DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,8, and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Advani U.S. Patent No. 6,595,346.
Claim 1, Advani teaches a method for compacting a flow of goods in an overhead conveyor system 1, the method including: conveying via 3 overhead a plurality of conveyor containers 3A, each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A loaded with at least one good 6 in the overhead conveyor system 1; unloading automatically the at least one good 6 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A into a collecting conveyor container 2A; and conveying via 2overhead the collecting conveyor container 2a loaded with the at least one good 16 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A in the overhead conveyor system 1 C4 L5-18.
Claim 3, Advani teaches the unloading automatically the at least one good 6 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A includes unloading into a buffer store 3B and discharging the goods 6 from the buffer store 3B into the collecting conveyor container 2A.
Claim 4, Advani teaches the conveyor containers 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A are each arranged vertically above the buffer store 3B during the unloading into the buffer store 2B Fig. 1.
Claim 7, Advani teaches the collecting conveyor container 2A is arranged vertically below the buffer store 3B while the goods 6 are discharged from the buffer store 3B.
Claim 8, Advani teaches a for compacting a flow of goods 6 in an overhead conveyor system 1 Fig. 1, the method including: conveying overhead a plurality of conveyor containers 3A, each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A loaded with at least one good 6 in the overhead conveyor system 1; unloading automatically the at least one good 6 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A into a collecting conveyor container 2A; and conveying via 2 overhead the collecting conveyor container 2A loaded with the at least one good 6 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A in the overhead conveyor system 1, wherein the unloading automatically includes unloading based at least in part on at least one property of the goods 6, the at least one property one of 1) good volume or 2) a combined good length and girth or 3) good weight or 4) good order or 5) sorting destination C4 L5-18.
Claim 9, Advani teaches a transfer station 1 for compacting a flow of goods 6 in an overhead conveyor system 1 Fig. 1, the transfer station comprising: a first conveyor rail 3C; a plurality of conveyor containers 3A, each container 3A of which is loaded with at least one good 6 and is displaceable along the first conveyor rail 3C; an unloading unit 5 arranged along the first conveyor rail 3C for automatically unloading the at least one goods 6 from the plurality of conveyor containers 3A a second conveyor rail 2C; and at least one collecting conveyor container 2A, the at least one collecting conveyor container 2, each collecting conveyor container 2A of the at least one collecting conveyor container 2A configured to receive the at least one goods 6 from each conveyor container 3A of the plurality of conveyor containers 3A, the at least one collecting conveyor container 2A displaceable along the second conveyor rail 2 C4 L5-18.
Claim 10, Advani teaches a buffer store 3B for receiving the at least one goods 6 from the plurality of conveyor containers 3A, wherein the buffer store 3B includes a switchable discharge element (electric shaft) for automatically discharging the goods 6 received C4 L5-18.
Claim 11, Advani teaches the first conveyor rail 3C is arranged vertically above the buffer store 3B Fig. 1.
Claim 12, Advani teaches the second conveyor rail 2C is arranged vertically below the buffer store 3B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Advani U.S. Patent No. 6,595,346 in view of Naslund U.S. Patent No. 3,357,539.
Claim 2, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches the unloading automatically the at least one good 18 from each conveyor container 22 of the plurality of conveyor containers 22 includes opening automatically via 94 each conveyor container 23 on an underside C4 L30-55. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the unloading configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claims 5 and 13, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches detecting with an entry detection unit 154 the at least one good 18 from each conveyor container 22 of the plurality of conveyor containers 22 unloaded into the buffer store 118 C3 L19-35. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the sensor configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claims 6 and 17, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches detecting with an exit detection unit the goods 18 discharged from the buffer store 118 into the collecting conveyor container 16 C3 L19-35. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the sensor configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 14, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches the switchable discharge element 154 is configured as an openable base, which is displaceable or pivotable in a base plane C5 L30-45 Fig. 8a. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the sensor configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 15, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches an opening unit 94 for automatically opening the at least one collecting conveyor container 23 arranged along the second conveyor rail 16. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the unloading configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Claim 16, Advani does not teach as Naslund teaches a chute surface 118 arranged vertically below the buffer store 80 and facing the opening unit 94. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Advani with the unloading configuration taught in Naslund with a reasonable expectation of success because
Conclusion
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS