DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on July 15, 2026.
The replacement figures filed June 2, 2026 have been approved.
The amendments to the specification filed June 2, 2026 have been approved.
Status of claims: claims 13 and 16-20 are withdrawn; claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are hereby examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 – the recitation of “wherein the first gear is in meshed engagement with the second gear” is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. More specifically, since element 168 constitutes the first gear and element 304 reads on the second gear, the specification fails to point out a meshed engagement between elements 168 and 304.
Claim 12 – since claim 11 recites “the first gear is a worm gear” and claim 12 depends off of claim 11, the specification fails to point out “wherein the worm gear is positioned between the first gear and the electric motor,” as recited. In other words, the worm gear cannot be positioned between itself and the electric motor.
Further, claims dependent upon a rejected claim are rejected for at least being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180080271 to Oster et al. (hereinafter “Oster”).
Oster discloses a powered actuator for a closure of a vehicle, comprising:
an electric motor 14 configured to rotate a motor shaft 28; (see FIG. 3);
an extensible member 22 configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure of the vehicle for opening or closing the closure;
a gear mechanism 30,32 configured to apply a force to the extensible member for causing the extensible member to extend and retract in response to the rotation of the motor shaft; and
a brake mechanism 20 coupled to the motor shaft to apply a braking force on the motor shaft. (claim 1)
Oster further discloses wherein the brake mechanism is indirectly couped to the motor shaft. (see FIG. 3; note the worm hear 30 between the brake mechanism and motor shaft 28) (claim 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of US 7634951 to Frieb-Preis et at. (hereinafter “Frieb-Preis”).
Oster discloses the brake mechanism is coupled to the motor shaft but fails to disclose wherein the brake mechanism is coupled to the motor shaft using a gear reduction mechanism.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with a brake mechanism 20’ is coupled to a shaft 4 using a gear reduction mechanism 15,16. (see FIG. FIG. 2 below)
[AltContent: textbox (F2)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the brake mechanism of Oster with the one taught by Frieb-Preis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for greater control of output speed, increased torque, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator. (claim 3)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the gear reduction mechanism is selected from the group consisting of: a gear coupling 15,16, a toothed belt coupling, and a belt coupling. (see FIG. 2 above) (claim 4)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the gear reduction mechanism is configured to multiply a braking force of the brake mechanism applied to the driven shaft. (note the differing sizes of gears 15 and 16 above.) (claim 5)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Frieb-Preis.
Oster discloses the brake mechanism is coupled to the motor shaft but fails to disclose wherein the brake mechanism is coupled to the motor shaft using a gear reduction mechanism.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with a brake mechanism 20’ is coupled to a shaft 4 using a gear reduction mechanism 15,16. (see FIG. FIG. 2 above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the brake mechanism of Oster with the one taught by Frieb-Preis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for greater control of output speed, increased torque, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator. (claim 6)
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster in view of Frieb-Preis, as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of US 11428037 to Kummer.
Oster, as applied above, fails to disclose wherein the brake mechanism comprises a magnetic brake.
Kummer teaches of a braking mechanism 82 having a magnetic brake. (hysteresis magnet 92,94; see columns 8 and 9 and FIGS. 4 and 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oster brake mechanism with the hysteresis magnet taught in Kummer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for braking without relying on friction or mechanical contact; thus resulting in a brake mechanism with a longer lifespan, smoother operation, and superior torque repeatability compared to traditional brakes. (claim 7)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the magnetic brake is a hysteresis brake having a stationary component 92 and a rotatable component 94. (claim 8)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Frieb-Preis.
Oster fails to disclose wherein the driven shaft is configured to extend along a driven shaft axis and the brake mechanism comprises a brake axis disposed parallel and adjacent to the driven shaft axis.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with a brake mechanism 20’ is coupled to a shaft 4 using a gear reduction mechanism 15,16. (see FIG. FIG. 2 above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the brake mechanism of Oster with the one taught by Frieb-Preis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for greater control of output speed, increased torque, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator.
