DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 08/03/2026. Claims 1, 9, 10, & 13 have been amended. Presently, Claims 1-13 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 10/06/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-174423 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Further note; Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
The priority documents filed on 02/19/2026 are not a certified English translation of the foreign application.
Response to Arguments
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 08/03/2026.
Previous interpretations under 35 USC § 112(f) are not withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 08/03/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9-10, & 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) alone as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument under the 35 USC § 102 rejection for claims 1 & 10.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9-10, & 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197 in view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6) in view of Lazarus et al (US 2020/0058106 A1)as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument under the 35 USC § 102 rejection for claims 9 & 13.
The new grounds of rejection now relies on:
Claims 1, 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020).
Claims 9 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197 ) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020) in view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6) in view of Lazarus et al (US 2020/0058106 A1).
Claim Interpretation
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The nonce term “unit” in the phrase “imaging unit” for collecting measurement data” is used in claim(s) 1 & 9, invokes 35 USC 112(f)
The term, “unit” is a non-structural generic placeholder that does not include any specific structure for performing the accompany functions. See MPEP 2181.I.A: The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." Welker Bearing Co., v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096, 89 USPQ2d 1289, 1293-94 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Massachusetts Inst. of Tech. v. Abacus Software, 462 F.3d 1344, 1354, 80 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2006); Personalized Media, 161 F.3d at 704, 48 USPQ2d at 1886–87; Mas-Hamilton Group v. LaGard, Inc., 156 F.3d 1206, 1214-1215, 48 USPQ2d 1010, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Please note that for the purposes of this examination the phrase “imaging unit” is being interpreted to include generic MRI apparatus as described in ¶0039, ‘Since the configuration of the imaging unit 10 is the same as a configuration of a normal MRI apparatus’ in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020).
Claim 1: Wang discloses, A magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (¶Abstract) comprising:
an imaging unit configured to collect, using a measurement matrix, measurement data comprising nuclear magnetic resonance signals; and one or more processors configured to process the measurement data collected by the imaging unit:
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3], Wang collects measurement data using an imaging unit (SIEMENS 3T Trio scanner) to gather k-space data in a T2-weighted gradient-echo GRE sequence, using the acquisition parameters of a matrix size 256 x 256 x 192. The processing hardware to execute the steps were implemented on the N VIDIA TITAN X GPU.
(i) generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3] - “ image of size 512 × 512 was used as ground-truth. 60 images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size. 90% of the images were used for training and the remaining 10% were used for testing. Each image was split to patches of the size of 70 × 70 and there were roughly 140, 000 patches in the training dataset.” – see also ¶Abstract & FIG. 3-4. Wang details how the input images (i.e., the correction target images containing artifacts) are created. Wang notes that “images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size.”. By taking truncated K-space data and padding it with zeros to reach the full matrix size before reconstruction, the system creates the image containing the ringing artifacts. The result of this process refers to as zero-filling reconstruction. Reconstructing an image from k-space requires applying a inverse Fourier transform (IFT).
(ii) applying a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), trained to output an image in which ringing of an input image is corrected, to the correction target image to generate a CNN output image;
-[pg. 2 Merge], Wang teaches this data merging technique by explaining that after the CNN processes the image, “After training, CNN can map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. To take the advantage of the sampled K-space data, the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data. Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.” & ¶Abstract, “images with Gibbs artifacts can be input into the trained network to get the Gibbs-free images.”. Note; the CNN of Wang is specifically trained to [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col] - “use[d] CNN to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. The network was trained to learn the nonlinear mapping between MRI images with and without Gibbs artifacts.”. Hence the Gibbs artifacts manifest as ringing around the sharp edges, this process as described directly describes applying a trained CNN to correct ringing in the input image and outputting a CNN output image, see also [pg. 1 Forward-passing training].
(iii) generating composite k-space data by performing a Fourier transform on the CNN output image to obtain k-space data of the CNN output image and replacing a part of the k-space data of the CNN output image with the measurement data in k-space; and
-Wang teaches that after the CNN process the image, [pg. 2 Merge] - “the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data” to take advantage of the sampled k-space data by creating a composite k-space matrix that merges the CNN generated corrections with the original measurement data.
(iv) generating a ringing-corrected image by performing an inverse Fourier transform on the composite k-space data.
-Wang teaches after the CNN output and original sampled data are merged in the frequency domain, an ¶Abstract, “inverse Fourier transform is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image”, [pg. 2 Merge], “Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.”, [pg. 5 / Conclusion], “This paper proposed a method to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. CNN was trained to map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. Afterwards, the CNN-output image was merged with original sampled data to obtain the final image. The experimental results show that the proposed method can effectively reduce Gibbs artifacts and preserve image details at the same time, and thus improve the image quality obviously.” Hence, this operation brings the composite data back into the image domain, resulting in an image where Gibbs artifacts are reduced while the image details are preserved.
Wang fails to disclose: zero-filling around a periphery such that generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
However, Masutani in the context of deep learning in MRI to enable both faster and higher sptail detail vis super-resolution discloses: generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], “We developed a strategy for generation and use of synthetic training data to mimic the super-resolution task. Training workflow comprised two steps: (a) cropping a central 128 × 128 area of the SAX image to standardize image presentation and serve as ground truth and (b) windowing a central region of k-space to generate synthetic training data (Fig 2).”; [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], “To mimic low-resolution small-matrix MRI acquisitions, we performed a process we refer to as Fourier downsampling. Each downsampling factor was simulated by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes. Outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 × 128. Images were transformed back to the image domain, and pixel values were scaled to 0 and 1. Each downsampling (and commensurate upsampling) factor was defined as the ratio of the k-space window area to the cropped 128 × 128 area.”; [FIG. 2 pg.555]- “Diagram shows strategy for generation of synthetic training data. Source image data were first cropped to standardize image presentation to the neural network and were windowed in Fourier space to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition. The cropped images were later used as ground truth for training, and the downsampled images were used as synthetic input images. Z-PAD = zero padding.” - Masutani simulates low-resolution MRI scans (i.e., the measurement data) by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes to mimic small matrix acquisitions. The resulting reconstruction image is a uncorrected, low-resolution synthetic input image that is fed into the CNN for correction and super-resolution, see FIG. 2 below) by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], [Introduction pg. 552], ‘It is largely believed that without prior knowledge, zero padding of outer k-space is the most reliable and effective method for image upscaling and therefore is widely used as the industry standard’; Matsutani discloses that after retaining the smaller central windows of k-space (i.e., the “measurement matrix size), the “outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 x 128”. This expands the smaller measurement matrix of the windowed data to a larger reconstruction matrix size (128 x 128), see FIG. 2 below) and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data; ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], after the outer k-space is zero-filled, the images were transformed back to the image domain. This is labeled as iFFT (i.e., inverse Fast Fourier Transform) on the zero-padded k-space data to reconstruct the input image.)
See FIG. 2 Below of Masutani:
See FIG. 5 below of the Applicant’s Drawings filed on 10/04/2024
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of generating of the corrected target image of Wang to incorporate the known teachings of Masutani for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition, as suggested by Masutani, [Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], FIG. 2.
