DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "first and second slots" in line 2. It is unclear whether “first and second slots” are referring to the first and second slots disclosed in claim 17 (from which claim 20 depends from), or if they are referring to new first and second slots. For the purpose of examining the claim, “first and second slots” in line 2 of claim 20 will be interpreted as “the first and second slots”.
Claim 20 recites “the tongue is lesser length than the length of inward side of anchor” in line 4. It is unclear whether “inward side of anchor” is referring to the inward side of the anchor disclosed in claim 15, or if a new inward side is being claimed. For the purpose of examining the claim, “the tongue is lesser length than the length of inward side of anchor” will be interpreted as “the length of the tongue is less than the length of the inward side of the anchor”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trischler et al. (U.S. Publication No.2017/0245997 A1; hereinafter “Trischler”).
Regarding claim 15, Trischler discloses an anchor (430) comprising an inward side with a tongue (see protrusion defined by track 434 in annotated Figure 41 below) adapted for connection to a groove (track defined by coupling mechanism 416 as shown in Figure 26) of a longitudinal side of an annular central section (410) of a modular spinal implant, wherein diameters of the anchor and the annular central section are consistent with each other (Figures 42-45).
Regarding claim 16, Trischler further discloses a) an outward side (440) comprising grippers (444) adapted to engage a surgical site; and b) curved edges extending between the inward side and the outward side of the anchor (see curved surfaces of elements 430 and 440 in Figure 41).
Regarding claim 17, Trischler further discloses first and second slots adapted to receive a surgical instrument (432) distinct from the modular spinal implant.
Regarding claim 18, Trischler further discloses an orifice extending through the anchor (channel 438 of element 430, and the channel extending through 440, as shown in Figure 47).
Regarding claim 19, Trischler further discloses wherein a first portion of the grippers encircles the orifice and a second portion of the grippers spans across the orifice (see annotated Figure 46 below).
Regarding claim 20, Trischler further discloses wherein: a) the first and second slots traverse an approximate length of each curved edge (see Figures 41-42); and b) the length of the tongue is less than the length of the inward side of the anchor (see annotated Figure 43 below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
Claims 1-7 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in independent claim 1. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest wherein the first end groove and the second end groove are mirror symmetrical to each other across a center plan perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the annular central section, as required by claim 1. Trischler fails to disclose these features.
Claims 8-14 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in independent claim 8. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest an annular central section comprising a first end groove extending inward and a second end groove, opposed from the first end groove extending inward such that the first end groove and the second end groove intersect a longitudinal axis of the annular central section, as required by claim 8. Trischler fails to disclose these features.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 15-20, the Applicant has not amended, nor has the Applicant submitted an argument or disagreements with these claims. Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against these claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them. For these reasons, claims 15-20 continue to stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trischler, as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christina Negrelli whose telephone number is 571-270-7389. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, between 8:00am to 4:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please contact the examiner’s supervisor, Eduardo Robert, at (571) 272-4719. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHRISTINA NEGRELLI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773