DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 9 and 10 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/24/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under Sekizawa (US PAT. No. 6,430,711 B1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matsunaga (US PG. Pub. 2019/0132625 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekizawa (US PAT. No. 6,430,711 B1) in view of Matsunaga (US PG. Pub. 2019/0132625 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Sekizawa teaches a monitoring device monitoring image processing devices via a network (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Machine Monitoring System 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of a machine monitor system 1 made up of one integrated monitor unit, as console unit 20 and a plurality of local monitor units as agent unit 10. With each agent unit 10 connected to a plural computer LAN (local area network) Networks for monitoring a plurality of network printers P), the monitoring device (See Selizawa, Fig. 1, Machine Monitoring System 1) comprising:
a memory (See Sekizawa, Fig. 2, RAM 32) storing instructions (See Sekizawa, Col. 20 lines 32-35, The RAM 32 is memory used as a work area of the CPU 30 and the operating system program and the agent program read by the CPU 30 from the hard disk 38 are expanded in the RAM 32.);
a processor (See Sekizawa, Fig. 2 CPU 30) executing the instructions causing the monitoring device to (See Sekizawa, Col. 20 lines 12-16, the CPU 30 reads the BIOS program from the ROM 31 and executes the BIOS program, thereby reading the operating system program from the hard disk 38. Then, the CPU 30 executes the operating system program, whereby it can control the whole agent unit 10.):
perform a search for one or more devices on the network, wherein a result of the search includes a first image processing device and a second image processing device search for image processing devices on the network (See Sekizawa, Col. 36 lines 39-58, all network printers P connected to the LAN 3 in the area 2 indicated by the highlighted customer name in the list viewer area 50a and registered as printers to be monitored. The information on each network printer P displayed in the list viewer area 50b is the name of the network printer P (printer name), the installation place, the date on which the most recent status information .O slashed. was gotten (status getting date), and the message corresponding to the status code contained in the most recent status information .O slashed.. The CPU 130 reads the message corresponding to the status code from the error table 28 and writes the message into the list viewer area 50b. For example, the message is "POWER SAVE MODE," "PAPER FEED ERROR," etc. The information displayed as the installation place denotes a detailed installation place of the network printer P on the customer side, such as "SECOND FLOOR OF BUILDING NO. 1" or "FOURTH FLOOR OF BUILDING NO. 1." The operator of the console unit 20 can visually grasp the detailed installation places of the network printers P by seeing the installation place column.).
Sekizawa fails to explicitly teach
the first image processing device and the second image processing device return the same serial number but different IP addresses during the search, confirm whether the second image processing device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function of the first image processing device;
manage, in a case in which the second image processing device is the image processing device for expanding the image processing, device information of the first image processing device as a management target information; and
not store device information of the second image processing device as the management target information.
However, Matsunaga teaches teaches
the first image processing device and the second image processing device return the same serial number but different IP addresses during the search, confirm whether the second image processing device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function of the first image processing device (See Matsunaga, Sect. [0091], when the number of advertisement IDs associated with one IP address becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined number (first threshold value), in the matching server 40, the IP address may be controlled not to perform advertisement distribution based on the viewing log. For example, the matching server 40 may not create/expand the segment data of the DMP based on the viewing log for this IP address (reset/delete the segment data if already done). Alternatively, the IP address may be controlled so as not to transmit the advertisement ID of the public DMP relating to this IP address to the advertisement distribution server 60.);
manage, in a case in which the second image processing device is the image processing device for expanding the image processing, device information of the first image processing device as a management target information (See Matsunaga, Sect. [0055], the matching server 40 may control (for example, create, expand, refine, or the like) the segment data of the DMP on the basis of, for example, the viewing log of the television 10 of a predetermined user.); and
not store device information of the second image processing device as the management target information (See Matsunaga, Sect. [0082], the viewing logs of the viewing log management server 50 are not necessarily stored with the same association with other viewing log management servers 50. For example, in a certain viewing log management server 50, the IP address of the television 10, the viewing log, and the equipment ID may be associated as television identification information (first television identification information). However, in the other viewing log management server 50, the IP address of the television 10, the viewing log, and the B-CAS ID may be associated as television identification information (second television identification information).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sekizawa to incorporate the teachings of Matsunaga to provide the first image processing device and the second image processing device return the same serial number but different IP addresses during the search, confirm whether the second image processing device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function of the first image processing device; manage, in a case in which the second image processing device is the image processing device for expanding the image processing, device information of the first image processing device as a management target information; and not store device information of the second image processing device as the management target information. Doing so would provide an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, an information processing system, and a program, capable of implementing appropriate advertisement distribution to a user by associating each device even when the user uses a plurality of devices., as recognized by Matsunaga.
Referring to Claim 2, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein from among the plurality of image processing devices, device information for an image processing device that is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function is not stored (See Sekizawa, Col. 34 lines 8-21, The database management section 24 as database management means updates the database 23 according to the status information .O slashed.1 of each network printer P extracted from the status mail .O slashed.2, the customer information extracted from the customer registration/change mail .O slashed.5, and the printer information extracted from the printer registration/change mail .O slashed.4. If the status information .O slashed.1 put into electronic mail cannot be gotten (if status mail is not stored in the mail box 19a or status mail cannot be read from the mail box 19a) for a predetermined duration, the database management section 24 assumes that there is a strong possibility that a problem may occur in the mail system, and causes the display section 25 to display an error message indicating the fact on the display 140.).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein from among the plurality of image processing devices, management is performed by differentiating an image processing device that is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function, and an image processing device that is not an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function (See Sekizawa, Col. 20 lines 36-45, FIG. 3 is a block diagram of the functions of the CPU 30, the RAM 32, and the hard disk 38 provided when the CPU 30 executes the operating system program and the agent program expanded in the RAM 32. The functions of the CPU 30 and the RAM 32 shown in FIG. 3 are error table retention section 9, local information getting section 11, local information retention section 12, local information transmission section 13, display section 14, control section 15, input section 16, timer monitor section 17, and customer information retention section 18.).