Claim 7: Modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Wang discloses, wherein the CNN includes a trained model that has been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for at least a one-dimensional direction of the input image.
-Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses under sampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts. Wang states, [A. Implementation Details / pg 2], “We used 30% of phase encoding lines in the K-space data to obtain images with Gibbs artifacts. 90% of images were used for training and the remaining 10% were used for testing.”, see also ¶Abstract. The phase encoding lines represent one-dimensional directional axis with the measurement matrix. By truncating the data along these phase encoding lines, the ringing artifacts along that directional axis are used to train the model.
Claim 10: Modified Wang discloses, An image processing method (¶Abstract) of correcting ringing in measurement data consisting of nuclear magnetic resonance signals collected by a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (¶Abstract), the image processing method comprising:
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3], Wang collects measurement data using an imaging unit (SIEMENS 3T Trio scanner) to gather k-space data in a T2-weighted gradient-echo GRE sequence, using the acquisition parameters of a matrix size 256 x 256 x 192. The processing hardware to execute the steps were implemented on the N VIDIA TITAN X GPU.
generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in the k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of a measurement matrix used to collected the measurement data, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3] - “ image of size 512 × 512 was used as ground-truth. 60 images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size. 90% of the images were used for training and the remaining 10% were used for testing. Each image was split to patches of the size of 70 × 70 and there were roughly 140, 000 patches in the training dataset.” – see also ¶Abstract & FIG. 3-4. Wang details how the input images (i.e., the correction target images containing artifacts) are created. Wang notes that “images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size.”. By taking truncated K-space data and padding it with zeros to reach the full matrix size before reconstruction, the system creates the image containing the ringing artifacts. The result of this process refers to as zero-filling reconstruction. Reconstructing an image from k-space requires applying a IFT.
applying a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), trained to output an image in which ringing of an input image is corrected, to the correction target image to generate a CNN output image;
-[pg. 2 Merge], Wang teaches this data merging technique by explaining that after the CNN processes the image, “After training, CNN can map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. To take the advantage of the sampled K-space data, the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data. Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.” & ¶Abstract, “images with Gibbs artifacts can be input into the trained network to get the Gibbs-free images.”. Note; the CNN of Wang is specifically trained to [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col] - “use[d] CNN to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. The network was trained to learn the nonlinear mapping between MRI images with and without Gibbs artifacts.”. Hence the Gibbs artifacts manifest as ringing around the sharp edges, this process as described directly describes applying a trained CNN to correct ringing in the input image and outputting a CNN output image, see also [pg. 1 Forward-passing training].
generating composite k-space data by performing a Fourier transform on the CNN output image to obtain k-space data of the CNN output image and replacing a part of the k-space data of the CNN output image with the measurement data in k-space; and
-Wang teaches that after the CNN process the image, [pg. 2 Merge] - “the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data” to take advantage of the sampled k-space data by creating a composite k-space matrix that merges the CNN generated corrections with the original measurement data.
generating a ringing-corrected image by performing an inverse Fourier transform on the composite k-space data.
-Wang teaches after the CNN output and original sampled data are merged in the frequency domain, an ¶Abstract, “inverse Fourier transform is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image”, [pg. 2 Merge], “Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.”, [pg. 5 / Conclusion], “This paper proposed a method to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. CNN was trained to map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. Afterwards, the CNN-output image was merged with original sampled data to obtain the final image. The experimental results show that the proposed method can effectively reduce Gibbs artifacts and preserve image details at the same time, and thus improve the image quality obviously.” Hence, this operation brings the composite data back into the image domain, resulting in an image where Gibbs artifacts are reduced while the image details are preserved.
Wang fails to disclose: zero-filling around a periphery such that generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
However, Masutani in the context of deep learning in MRI to enable both faster and higher sptail detail vis super-resolution discloses: generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], “We developed a strategy for generation and use of synthetic training data to mimic the super-resolution task. Training workflow comprised two steps: (a) cropping a central 128 × 128 area of the SAX image to standardize image presentation and serve as ground truth and (b) windowing a central region of k-space to generate synthetic training data (Fig 2).”; [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], “To mimic low-resolution small-matrix MRI acquisitions, we performed a process we refer to as Fourier downsampling. Each downsampling factor was simulated by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes. Outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 × 128. Images were transformed back to the image domain, and pixel values were scaled to 0 and 1. Each downsampling (and commensurate upsampling) factor was defined as the ratio of the k-space window area to the cropped 128 × 128 area.”; [FIG. 2 pg.555]- “Diagram shows strategy for generation of synthetic training data. Source image data were first cropped to standardize image presentation to the neural network and were windowed in Fourier space to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition. The cropped images were later used as ground truth for training, and the downsampled images were used as synthetic input images. Z-PAD = zero padding.” - Masutani simulates low-resolution MRI scans (i.e., the measurement data) by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes to mimic small matrix acquisitions. The resulting reconstruction image is a uncorrected, low-resolution synthetic input image that is fed into the CNN for correction and super-resolution, see FIG. 2 below) by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], [Introduction pg. 552], ‘It is largely believed that without prior knowledge, zero padding of outer k-space is the most reliable and effective method for image upscaling and therefore is widely used as the industry standard’; Matsutani discloses that after retaining the smaller central windows of k-space (i.e., the “measurement matrix size), the “outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 x 128”. This expands the smaller measurement matrix of the windowed data to a larger reconstruction matrix size (128 x 128), see FIG. 2 below) and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data; ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], after the outer k-space is zero-filled, the images were transformed back to the image domain. This is labeled as iFFT (i.e., inverse Fast Fourier Transform) on the zero-padded k-space data to reconstruct the input image.)
See FIG. 2 Below of Masutani:
See FIG. 5 below of the Applicant’s Drawings filed on 10/04/2024
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of generating of the corrected target image of Wang to incorporate the known teachings of Masutani for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition, as suggested by Masutani, [Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], FIG. 2.
Claims 3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6).
Claim 3: Modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Wang discloses, wherein the CNN includes a trained model that has been trained by using, as training data, a correct answer image in which ringing has not occurred
-Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses undersampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose:
and an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image.
However, Zhao in the context of Gibbs-ringing artifacts suppression using convolutional neural networks discloses: and an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image.
