DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on October 5th, 2024
Claims 1-20 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okochi (US 2016/0082504 A1)..
As for independent claim 1:
Okochi discloses an injection molding machine comprising:
a display (0047);
a controller that displays a first image related to the injection molding machine on the display (0012, 0062, Okochi discloses a control unit displays first display image including info relating to molding conditions of the injection molding machine), the controller is configured to change a display position of the first image based on a change instruction that is input by a user (0029, 0125, Okochi discloses "when the first display image is displayed on the first display area and the second display image is displayed on the second display area, based on an instruction, display positions are exchanged with each other such that the first display image is displayed on the second display area”, see user operating and input in 0123 and 0125).
As for dependent claim 2:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display a display item of the first image in an image display area displaying the first image, and the controller is configured to change a display position of the display item in the image display area based on the change instruction (0062-0063, Okochi discloses each display image contains individual display items in an image display area, see selecting setting images injection process, a button for selecting the setting image of the mold clamping process, or the like is displayed, and the user can select the setting image).
As for dependent claim 3:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to display a new display item of the first image in the image display area based on an item add instruction that is input by the user (0095-0097, Okochi discloses customized display selection buttons (display items) and performing editing such as addition of display items to a screen along with automatically inserting a newly-selected image/item into the display area upon user section).
As for dependent claim 4:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 3, wherein the item add instruction includes a first instruction that designates an empty area not displaying the display item in the image display area displaying the first image, and a second instruction, the controller is configured to display, in response to input of the first instruction, an item list screen that displays at least one new display item of the first image including the empty area designated by the first instruction, the second instruction is an instruction that designates one of the at least one new display item displayed on the item list screen, and the controller is configured to display the new display item designated by the second instruction in the empty area designated by the first instruction (0063, 0096-0099, Okochi discloses selecting a display item to be imported froma menu list. Okochi discloses a button for selecting the setting image of the injection process, a button for selecting the setting image of the mold clamping process, or the like is displayed, and the user can select the setting image. Okochi discloses FIG. 5b the control device displays the sub-setting image on the second display area, and the main setting image, which has been displayed on the second display area as the second display image until the sub-setting image is displayed on the second display area, is automatically scrolled upward toward the first display area).
As for dependent claim 5:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 4, wherein the item list screen is a screen that displays at least one new display item of the first image including the empty area designated by the first instruction, and that does not display a new display item of a different first image (0062-0063, Okochi discloses selecting setting images).
As for dependent claim 6:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to delete the display item based on a delete instruction that is input by the user (0064, Okochi discloses editing customized display selection buttons, see editing such as addition or removal on the customized menu buttons)
As for dependent claim 7:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display, in a specific position on the display, a second image that is different from the first image and that is related to the injection molding machine, and is configured not to change a display position of the second image from the specific position regardless of input of the change instruction (0106-0111, Okochi discloses a lock function where a selected image is fixed to its display area and remains fixed until the lock is released, see scroll lock).
As for dependent claim 8:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 7, wherein the injection molding machine produces a molded article by performing a plurality of processes, and the second image is an image indicating a process of the plurality of processes that is being performed by the injection molding machine (0052, 0112-0116, Okochi discloses machine obtains a molded part via a a mold clamping process, mold clamping plasticization, injection, cooling and mold opening. Okochi discloses a control device including the name display function of the front and rear image information, with respect to an arbitrary image laid out at an arbitrary position in the display history, it is possible to recognize the image displayed before or after the image displayed at the present time, specifically, in the present embodiment, the setting image of the “plasticization” or the setting image of the “mold opening and closing”. Therefore, according to the present embodiment, even when memory of the user is unreliable, it is possible to easily scroll and redisplay images according to unreliable memory of the user).
As for dependent claim 9:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display a new first image on the display based on an image add instruction that is input by the user (0086, 0096-0101, Okochi discloses display a new image based on instruction input by the user).
