1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 10/7/2024.
2. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 8-9 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi et al (JP 2016126571) in view of Kurosawa (JP 2013186651).
Regarding claim 1, Doi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire a first medical document in which information on a disease recognized for a patient is described (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038]; e.g., extract disease name from medical record);
acquire a second medical document in which information on a treatment for the disease of the patient or information on course information on the disease of the patient is described (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and [0057]-[0058]; e.g., extract disease name from medical record); and
display, for each target disease including the disease described in the first medical document and the disease described in the second medical document, first information indicating that description about the target disease is present in the first medical document and second information indicating that description about the target disease is present in the second medical document (see paragraphs [0057]-[0058] and fig. 16; e.g., displays an examination stage of a current examination for a specific patient and an examination stage of the next examination, wherein the horizontal axis may represent examination date and the vertical axis may represent the type of lesion, each cell may display various types of information relating to an examination corresponding to the cell, and a mark with an embedded hyperlink to the electronic medical record or medical report for said examination may be displayed).
Doi does not expressly disclose displaying in an identifiable manner. However, discloses that an icon representing a medical report and an icon representing a report are configured to differ from each other (see paragraphs [0031]-[0033] and fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Kurosawa’s teachings in Doi’s user interface so as to configure the mark with the embedded hyperlink to the electronic medical record and the mark with the embedded hyperlink to the medical report to differ from each other.
Regarding claim 2, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: display the first information along with information indicating a point in time when the target disease is described in the first medical document; and display the second information along with information indicating a point in time when the target disease is described in the second medical document (see paragraphs [0057], [0058] and fig. 16; e.g., displays an examination stage of a current examination for a specific patient and an examination stage of the next examination, wherein the horizontal axis may represent examination date and the vertical axis may represent the type of lesion, each cell may display various types of information relating to an examination corresponding to the cell, and a mark with an embedded hyperlink to the electronic medical record or medical report for said examination may be displayed).
Regarding claim 3, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: generate a chart in which the target disease is taken on a first axis and a date is taken on a second axis intersecting the first axis; and display the first information and the second information on the chart (see paragraphs [0057], [0058] and fig. 16; e.g., displays an examination stage of a current examination for a specific patient and an examination stage of the next examination, wherein the horizontal axis may represent examination date and the vertical axis may represent the type of lesion, each cell may display various types of information relating to an examination corresponding to the cell, and a mark with an embedded hyperlink to the electronic medical record or medical report for said examination may be displayed).
Regarding claim 4, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: extract a description part including names or types of the diseases described in the first medical document and the second medical document, and specify the diseases described in the first medical document and the second medical document based on the extracted description part (see paragraphs [0057], [0058] and fig. 16; e.g., displays an examination stage of a current examination for a specific patient and an examination stage of the next examination, wherein the horizontal axis may represent examination date and the vertical axis may represent the type of lesion, each cell may display various types of information relating to an examination corresponding to the cell, and a mark with an embedded hyperlink to the electronic medical record or medical report for said examination may be displayed).
Regarding claim 5, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: display information in a case in which the disease is positive and information in a case in which the disease is suspected, in the second information, in an identifiable manner (see paragraph [0039]; e.g., indicates that, when extracting a character string representing the lesion name, specifying keywords such as "there are suspicions" corresponding to the extraction target are specified, also extracting information about whether a lesion is suspected, and displaying said information would be merely the exercise of the ordinary creative ability of a person skilled in the art).
Regarding claim 6, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: display the target diseases in an arranged manner in an order in accordance with the presence or absence of the second information on the target disease (well-known teachings in the art).
Regarding claim 7, Doi discloses wherein the processor is configured to: display the target diseases in an arranged manner in an order in accordance with an importance degree of the target disease (well-known teachings in the art).
Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barker (US 2018/0121625).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174