Furthermore, by combining the teachings of Frieb-Preis with Oster, Oster, as applied above, discloses wherein the driven shaft is configured to extend along a driven shaft axis and the brake mechanism comprises a brake axis disposed parallel and adjacent to the driven shaft axis. (see FIG. 2 above of Frieb-Preis) (claim 9)
Claims 10-12 are, as best understood by the examiner, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Frieb-Preis.
Oster discloses wherein the gear mechanism comprises a first gear 30 but fails to disclose the brake mechanism comprises a brake shaft supporting a second gear, wherein the first gear is in meshed engagement with the second gear.
Frieb-Preis teaches of a gear mechanism comprising a first gear 15, and the brake mechanism comprises a brake shaft 23 supporting a second gear 16, wherein the first gear is in meshed engagement with the second gear.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the brake mechanism of Oster with the one taught by Frieb-Preis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for greater control of output speed, increased torque, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator. (claim 10)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the first gear a worm gear, the worm gear configured to rotate a worm wheel, the worm wheel configured to move the extensible member. (see FIG. 2 above and FIG. 3 of Oster) (claim 11)
Oster, as applied above, further discloses wherein the worm gear is positioned between the first gear and the electric motor. (Note: a portion of the worm gear is positioned between itself and the electric motor) (claim 12)
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0167545 to Oster et al. (hereinafter “Oster2”) in view of Oster.
Oster2 discloses a powered actuator for a closure of a vehicle, comprising:
an electric motor 14 configured to rotate a motor shaft; (see FIG. 1);
an extensible member 20,26,28 configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure of the vehicle for opening or closing the closure;
a gear mechanism 16,18 configured to apply a force to the extensible member for causing the extensible member to extend and retract in response to the rotation of the motor shaft.
Oster2 fails to disclose a brake mechanism.
Oster teaches a brake mechanism 20 coupled to the motor shaft to apply a braking force on the motor shaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oster2 with a brake mechanism, as taught by Oster, to further control the speed of the motor shaft as well as the speed of the closure of the vehicle. (claim 1)
Oster2, as applied above, further discloses wherein the extensible member comprises linkage 28 coupled to a lead nut 26 moveable in response to rotation of a lead screw 20, the extensible member configured to move axially in response to rotation of the lead nut, and wherein the motor shaft is adapted to rotate the lead screw. (see FIG. 1 of Oster2) (claim 14)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oster in view of Frieb-Preis in further view of Kummer.
Oster discloses a powered actuator for a closure of a vehicle comprising:
an electric motor 14 configured to rotate a motor shaft 28; (see FIG. 3)
a worm 30 coupled to the motor shaft;
a gear 32 coupled to the worm;
an extensible member 22 coupled to the gear, the extensible member configured to be coupled to one of a body or the closure of the vehicle for opening or closing the closure, wherein the extensible member is configured to extend and retract in response to rotation of the gear;
a brake mechanism 20 coupled to the motor shaft; and
Oster fails to disclose a gear reduction mechanism .
Frieb-Preis teaches of a similar device with:
a gear reduction mechanism 15,16 operatively coupling a shaft 4 to the brake mechanism 20’;
wherein the brake mechanism comprises a brake axis that is disposed parallel to an axis of shaft. (see FIG. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swap the brake mechanism of Oster with the brake mechanism taught by Freib-Preis, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the output speed of the motor while increasing output torque, allowing for greater control of output speed, saving of energy costs and reducing noise and vibration of the powered actuator.
Oster, as applied above, fails to disclose the brake mechanism having a hysteresis magnet.
Kummer teaches of a braking mechanism 82 having a hysteresis magnet 92,94. (see columns 8 and 9 and FIGS. 4 and 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Oster brake mechanism with the hysteresis magnet taught in Kummer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow for braking without relying on friction or mechanical contact; thus resulting in a brake mechanism with a longer lifespan, smoother operation, and superior torque repeatability compared to traditional brakes. (claim 15)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 15, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior rejection as been withdrawn and new grounds of rejection have been presented.
Conclusion
/MARCUS MENEZES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634