-Zhao generates training data pairs by using artifact-free image (i.e., correct answer image) alongside simulated artifact-degraded image, FIG. 3 & [pg 33713], “To generate training examples, we follow the pipeline shown in Fig. 2 to simulate Gibbs-ringing artifacts (4-fold truncation in k-space), where Fig. 2a and d form a pair of training sample (y, x). It is worth noting that the artifact-degraded image x is generated by zero-padding the k-space to match the size of the artifact-free image y. However, the artifacts may appear in the images produced with or without zero-padding in real MRI scans. Zero-padding just makes the Gibbs-ringing artifacts more visible because the oscillation pattern of the artifacts is amplified by the zero-filling (i.e., sinc) interpolation [...]. In this work, we set the problem to the case of zero-padding [...] so that the artifacts in degraded images are more visible.” [4.1.1 NI dataset / pg 33719], “We follow the process shown in Fig. 2 to simulate the ringing artifacts for both natural and MR images. All the degraded images are produced by 4-fold truncation in k-space so that the image degradation is relatively serious. Therefore, the network recovers the artifact-free image from only 1/16 of the total information.”, [4.2 Training setting pg. 33719], “In our settings, the artifact-degraded image x is 4-fold truncated and zero-padded in k-space so that it has the same size as the output image . All training images are split into sub images of size 48 × 48 before feeding into the model. This is achieved by random extraction of paired artifact-degraded and artifact-free image patches. The data augmentation is realized by random horizontal flips and 90∘ rotations. The number of residual blocks and feature maps is set to 32 and 64 respectively, and kernel size is 3 × 3 for all conv layers. The proposed models are implemented and trained in TensorFlow 1.7.0, and the Adam optimizer [27] is used to minimize the loss function by setting β1 = 0.9, β2 = 0.999 and 𝜖 = 10− 8. Batch size is set to 16. We use piecewise constant decay for learning rate, i.e., it is initialized as 10− 4 for all layers and halved at every 2 × 105 iterations. All models are trained for one million iterations. The Xavier’s method [16] is used to initialize network parameters when the model is trained from scratch.”. The degraded image is created by simulating a 4-fold truncation in k-space, which corresponds to taking a smaller measurement matrix containing only 1/16 of the total original frequency information. To match the matrix size of the artifact-free correct answer image, thus truncated k-space data is then zero-padded before performing an IFT to produce the visible ringing artifacts. This entire process of generating the degraded image happens prior to applying the CNN. The resulting degraded image (i.e., Gibbs input) acts as the starting point that is directly fed into the first convolutional layer of the CNN. See 4.1-4.3.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang such that an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image as taught by Zhao. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhao, pg. 4.3.3 pg 33721.
Claim 5: Modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Wang discloses that the CNN includes a trained model that has been trained, Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses undersampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts
Wang fails to explicitly discloses, wherein the CNN includes a trained model that has been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for an input image in which a ratio between the size of the measurement matrix and the reconstruction matrix size is a predetermined value.
However, Zhao in the context of Gibbs-ringing artifacts suppression using convolutional neural networks discloses: wherein the CNN includes a trained model that has been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for an input image in which a ratio between the size of the measurement matrix and the reconstruction matrix size is a predetermined value. (Specifically, Zhao teaches all artifact-degraded images used to train the model are produced by a 4-fold truncation in k-space, [4.1.1 NI dataset/pg. 33719], “All the degraded images are produced by 4-fold truncation in k-space so that the image degradation is relatively serious. Therefore, the network recovers the artifact-free image from only 1/16 of the total information.”, see also [pg 33713]. Because this data is 4-fold down sampled in both directions, this establishes a predetermined ratio where the network is trained to recover artifact-free image from only 1-16 of the total information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang such that it has been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for an input image in which a ratio between the size of the measurement matrix and the reconstruction matrix size is a predetermined value as taught by Zhao. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhao, pg. 4.3.3 pg 33721.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020), as applied to claim 1 and 10, in further view of Nielsen et al (US 2024/0074671 A1).
Claim 2: modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Wang fails to disclose: wherein the one or more processors are configured to repeat the function of correcting the ringing via the CNN and generating the composite k-space data at least twice.
However, Nielsen the context of Fourier-induced Gibbs ringing artifacts from MRI images discloses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to repeat the function of correcting the ringing via the CNN and generating the composite data at least twice. (¶0234, ‘The correcting unit may be further configured to iteratively improve the accuracy of the estimated local amplitudes and the quality of the ringing correction by re-estimating the local amplitudes of ringing artifacts and performing a ringing correction twice or multiple times.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more processors of modified Wang to be configured repeat the function of correcting the ringing via the CNN and generating the composite data at least twice as taught by Novikov. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the quality of the ringing correction, ¶0234 of Nielsen.
Claim 11: modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 10, Wang fails to disclose: wherein applying the CNN and generating the composite k-space data are repeated two or more times.
However, Nielsen the context of Fourier-induced Gibbs ringing artifacts from MRI images discloses, wherein applying the CNN and generating the composite k-space data are repeated two or more times. (¶0234, ‘The correcting unit may be further configured to iteratively improve the accuracy of the estimated local amplitudes and the quality of the ringing correction by re-estimating the local amplitudes of ringing artifacts and performing a ringing correction twice or multiple times.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more processors of modified Wang to be configured to ringing correction processing via the CNN and combining processing for generating composite data at least twice as taught by Novikov. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the quality of the ringing correction, ¶0234 of Nielsen.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197 ) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020) in view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6), as applied to claim 3, in further view of Lazarus et al (US 2020/0058106 A1).
Claim 4: Wang as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 3, Wang fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the trained model has been trained by increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region of the training image to be larger than a weight of an error in a region other than the measurement matrix region of the training image in a loss evaluation function during training.
However, Lazarus in the context of removing artifacts in MR data using CNN discloses, wherein the trained model has been trained by increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region of the training image to be larger than a weight of an error in a region other than the measurement matrix region of the training image in a loss evaluation function during training.
-L2 weighted loss between output and target data as one of the loss function that may be employed for training the CNN, ¶0041, ‘generating an MR image from input MR data at least in part by using a neural network model (e.g., a model comprising one or more convolutional layers) to suppress at least one artefact in the input MR data’; ¶[0125-0132, ‘In some embodiments, one or a linear combination of multiple loss functions may be employed to train the neural network models described herein: [0126] L2 loss between output and target data [0127] L1 loss between output and target data [0128] L2 weighted loss between output and target data. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (the farther from the center of k-space), the higher the weight. Using such weights causes the resulting model to keep the high spatial frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies [0129] L1 weighted regularization on the output. A sparse prior may be enforce on the output of the neural network by using the l.sub.1 norm, optionally after weighting. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (far from the center of k-space), the smaller the weight. This encourages sparsity. [0130] Generative Adversarial Nets loss [0131] Structured similarity index loss [0132] Any of the other loss functions described herein including in connection with FIGS. 1A-1E and 2A-2B.’
-The k-space coordinates used for applying these weights amounts to the measurement matrix region. K-space is the spatial frequency domain where the MR signals are acquired, which represent the raw measurements. Therefore, increasing the weight of errors in regions of higher spatial frequency (i.e., father from the center of k-space) during training, as it differentially weights errors based on their location within the measurement domain (k-space). This means errors in the outer, high frequency parts of k-space are given more important than errors in the inner, lower-frequency parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang to include the teachings of Lazarus for the advantage of providing and improved apparatus for causing the model to keep the high frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies, for capturing and preserving find anatomical details and sharp edges in the images, as suggested by Lazarus, ¶0100, ¶0123-0132.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020) in view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6), as applied to claim 5, in further of Zhang Q et al ( MRI Gibbs-ringing artifact reduction by means of machine learning using convolutional neural networks. Magn Reson Med. 2019 ( a copy of which was made of record on 10/04/2024).
