DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 10/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choudhary et al. (US 20140337451 A1, published 11/13/2014), Choudhary.
Regarding claim 16, Choudhary teaches the claim comprising:
A computer system, comprising: a memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled with the memory and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to at least (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0200], A server, a virtual machine, a controller of a monitoring device, or a controller of a computing device is sometimes referred to herein as a computing resource. Examples of a controller include a processor and a memory device; [0201], the processor may be a general purpose processor. In another embodiment, the processor can be a customized processor configured to run specific algorithms or operations; [0206], Various embodiments described in the present disclosure can also be embodied as computer-readable code on a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The computer-readable medium is any data storage device that can store data, which can thereafter be read by a computer system. Examples of the computer-readable medium include hard drives, network attached storage (NAS), ROM, RAM, compact disc-ROMs (CD-ROMs), CD-recordables (CD-Rs), CD-rewritables (RWs), magnetic tapes and other optical and non-optical data storage devices. The computer-readable medium can include computer-readable tangible medium distributed over a network-coupled computer system so that the computer-readable code is stored and executed in a distributed fashion):
receive, from a first user device, a first communication including a first invitation to share a first updateable graphical fitness user interface element, the first invitation identifying user information for a second user associated with a second user device (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0074], The motion can be activity of the user, such as walking, running, stair climbing, etc, [0084], server 220 can include a number of applications that service the activity tracking device 100, and the associated users of the activity tracking device 100 by way of user accounts. For example, the server 220 can include an activity management application 224. The activity management application 224 can include logic for providing access to various devices 100, which are associated with user accounts managed by server 220. Server 220 can include storage 226 that includes various user profiles associated with the various user accounts . The user account 228a for user A and the user account 228n for user N are shown to include various information; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0089], the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided. Furthermore each of the listed members of the social graph is ranked according to their seven-day total step count, and the members of the social graph are listed in order according to their determined ranking; [0100], the current user selects the listing for the user Johnny (e.g. by hovering a mouse pointer over, clicking on, or otherwise indicating selection of, Johnny's listing entry), then several options for messaging are presented to the user; [0101], an icon 404 may be selected to initiate generation of a normal message to the user Johnny An icon 406 may be selected to initiate generation of a taunting message to the user Johnny And an icon 408 can be selected to initiate generation of a cheering message to the user Johnny Selection of any of the foregoing icons may trigger display of a text entry field for the user to enter text to define the message; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0120], the server 718 provides access to a social network that is defined by various social data stored to a social data storage 728. The social data includes information defining connections or other relationships between social network users, and thereby defines the social graphs of social network users. Social management logic 722 handles requests relating to the social data. For example, the application 710 may retrieve and display a news feed of current activity/posts from members of the social graph of the user. The application 710 may retrieve the news feed information by requesting it from the social management logic 722 of the remote server 718. In response to a given request, the social management logic 722 may query the social data storage 728 to both identify members of the user's social graph and retrieve posts/notifications/etc. which are related to or posted by the members of the user's social graph. In one embodiment, the social management logic 722 may also query the activity data storage 726 to retrieve activity data/metrics of members of the user's social graph. The retrieved data is returned to the application 710 for display in the social news feed at the user device 706; [0127], FIG. 10A conceptually illustrates generation of a leaderboard via a messaging procedure, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. An inbox view 1000 shows messages in an inbox for a user Pete. A new message button 1002 is selected to access a message creation interface 1004 for creating a new message; [0128], the sending user may select what activity metric the leaderboard will track (ref. 1016), such as steps, floors climbed, distance traveled, active minutes, etc; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete);
send the first communication to the second user device based at least in part on the user information, the first communication enabling acceptance, by the second user, of the first invitation to share the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element; determine that the first invitation to share the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element has been accepted at the second user device; and update a data structure to enable the second user device to receive updates corresponding to the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0089], the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided. Furthermore each of the listed members of the social graph is ranked according to their seven-day total step count, and the members of the social graph are listed in order according to their determined ranking; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0120], the server 718 provides access to a social network that is defined by various social data stored to a social data storage 728. The social data includes information defining connections or other relationships between social network users, and thereby defines the social graphs of social network users. Social management logic 722 handles requests relating to the social data. For example, the application 710 may retrieve and display a news feed of current activity/posts from members of the