Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0087379 A1 to Holland.
Regarding claim 1, Holland discloses an electric power-assisted bicycle (Fig. 1) comprising:
a bottom bracket (A) configured to support a crankshaft (22) (Annotated Fig. 1 & [0041] disclose the circled portion of the frame supporting the crankshaft 22 which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be a bottom bracket.);
a motor unit (28) which includes an electric motor (28), a housing (28) which houses the electric motor (28), and an output shaft (42) protruding from the housing to output torque of the electric motor, and is disposed at a distance from the bottom bracket (A) (Figs. 1-2 & [0043] disclose the motor unit 28 includes a motor and a case and the motor unit drives the sprocket 42 and therefore is interpreted as including an output shaft. At a minimum the sprocket which is
mounted to the motor can be interpreted as the output shaft.);
a frame (12) including a head tube (B) configured to support a steering shaft (C), a frame bottom part (D) which supports the bottom bracket (A), and a down frame part (E) extending obliquely downward from the head tube (B) toward the frame bottom part (D) (Annotated Fig. 1, Fig. 2, & [0041] disclose the frame bottom part is the area of the frame surrounding the bottom bracket.); and
a battery (36) attached to the down frame part (E) (Annotated Fig. 1 & [0041]), wherein
the motor unit (28) is located above the bottom bracket (A) and behind the battery (36) when the electric power-assisted bicycle (10) is viewed in an upright and ridable orientation (Annotated Fig. 1 noting that at least a portion of the bottom bracket is behind the battery), and
a lower end (F) of the battery (36) is located below a rotational center of the electric motor (28) (Annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Holland further discloses wherein
a whole of a lower surface (F) of the battery (36) is located below a lower end of the electric motor (28) (Annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, Holland further discloses wherein
a distance from the crankshaft to an end portion of the battery is shorter than at least one of a distance from the crankshaft to the rotational center of the electric motor, and a distance from the crankshaft to a rotational center of the output shaft (Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 1, Holland further discloses, further comprising:
a first sprocket (26) provided to the crankshaft (22) (Annotated Fig. 1 & [0041]);
a second sprocket (40) which is provided to the output shaft, and has a smaller number of teeth than the first sprocket (26); and
a chain (32) which is wound around the first sprocket (26) and the second sprocket (40), and is configured to transmit rotations of the first sprocket (26) and the second sprocket (40) to a rear wheel (14) (Annotated Figs. 1-2 & [0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 1, Holland further discloses wherein
the frame (12) includes a mainframe part (34) which extends rearward from the head tube (B), and is located above the down frame part (E) (Annotated Figs. 1-2 depict the main frame part 34 extending from the from the frame rearward of the headtube and above from the downtube E),
at least a rear portion of the mainframe part (E) includes a right extension part and a left extension part separated in a left-right direction (Annotated Figs. 1-2 & [0041]-[0043]. See also generally alternate embodiment shown in Fig. 6 which depicts non-drive side of main frame part), and
a part of the motor unit (28) overlaps at least one of the right extension part and the left extension part in a side view (Annotated Figs. 1-2 & [0041]-[0043] disclose the main frame part 34 overlaps the motor 28 on both sides.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0289335 A1 to Spaggiari in view of Holland.
Regarding claim 1, Spaggiari discloses an electric power-assisted bicycle (11) (Fig. 1B & Abstract) comprising:
a bottom bracket (A) configured to support a crankshaft (17) (Annotated Fig. 5B & [0036] disclose the circled portion of the frame supporting the crankshaft 17 which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be a bottom bracket);
a motor unit (10) which includes an electric motor (14), a housing (12) which houses the electric motor (14) (Figs. 2A-E & [0087]), and an output shaft (160) protruding from the housing (12) to output torque of the electric motor (14), and is disposed at a distance from the bottom bracket (A) (Annotated Fig. 5B, Figs. 2A-E & [0061]);
a frame (13) including a head tube (B) configured to support a steering shaft (C), a frame bottom part (D) which supports the bottom bracket (A), and a down frame part (132) extending obliquely downward from the head tube (B) toward the frame bottom part (D) (Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B & [0098]); and
the motor unit (10) is located above the bottom bracket (A) and … when the electric power-assisted bicycle (11) is viewed in an upright and ridable orientation (Annotated Fig. 1B).
Spaggiari does not appear to specifica disclose a battery attached to the down frame part, wherein the motor unit (10) is located above the bottom bracket (A) and behind the battery, and a lower end of the battery is located below a rotational center of the electric motor.
