DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1-14 overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2012/0166226 A1).
Claim 1, Lee teaches:
An information processing apparatus (Lee, Fig. 4) comprising:
at least one processor (Lee, Paragraph [0033]),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
acquire a first medical document in which information on a disease recognized for a patient is described, the first medical document being an interpretation report or an examination report created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes data representing disease states with or without complications, diagnosis code facts for description, and chronic disease states (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]). The data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients, and the data includes medical or doctor charts and healthcare provider notes and comments, which are examples of interpretation reports or examination reports created for the patient.);
acquire a second medical document in which information on a treatment for a disease of the patient or course information on the disease of the patient is described, the second medical document being an electronic medical record created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes records of treatments and records of procedures, for example, the data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients. The documents include records of medications, treatments, procedures, and tests, which are examples of electronic medical records for the patient.);
text searchable documents (Lee, Paragraph [0047]); and
issue, based on the documents, in a case in which an untreated disease, an alarm indicating that the untreated disease is present (Lee, Paragraph [0051], An example alert leads the healthcare provider to a diagnosis previously unrealized. Additionally, a doctor may treat the patient for issues that the patient was not aware of (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]).), wherein the alarm includes information indicating the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraph [0053], In the cited example, a doctor is alerted to a gap in treatment to a previously diagnosed diabetes in a patient.).
Lee does not explicitly teach:
Analyze text described in the first medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the first medical document;
analyze text described in the second medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the second medical document;
generate a list indicating, for each target disease among the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the first medical document and the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the second medical document, whether the target disease is described in the first medical document and whether the target disease is described in the second medical document; and
an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present.
As per the limitation of analyze text and generate a list, the Lee reference discloses an example with a patient with diabetes visiting a doctor, wherein the doctor discovers that the patient has not come in for scheduled appointments, or has not filled prescriptions for insulin, etc. (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diabetes diagnosis to at least be present in a first document, e.g. medical chart, because the patient was previously set for scheduled appointments and prescriptions. Additionally, because the patient had not come in for scheduled appointments and/or had not filled prescriptions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diagnosed diabetes to be on a second document, e.g. missed appointments and/or prescriptions not filled. Therefore, both documents would include a “list” of at least diabetes. Finally, because the documents are text searchable (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]) and the program is capable of automatically generating alerts, e.g. for diabetes (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the present technology in Lee to be capable of analyzing the text searchable documents in order to generate said alerts.
As per the limitation of an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present, Lee discloses that the system determines deficiencies, treatment failure, actionable items, risk measures, medication gaps, medication conflicts, etc. that may be described as gaps in treatment (see Lee, Paragraph [0048]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a particular disease entered into the health management system (“HMS”) (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]), i.e. in a first medical document, to not have a corresponding treatment or procedure (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]), i.e. on a second medical document, if a gap in treatment exists, e.g. a treatment failure. Therefore, a report or an alert regarding the gap in treatment would be functionally equivalent to an alarm for an untreated disease.
Claim 2, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to present the information indicating the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraph [0048], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a gap in treatment, e.g. a treatment failure, to be capable of indicating a patient having a diagnosed disease followed by a treatment failure, e.g. the disease is untreated. The documents entered into the HMS is text searchable (see Lee, Paragraphs [0047] and [0115]).).
Claim 3, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to present information required to access the first medical document in which the untreated disease is described (Lee, Paragraphs [0081-0082], In order to access the HMS web site, a user, e.g. the patient or the healthcare provider, is informed to enter their respective login and password for authentication.).
Claim 4, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine whether to issue the alarm based on an importance degree value corresponding to an importance degree set for the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], The type of alert generated, e.g. an alert that leads the healthcare provider to a diagnosis previously unrealized, is based on the type of gap in treatment. One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would recognize that each gap in treatment has a level of importance for causing the system to generate an alert, i.e. an importance degree.).
Claim 5, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the importance degree value is set based on a type of an organ related to the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0037] and [0048-0051], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the system to be capable of determining a plurality of undiagnosed diseases corresponding to respective organs. Thus, each alert based on a gap in treatment may be based on a different organ, e.g. a heart or a lung.).
Claim 6, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to specify a progression degree or an urgency degree of the untreated disease from the first medical document (Lee, Paragraph [0054], The different reports entered into the HMs includes progress summaries and/or linear progression of conditions related to the patient.), and set the importance degree value based on the specified progression degree or the specified urgency degree of the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the progress summaries and/or the linear progression of conditions related to the patient to indicate whether the patient has experienced a gap in treatment, e.g. if a particular condition remains unchanged or gets worse. Thus, the generated alert related to the gap in treatment would represent the importance degree of the related disease.).