Claim 6: Wang as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Wang fails to disclose: the following taught by Zhang in the context of MRI Gibbs ringing artifact reduction using convolutional neural networks, Zhang discloses, wherein the CNN includes a plurality of CNNs that have been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for input images having different matrix ratios, and
-Zhang teaches a GRA-CNN model was trained and validated using data with a single under sampling of 50%, pg. 2136- 2.2.3| Performance evaluation, left col ¶1.-“One was trained and validated using data with a single undersampling ratio of 50%.”. This means the high-frequency k-space data was truncated to a predetermined level, affecting the “measurement matrix size” relative to the full reconstruction size.
-In another model, the GRA-CNN-m, was trained an validated using mixed data with varying undersampling ratios from 30% to 50%, pg. 2136- 2.2.3| Performance evaluation, left col ¶1.-“The other was trained and validated using mixed data with varying undersampling ratios from 30% to 50%.”. While varying, these were specific predetermined ratios (30%, 40%, 50%) used in the training data, (i.e., not a continuous changing ratio) during a single training instance, FIG. 8, pg 2139 3.5 | Brain images with varying undersampling levels.
the one or more processors are configured to select at least one of the plurality of CNNs to perform the function of correcting the ringing.
-pg. 2136 2.2.2 | Implementation details, “All experiments were implemented using MATLAB (MATLAB 2014b, Mathworks) on a 64-bit Windows 8 workstation (Intel Xeon CPU and 128 GB RAM).” The Intel Xeon CPU is a type of processor.
-For the test cases involving varying undersampling levels (30%, 40%, 50%), the GRA-CNN-m model was applied, which demonstrates removing ringing consistently across these levels; however, single identical undersampling level was slightly higher in PSNR reduction, “the real undersampling level, i.e., the appearance of Gibbs artifact in MR images, may not be accurately obtained. To address this problem, we trained and validated a GRA-CNN-m model by using mixed data with multiple undersampling levels. This model could consistently remove ringing artifact in MR images under varying sampling levels from 30% to 50%. However, it resulted in a slight PSNR reduction compared with the model trained using the data of single identical undersampling level.”-pg.2142 | Discussion left col ¶2. This indicates a decision process, where depending on the undersampling level of the image, an appropriate, pre-trained CNN model is chosen for correction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNN of modified Wang such that it includes a plurality of CNNs that have been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for input images having different matrix ratios, and the one or more processors are configured to select at least one of the plurality of CNNs to perform the function of correcting the ringing as taught by Zhang. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhang [Discussion pg. 2140-2143.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020), as applied to claim 1, in further of Zhang Q et al ( MRI Gibbs-ringing artifact reduction by means of machine learning using convolutional neural networks. Magn Reson Med. 2019 ( a copy of which was made of record on 10/04/2024).
Claim 8: Wang as modified discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Wang fails to disclose: the following taught by Zhang in the context of MRI Gibbs ringing artifact reduction using convolutional neural networks, Zhang discloses, wherein the CNN includes a plurality of CNNs that have been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for input images having different sampling patterns, for each sampling pattern of the measurement data, and
-Zhang teaches a GRA-CNN model was trained and validated using data with a single under sampling of 50%, pg. 2136- 2.2.3| Performance evaluation, left col ¶1.-“One was trained and validated using data with a single undersampling ratio of 50%.”. This means the high-frequency k-space data was truncated to a predetermined level, affecting the “measurement matrix size” relative to the full reconstruction size.
-In another model, the GRA-CNN-m, was trained an validated using mixed data with varying undersampling ratios from 30% to 50%, pg. 2136- 2.2.3| Performance evaluation, left col ¶1.-“The other was trained and validated using mixed data with varying undersampling ratios from 30% to 50%.”. While varying, these were specific predetermined ratios (30%, 40%, 50%) used in the training data, (i.e., not a continuous changing ratio) during a single training instance, FIG. 8, pg 2139 3.5 | Brain images with varying undersampling levels.
the one or more processors are configured to select at least one CNN of the plurality of CNNs to perform the function of correcting the ringing.
-pg. 2136 2.2.2 | Implementation details, “All experiments were implemented using MATLAB (MATLAB 2014b, Mathworks) on a 64-bit Windows 8 workstation (Intel Xeon CPU and 128 GB RAM).” The Intel Xeon CPU is a type of processor.
-For the test cases involving varying undersampling levels (30%, 40%, 50%), the GRA-CNN-m model was applied, which demonstrates removing ringing consistently across these levels; however, single identical undersampling level was slightly higher in PSNR reduction, “the real undersampling level, i.e., the appearance of Gibbs artifact in MR images, may not be accurately obtained. To address this problem, we trained and validated a GRA-CNN-m model by using mixed data with multiple undersampling levels. This model could consistently remove ringing artifact in MR images under varying sampling levels from 30% to 50%. However, it resulted in a slight PSNR reduction compared with the model trained using the data of single identical undersampling level.”-pg.2142 | Discussion left col ¶2. This indicates a decision process, where depending on the undersampling level of the image, an appropriate, pre-trained CNN model is chosen for correction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNN of modified Wang such that it includes a plurality of CNNs that have been trained to obtain a ringing correction effect for input images having different sampling patterns, for each sampling pattern of the measurement data, and the one or more processors are configured to select at least one CNN of the plurality of CNNs to perform the function of correcting the ringing, as taught by Zhang. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhang [Discussion pg. 2140-2143.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197 ) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020), as applied to claim 10, in further view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6) in view of Lazarus et al (US 2020/0058106 A1).
Claim 12: modified Wang discloses all the elements above in claim 10, Wang discloses: further comprising: a step of training the CNN using, as training data, a correct answer image in which ringing has not occurred
-Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses undersampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose:
and an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
However, Zhao in the context of Gibbs-ringing artifacts suppression using convolutional neural networks discloses: and an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
-Zhao generates training data pairs by using artifact-free image (i.e., correct answer image) alongside simulated artifact-degraded image, FIG. 3 & [pg 33713], “To generate training examples, we follow the pipeline shown in Fig. 2 to simulate Gibbs-ringing artifacts (4-fold truncation in k-space), where Fig. 2a and d form a pair of training sample (y, x). It is worth noting that the artifact-degraded image x is generated by zero-padding the k-space to match the size of the artifact-free image y. However, the artifacts may appear in the images produced with or without zero-padding in real MRI scans. Zero-padding just makes the Gibbs-ringing artifacts more visible because the oscillation pattern of the artifacts is amplified by the zero-filling (i.e., sinc) interpolation [...]. In this work, we set the problem to the case of zero-padding [...] so that the artifacts in degraded images are more visible.” [4.1.1 NI dataset / pg 33719], “We follow the process shown in Fig. 2 to simulate the ringing artifacts for both natural and MR images. All the degraded images are produced by 4-fold truncation in k-space so that the image degradation is relatively serious. Therefore, the network recovers the artifact-free image from only 1/16 of the total information.”, [4.2 Training setting pg. 33719], “In our settings, the artifact-degraded image x is 4-fold truncated and zero-padded in k-space so that it has the same size as the output image . All training images are split into sub images of size 48 × 48 before feeding into the model. This is achieved by random extraction of paired artifact-degraded and artifact-free image patches. The data augmentation is realized by random horizontal flips and 90∘ rotations. The number of residual blocks and feature maps is set to 32 and 64 respectively, and kernel size is 3 × 3 for all conv layers. The proposed models are implemented and trained in TensorFlow 1.7.0, and the Adam optimizer [27] is used to minimize the loss function by setting β1 = 0.9, β2 = 0.999 and 𝜖 = 10− 8. Batch size is set to 16. We use piecewise constant decay for learning rate, i.e., it is initialized as 10− 4 for all layers and halved at every 2 × 105 iterations. All models are trained for one million iterations. The Xavier’s method [16] is used to initialize network parameters when the model is trained from scratch.”. The degraded image is created by simulating a 4-fold truncation in k-space, which corresponds to taking a smaller measurement matrix containing only 1/16 of the total original frequency information. To match the matrix size of the artifact-free correct answer image, thus truncated k-space data is then zero-padded before performing an IFT to produce the visible ringing artifacts. This entire process of generating the degraded image happens prior to applying the CNN. The resulting degraded image (i.e., Gibbs input) acts as the starting point that is directly fed into the first convolutional layer of the CNN. See 4.1-4.3.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang such that an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region of a training image is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image, as taught by Zhao. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhao, pg. 4.3.3 pg 33721.
