DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an engagement structure” and “a retractor” in claims 1, 19 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the attachment position" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 is rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US Pub No. 2022/0334534 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamamoto discloses
a sheet tray (17) insertable into and removable from a body of an apparatus (15), the sheet tray having an engagement structure (179) that protrudes in a protruding direction (i.e. Y in Fig. 2) that intersects with an insertion direction (i.e. X in Fig. 2) of the sheet tray with respect to the body of the apparatus, is movable in an intersecting direction (i.e. has at least a component of movement in the Z direction in Fig. 2, Fig. 3) that intersects with both the insertion direction of the sheet tray and the protruding direction of the engagement structure, and is held by the sheet tray in a non-fixed manner (i.e. via 178 that rotates about 1781, [0263]);
a guide (2114) extending in the insertion direction (i.e. has at least a component of direction in the X direction) of the sheet tray to guide the engagement structure when the sheet tray is inserted into the body of the apparatus; and
a retractor (20, see [0067]) to retract the engagement structure in an engaged state in the insertion direction of the sheet tray toward a specified position in the guide (i.e. at the right end of 2215, Fig. 4),
wherein the protruding direction (Y) of the engagement structure intersects with the insertion direction (X) of the sheet tray with respect to the body of the apparatus and protrudes in a width direction of the sheet tray (Y in Fig. 2, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claims 20 and 22, Yamamoto discloses
An image forming apparatus (100) comprising the sheet feeding device according to claim 19/21.
Regarding Claim 21, Yamamoto discloses
a sheet tray (17) insertable into and removable from a body of an apparatus (15), the sheet tray having an engagement structure (179) that protrudes in a protruding direction (i.e. Y in Fig. 2) that intersects with an insertion direction (i.e. X in Fig. 2) of the sheet tray with respect to the body of the apparatus, is movable in an intersecting direction (i.e. has at least a component of movement in the Z direction in Fig. 2, Fig. 3) that intersects with both the insertion direction of the sheet tray and the protruding direction of the engagement structure, and is held by the sheet tray in a non-fixed manner (i.e. via 178 that rotates about 1781, [0263]);
a guide (2114) extending in the insertion direction (i.e. has at least a component of direction in the X direction) of the sheet tray to guide the engagement structure when the sheet tray is inserted into the body of the apparatus; and
a retractor (20, see [0067]) to retract the engagement structure in an engaged state in the insertion direction of the sheet tray toward a specified position in the guide (i.e. at the right end of 2215, Fig. 4),
wherein the engagement structure is held movable (i.e. has at least a component of movement in the Z direction in Fig. 2, Fig. 3) and in a non-fixed manner (i.e. via 178 that rotates about 1781, [0263]) with respect to the attachment position (1781) of the engagement structure of the sheet tray in a direction (i.e. has at least a component of movement in the Z direction in Fig. 2, Fig. 3) that intersects with the insertion direction (X) of the sheet tray and the protruding direction (Y) of the engagement structure. Also see the 112 2nd rejection above.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwase et al. (US Pub No. 2006/0180996 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Iwase et al. discloses
a sheet tray (6) insertable into and removable from a body (1) of an apparatus ([0028]), the sheet tray having an engagement structure (13) that protrudes in a protruding direction (i.e. vertical, Fig. 4) that intersects with an insertion direction (i.e. along 15, Fig. 3) of the sheet tray with respect to the body of the apparatus, is movable in an intersecting direction (i.e. parallel to ‘6’ in Fig. 9, due to its rotation, there is at least a component of movement in this direction) that intersects with both the insertion direction of the sheet tray and the protruding direction of the engagement structure, and is held by the sheet tray in a non-fixed manner (i.e. able to rotate);
a guide (23/24) extending in the insertion direction (i.e. linearly at least along 24a in Fig. 8) of the sheet tray to guide the engagement structure when the sheet tray is inserted into the body of the apparatus; and
a retractor (16) to retract the engagement structure in an engaged state in the insertion direction of the sheet tray toward a specified position (Fig. 8) in the guide ([0043]-[0045], Fig. 5-6, 8),
wherein the engagement structure is held movable (i.e. parallel to ‘6’ in Fig. 9, due to its rotation, there is at least a component of movement in this direction) and in a non-fixed manner (i.e. able to rotate) with respect to the attachment position (i.e. at 17 in Fig. 9) of the engagement structure of the sheet tray in a direction (i.e. parallel to ‘6’ in Fig. 9, due to its rotation, there is at least a component of movement in this direction) that intersects with the insertion direction (i.e. along 15, Fig. 3) of the sheet tray and the protruding direction (i.e. vertical, Fig. 4) of the engagement structure. Also see the 112 2nd rejection above.
Regarding Claim 22, Iwase et al. discloses
An image forming apparatus (i.e. image forming apparatus, [0029]) comprising the sheet feeding device according to claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-15, 17 and 18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art of record shows a sheet tray to have a hole into which an insertion portion of an engagement pin/structure is inserted (Claims 1, 3-15, 17 and 18). Also see the 112(f) interpretation above.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “The term “retractor” is a structural term and does not use a nonce word”, it is noted that “retractor” remains a nonce word and no structure is recited. “Retraction” is merely a manner/direction of movement and does not impart any structure (i.e. an arm, spring, etc).
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding new Claim 19, Iwase et al. is not relied upon, rather Yamamoto is.
In response to Applicant’s argument regarding new Claim 21, “the pin of Figure 4 is fixed to the mounting position of the pin retaining arm 14 so that the pin 13 does not move”, it is noted that the claim does not preclude this. An attachment position is not defined and it is not specified what the pin/structure must move in relation to. Therefore, the attachment position of Iwase et al. maybe be taken as that of arm 14 to 6.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 March 9, 2026