Claim 7, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the importance degree value based on a relationship between an organ related to a treatment target disease, which is a disease specified from the second medical document, and an organ related to the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the untreated disease to be for the same or different organ as other treated diseases. Thus, the generated alert would be indicative of a different relevance if the treated and untreated diseases were for the same organ or if the treated and untreated diseases were for different organs.).
Claim 8, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the importance degree value to a lower value in a case in which the organ related to the treatment target disease and the organ related to the untreated disease are the same organ than in a case in which these organs are different organs (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the untreated disease to be for the same or different organ as other treated diseases. Thus, the generated alert would be indicative of a different relevance if the treated and untreated diseases were for the same organ or if the treated and untreated diseases were for different organs. As per the limitation of the importance degree configured to be lower if the organs are the same as each other, claim 8 in view of claims 7 and 4, only require the alarm to be based on the importance degree value, but does not define how the change in importance degree value affects the alarm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the alert to be generated for an untreated disease if the respective organs are the same or different, i.e. if the important degree value is lower or higher, respectively.).
Claim 9, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to issue the alarm based on a comparison result between a first importance degree value set for the untreated disease and a second importance degree value set for a treatment target disease which is a disease specified from the second medical document (Lee, Paragraph [0115], In the listed example, a healthcare professional is able to compare a blood test with a previous blood test for the same patient by utilizing the system’s ability to perform text searching of patient records. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as the time of filing, for the system to be capable of comparing a current treated disease, i.e. a treatment target disease, with a previously diagnosed disease by utilizing said text search. Thus, the respective importance degrees could be the same if the diseases were the same, or they could be different if the diseases were different.).
Claim 10, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the first importance degree value based on a progression degree or an urgency degree of the untreated disease and the second importance degree value based on a progression degree or an urgency degree of the treatment target disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], In the example wherein the diagnosed disease of the first medical document and the treated disease of the second medical document are the same disease, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the first and second importance degrees to be set as the same and wherein the importance degrees are based on a respective progress or urgency of the treatment of the disease.).
Claim 11, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the second importance degree value based on the number of the treatment target diseases or a treatment period of the treatment target disease (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], For each disease being treated, the number of the treatment target disease is one.).
Claim 12, Lee further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set a first importance degree set for the untreated disease in a case in which a specific disease is the untreated disease and a second importance degree value set for the treatment target disease in a case in which the specific disease is the treatment target disease, to be different from each other (Lee, Paragraphs [0048-0051], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the important of each disease, i.e. the untreated disease in the first document and the treated disease in the second document, to be assigned different “importance degrees” based on the diseases being different. It is noted that claim 12 in view of claim 9 does not define the functional language with respect to the differences in importance degrees, i.e. claim 9 defines an alarm based on a comparison between the first importance degree and the second importance degree, but claim 12 in view of claim 9 does not define how the difference between the first and second importance degrees affect issued alarm in claim 9.).
Claim 13, Lee teaches:
An information processing method (Lee, Fig. 4) comprising:
via at least one processor (Lee, Paragraph [0033]) provided in an information processing apparatus (Lee, Fig. 4),
acquiring a first medical document in which information on a disease recognized for a patient is described, the first medical document being an interpretation report or an examination report created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes data representing disease states with or without complications, diagnosis code facts for description, and chronic disease states (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]). The data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients, and the data includes medical or doctor charts and healthcare provider notes and comments, which are examples of interpretation reports or examination reports created for the patient.);
acquiring a second medical document in which information on a treatment for a disease of the patient or course information on the disease of the patient is described, the second medical document being an electronic medical record created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes records of treatments and records of procedures, for example, the data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients. The documents include records of medications, treatments, procedures, and tests, which are examples of electronic medical records for the patient.);
text searchable documents (Lee, Paragraph [0047]); and
issuing, based on the documents, in a case in which an untreated disease, an alarm indicating that the untreated disease is present (Lee, Paragraph [0051], An example alert leads the healthcare provider to a diagnosis previously unrealized. Additionally, a doctor may treat the patient for issues that the patient was not aware of (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]).), wherein the alarm includes information indicating the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraph [0053], In the cited example, a doctor is alerted to a gap in treatment to a previously diagnosed diabetes in a patient.).
Lee does not explicitly teach:
Analyzing text described in the first medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the first medical document;
analyzing text described in the second medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the second medical document;
generating a list indicating, for each target disease among the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the first medical document and the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the second medical document, whether the target disease is described in the first medical document and whether the target disease is described in the second medical document; and
an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present.
