CTNF 18/907,680 CTNF 77760 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura (# US 2020/0048485) . Kawamura discloses: An aqueous ink (see Abstract; [0068]) comprising: Water ([0068]); a coloring agent ([0014]-[0033]); and a fixing agent (binder; [0034]-[0036]), wherein the fixing agent comprises a polylactic acid ([0036]). 2. The aqueous ink according to claim 1, wherein the water is a main solvent ([0068]). 3. The aqueous ink according to claim 1, wherein the coloring agent comprises a pigment ([0014]-[0033]). 4. The aqueous ink according to claim 3, wherein the fixing agent is capable of fixing the pigment to a recording medium ([0034]-[0037]). 5. The aqueous ink according to claim 1, wherein an amount of the polylactic acid in the aqueous ink is 3 mass % or more and 10 mass % or less with respect to an amount of the aqueous ink (5 to 25%; [0058]). 6. The aqueous ink according to claim 3, wherein a mass ratio (A/B) of a content (A) of the pigment (2 to 20%; [0033]) to a content (B) of the polylactic acid (5 to 25%; [0058]) is 0.5 or more and 0.85 or less in the aqueous ink (i.e. 2/5= 0.4 to 20/25=0.8). 7. The aqueous ink according to claim 1, wherein the aqueous ink has a viscosity of 10 mPa.Math.s or less (6 mPa.s to 20 mPa.s; [0075]). 8. The aqueous ink according to claim 1, wherein the aqueous ink is suitable for ink jet recording (see Abstract). 9. A fixing agent comprising a polylactic acid (binder resin, [0034]-[0036]). 10. The fixing agent according to claim 9, wherein the fixing agent is suitable for an aqueous ink for ink jet recording (see Abstract; [0034]-[0036]). 11. An ink jet recording method comprising: ejecting the aqueous ink according to claim 1 to a recording medium for recording by an ink jet method ([0081]-[0102]). 12. An ink jet recording device comprising: an ink storage unit comprising the aqueous ink according to claim 1; and an ink ejection unit configured to eject the aqueous ink ([0081]-[0102]). 13. An ink storage container comprising the aqueous ink according to claim 1 ([0138]-[0149]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (1) Wachi et al. (# US 2009/0035535) discloses an ink-jet ink used to form a functional film by ejecting an ink droplet using an ink-jet system onto a non-penetrative substrate includes a compound that has an amino group and an alkylene glycol portion within a molecule and serves as a wettability enhancer. Also provided are a method of producing the ink-jet ink, a method of producing a color filter using the ink-jet ink, and a method of forming a color filter or a functional film (see Abstract). (2) Kawamura (# US 2019/0375226) discloses the ink jet ink can comprise optional components known in a field of an ink jet ink in addition to the above-mentioned coloring material and fluorine resin. Examples of optional components include various binder resins (excluding fluorine resin), various solvents, a curing agent, a curing catalyst, a slipping agent (a levelling agent), a dispersant, a polymerization accelerator, a polymerization inhibitor, a penetration accelerator, a wetting agent (moisturizer), a fixing agent, an antifungal agent, a preservative, an antioxidant, a chelating agent, a thickener and the like ([0034]). (3) Ito et al. (# US 2009/0117276) discloses a method for ink jet printing, which is suitable for image formation on an inorganic substrate by an ink jet method, and a method for ink jet printing on an inorganic base substrate which can obtain a printed article having a high-density and bleeding-free image. In ink jet printing on an inorganic substrate employing an ink comprising an inorganic pigment and a dispersion medium, the method includes arranging an ink receptive layer on the inorganic substrate employing a treatment liquid containing a nonmetal salt, a glass frit, and an organic binder as indispensable components, and conducting ink jet printing and further baking (see Abstract). (4) Fujimoto (# US 2018/0258299) discloses an aqueous ink that enables the recording of images having high optical density and excellent toughness and has excellent reliability. An aqueous ink for ink jet includes a pigment, a resin having an anionic group, a salt and a water-soluble organic solvent. The pigment is a self-dispersible pigment in which an anionic group is bonded to the particle surface of carbon black directly or through another atomic group, the resin has a weight-average molecular weight of 20,000 or less, the water-soluble organic solvent includes glycerol and an additional solvent other than glycerol, and the content (% by mass) of the additional solvent relative to the content (% by mass) of glycerol in terms of mass ratio is 0.6 times or less (see Abstract). (5) Yamashita et al. (# US 2017/0183526) discloses an aqueous ink (20) comprises a self-dispersible pigment, an aromatic sulfinic acid or its salt, and an aromatic sulfonic acid or its salt (see Abstract). (6) Cioca et al. (# US 4494994) discloses a surface active agent is comprised of lignin sulfonic acids, and optionally, an alkylaryl sulfonic free acid with at least 10 carbon atoms and a polypeptide having a molecular weight of about 2,500 to about 15,000. In addition, a disperse dye composition is provided which includes solid particles of a dye or pigment which have a particle size of less than 2 microns with the surface active agent disposed at the surface of the particles. (see Abstract). (7) Soga et al. (# US 2003/0213403) discloses an ultraviolet absorber having an acidic group is further added to an ink composition for inkjet recording which contains a colorant, a humectant, water, and a water-soluble substance that is condensation-polymerized in the absence of the water. A radical trapping agent having an acidic group is further added to an ink composition for inkjet recording which contains a colorant, a humectant, water, and a water-soluble substance that is condensation-polymerized in the absence of the water (see Abstract). (8) Aoi et al. (# US 2004/0070655) discloses the water base ink for ink-jet recording of the present invention contains the pigment as the coloring agent which is dispersible or soluble in water, it is preferable that an appropriate dispersing agent is added to perform a dispersing treatment in accordance with a known method. The dispersing agent is not specifically limited, which may include, for example, high molecular weight dispersing agents and surfactants. The high molecular weight dispersing agent is not specifically limited, which may include, for example, proteins such as gelatin and albumin; natural rubbers such as gum arabic and gum traganth; glucosides such as saponin; cellulose derivatives such as methyl cellulose, carboxy cellulose, and hydroxymethyl cellulose; natural high molecular weight compounds such as lignin sulfonic acid salt and shellac; anionic high molecular weight compounds such as polyacrylic acid salt, salt of styrene-acrylic acid copolymer, salt of vinylnaphthalene-acrylic acid copolymer ([0023]). (9) Tonishi et al. (# US 2007/0200880) discloses an aqueous ink ([0033]-[0034]) comprising: Water ([0033]); a water-soluble organic solvent ([0033]); a coloring agent (self-dispersible pigment; [0034]-[0037]); and lignosulfonic acid or a salt thereof (liginin sulfonic acid salt; [0038]), wherein the coloring agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of a self-dispersed pigment ([0034]-[0035]), a resin dispersion pigment, and a water-soluble dye ([0034]-[0035]). (10) Ikeda et al. (# US 2016/0075879) discloses an aqueous ink (see Table) comprising: water (see Table); a water-soluble organic solvent (glycerin, see Table); a coloring agent ([0049]-[0054]); and lignosulfonic acid or a salt thereof (lignin sulfonic acid; [0012]; [0061]), wherein the coloring agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of a self-dispersed pigment, a resin dispersion pigment, and a water-soluble dye ([0049]-[0054]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANISH S SHAH whose telephone number is (571)272-2152. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at 571-272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MANISH S. SHAH Primary Examiner Art Unit 2853 /Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/907,680 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853