social graph of the user. The application 710 may retrieve the news feed information by requesting it from the social management logic 722 of the remote server 718. In response to a given request, the social management logic 722 may query the social data storage 728 to both identify members of the user's social graph and retrieve posts/notifications/etc. which are related to or posted by the members of the user's social graph. In one embodiment, the social management logic 722 may also query the activity data storage 726 to retrieve activity data/metrics of members of the user's social graph. The retrieved data is returned to the application 710 for display in the social news feed at the user device 706; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0179], FIG. 13C illustrates an interface for displaying data pertaining to a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the illustrated embodiment, a one week challenge/race to determine who can achieve the highest stepcount is shown. A time remaining field 1330 is provided to display the amount of time remaining before the challenge is complete. A leaderboard 1332 lists the participating users and their associated stepcounts in a ranked order from highest to lowest)
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the claims contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 16. Consequently, the claims are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein updating the data structure comprises updating the data structure responsive to determining that the first invitation has been accepted (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0120], the server 718 provides access to a social network that is defined by various social data stored to a social data storage 728. The social data includes information defining connections or other relationships between social network users, and thereby defines the social graphs of social network users; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; see also [0097-0098], [0120])
Regarding claims 12 and 17, the claims contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, the claims are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element is associated with a first user of the first user device (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0089], the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0179], FIG. 13C illustrates an interface for displaying data pertaining to a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the illustrated embodiment, a one week challenge/race to determine who can achieve the highest stepcount is shown. A time remaining field 1330 is provided to display the amount of time remaining before the challenge is complete. A leaderboard 1332 lists the participating users and their associated stepcounts in a ranked order from highest to lowest; see also [0097-0098], [0120])
Regarding claims 13 and 18, the claims contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, the claims are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, from the first user device, updated first user interface element data corresponding to the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification);
accessing the data structure to identify an association between the first user and the second user; and sending, to the second user device, the updated first user interface element data corresponding to the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0089-0090], [0097-0098], [0120], [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Regarding claim 14, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the updated first user interface element data is configured to cause the second user device to update a graphical representation of the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0097-0098], [0120], [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Regarding claim 15, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the updated first user interface element data is configured to cause the second user device to present a notification corresponding to the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0097-0098], [0120], [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Regarding claim 8, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the first updateable graphical fitness user interface element comprises a plurality of user interface elements that are updated based at least in part on one or more fitness activities performed by the first user (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0074], The motion can be activity of the user, such as walking, running, stair climbing, etc; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); the display of the step count is graphically portrayed, e.g. by a circular meter; [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0099], the ranking may be determined by a combination of activity metrics; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0097-0098], [0120], [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Regarding claim 19, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
wherein each user interface element of the plurality of user interface elements is associated with at least one fitness activity of the one or more fitness activities (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0074], The motion can be activity of the user, such as walking, running, stair climbing, etc; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0099], the ranking may be determined by a combination of activity metrics; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; see also [0097-0098], [0112], [0120], [0129-0130] [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Regarding claim 20, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 9. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
further comprising updating the data structure to enable the first user device to receive other updates corresponding to a second updateable graphical fitness user interface element associated with the second user of the second user device (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0156], FIG. 13B illustrates a graph of activity metric versus time for a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Each of the curves 1314, 1316, 1318, and 1320 indicates activity metric values/levels for users A, B, C, and D, respectively. During the course of the group event, each of the users is ranked based on their activity metric values/levels. Interesting activity occurring during the group event that indicates a changes in relationship between two or more of the users can be identified, and in response, messages can be generated and sent to user accounts that are associated with the users; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0097-0098], [0112], [0120], [0129-0130] [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudhary.
