DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on January 28, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 13 and 16-20 are withdrawn; claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are hereby examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 7, 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of the apparatus claims 1-15 in the reply filed January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 drawn to the unelected method claims have been withdrawn.
Claim 13 is drawn exclusively to unelected Species I and II and therefore has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species VIII pertaining to FIGS. 28-34 in the reply filed on January 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that:
This is not found persuasive because the applicant has not explained what constitutes the “overlapping subject matter” and how and/or why such “overlapping subject matter” “should lead to examination of all species.” The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The extensive text in FIGS. 20-27 must be removed and perhaps replaced with numerical identifiers supported by the specification.
FIGS. 31, 32 – shouldn’t the retractable extensible member 134 be labeled as “134’” as is the case in FIGS. 28 and 33. Note the lead screw is also labeled as 134 in FIGS. 31 and 32.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [00121] – Line 4 – shouldn’t “135b” be amended to “134b”
Paragraph [00116] – “gear reduction mechanism 300” is recited incorrectly and should be amended to “gear reduction mechanism 302”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 8 – shouldn’t “the motor drive shaft” be amended to “the drive shaft?”
Claim 3, line 2 – shouldn’t “a gear reduction mechanism” be amended to “the gear reduction mechanism” since “a gear reduction mechanism” is recited in claim 1?
Claim 6, line 2 – shouldn’t “a gear reduction mechanism” be amended to “the gear reduction mechanism” since “a gear reduction mechanism” is recited in claim 1?
Claim 11, line 2 – shouldn’t “the worm gear configured” be amended to “the worm gear is configured”
Claim 11, line 3 – shouldn’t “the worm gear configured” be amended to “the worm gear is configured”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0167545 to Oster et al. (hereinafter “Oster”) in view of US 7634951 to Frieb-Preis et at. (hereinafter “Frieb-Preis”).
Oster disclose a powered actuator for a closure of a vehicle, comprising:
an electric motor 14 configured to rotate a driven shaft (the worm 16 is attached to the driven shaft; see FIG. 1 below); and
an extensible member 20,26,28 configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure of the vehicle for opening or closing the closure. (see FIG. 1 below)
[AltContent: textbox (F1)]
Oster fails to disclose a gear reduction mechanism and brake mechanism.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with:
a gear reduction mechanism 15,16 configured to apply a force to the extensible member for causing the extensible member to extend and retract in response to rotation of the driven shaft; and
a brake mechanism 20’ coupled to the motor drive shaft to apply a braking force on the driven shaft. (see FIG. FIG. 2 below)
[AltContent: textbox (F2)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a brake mechanism and gear reduction mechanism below the Oster electric motor and driven shaft, as taught by Frieb-Preis, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the output speed of the motor while increasing output torque, allowing for greater control of output speed, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator. (claim 1)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the brake mechanism is indirectly coupled to the driven shaft. (Note the Frieb-Preis brake mechanism 20’ is indirectly coupled to the drive shaft 17’ via gears 15 and 16; see FIG. 2 above) (claim 2)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the brake mechanism is coupled to the driven shaft using a gear reduction mechanism 15,16. (see FIG. 2 above) (claim 3)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the gear reduction mechanism is selected from the group consisting of: a gear coupling 15,16, a toothed belt coupling, and a belt coupling. (see FIG. 2 above) (claim 4)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the gear reduction mechanism is configured to multiply a braking force of the brake mechanism applied to the driven shaft. (note the differing sizes of gears 15 and 16 above.) (claim 5)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the brake mechanism is coupled to the driven shaft using a gear reduction mechanism 15,16. (see FIG. 2 above) (claim 6)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the driven shaft is configured to extend along a driven shaft axis and the brake mechanism comprises a brake axis disposed parallel and adjacent to the driven shaft axis. (see the two figures above and note the combination of the two references disclose the recitation of claim 9.) (claim 9)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the driven shaft comprises a first gear 16, and the brake mechanism comprises a brake shaft 23 supporting a second gear 16, wherein the first gear is in meshed engagement with the second gear. (claim 10)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the driven shaft is configured to support a worm gear 16, the worm gear configured to rotate a worm wheel, the worm wheel configured to move the extensible member. (see FIG. 1 above) (claim 11)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the worm gear is positioned between the first gear and the electric motor. (see FIGS. 1 and 2 above) (claim 12)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the extensible member comprises linkage 28 coupled to a lead nut 26 moveable in response to rotation of a lead screw 20, the extensible member configured to move axially in response to rotation of the lead nut, and wherein the driven shaft is adapted to rotate the lead screw. (see Fig. 1 above) (claim 14)
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster in view of Frieb-Preis, as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of US 11428037 to Kummer.
Oster, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the brake mechanism comprises a magnetic brake.
Kummer teaches of a braking mechanism 82 having a magnetic brake. (hysteresis magnet 92,94; see columns 8 and 9 and FIGS. 4 and 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oster brake mechanism with the hysteresis magnet taught in Kummer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for braking without relying on friction or mechanical contact; thus resulting in a brake mechanism with a longer lifespan, smoother operation, and superior torque repeatability compared to traditional brakes. (claim 7)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the magnetic brake is a hysteresis brake having a stationary component 92 and a rotatable component 94. (claim 8)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster in view of Frieb-Preis in view of US 11428037 to Kummer.
Oster discloses a powered actuator for a closure of a vehicle comprising:
an electric motor 14 configured to rotate a driven shaft;
a worm 16 coupled to the driven shaft;
a gear 18 coupled to the worm;
an extensible member 20,26,28 coupled to the gear, the extensible member configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure of the vehicle for opening or closing the closure, wherein the extensible member is configured to extend and retract in response to rotation of the gear.
Oster fails to disclose a gear reduction mechanism and brake mechanism.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with:
a brake mechanism 20’ coupled to the driven shaft, the brake mechanism; and
a gear reduction mechanism 15,16 operatively coupling the driven shaft to the brake mechanism;
wherein the brake mechanism comprises a brake axis that is disposed parallel to an axis of the driven shaft. (see FIG. 2 above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a brake mechanism and gear reduction mechanism below the Oster electric motor and driven shaft, as taught by Frieb-Preis, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the output speed of the motor while increasing output torque, allowing for greater control of output speed, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator.
Oster, as applied above, fails to disclose the brake mechanism having a hysteresis magnet.
Kummer teaches of a braking mechanism 82 having a hysteresis magnet 92,94. (see columns 8 and 9 and FIGS. 4 and 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oster brake mechanism with the hysteresis magnet taught in Kummer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for braking without relying on friction or mechanical contact; thus resulting in a brake mechanism with a longer lifespan, smoother operation, and superior torque repeatability compared to traditional brakes. (claim 15)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634