Holland teaches that it was old and well known in the art of electric bicycles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a battery (36) attached to the down frame part (E) (Annotated Fig. 1 & [0041]), wherein
the motor unit (28) is located above the bottom bracket (A) and behind the battery (36) (Annotated Fig. 1 noting that at least a portion of the bottom bracket is behind the battery), and
a lower end (F) of the battery (36) is located below a rotational center of the electric motor (28) (Annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of electric bicycles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric drive system disclosed by Spaggiari to incorporate a battery attached to the down frame part, wherein the motor unit (10) is located above the bottom bracket (A) and behind the battery, and a lower end of the battery is located below a rotational center of the electric motor as taught by Holland in order to provide a power source for the electric motor mounted low and centered on the bicycle to increase safety, e.g., see [0010] and [0033], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland further discloses wherein a whole of a lower surface of the battery (Holland – F) is located below a lower end of the electric motor (Spaggiari – 14/Holland – 28) (Spaggiari – Annotated Fig. 1B. Holland - Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland further discloses wherein a distance from the crankshaft (Spaggiari – 17/Holland – 22) to an end portion of the battery (Holland - F) is shorter than at least one of a distance from the crankshaft (Spaggiari – 17/Holland – 22) to the rotational center of the electric motor (Spaggiari – 14/Holland – 28), and a distance from the crankshaft (Spaggiari – 17/Holland – 22) to a rotational center of the output shaft (Spaggiari – 160/Holland – 42) (Spaggiari Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B. Holland - Annotated Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland further discloses a first sprocket (191) provided to the crankshaft (17); a second sprocket (16) which is provided to the output shaft (160), and has a smaller number of teeth than the first sprocket (191) (Fig. 5B & [0038], [0048], and [0053]); and
a chain (193) which is wound around the first sprocket (191) and the second sprocket (16), and is configured to transmit rotations of the first sprocket (191) and the second sprocket (16) to a rear wheel (152) (Figs. 1B and 5B & [0040] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 1, Spaggiari further discloses wherein the output shaft (160) is located above the electric motor (14) (Annotated Fig. 5B depicts the center H of the electric motor 14 is below the sprocket 16 which is coaxial with the output shaft 160, e.g., see Figs. 2A-2E.).
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 1, Spaggiari further discloses wherein
the frame (13) includes a mainframe part (W) which extends rearward from the head tube (B), and is located above the down frame part (132), at least a rear portion (X,Y) of the mainframe part (W) includes a right extension part (X) and a left extension part (Y) separated in a left-right direction, and a part of the motor unit (Z) overlaps at least one of the right extension part (X) and the left extension part (Y) in a side view (Annotated Figs. 1A/B and 2D and Figs. 5A/B disclose and depict motor mounts Z that overlap inside frame portions X,Y from the side view.).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spaggiari in view of Holland and further in view of US 2018/0072379 A1 to Talavasek et al (hereinafter Talavasek).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 1, Spaggiari further discloses a rear arm (E) coupled to the frame (13) via a point (F) (Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B).
Although Spaggiari discloses a rear arm attached to the front portion of the frame at a point, it is unclear if the rear portion of the frame is attached with a pivot shaft; and a rear suspension which supports the rear arm so that the rear arm is allowed to move upward and downward.
Talavasek teaches that it was old and well known in the art of electric bicycles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a rear arm (42) attached to the front portion of the frame (30) with a pivot shaft (72) (Figs. 2 -4 & [0027]); and a rear suspension (50) which supports the rear arm (42) so that the rear arm (42) is allowed to move upward and downward (Figs. 1-3 & [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of electric bicycles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric bicycle disclosed by the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland to incorporate for the rear portion of the frame to be attached with a pivot shaft; and a rear suspension which supports the rear arm so that the rear arm is allowed to move upward and downward as taught by Talavasek in order to provide a smoother ride by pivotally connecting a rear frame to the front frame with pivots and a shock absorber, e.g., see [0025]-[0027], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 4, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland/Talavasek further discloses wherein a position of the pivot shaft (Spaggiari – F/Talavasek - 72) is higher than the rotational center (Spaggiari – H) of the electric motor (Spaggiari – 14) (Spaggiari – Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B. Talavasek – Figs. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland/Talavasek for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 4, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland/Talavasek further discloses a first sprocket (Spaggiari – 191) provided to the crankshaft (Spaggiari – 17) (Figs. 1A-B and 5A-B & [0038]-[0039]);
a second sprocket (Spaggiari – 16) provided to the output shaft (Spaggiari – 160) (Figs. 1A-B and 5A-B & [0053]); and
a chain (Spaggiari – 193) wound around the first sprocket (Spaggiari – 191) and the second sprocket (Spaggiari – 16), wherein positions of both the pivot shaft (Spaggiari – F/Talavasek - 72) and the output shaft (Spaggiari – 160) are higher than the rotational center of the electric motor (Spaggiari – 14) (Spaggiari – Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B. Talavasek Figs. 2-4 & [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland/Talavasek for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 4, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland/Talavasek further discloses wherein the output shaft (Spaggiari – 160) is located in front of the pivot shaft (Spaggiari – F/ Talavasek - 72) (Spaggiari – Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B. Talavasek Figs. 2-4 & [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland/Talavasek for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 4, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland/Talavasek further discloses wherein a distance (Spaggiari – I) from the output shaft (Spaggiari – 160) to the pivot shaft (Spaggiari – F) is shorter than a distance (Spaggiari – J) from the output shaft to (Spaggiari – 160) the crankshaft (Spaggiari – 17) (Spaggiari – Annotated Figs. 1B and 5B. Talavasek Figs. 2-4 & [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Spaggiari in view of the teachings of Holland/Talavasek for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 1 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spaggiari in view of Holland and further in view of US 2020/0062325 A1 to Talavasek et al (hereinafter Talavasek II)
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland does not appear to further disclose wherein the battery (Holland - 36) is housed in the down frame part (Spaggiari - 132) (Spaggiari – Figs. 1B and 5B. Holland – Figs. 1-2).
Talavasek teaches that it was old and well known in the art of electric bicycles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the battery (58) to be housed in the down frame part (72) (Figs. 2 and 6 & [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of electric bicycles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric bicycle disclosed by the modified combination of Spaggiari/Holland to incorporate for the battery to be housed in the down frame part as taught by Talavasek II in order to provide an electric bicycle with the battery, cables and wires incorporated into the frame to provide a cleaner aesthetic, e.g., see [0002], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611