Wang fails to disclose:
wherein, in the step of training the CNN, a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region is increased in a loss evaluation function during training.
However, Lazarus in the context of removing artifacts in MR data using CNN discloses, wherein, in the step of training the CNN, a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region is increased in a loss evaluation function during training.
-L2 weighted loss between output and target data as one of the loss function that may be employed for training the CNN, ¶0041, ‘generating an MR image from input MR data at least in part by using a neural network model (e.g., a model comprising one or more convolutional layers) to suppress at least one artefact in the input MR data’; ¶[0125-0132, ‘In some embodiments, one or a linear combination of multiple loss functions may be employed to train the neural network models described herein: [0126] L2 loss between output and target data [0127] L1 loss between output and target data [0128] L2 weighted loss between output and target data. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (the farther from the center of k-space), the higher the weight. Using such weights causes the resulting model to keep the high spatial frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies [0129] L1 weighted regularization on the output. A sparse prior may be enforce on the output of the neural network by using the l.sub.1 norm, optionally after weighting. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (far from the center of k-space), the smaller the weight. This encourages sparsity. [0130] Generative Adversarial Nets loss [0131] Structured similarity index loss [0132] Any of the other loss functions described herein including in connection with FIGS. 1A-1E and 2A-2B.’
-The k-space coordinates used for applying these weights amounts to the measurement matrix region. K-space is the spatial frequency domain where the MR signals are acquired, which represent the raw measurements. Therefore, increasing the weight of errors in regions of higher spatial frequency (i.e., father from the center of k-space) during training, as it differentially weights errors based on their location within the measurement domain (k-space). This means errors in the outer, high frequency parts of k-space are given more important than errors in the inner, lower-frequency parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNN of modified Wang to include the teachings of Lazarus for the advantage of providing and improved apparatus for causing the model to keep the high frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies, for capturing and preserving find anatomical details and sharp edges in the images, as suggested by Lazarus, ¶0100, ¶0123-0132.
Claims 9 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y. Wang et al, ("Reduction of Gibbs artifacts in magnetic resonance imaging based on Convolutional Neural Network," 2017 10th International Congress on Image and Signal Processing, BioMedical Engineering and Informatics (CISP-BMEI), Shanghai, China, 2017, pp. 1-5, doi: 10.1109/CISP-BMEI.2017.8302197 ) in view of Masutani et al (Deep Learning Single-Frame and Multiframe Super-Resolution for Cardiac MRI. Radiology. 2020) in view of Zhao et al (Gibbs-ringing artifact suppression with knowledge transfer from natural images to MR images. Multimed Tools Appl 79, 33711–33733 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11042-019-08143-6) in view of Lazarus et al (US 2020/0058106 A1).
Claim 9: Wang discloses: A magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (¶Abstract) comprising:
an imaging unit configured to collect, using a measurement matrix, measurement data comprising nuclear magnetic resonance signals; and one or more processors configured to process the measurement data collected by the imaging unit:
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3], Wang collects measurement data using an imaging unit (SIEMENS 3T Trio scanner) to gather k-space data in a T2-weighted gradient-echo GRE sequence, using the acquisition parameters of a matrix size 256 x 256 x 192. The processing hardware to execute the steps were implemented on the N VIDIA TITAN X GPU.
(i) generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3] - “ image of size 512 × 512 was used as ground-truth. 60 images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size. 90% of the images were used for training and the remaining 10% were used for testing. Each image was split to patches of the size of 70 × 70 and there were roughly 140, 000 patches in the training dataset.” – see also ¶Abstract & FIG. 3-4. Wang details how the input images (i.e., the correction target images containing artifacts) are created. Wang notes that “images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size.”. By taking truncated K-space data and padding it with zeros to reach the full matrix size before reconstruction, the system creates the image containing the ringing artifacts. The result of this process refers to as zero-filling reconstruction. Reconstructing an image from k-space requires applying a IFT.
(ii) applying a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), trained to output an image in which ringing of an input image is corrected, to the correction target image to generate a CNN output image;
-[pg. 2 Merge], Wang teaches this data merging technique by explaining that after the CNN processes the image, “After training, CNN can map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. To take the advantage of the sampled K-space data, the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data. Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.” & ¶Abstract, “images with Gibbs artifacts can be input into the trained network to get the Gibbs-free images.”. Note; the CNN of Wang is specifically trained to [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col] - “use[d] CNN to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. The network was trained to learn the nonlinear mapping between MRI images with and without Gibbs artifacts.”. Hence the Gibbs artifacts manifest as ringing around the sharp edges, this process as described directly describes applying a trained CNN to correct ringing in the input image and outputting a CNN output image, see also [pg. 1 Forward-passing training].
(iii) generating composite k-space data by performing a Fourier transform on the CNN output image to obtain k-space data of the CNN output image and replacing a part of the k-space data of the CNN output image with the measurement data in k-space; and
-Wang teaches that after the CNN process the image, [pg. 2 Merge] - “the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data” to take advantage of the sampled k-space data by creating a composite k-space matrix that merges the CNN generated corrections with the original measurement data.
(iv) generating a ringing-corrected image by performing an inverse Fourier transform on the composite k-space data,
-Wang teaches after the CNN output and original sampled data are merged in the frequency domain, an ¶Abstract, “inverse Fourier transform is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image”, [pg. 2 Merge], “Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.”, [pg. 5 / Conclusion], “This paper proposed a method to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. CNN was trained to map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. Afterwards, the CNN-output image was merged with original sampled data to obtain the final image. The experimental results show that the proposed method can effectively reduce Gibbs artifacts and preserve image details at the same time, and thus improve the image quality obviously.” Hence, this operation brings the composite data back into the image domain, resulting in an image where Gibbs artifacts are reduced while the image details are preserved.
wherein the CNN has been trained by using, as training data, a correct answer image in which ringing has not occurred
-Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses undersampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts.
