DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeon et al. (US 2022/0139999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, an apparatus (Fig. 3), comprising: a first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3; [0045]) for emitting light of a first color (blue; [0045]); a second light-emitting device (LC_B; [0049]) for emitting light of a second color (green; [0049]), wherein sidewalls of the second light-emitting device (the sidewalls of the 145 and 147 of LC_B; [0050]) and a portion of a top surface of the second light-emitting device (a portion of the top surface of 142 of LC_B not covered by 145; [0050]) are covered by a dielectric material (151; [0061]); a first dielectric layer (159/161/281, “a” in the term “a first dielectric layer” means “one or more” as disclosed in [0194] of the specification of the current application; Fig. 3, [0060, 0055, 0064]) that separates the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3); a light-conversion structure (192; [0048]) that converts light emitted by at least one of the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A3) into light of a third color (red; [0048]) wherein the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3) is bonded to a first plurality of conductive pads (the upper portions of 242; [0063]) of a substrate (250), wherein the second light-emitting device (LC_B) is electrically connected to a second conductive pad (the upper portions of 242; [0063]) of the substrate (250) through a conductive via (285; [0064]), wherein the conductive via (285) is fabricated in the first dielectric layer (159/161/281; see Fig. 3, and an electrode layer (180; [0057]) fabricated on the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3), the dielectric material (151), and the second light-emitting device (LC_B), wherein the electrode layer (180) directly contacts a portion of the top surface of the second light-emitting device (a portion of the top surface of 142 of LC_B not covered by 145) that is not covered by the dielectric material (151; see Fig. 3).
[AltContent: textbox (a top surface of the second light-emitting device LC_B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 3 of Yeon et al. showing a top surface of the second light-emitting device LC_B as the top surface of 142 of LC_B not covered by 145.
Regarding claim 3, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the electrode layer (180) comprises a transparent electrode material ([0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the transparent electrode material comprises indium tin oxide (ITO; [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the electrode layer (180) provides ohmic contact for the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3) and the second light-emitting device (LC_B; Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the same material as claimed and should has the same property).
Regarding claim 8, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the electrode layer (180) directly contacts at least a portion of a top surface of each of the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3).
Regarding claim 9, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a second dielectric layer (192b; [0048]) fabricated on (above) the electrode layer (180), wherein the light-conversion structure (192) is fabricated in the second dielectric layer (192b).
Regarding claim 10, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the light-conversion structure (192) comprises a plurality of quantum dots. ([0048])
Regarding claim 13, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3) is bonded to substrate (250) through a first plurality of conductive bonding layers (285P; [0065]).
Regarding claim 14, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conductive via (285) is fabricated on the second conductive pad (the upper portions of 242) of substrate (250).
Regarding claim 15, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the conductive via (285) is bonded to the second conductive pad (the upper portions of 242) of substrate (250).
Regarding claim 16, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first plurality of light-emitting devices (LC_A1 and LC_A3) is further bonded to the substrate (250) through a first dielectric bonding layer (281; [0064]).
Regarding claim 17, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the second light-emitting device (LC_B) is bonded to the conductive via (285) through a second conductive bonding layer (285P; [0065]).
Regarding claim 18, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the second light-emitting device (LC_B) is further bonded to the conductive via (285) through a second dielectric bonding layer (281; [0064]).
Regarding claim 19, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first color (blue; [0045]) comprises blue light ([0045]), wherein the second color (green; [0049]) comprises green light ([0049]), and wherein the third color (red; [0048]) comprises red light ([0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeon et al. as applied to claims 9 and 19 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2024/0030210 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the second dielectric layer (192b) and the light-conversion structure (192).
Yeon et al. does not teach further comprising a plurality of micro-lenses fabricated on the second dielectric layer and the light-conversion structure.
In the same field of endeavor of LEDs, Jeong et al. teaches further comprising a plurality of micro-lenses (185; Fig. 3; [0074]) fabricated on the second dielectric layer (182; Fig. 3, [0069]) and the light-conversion structure (160R; Fig. 3, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Yeon et al. and Jeong et al., and to further include micro-lenses on the dielectric layer and the light-conversion structure as taught by Jeong et al., because micro-lenses can be used to collect light from the wavelength conversion portions as taught by Jeong et al. ([0074]).
Regarding claim 20, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, wherein the dielectric layer (192b) and the light-conversion structure (192).
Yeon et al. does not teach each of the first plurality of light-emitting devices and the second light-emitting device is a micro light-emitting device.
In the same field of endeavor of LED, Jeong et al. teaches each of the light-emitting devices (LC; [0043]) is a micro light-emitting devices ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Yeon et al. and Jeong et al., and to having each of the light-emitting devices being a micro light-emitting devices, because Yeon et al. is silent about the size of the light-emitting device, while Jeong et al. indicates a display apparatus including a micro-LED can have a compact size, and may be implemented as a high-luminance display apparatus having improved optical efficiency ([0002-0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song et al. (US 2025/0287763 A1) teach a display device having multiple LED laminates, each of which includes multiple light emitting units having different colors with short passages to choose one of the multiple light emitting units to emit light.
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 3/20/2026