As per the limitation of analyze text and generate a list, the Lee reference discloses an example with a patient with diabetes visiting a doctor, wherein the doctor discovers that the patient has not come in for scheduled appointments, or has not filled prescriptions for insulin, etc. (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diabetes diagnosis to at least be present in a first document, e.g. medical chart, because the patient was previously set for scheduled appointments and prescriptions. Additionally, because the patient had not come in for scheduled appointments and/or had not filled prescriptions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diagnosed diabetes to be on a second document, e.g. missed appointments and/or prescriptions not filled. Therefore, both documents would include a “list” of at least diabetes. Finally, because the documents are text searchable (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]) and the program is capable of automatically generating alerts, e.g. for diabetes (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the present technology in Lee to be capable of analyzing the text searchable documents in order to generate said alerts.
As per the limitation of an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present, Lee discloses that the system determines deficiencies, treatment failure, actionable items, risk measures, medication gaps, medication conflicts, etc. that may be described as gaps in treatment (see Lee, Paragraph [0048]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a particular disease entered into the health management system (“HMS”) (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]), i.e. in a first medical document, to not have a corresponding treatment or procedure (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]), i.e. on a second medical document, if a gap in treatment exists, e.g. a treatment failure. Therefore, a report or an alert regarding the gap in treatment would be functionally equivalent to an alarm for an untreated disease.
Claim 14, Lee teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an information processing program executable by at least one processor provided in an information processing apparatus to perform (Lee, Paragraph [0033]) a process (Lee, Fig. 4) comprising:
acquiring a first medical document in which information on a disease recognized for a patient is described, the first medical document being an interpretation report or an examination report created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes data representing disease states with or without complications, diagnosis code facts for description, and chronic disease states (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]). The data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients, and the data includes medical or doctor charts and healthcare provider notes and comments, which are examples of interpretation reports or examination reports created for the patient.);
acquiring a second medical document in which information on a treatment for a disease of the patient or course information on the disease of the patient is described the second medical document being an electronic medical record created for the patient (Lee, Paragraph [0047], The plurality of data for a patient includes records of treatments and records of procedures, for example, the data may be gathered from documents, records, and/or directly from patients. The documents include records of medications, treatments, procedures, and tests, which are examples of electronic medical records for the patient.);
text searchable documents (Lee, Paragraph [0047]); and
issuing, based on the documents, in a case in which an untreated disease, an alarm indicating that the untreated disease is present (Lee, Paragraph [0051], An example alert leads the healthcare provider to a diagnosis previously unrealized. Additionally, a doctor may treat the patient for issues that the patient was not aware of (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]).), wherein the alarm includes information indicating the untreated disease (Lee, Paragraph [0053], In the cited example, a doctor is alerted to a gap in treatment to a previously diagnosed diabetes in a patient.).
Lee does not explicitly teach:
Analyzing text described in the first medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the first medical document;
analyzing text described in the second medical document to specify one or more disease names or disease types described in the second medical document;
generating a list indicating, for each target disease among the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the first medical document and the one or more disease names or disease types specified from the second medical document, whether the target disease is described in the first medical document and whether the target disease is described in the second medical document; and
an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present.
As per the limitation of analyze text and generate a list, the Lee reference discloses an example with a patient with diabetes visiting a doctor, wherein the doctor discovers that the patient has not come in for scheduled appointments, or has not filled prescriptions for insulin, etc. (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diabetes diagnosis to at least be present in a first document, e.g. medical chart, because the patient was previously set for scheduled appointments and prescriptions. Additionally, because the patient had not come in for scheduled appointments and/or had not filled prescriptions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the diagnosed diabetes to be on a second document, e.g. missed appointments and/or prescriptions not filled. Therefore, both documents would include a “list” of at least diabetes. Finally, because the documents are text searchable (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]) and the program is capable of automatically generating alerts, e.g. for diabetes (see Lee, Paragraph [0053]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the present technology in Lee to be capable of analyzing the text searchable documents in order to generate said alerts.
As per the limitation of an untreated disease, which is a disease specified from the first medical document and not specified from the second medical document, is present, Lee discloses that the system determines deficiencies, treatment failure, actionable items, risk measures, medication gaps, medication conflicts, etc. that may be described as gaps in treatment (see Lee, Paragraph [0048]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for a particular disease entered into the health management system (“HMS”) (see Lee, Paragraph [0037]), i.e. in a first medical document, to not have a corresponding treatment or procedure (see Lee, Paragraph [0047]), i.e. on a second medical document, if a gap in treatment exists, e.g. a treatment failure. Therefore, a report or an alert regarding the gap in treatment would be functionally equivalent to an alarm for an untreated disease.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument on Page 12 that the Lee reference fails to teach Applicant’s claimed document-comparison process, as amended, the Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons set forth in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686