Wang fails to disclose: zero-filling around a periphery such that generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
However, Masutani in the context of deep learning in MRI to enable both faster and higher sptail detail vis super-resolution discloses: generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], “We developed a strategy for generation and use of synthetic training data to mimic the super-resolution task. Training workflow comprised two steps: (a) cropping a central 128 × 128 area of the SAX image to standardize image presentation and serve as ground truth and (b) windowing a central region of k-space to generate synthetic training data (Fig 2).”; [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], “To mimic low-resolution small-matrix MRI acquisitions, we performed a process we refer to as Fourier downsampling. Each downsampling factor was simulated by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes. Outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 × 128. Images were transformed back to the image domain, and pixel values were scaled to 0 and 1. Each downsampling (and commensurate upsampling) factor was defined as the ratio of the k-space window area to the cropped 128 × 128 area.”; [FIG. 2 pg.555]- “Diagram shows strategy for generation of synthetic training data. Source image data were first cropped to standardize image presentation to the neural network and were windowed in Fourier space to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition. The cropped images were later used as ground truth for training, and the downsampled images were used as synthetic input images. Z-PAD = zero padding.” - Masutani simulates low-resolution MRI scans (i.e., the measurement data) by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes to mimic small matrix acquisitions. The resulting reconstruction image is a uncorrected, low-resolution synthetic input image that is fed into the CNN for correction and super-resolution, see FIG. 2 below) by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], [Introduction pg. 552], ‘It is largely believed that without prior knowledge, zero padding of outer k-space is the most reliable and effective method for image upscaling and therefore is widely used as the industry standard’; Matsutani discloses that after retaining the smaller central windows of k-space (i.e., the “measurement matrix size), the “outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 x 128”. This expands the smaller measurement matrix of the windowed data to a larger reconstruction matrix size (128 x 128), see FIG. 2 below) and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data; ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], after the outer k-space is zero-filled, the images were transformed back to the image domain. This is labeled as iFFT (i.e., inverse Fast Fourier Transform) on the zero-padded k-space data to reconstruct the input image.)
See FIG. 2 Below of Masutani:
See FIG. 5 below of the Applicant’s Drawings filed on 10/04/2024
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of generating of the corrected target image of Wang to incorporate the known teachings of Masutani for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition, as suggested by Masutani, [Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], FIG. 2.
Wang fails to disclose:
and an image obtained performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
However, Zhao in the context of Gibbs-ringing artifacts suppression using convolutional neural networks discloses: an image obtained performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
-Zhao generates training data pairs by using artifact-free image (i.e., correct answer image) alongside simulated artifact-degraded image, FIG. 3 & [pg 33713], “To generate training examples, we follow the pipeline shown in Fig. 2 to simulate Gibbs-ringing artifacts (4-fold truncation in k-space), where Fig. 2a and d form a pair of training sample (y, x). It is worth noting that the artifact-degraded image x is generated by zero-padding the k-space to match the size of the artifact-free image y. However, the artifacts may appear in the images produced with or without zero-padding in real MRI scans. Zero-padding just makes the Gibbs-ringing artifacts more visible because the oscillation pattern of the artifacts is amplified by the zero-filling (i.e., sinc) interpolation [...]. In this work, we set the problem to the case of zero-padding [...] so that the artifacts in degraded images are more visible.” [4.1.1 NI dataset / pg 33719], “We follow the process shown in Fig. 2 to simulate the ringing artifacts for both natural and MR images. All the degraded images are produced by 4-fold truncation in k-space so that the image degradation is relatively serious. Therefore, the network recovers the artifact-free image from only 1/16 of the total information.”, [4.2 Training setting pg. 33719], “In our settings, the artifact-degraded image x is 4-fold truncated and zero-padded in k-space so that it has the same size as the output image . All training images are split into sub images of size 48 × 48 before feeding into the model. This is achieved by random extraction of paired artifact-degraded and artifact-free image patches. The data augmentation is realized by random horizontal flips and 90∘ rotations. The number of residual blocks and feature maps is set to 32 and 64 respectively, and kernel size is 3 × 3 for all conv layers. The proposed models are implemented and trained in TensorFlow 1.7.0, and the Adam optimizer [27] is used to minimize the loss function by setting β1 = 0.9, β2 = 0.999 and 𝜖 = 10− 8. Batch size is set to 16. We use piecewise constant decay for learning rate, i.e., it is initialized as 10− 4 for all layers and halved at every 2 × 105 iterations. All models are trained for one million iterations. The Xavier’s method [16] is used to initialize network parameters when the model is trained from scratch.”. The degraded image is created by simulating a 4-fold truncation in k-space, which corresponds to taking a smaller measurement matrix containing only 1/16 of the total original frequency information. To match the matrix size of the artifact-free correct answer image, thus truncated k-space data is then zero-padded before performing an IFT to produce the visible ringing artifacts. This entire process of generating the degraded image happens prior to applying the CNN. The resulting degraded image (i.e., Gibbs input) acts as the starting point that is directly fed into the first convolutional layer of the CNN. See 4.1-4.3.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang such that an image obtained performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image, as taught by Zhao. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhao, pg. 4.3.3 pg 33721.
Wang fails to disclose:
and increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region that to be larger than a weight of an error in a region other than the measurement matrix region in a loss evaluation function during training.
However, Lazarus in the context of removing artifacts in MR data using CNN discloses, increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region that to be larger than a weight of an error in a region other than the measurement matrix region in a loss evaluation function during training.
-L2 weighted loss between output and target data as one of the loss function that may be employed for training the CNN, ¶0041, ‘generating an MR image from input MR data at least in part by using a neural network model (e.g., a model comprising one or more convolutional layers) to suppress at least one artefact in the input MR data’; ¶[0125-0132, ‘In some embodiments, one or a linear combination of multiple loss functions may be employed to train the neural network models described herein: [0126] L2 loss between output and target data [0127] L1 loss between output and target data [0128] L2 weighted loss between output and target data. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (the farther from the center of k-space), the higher the weight. Using such weights causes the resulting model to keep the high spatial frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies [0129] L1 weighted regularization on the output. A sparse prior may be enforce on the output of the neural network by using the l.sub.1 norm, optionally after weighting. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (far from the center of k-space), the smaller the weight. This encourages sparsity. [0130] Generative Adversarial Nets loss [0131] Structured similarity index loss [0132] Any of the other loss functions described herein including in connection with FIGS. 1A-1E and 2A-2B.’
-The k-space coordinates used for applying these weights amounts to the measurement matrix region. K-space is the spatial frequency domain where the MR signals are acquired, which represent the raw measurements. Therefore, increasing the weight of errors in regions of higher spatial frequency (i.e., father from the center of k-space) during training, as it differentially weights errors based on their location within the measurement domain (k-space). This means errors in the outer, high frequency parts of k-space are given more important than errors in the inner, lower-frequency parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNN of modified Wang to include the teachings of Lazarus for the advantage of providing and improved apparatus for causing the model to keep the high frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies, for capturing and preserving find anatomical details and sharp edges in the images, as suggested by Lazarus, ¶0100, ¶0123-0132.
