one or more patterning regions as shown by Ishizaki2 improve flatness of the device (Ishizaki2, P[0014]).
Re-claim 14, Jomura teaches vibration apparatus of claim 13.
However Jomura fails to explicitly teach wherein the dummy pattern part further comprises: first to fourth dummy patterns corresponding to corner portions of the plurality of vibration layers; and an electrode connection line configured to be electrically connected to the first to fourth dummy patterns.
However, Ishizaki2 teaches wherein the dummy pattern part (18)further comprises: first to fourth dummy patterns (spaces in 18b,22) corresponding to corner portions of the plurality of vibration layers (see fig.4a); and an electrode connection line (lines of 18, with 22 lines) configured to be electrically connected to the first to fourth dummy patterns (regions of 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura wherein the dummy pattern part further comprises: first to fourth dummy patterns corresponding to corner portions of the plurality of vibration layers; and an electrode connection line configured to be electrically connected to the first to fourth dummy patterns as shown by Ishizaki2 improve flatness of the device (Ishizaki2, P[0014]).
Claim 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomura in view of Ishizaki, and in further view of Azima (US Patent 7174025 hereinafter “Azima”).
Re-claim 15, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 1.
Jomura fails to teach a cover member configured to cover at least one or more of a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite to the first surface, of the vibration generating part.
However, Azima teaches a cover member (29,46) configured to cover at least one or more of a first surface and a second surface (annotated fig.4, surface of vibration device), which is opposite to the first surface (see fig.2, surface of 50), of the vibration generating part (annotated fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura where a cover member configured to cover at least one or more of a first surface and a second surface, which is opposite to the first surface, of the vibration generating part as shown by Azima to provide support in the structure and provide good mounting (Azima, Col.2, L.10-45).
Re-claim 19, Jomura as modified discloses the vibration apparatus of claim 18.
Jomura fails to teach an enclosure disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member and configured to cover the one or more vibration generating apparatuses.
However, Azima teaches an enclosure (29) disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member (48) and configured to cover the one or more vibration generating apparatuses (layers of vibrating structure)
(annotated fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Jomura where enclosure disposed at a rear surface of the passive vibration member and configured to cover the one or more vibration generating apparatuses as shown by Azima to provide support in the structure and provide good mounting and protection(Azima, Col.2, L.10-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 10,16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, combined with claims 6,5,4 and 1, recites “1. A vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration generating part, wherein the vibration generating part comprises: a plurality of electrode layers; a plurality of vibration layers disposed between the plurality of electrode layers, the plurality of vibration layers including a piezoelectric material; a first connection member configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a first group among the plurality of electrode layers; and a second connection member configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a second group among the plurality of electrode layers, and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers is configured to have a shape, which differs from a shape of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers, and is configured to have a size being smaller than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers.4. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is
disposed between two electrode layers vertically adjacent to each other among the plurality of electrode layers. 5. The vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first connection member and the second connection member are disposed at one lateral surface of the vibration generating part. 6. The vibration apparatus of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers comprises a main electrode and a sub-electrode protruding from the main electrode, wherein the first connection member is electrically connected to the sub-electrode of the electrode layer in the first group, and wherein the second connection member is electrically connected to the sub-electrode of the electrode layer in the second group.7. The vibration apparatus of claim
6, wherein the electrode layer in the second group further comprises a second connection pattern electrically disconnected from the sub-electrode and electrically connected to the second connection member, and wherein the electrode layer in the first group further comprises a third connection pattern electrically disconnected from the sub-electrode and electrically connected to the first connection member.”
The combination of limitations of claim 7 with prior claims 4-6, and 1 are unique and are not taught or suggested by any of the prior art of record, search or art. Nor is adding more art feasible to come with combined claims 7,4-6 and 1 limitations
Re-claim 10, recites “inter alia” : claim 1 1. A vibration apparatus, comprising: a vibration generating part, wherein the vibration generating part comprises: a plurality of electrode layers; a plurality of vibration layers disposed between the plurality of electrode layers, the plurality of vibration layers including a piezoelectric material; a first connection member configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a first group among the plurality of electrode layers; and a second connection member configured to be electrically connected to an electrode layer in a second group among the plurality of electrode layers, and wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers is configured to have a shape, which differs from a shape of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers, and is configured to have a size being smaller than a size of at least one of the plurality of vibration layers 4. The vibration apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of vibration layers is disposed between two electrode layers vertically adjacent to each other among the plurality of electrode layers.8. The vibration apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the first group, and wherein the second connection member passes through the plurality of vibration layers and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode layer in the second group. 9. The vibration apparatus of claim 8, wherein the vibration generating part further comprises a first connection pattern disposed at an uppermost electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers and electrically connected to the second connection member. The vibration apparatus of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of electrode layers comprises a main electrode and a sub-electrode protruding from the main electrode, wherein the vibration generating part further comprises: one or more first holes configured to pass through the plurality of vibration layers and the sub-electrode of the electrode layer in the first group; and one or more second holes configured to pass through the plurality of vibration layers and the sub-electrode of the electrode layer in the second group, wherein the
first connection member is filled in the one or more first holes and is electrically connected to the electrode layer in the first group, and wherein the second connection member is filled in the one or more second holes and is electrically connected to the electrode layer in the second group.”
The combination of limitations of claim 10 with prior claims 9,8,4 and 1 are unique and are not taught or suggested by any of the prior art of record, search or art, Nor is adding more art feasible to come with combined claims 10,9,8,4 and 1 limitations.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent from claim 10.
Claim 16 recites “inter alia” 16. The vibration apparatus of claim 15, further comprises a signal supply member electrically connected to the vibration generating part, wherein the signal supply member comprises: a
first signal line electrically connected to the first connection member; and a second signal line electrically connected to the second connection member.”.
The combination of limitations of claim 16 with prior claims 15, and 1 are unique and are not taught or suggested by any of the prior art of record, search or art, Nor is adding more art feasible to come with combined claims 16,15 and 1 limitations.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent from claim 16.
Re-claim 20, recites “inter alia”, 20. The electronic apparatus of claim 18, wherein the passive vibration member comprises one or more of a vibration plate, a display panel including a pixel configured to display an image, a screen panel on which an image is to be projected from a display apparatus, a light emitting diode lighting panel, an organic light emitting lighting panel, an inorganic light emitting lighting panel, a signage panel, a vehicular interior material, a vehicular exterior material, a vehicular glass window, a vehicular seat interior material, a vehicular ceiling material, a building ceiling material, a building interior material, a building glass window, an aircraft interior material, an aircraft glass window, and a mirror, and wherein the vibration plate comprises one or more materials among metal, plastic, wood, paper, fiber, cloth, leather, glass, rubber, carbon, and mirror.”
The combination of limitations of claim 1 with prior claims 20,18, and 1 are unique and are not taught or suggested by any of the prior art of record, search or art, Nor is adding more art feasible to come with combined claims 20,18 and 1 limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you
would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834