DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, and 15-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-14, 17-20, and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,308. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although the claims are not identical to those of the patent, they are directed to similar inventive concepts related to random access in user equipment of different capabilities.
Regarding claim 1 12,114,308 discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (claim 1); selecting, by the UE, a preamble from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (claim 1); transmitting, by the UE, a random access channel (RACH) message including the preamble selected from the second set of preambles (claim 1); and receiving, by the UE, a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (claim 1).
Regarding claim 3 12,114,308 discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: monitoring, by the UE, a first search space to receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying scheduling information associated with the configuration information (claims 1, 2, 6); and monitoring, by the UE, a second search space to receive a second PDCCH carrying allocation information of a shared channel for the RACH reply message (claims 1, 2, 6).
Regarding claim 4 12,114,308 discloses the method of claim 1, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5 12,114,308 discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a base station to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (claim 7); receiving, by the base station, a random access channel (RACH) message including a preamble, the preamble selected from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (claim 7); and transmitting, by the base station, a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (claim 7).
Regarding claim 7 12,114,308 discloses the method of claim 5, the method further comprising: transmitting, by the base station in a first search space, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying scheduling information associated with the configuration information (claims 7, 8, 12); and transmitting, by the base station in a second search space, a second PDCCH carrying allocation information of a shared channel for the RACH reply message (claims 7, 8, 12).
Regarding claim 8 12,114,308 discloses the method of claim 5, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (claim 11).
Regarding claim 9 12,114,308 discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor (claim 13); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (claim 13), cause the UE to perform operations including: receiving configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (claim 13); selecting a preamble from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (claim 13); transmitting a random access channel (RACH) message including the preamble selected from the second set of preambles (claim 13); and receiving a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (claim 13).
Regarding claim 11 12,114,308 discloses the UE of claim 9, the operations further comprising: monitoring a first search space to receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying scheduling information associated with the configuration information (claims 13, 14, 18); and monitoring a second search space to receive a second PDCCH carrying allocation information of a shared channel for the RACH reply message (claims 13, 14, 18).
Regarding claim 12 12,114,308 discloses the UE of claim 9, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (claim 17).
Regarding claim 13 12,114,308 discloses a base station, comprising: at least one processor (claim 19); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming, the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (claim 19), cause the base station to perform operations including: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (claim 19); receiving a random access channel (RACH) message including a preamble, the preamble selected from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (claim 19); and transmitting a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (claim 19).
Regarding claim 15 12,114,308 discloses the base station of claim 13, the operations further comprising: transmitting, in a first search space, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying scheduling information associated with the configuration information (claims 19, 20, 24); and transmitting, in a second search space, a second PDCCH carrying allocation information of a shared channel for the RACH reply message (claims 19, 20, 24).
Regarding claim 16 12,114,308 discloses the base station of claim 13, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Webb et al. (WO 2013/110331; hereinafter Webb).
Regarding claim 1 Webb discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs are configured by a network node with a set of preambles that correspond to the UE capability and bandwidth capability); selecting, by the UE, a preamble from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs select, at least, a preamble in accordance with the UEs capabilities); transmitting, by the UE, a random access channel (RACH) message including the preamble selected from the second set of preambles (page 4, lines 26-28; page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; the UE will use the preamble for PRACH); and receiving, by the UE, a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (page 4, lines 30-34; page 18, lines 1-4; wherein as part of the RACH procedure, the network node responds with a RAR).
Regarding claim 2 Webb discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second UE capability is a maximum bandwidth capability of 20MHz (page 20, line 25 – page 21, line 6; wherein the UE capability includes a maximum LTE bandwidth of 20 MHz).
Regarding claim 4 Webb discloses the method of claim 1, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (page 13, lines 1-17; page 15, lines 15-21; the RACH message includes a unique identifier associated to the UE).
Regarding claim 5 Webb discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a base station to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs are configured by a network node with a set of preambles that correspond to the UE capability and bandwidth capability); receiving, by the base station, a random access channel (RACH) message including a preamble, the preamble selected from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (page 4, lines 26-28; page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; the UE will use the preamble for PRACH); and transmitting, by the base station, a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (page 4, lines 30-34; page 18, lines 1-4; wherein as part of the RACH procedure, the network node responds with a RAR).
Regarding claim 6 Webb discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the second UE capability is a maximum bandwidth capability of 20MHz (page 20, line 25 – page 21, line 6; wherein the UE capability includes a maximum LTE bandwidth of 20 MHz).
Regarding claim 8 Webb discloses the method of claim 5, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (page 13, lines 1-17; page 15, lines 15-21; the RACH message includes a unique identifier associated to the UE).
Regarding claim 9 Webb discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor (fig. 2A); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming (fig. 2A), the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations including: receiving configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs are configured by a network node with a set of preambles that correspond to the UE capability and bandwidth capability); selecting a preamble from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs select, at least, a preamble in accordance with the UEs capabilities); transmitting a random access channel (RACH) message including the preamble selected from the second set of preambles (page 4, lines 26-28; page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; the UE will use the preamble for PRACH); and receiving a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (page 4, lines 30-34; page 18, lines 1-4; wherein as part of the RACH procedure, the network node responds with a RAR).
Regarding claim 10 Webb discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the second UE capability is a maximum bandwidth capability of 20MHz (page 20, line 25 – page 21, line 6; wherein the UE capability includes a maximum LTE bandwidth of 20 MHz).
Regarding claim 12 Webb discloses the UE of claim 9, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (page 13, lines 1-17; page 15, lines 15-21; the RACH message includes a unique identifier associated to the UE).
Regarding claim 13 Webb discloses a base station, comprising: at least one processor (fig. 2A); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming (fig. 2A), the programming including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the base station to perform operations including: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information indicating a first set of preambles and a second set of preambles, wherein the first set of preambles corresponds to a first group of UEs having a first UE capability, and the second set of preambles corresponds to a second group of UEs having a second UE capability (page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; wherein UEs are configured by a network node with a set of preambles that correspond to the UE capability and bandwidth capability); receiving a random access channel (RACH) message including a preamble, the preamble selected from the second set of preambles in accordance with a capability of the UE, wherein the capability of the UE corresponds to the second UE capability (page 4, lines 26-28; page 13; page 20, line 7 – page 21, line 14; the UE will use the preamble for PRACH); and transmitting a RACH reply message in response to the RACH message (page 4, lines 30-34; page 18, lines 1-4; wherein as part of the RACH procedure, the network node responds with a RAR).
Regarding claim 14 Webb discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the second UE capability is a maximum bandwidth capability of 20MHz (page 20, line 25 – page 21, line 6; wherein the UE capability includes a maximum LTE bandwidth of 20 MHz).
Regarding claim 16 Webb discloses the base station of claim 13, the RACH message further including an identifier of the UE for indicating the capability of the UE (page 13, lines 1-17; page 15, lines 15-21; the RACH message includes a unique identifier associated to the UE).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
These claims recite language, that when in combination with the elements recited in the independent claims, is not met by the prior art. When combined with the independent claims, these claims also comprise language similar to that indicated as allowable in the parent cases.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2013/0083753 to Lee et al. – that discloses the network may reserve a special set of RACH preambles (e.g. random-access-preamble-group-c) for the use of the narrower bandwidth devices and the narrower bandwidth device may select one of them for random access (e.g. an initial random access). For preamble partitioning, existing RACH preambles may be partitioned and a subset of RACH preambles may be used for a device such as a UE or a MTC device such that an eNB or network component may differentiate a narrower bandwidth device before transmitting RA response. Alternatively, a combination of preamble partitioning and additional PRACH resources may be used. Additional RACH preambles may further be provided and partitioned such that some of such preambles may be used for a narrower bandwidth device.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466