Claim 13: Wang discloses: An image processing method (¶Abstract) of correcting ringing in measurement data comprising nuclear magnetic resonance signals collected by a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (¶Abstract), the image processing method comprising:
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3], Wang collects measurement data using an imaging unit (SIEMENS 3T Trio scanner) to gather k-space data in a T2-weighted gradient-echo GRE sequence, using the acquisition parameters of a matrix size 256 x 256 x 192. The processing hardware to execute the steps were implemented on the N VIDIA TITAN X GPU.
training a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) to generate an image in which ringing of an input image is corrected;
-[pg. 2 Merge], Wang teaches this data merging technique by explaining that after the CNN processes the image, “After training, CNN can map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. To take the advantage of the sampled K-space data, the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data. Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.” & ¶Abstract, “images with Gibbs artifacts can be input into the trained network to get the Gibbs-free images.”. Note; the CNN of Wang is specifically trained to [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col] - “use[d] CNN to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. The network was trained to learn the nonlinear mapping between MRI images with and without Gibbs artifacts.”. Hence the Gibbs artifacts manifest as ringing around the sharp edges, this process as described directly describes applying a trained CNN to correct ringing in the input image and outputting a CNN output image, see also [pg. 1 Forward-passing training].
generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
-[III. Experiments and Results A. Implementation details, pg. 2-3] - “ image of size 512 × 512 was used as ground-truth. 60 images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size. 90% of the images were used for training and the remaining 10% were used for testing. Each image was split to patches of the size of 70 × 70 and there were roughly 140, 000 patches in the training dataset.” – see also ¶Abstract & FIG. 3-4. Wang details how the input images (i.e., the correction target images containing artifacts) are created. Wang notes that “images with Gibbs artifacts were acquired by acquiring center K-space data (from 161 × 161 to 220 × 220 with step 1) with zero-filling to 512 × 512 matrix size.”. By taking truncated K-space data and padding it with zeros to reach the full matrix size before reconstruction, the system creates the image containing the ringing artifacts. The result of this process refers to as zero-filling reconstruction. Reconstructing an image from k-space requires applying a IFT.
applying the Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), trained to output an image in which ringing of the input image is corrected, to the correction target image to generate a CNN output image;
-[pg. 2 Merge], Wang teaches this data merging technique by explaining that after the CNN processes the image, “After training, CNN can map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. To take the advantage of the sampled K-space data, the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data. Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.” & ¶Abstract, “images with Gibbs artifacts can be input into the trained network to get the Gibbs-free images.”. Note; the CNN of Wang is specifically trained to [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col] - “use[d] CNN to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. The network was trained to learn the nonlinear mapping between MRI images with and without Gibbs artifacts.”. Hence the Gibbs artifacts manifest as ringing around the sharp edges, this process as described directly describes applying a trained CNN to correct ringing in the input image and outputting a CNN output image, see also [pg. 1 Forward-passing training].
generating composite k-space data by performing a Fourier transform on the CNN output image to obtain k-space data of the CNN output image and replacing a part of the k-space data of the CNN output image with the measurement data in k-space; and
-Wang teaches that after the CNN process the image, [pg. 2 Merge] - “the output image is Fourier transformed into K-space, and then all data that have been sampled are replaced with original sampled data” to take advantage of the sampled k-space data by creating a composite k-space matrix that merges the CNN generated corrections with the original measurement data.
a step of generating a ringing-corrected image by performing an inverse Fourier transform on the composite k-space data,
-Wang teaches after the CNN output and original sampled data are merged in the frequency domain, an ¶Abstract, “inverse Fourier transform is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image”, [pg. 2 Merge], “Finally, inverse Fourier Transformed is applied to the merged K-space to get the final image.”, [pg. 5 / Conclusion], “This paper proposed a method to reduce Gibbs artifacts in MRI images. CNN was trained to map images with Gibbs artifacts to images without Gibbs artifacts. Afterwards, the CNN-output image was merged with original sampled data to obtain the final image. The experimental results show that the proposed method can effectively reduce Gibbs artifacts and preserve image details at the same time, and thus improve the image quality obviously.” Hence, this operation brings the composite data back into the image domain, resulting in an image where Gibbs artifacts are reduced while the image details are preserved.
wherein, in the step of training the CNN, the CNN is trained by using, as training data, a correct answer image in which ringing has not occurred
-Wang discloses, ¶Abstract [Introduction / pg. 1 – right col], [II. Theory pg. 1-2] & [A. implementation details pg 2], that the CNN includes a trained model, the CNN is trained with a batch of image pairs with and without Gibbs artifacts. This is before the CNN is used on the real-world data, the network specifically, uses undersampled k-space data to learn the mapping relationships between these images with and without Gibbs artifacts. To create the training dataset, “ground truth”. This ground truth image is a fully sampled image that acts as the correct answer and does not contain Gibbs artifacts.
Wang fails to disclose: zero-filling around a periphery such that generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data;
However, Masutani in the context of deep learning in MRI to enable both faster and higher sptail detail vis super-resolution discloses: generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], “We developed a strategy for generation and use of synthetic training data to mimic the super-resolution task. Training workflow comprised two steps: (a) cropping a central 128 × 128 area of the SAX image to standardize image presentation and serve as ground truth and (b) windowing a central region of k-space to generate synthetic training data (Fig 2).”; [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], “To mimic low-resolution small-matrix MRI acquisitions, we performed a process we refer to as Fourier downsampling. Each downsampling factor was simulated by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes. Outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 × 128. Images were transformed back to the image domain, and pixel values were scaled to 0 and 1. Each downsampling (and commensurate upsampling) factor was defined as the ratio of the k-space window area to the cropped 128 × 128 area.”; [FIG. 2 pg.555]- “Diagram shows strategy for generation of synthetic training data. Source image data were first cropped to standardize image presentation to the neural network and were windowed in Fourier space to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition. The cropped images were later used as ground truth for training, and the downsampled images were used as synthetic input images. Z-PAD = zero padding.” - Masutani simulates low-resolution MRI scans (i.e., the measurement data) by retaining central windows of k-space of varying sizes to mimic small matrix acquisitions. The resulting reconstruction image is a uncorrected, low-resolution synthetic input image that is fed into the CNN for correction and super-resolution, see FIG. 2 below) by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], [Introduction pg. 552], ‘It is largely believed that without prior knowledge, zero padding of outer k-space is the most reliable and effective method for image upscaling and therefore is widely used as the industry standard’; Matsutani discloses that after retaining the smaller central windows of k-space (i.e., the “measurement matrix size), the “outer portions of k-space were zero filled to a matrix size of 128 x 128”. This expands the smaller measurement matrix of the windowed data to a larger reconstruction matrix size (128 x 128), see FIG. 2 below) and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data; ([Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], [Fourier Downsampling pg. 553], after the outer k-space is zero-filled, the images were transformed back to the image domain. This is labeled as iFFT (i.e., inverse Fast Fourier Transform) on the zero-padded k-space data to reconstruct the input image.)