As for dependent claim 10:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 9, wherein the image add instruction includes a third instruction that designates an empty area not displaying the first image in a screen displaying the first image, and a fourth instruction, the controller is configured to display, in response to input of the third instruction, an image list screen that displays at least one new first image, the fourth instruction is an instruction that designates one of the at least one new first image displayed on the image list screen, and the controller is configured to display the new first image designated by the fourth instruction in the empty area designated by the third instruction (0063, 0096-0101, Okochi discloses customized display selection buttons (display items) and performing editing such as addition of display items to a screen along with automatically inserting a newly-selected image/item into the display area upon user selection).
As for dependent claim 11:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 9, comprising: a first drive apparatus that drives a partial mechanism of the injection molding machine; and a second drive apparatus that drives a partial mechanism of the injection molding machine, wherein the first image is an image related to the mechanism driven by the first drive apparatus, and the new first image is an image related to the mechanism driven by the second drive apparatus (0047-0052, Okochi discloses mold clamping unit and plasticizing unit, injecting setting image).
As for dependent claim 12:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to delete the first image based on a delete instruction that is input by the user (0100, Okochi discloses user perform setting operation).
As for dependent claim 13:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, further comprising a memory that stores the display position of the first image in association with each of user IDs (identifications), wherein when the injection molding machine is logged in with a user ID, the controller is configured to display the first image at a display position of the first image corresponding to the user ID (0081-0083, Okochi discloses ID is assigned to each user in advance, a storage area of the control device is allocated to each ID, and the connection procedure and the layout of the operation screens are stored for each ID of the user and are summoned so as to be displayed.)
As for dependent claim 14:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein when the injection molding machine is logged in with a first user ID, the controller is configured to change the display position of the first image based on the change instruction, and when the injection molding machine is logged in with a second user ID, the controller is configured not to change the display position of the first image regardless of the change instruction (0064, 0081-0083, Okochi discloses that editing (layout change) is limited to users having an ID registered as authorized to edit, such that only an authorized ID may change the layout see 0064).
As for dependent claim 15:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein when the injection molding machine is logged in with a specific user ID, the controller is configured to change the display position of the first image to an initial position (0140 and 0071, Okochi discloses the display history may be initialized by a reset operation of the display history, and the connection procedure or the layout of the operation screen may be stored in the storage unit associated with the ID of the user may be read again).
As for dependent claim 16:
Okochi discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change the display position of the first image to an initial position based on a return instruction that is input by the user (0140, Okochi discloses the display history may be initialized by a reset operation of the display history).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi (US 2016/0082504 A1) in view of Hoshino (US 2004/0021643 A1).
As for dependent claim 17:
Okochi does not disclose the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display, in response to input of a designation of the first image and a designation of a display position of the first image by the user in a display area of the display, the designated first image at the designated display position. Hoshino discloses the injection molding machine of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display, in response to input of a designation of the first image and a designation of a display position of the first image by the user in a display area of the display, the designated first image at the designated display position in 0009-0010, 0077-0079. In the cited section, Hoshino discloses user touches the object, drags it to wherever they want in the display area and then release. Hoshino discloses a movable object such as an icon displayed on the screen can be moved to a predetermined position through a simple touch operation. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the injection molding machine of Okochi to incorporate drag and drop repositioning as taught by Hoshino, thus permits the user to operate the touch panel without anxiety because touching the icon will not cause the icon to be inadvertently shifted (Hoshino, 0091).
As for dependent claim 18:
Okochi–Hoshino discloses the injection molding machine of claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to accept the designation of the first image in response to continuation of selection of the first image by the user for a certain time period (0093, Hoshino discloses activating function in a certain regions).
As for dependent claim 19:
Okochi–Hoshino discloses the injection molding machine of claim 17, wherein when the controller accepts the designation of the first image, the controller is configured to display the first image in a specific display mode different from a display mode when the first image is not designated (0073-0074, Hoshino discloses that the touched/selected icon is changed in color or vibrated to indicate the designation, a display mode distinct from its undesignated appearance).
As for dependent claim 20:
Okochi–Hoshino discloses the injection molding machine of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to display the first image in a vibrating mode as the specific display mode (0073-0074, Hoshino discloses that the designated/touched icon is vibrated to indicate its selection).
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172