Regarding claim 11, Choudhary teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
periodically receiving updated user interface element data from the first user device during a defined time period (Choudhary Figs. 1-14; [0088], FIG. 3 illustrates an interface configured to display activity metrics/data based on activity data recorded by an activity tracking device; [0085], the server 220 provides access to a user to view the user data 232 associated with activity tracking device. The data viewable by the user includes the tracked motion data, which is processed to identify a plurality of metrics associated with the motion data. The metrics are shown in various graphical user interfaces of a website enabled by the server 220; [0089], A steps module 302 is configured to display a total number of steps taken over a given time period (e.g. last hour, current day, current week, etc.); [0090], A friends module 304 is configured to display a listing of friends of the user on a social network. The friends are members of a social graph of the user that is defined by the social network. In the illustrated embodiment, the listing of friends includes names (or user names) of the friends of the user along with their profile pictures, and also includes a value of an activity metric for each of the friends. In the illustrated embodiment, each friend listed also includes a step count for that friend. In one embodiment, the friends are listed according to the activity metric, e.g. in descending order from highest to lowest total step count. In this manner, the friends module 304 provides a ranked ordering of the friends of the user, and may also show where the user ranks amongst his/her friends with respect to the particular activity metric; [0097], FIG. 4 illustrates a listing of members from a social graph of a user, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The social graph is defined on a social network of users, each of whom has an account on the social network. Each user's account is configured to track activity data and metrics associated with that user, including that which is based on data recorded by an activity tracking device associated with the user. In this manner, the social network differs from other types of social networks in that activity data and metrics of various users can be made available to members of the social graph of a user; [0098], in the illustrated embodiment, the listing of each member of the social graph of the user additionally includes a value for an activity metric that is associated with that particular member. In the illustrated embodiment, a seven-day total step count is provided; [0112], A connection request 626 indicates that the user Dave wishes to be friends with the user Ryan on the social network (ref. 630). The request 626 includes a social icon 628, and a time indication 632 showing the request was sent/received approximately two hours ago. Upon selection or opening of the request 626, options can be provided to the user Ryan to accept or ignore the request. Acceptance of the request will cause the users Dave and Ryan to be connected on the social network, such as each user becomes a member of the other's social graph; [0118], An activity monitoring device 700 is configured to track activity of a user, as has been discussed above. An activity data storage 704 is configured to store activity data which have been detected or processed by the activity monitoring device 700. Synchronization logic 702 is configured to transmit such activity data to a user device 706, which may occur with varying frequency. The user device 706 includes synchronization logic 708 which is configured to manage receipt of the aforementioned activity data from the activity monitoring device 700, as well as manage transmission of such activity data (and data processed by the user device from such activity data) to a remote server 718 (via a network 716), the remote server 718 having synchronization logic 720 for handling receipt of such data and storing it to an activity data storage 726; [0129], the message will appear in the inbox view 1024 of the user Bob who is a recipient of the message. By selecting the message preview 1026, an entire view of the message (ref. 1028) is accessed. The message 1028 includes an option (ref. 1030) to join the leaderboard. In the illustrated embodiment, buttons for indicating yes or no are provided (ref. 1030) whereby the user Bob may indicate whether he wishes to join the leaderboard; [0130], It will be appreciated that those users who respond positively to the request to join the leaderboard will be members of a competitive group that has been formed based on the message sent by the user Pete; [0179], FIG. 13C illustrates an interface for displaying data pertaining to a group event, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the illustrated embodiment, a one week challenge/race to determine who can achieve the highest stepcount is shown. A time remaining field 1330 is provided to display the amount of time remaining before the challenge is complete. A leaderboard 1332 lists the participating users and their associated stepcounts in a ranked order from highest to lowest; [0181], in the implementation described above wherein notifications regarding changes in rank other than first place are sent only to those users involved, appropriate messages for the change in rank may appear in the message feed provided to other users, notwithstanding that they did not receive a notification; see also [0097-0098], [0112], [0120], [0129-0130] [0158-0161], [0179-0180])
Choudhary does not expressly state periodically sharing the updated user interface element data with the second user device during the defined time period. However, Choudhary does disclose that user fitness data is synchronized to the server with at a frequency ([0118]). Choudhary further discloses that a second user can view a graphic comprising the first user’s current updated user interface element data for a defined time period, such as a 7 day step total leaderboard shown in Fig. 4 ([0097-0099]). Choudhary further discloses step counts can be displayed as a meter ([0089]). Choudhary further discloses that a second user can view a graphic comprising the first user’s current updated user interface element data for a defined time period, such as a step leaderboard for a defined time period 1330 shown in Fig. 13 ([0179]). Choudhary further discloses that a second user receives updates and notifications regarding changes in the leaderboard ranks for first users based on the synchronized activity data ([0180-0181]). The second user can receive updates when the server detects interesting or unusual activity from the synchronized activity data ([0156-0159], [0179]) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated periodically sharing the updated user interface element data with the second user device during the defined time period (Choudhary Figs. Figs. 1-14; [0088-0090], [0097-0098], [0112], [0118], [0129-0130], [0156-0159], [0179-0181]) as suggested in Choudhary. Doing so would be desirable because fitness activity trackers are used to measure activity, such as walking, motion, running, sleeping, being inactive, bicycling, exercising on an elliptical trainer, and the like. Typically, the data collected by such devices can be transferred (see Choudhary [0005]). Choudhary provides a system for notifications regarding interesting or unusual activity (see Choudhary [0007]). Periodically updating users would enable the system to efficiently utilize the periodically synchronized user data ([0118]) to enable users to quickly view desired interesting or unusual changes in their friends activity, as opposed to requiring users to manually request updated data from their friends. The periodic updates would save the users time and increase user satisfaction with the system, thereby better encouraging users to engage in healthy activities as well as drive adoption of the activity tracking system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weinstein (US 20160098522 A1) see Figs. 1-15 and [0039-0057].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143