DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,259. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because regarding independent claims 1, 12 and 14 of the application. Claims 1, 10 and 11 of instant patent fully discloses the limitations of the claims in the application. Dependent claims 2-11, 13 and 15 of the application are compared with dependent claims 2-9 and 12 of instant patent ’259.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (11, 575,882) in view of Shan et al (11,605,174).
Regarding claims method claims 1 and 14, non-transitory computer readable medium claim 11, and apparatus claim 12 Jin discloses a method (note col. 7 lines 42-50, disclose Jin disclose hierarchy of steps described as a method), non-transitory computer readable (note col. 7 lines 26-35, examiner interprets implemented as software to describe non-transitory computer readable medium) and apparatus (note col. 3 lines 30-35, system of fig. 1a and col. 7 lines 26-35, examiner interprets implemented as hardware to describe apparatus)
A first step of acquiring a first image having disparity information and refocus information (note fig. 1a, block 110, col. 5 lines 3-23, light field image, discloses shifting parameter corresponding to depth information); and
A second step of inputting the first image or the disparity information and the refocus information into a machine learning model (note fig. 1a block 20, artificial intelligence model and col 6 lines 1-3, LF image are input to artificial intelligence model), and of generating a second image having an in-focus position different from an in-focus position of the first image based on the refocus information (note fig. 1a, block 140 and col. 6 lines 4-10, LF images are converted to layers of stack, layer of stacks col. 7 lines 40-45 describe as second LF images)
Wherein the information is information on a distance between the position of
the first image and the position of the second image (note col. 8 lines 14-16, lines cite plurality of layer stacks in which a shifting parameter indicating distance information between at least one object included in a first LF image, depth information corresponds to distance). Jin discloses acquiring shifting parameters which corresponds to disparity information. Jin does not clearly disclose acquiring refocus information and refocus information into machine learning model. Shan discloses information acquiring refocus information and refocus information into machine learning model (note col. 6 lines 37-39, cost all in focus examiner interprets as refocus). Jin and Shan are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include acquiring refocus information and refocus information into machine learning model in the system of Jin as evidenced by Shan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so provides improvement to slower processing of smaller cameras col. 4 lines 35-45. It would have been obvious to combine Shan with Jin to obtain the invention as specified by claims 1, 11, 12 and 14.
As to claim 14, feature of ground truth examiner refers to col. 12 lines 29-40, reference image as ground truth image, matching technique is a technique of setting one reference image among the plurality of images obtained by capturing at least one object at different viewpoints, searching for the same region corresponding to one region in the reference image from a plurality of other images, and obtaining depth information included in an image.
Regarding method (note col. 7 lines 42-50, disclose Jin disclose hierarchy of steps described as a method) claim 3 Jin discloses,
Wherein the first image is stereo images of the same object captured at two different viewpoints (note col. 5 lines 4-5, LF images two different viewpoints), two disparity images generated by recording light fluxes that have passed through two different pupil areas in an optical system, or a single image made by combining the stereo images or the two disparity image (note Jin col. 5 lines 6-10, combining stereo images).
Regarding method (note col. 7 lines 42-50, disclose Jin disclose hierarchy of steps described as a method) claim 8 Jin discloses,
Wherein the second step concatenates two viewpoint images acquired from the first image in a channel direction and inputs a concatenated result into the machine learning model (note Jin fig. 1a, 110 into 20 and col. 6 lines 5-10, LF image input into artificial intelligence model, LF images are layers of stacks into the model).
Regarding method (note col. 7 lines 42-50, disclose Jin disclose hierarchy of steps described as a method) claim 9 Jin discloses,
Wherein the second step fixes one of the two viewpoint images acquired from the first image, shifts the other, concatenates the two viewpoint images in a channel direction, and inputs a concatenated result into the machine learning model (note Jin, col. 6 lines 15-35, shifting parameter applied to plurality of layers stacks prior to input to the model).
Regarding method (note col. 7 lines 42-50, disclose Jin disclose hierarchy of steps described as a method) claim 10 Jin discloses wherein the distance is an amount based on a moving amount of an imaging plane of an image pickup apparatus when the image pickup apparatus acquires the second image that is made by capturing the same object as that of the first image. Jin does not clearly disclose at a different in-focus position. Shan discloses at different in focus position (note col. 6 lines 37-39, cost all in focus examiner interprets as different in focus position). Jin and Shan are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include different in-focus position in the system of Jin as evidenced by Shan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so provides improvement to slower processing of smaller cameras col. 4 lines 35-45. It would have been obvious to combine Shan with Jin to obtain the invention as specified by claim 10.
Regarding system claim 15 execute a plurality of tasks including a transmitting task configured to transmit, to the image processing apparatus, a request relating to execution of a process on the first image, wherein the image processing apparatus includes at least one processor or circuit configured to execute a plurality of tasks including: a receiving task configured to receive the request (note col. 10 lines 4-11, receive instructions).
Related Prior Art
Seki (11,531,862) inputting the first image or the disparity information and the refocus information into a machine learning model (note fig. 2 block 104 and col. 5 lines 26-40).
Claims are rejected under double patenting.
Claims 2, 4-7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for dependent claims 2 and 13. Prior art could not be found for the features wherein the machine learning model includes a first machine learning model and a second machine learning model, and wherein the second step includes the steps of: inputting two viewpoint images acquired from the first image into the first machine learning model and extracting the disparity information; and inputting the disparity information and the refocus information into the second machine learning model and generating the second image. These features in combination with other features could not be found in the prior art. Claims 6-7 depend on claim 2. Therefore, are also objected.
Regarding claim 4, prior art could not be found for the features wherein the second step concatenates, in a channel direction, the first image or at least one of feature maps acquired by inputting the first image into the machine learning model, and the refocus information on an image having the distance between the in-focus position of the first image and the in-focus position of the second image as a pixel value, and processes a concatenated result in the machine learning model. These features in combination with other features could not be found in the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, prior art could not be found for the features wherein the second step concatenates, in a channel direction, a feature map relating to the disparity information on the first image and the refocus information on an image having the distance between the in-focus position of the first image and the in-focus position of the second image as a pixel value, and processes a concatenated result in the machine learning model. These features in combination with other features could not be found in the prior art.
Conclusion
G.D.
June 27, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676