See FIG. 2 Below of Masutani:
See FIG. 5 below of the Applicant’s Drawings filed on 10/04/2024
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of generating of the corrected target image of Wang to incorporate the known teachings of Masutani for the advantage of providing an improved system and method being able to mimic a fully sampled low-resolution acquisition, as suggested by Masutani, [Synthetic Training Data” pg. 553], FIG. 2.
Wang fails to disclose: and an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
However, Zhao in the context of Gibbs-ringing artifacts suppression using convolutional neural networks discloses: an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image,
-Zhao generates training data pairs by using artifact-free image (i.e., correct answer image) alongside simulated artifact-degraded image, FIG. 3 & [pg 33713], “To generate training examples, we follow the pipeline shown in Fig. 2 to simulate Gibbs-ringing artifacts (4-fold truncation in k-space), where Fig. 2a and d form a pair of training sample (y, x). It is worth noting that the artifact-degraded image x is generated by zero-padding the k-space to match the size of the artifact-free image y. However, the artifacts may appear in the images produced with or without zero-padding in real MRI scans. Zero-padding just makes the Gibbs-ringing artifacts more visible because the oscillation pattern of the artifacts is amplified by the zero-filling (i.e., sinc) interpolation [...]. In this work, we set the problem to the case of zero-padding [...] so that the artifacts in degraded images are more visible.” [4.1.1 NI dataset / pg 33719], “We follow the process shown in Fig. 2 to simulate the ringing artifacts for both natural and MR images. All the degraded images are produced by 4-fold truncation in k-space so that the image degradation is relatively serious. Therefore, the network recovers the artifact-free image from only 1/16 of the total information.”, [4.2 Training setting pg. 33719], “In our settings, the artifact-degraded image x is 4-fold truncated and zero-padded in k-space so that it has the same size as the output image . All training images are split into sub images of size 48 × 48 before feeding into the model. This is achieved by random extraction of paired artifact-degraded and artifact-free image patches. The data augmentation is realized by random horizontal flips and 90∘ rotations. The number of residual blocks and feature maps is set to 32 and 64 respectively, and kernel size is 3 × 3 for all conv layers. The proposed models are implemented and trained in TensorFlow 1.7.0, and the Adam optimizer [27] is used to minimize the loss function by setting β1 = 0.9, β2 = 0.999 and 𝜖 = 10− 8. Batch size is set to 16. We use piecewise constant decay for learning rate, i.e., it is initialized as 10− 4 for all layers and halved at every 2 × 105 iterations. All models are trained for one million iterations. The Xavier’s method [16] is used to initialize network parameters when the model is trained from scratch.”. The degraded image is created by simulating a 4-fold truncation in k-space, which corresponds to taking a smaller measurement matrix containing only 1/16 of the total original frequency information. To match the matrix size of the artifact-free correct answer image, thus truncated k-space data is then zero-padded before performing an IFT to produce the visible ringing artifacts. This entire process of generating the degraded image happens prior to applying the CNN. The resulting degraded image (i.e., Gibbs input) acts as the starting point that is directly fed into the first convolutional layer of the CNN. See 4.1-4.3.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trained model of modified Wang such that an image obtained by performing an inverse Fourier transform on k-space data in which a size of a measurement matrix region is smaller than a matrix size of the correct answer image, as taught by Zhao. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the model performance as suggested by Zhao, pg. 4.3.3 pg 33721.
Wang fails to disclose:
and increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region in a loss evaluation function during training.
However, Lazarus in the context of removing artifacts in MR data using CNN discloses, increasing a weight of an error in the measurement matrix region in a loss evaluation function during training.
-L2 weighted loss between output and target data as one of the loss function that may be employed for training the CNN, ¶0041, ‘generating an MR image from input MR data at least in part by using a neural network model (e.g., a model comprising one or more convolutional layers) to suppress at least one artefact in the input MR data’; ¶[0125-0132, ‘In some embodiments, one or a linear combination of multiple loss functions may be employed to train the neural network models described herein: [0126] L2 loss between output and target data [0127] L1 loss between output and target data [0128] L2 weighted loss between output and target data. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (the farther from the center of k-space), the higher the weight. Using such weights causes the resulting model to keep the high spatial frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies [0129] L1 weighted regularization on the output. A sparse prior may be enforce on the output of the neural network by using the l.sub.1 norm, optionally after weighting. The weights may be calculated based on the k-space coordinates. The higher the spatial frequency (far from the center of k-space), the smaller the weight. This encourages sparsity. [0130] Generative Adversarial Nets loss [0131] Structured similarity index loss [0132] Any of the other loss functions described herein including in connection with FIGS. 1A-1E and 2A-2B.’
-The k-space coordinates used for applying these weights amounts to the measurement matrix region. K-space is the spatial frequency domain where the MR signals are acquired, which represent the raw measurements. Therefore, increasing the weight of errors in regions of higher spatial frequency (i.e., father from the center of k-space) during training, as it differentially weights errors based on their location within the measurement domain (k-space). This means errors in the outer, high frequency parts of k-space are given more important than errors in the inner, lower-frequency parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CNN of modified Wang to include the teachings of Lazarus for the advantage of providing and improved apparatus for causing the model to keep the high frequencies which are noisier than the low frequencies, for capturing and preserving find anatomical details and sharp edges in the images, as suggested by Lazarus, ¶0100, ¶0123-0132.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamada et al (US 2014/0197835 A1) in the context of magnetic resonance artifacts causes by non-inform data density in k-space reduction teaches this principle, discloses, generate a ringing-corrected image by performing an inverse Fourier transform on the composite data. (¶0014, ‘a signal rearrangement step of rearranging the unit k-space data after correction in Cartesian coordinate system k-space; and a final imaging step of reconstructing an image by performing an inverse Fourier transform of data after rearrangement by the rearrangement unit’)
Luo J, Mou Z, Qin B, Li W, Yang F, Robini M, Zhu Y. Fast single image super-resolution using estimated low-frequency k-space data in MRI. Magn Reson Imaging. 2017 Jul. discloses, generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data.
Du YP, Parker DL, Davis WL, Cao G. Reduction of partial-volume artifacts with zero-filled interpolation in three-dimensional MR angiography. J Magn Reson Imaging. 1994 Sep-Oct;4(5):733-41. doi: 10.1002/jmri.1880040517. PMID: 798151 discloses, generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data.
Vikhoff-Baaz B, Starck G, Ljungberg M, Lagerstrand K, Forssell-Aronsson E, Ekholm S. Effects of k-space filtering and image interpolation on image fidelity in (1)H MRSI. Magn Reson Imaging. 2001 Nov;19(9):1227-34. doi: 10.1016/s0730-725x(01)00456-8. PMID: 11755733 discloses, generating, from the measurement data, a correction target image by zero-filling around a periphery of the measurement data in k-space to expand the measurement data in k-space to a reconstruction matrix size larger than a measurement matrix size of the measurement matrix, and performing an inverse Fourier transform on the zero-filled measurement data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798