DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 12/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kowalczyk (US 2007/0025674), hereinafter Kowalczyk.
Regarding claim 1 Kowalczyk discloses a fiber optic cable management apparatus comprising: an adapter frame (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 10) having a plurality of adapter openings (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 30) arranged in a row; and a plurality of fiber optic adapters (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 14) held in the plurality of adapter openings so as to be arranged in a row (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032), the plurality of fiber optic adapters being configured to receive a predetermined number of fiber optic connectors of a first type (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032); wherein the adapter frame further comprises: a plurality of parking elements arranged in a row that is adjacent to the row of fiber optic adapters (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032), the plurality of parking elements being configured to receive the predetermined number of fiber optic connectors of the first type in a manner such that each of the fiber optic connectors can be stored adjacent to one of the fiber optic adapters (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 2 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein: each fiber optic adapter of the plurality of fiber optic adapters is configured to receive one or more of the fiber optic connectors in a first orientation (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032); and the plurality of parking elements are configured to receive the fiber optic connectors in the same first orientation (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 3 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adapter frame comprises a panel wall defining a plane of the adapter frame (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature), and wherein each parking element of the plurality of parking elements comprises one or more wall sections formed integrally with and protruding away from panel wall and forming a socket for receiving one of the fiber optic connectors (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature).
Regarding claim 4 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 3, wherein each parking element comprises a stop feature within the socket configured to prevent insertion of a fiber optic connector into the socket beyond the stop feature (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 5 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein each parking element comprises one or more engagement elements for engaging with at least one of a latch, protrusion or indent on a fiber optic connector of the first type (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 6 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 5, wherein: each fiber optic adapter includes at least one adapter engagement element for engaging with at least one of a latch, protrusion or indent on a fiber optic connector of the first type (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature; see also paragraphs 0030 & 0032); and each parking element is arranged with the one or more engagement elements in the same orientation as the at least one adapter engagement element of the fiber optic adapter that is adjacent to the parking element (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature).
Regarding claim 7 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein either: each of the adapter openings is configured to receive a simplex fiber optic adapter (e.g., paragraphs 0004 and 0030), and each adapter opening has a single corresponding parking element; or each of the adapter openings is configured to receive a duplex fiber optic adapter (e.g., paragraphs 0004 and 0030), and each adapter opening has a pair of corresponding parking elements (e.g., paragraphs 0004 and 0030).
Regarding claim 8 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the fiber optic connectors of the first type are LC connectors (e.g., paragraph 0039); or the fiber optic connectors of the first type are SC connectors (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 9 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the row of adapter openings and the row parking elements run in parallel along a longitudinal axis of the adapter frame (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature).
Regarding claim 10 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a mount, wherein the adapter frame is configured for coupling to the mount such that the adapter frame is movable relative to the mount between a stowed position and a working position (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature).
Regarding claim 11 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 10 wherein: the mount comprises a slot, and the adapter frame comprises a pin configured to engage with the slot to couple the adapter frame to the mount (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032); wherein the pin is configured to slide from a first end of the slot to a second end of the slot as the adapter frame is moved from the stowed position to the working position (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 12 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 11 wherein: the adapter frame is rotatable relative to the mount when the pin is positioned at the second end of the slot (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032); and moving the adapter frame from the stowed position to the working position includes rotating the adapter frame after the pin has been slid to the second end of the slot (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 13 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 10, wherein the adapter frame comprises a locking feature configured to engage with a corresponding locking feature on the mount when the adapter frame is in the working position, to releasably secure the adapter frame in the working position (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 14 Kowalczyk further discloses the fiber optic cable management apparatus of claim 10, wherein the adapter frame comprises one or more retaining features configured to engage with one or more corresponding retaining features on the mount when the adapter frame is in the stowed position, to releasably secure the adapter frame to the mount in the stowed position (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Regarding claim 15 Kowalczyk discloses a fiber optic cable management terminal comprising: a housing (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 12); and at least one fiber optic cable management apparatus (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 10) coupled to the housing or integrally formed with the housing; wherein the fiber optic cable management apparatus comprises: an adapter frame (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 10) having a plurality of adapter openings (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 30) arranged in a row (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature); and a plurality of fiber optic adapters (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4, at 14) held in the plurality of adapter openings so as to be arranged in a row (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature), the plurality of fiber optic adapters being configured to receive a predetermined number of fiber optic connectors of a first type (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032); wherein the adapter frame further comprises: a plurality of parking elements arranged in a row that is adjacent to the row of fiber optic adapters (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 4 show this feature), the plurality of parking elements being configured to receive the predetermined number of fiber optic connectors of the first type in a manner such that each of the fiber optic connectors can be stored adjacent to one of the fiber optic adapters (e.g., paragraphs 0030 & 0032).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report (ISR) submitted by Applicant contains additional references and analysis considered highly relevant to the current application. Specifically the ISR references cited EP 2538255 and US 2009/080849 also appear to anticipate multiple claims in the current application. The Examiner highly suggests reviewing the ISR for additional relevant prior art in order to advance prosecution. The Examiner is available for an interview to help further advance prosecution.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845