Referring to Claim 4, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 3 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein an image processing device that is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function is managed as an image processing device that is not a management target (See Sekizawa, Col. 3 lines36-46, FIG. 3 is a block diagram of the functions of the CPU 30, the RAM 32, and the hard disk 38 provided when the CPU 30 executes the operating system program and the agent program expanded in the RAM 32. The functions of the CPU 30 and the RAM 32 shown in FIG. 3 are error table retention section 9, local information getting section 11, local information retention section 12, local information transmission section 13, display section 14, control section 15, input section 16, timer monitor section 17, and customer information retention section 18.).
Referring to Claim 5, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 3 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein the processor acquires a device list showing image processing devices that are targets of monitoring by the monitoring device from a device management service, compares the device list with a list of image processing devices that are not image processing devices for expanding image processing relating to a print function (See Sekizawa, Fig. 35 Col. 36 lines 37-55, list viewer area 50b is provided at the center of the main window. It lists information concerning all network printers P connected to the LAN 3 in the area 2 indicated by the highlighted customer name in the list viewer area 50a and registered as printers to be monitored. The information on each network printer P displayed in the list viewer area 50b is the name of the network printer P (printer name), the installation place, the date on which the most recent status information .O slashed. was gotten (status getting date), and the message corresponding to the status code contained in the most recent status information .O slashed.. The CPU 130 reads the message corresponding to the status code from the error table 28 and writes the message into the list viewer area 50b. For example, the message is "POWER SAVE MODE," "PAPER FEED ERROR," etc. The information displayed as the installation place denotes a detailed installation place of the network printer P on the customer side, such as "SECOND FLOOR OF BUILDING NO. 1" or "FOURTH FLOOR OF BUILDING NO. 1."), and manages an image processing device that have same serial number that is the same as an image processing device on the device list as an image processing device that is a management target (See Sekizawa, Fig. 38, Col. 39 lines 8-14, At step S731, the CPU 130 displays a printer information window (subscreen) shown in FIG. 38 on the display 140 (as a subscreen display step). The printer information window is provided with fields for entering the printer name, serial number of printer, installation place, etc. At the point in time, the CPU 130 writes the information described in the printer information table read at step S730 into the fields.).
Referring to Claim 6, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein the processor does not perform confirmation as to whether or not an image processing device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function on the plurality of image processing devices that have been searched, and manages the plurality of image processing devices that have been searched, and the processor confirms whether or not a device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating to a print function when confirming a self-monitoring ability corresponding to a device management service provided by an image processing device (See Sekizawa, Col. 23 lines 56-67 and Col. 24 lines 1-2, At step S012, the CPU 30 checks whether automatic execution of automatic monitor process is set. If automatic execution is not set, the CPU 30 advances the process to step S016. In contrast, if automatic execution is set, the CPU 30 goes to step S013 and changes the character string displayed on the START/STOP button 40g from START to STOP. At step S014, the CPU 30 starts an automatic monitor process shown in FIG. 7 to FIG. 9. At step S015, the CPU 30 waits for the operator to click on the START/STOP button 40g and when the START/STOP button 40g is turned on, the CPU 30 restores the character string displayed on the START/STOP button 40g to START and releases the setting of automatic execution of automatic monitor process, then advances the process to step S016.).
Referring to Claim 7, the combination of Sekizawa in view of Matsunaga teaches the monitoring device according to claim 1 (See Sekizawa, Fig. 1, Col. 18 lines 48-65, Machine Monitoring System 1), wherein the processor confirms whether or not an image processing device is an image processing device for expanding image processing relating a print function based on at least one of a product name or a manufacturer name of an image processing device (See Sekizawa, Col. 26 lines 9-22, If any other information is entered while the CPU 30 executes the check loop of steps S043, S044, and S051, the CPU 30 goes to step S052 and executes processing responsive to the entered information. For example, if digits are entered through the keyboard 41 with the IP address entry field clicked, the CPU 30 enters the entered digits in the IP address entry field and automatically gets the status information .O slashed.1 of the network printer P, then displays the discrete information on the network printer P, such as the manufacturer name, the product name, and the printer type, in the lower area of the screen. If the MONITOR button is clicked, the CPU 30 displays a check mark. Upon completion of step S052, the CPU 30 returns the process to step S043.), or whether or not information can be acquired using a specific protocol (See Sekizawa, Col. 19 lines 15-24, In the machine monitor system 1 the agent unit 10 and the console unit 20 support SMTP and POP3 of standard protocols for transmitting and receiving electronic mail through the Internet 6 and MAP1 provided as an interface for transmitting and receiving electronic mail through the Internet 6 enables electronic mail to be exchanged between the units. he agent unit 10 gets status information .O slashed.1 indicating the operation state of each network printer P connected to the LAN 3a).
Referring to Claim 8, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. The structural elements of “A monitoring device” in claim 1 perform all of the operations of “a control method” in claim 8. Thus, “a control method” in claim 8 is rejected for reasons explicitly taught in the rejection of claim 1.
Referring to Claim 9, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. Thus, a non-transitory storage medium of claim 9 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Sekizawa, Fig. 2, CPU 30, ROM 31, RAM 32, Hard Disk 38, Col. 20 lines 7-35, The CPU 30 controls the whole agent unit 10 and also functions as local information getting means, local information retention means, local information transmission means (electronic mail preparation means, electronic mail sending means), state determination means, and display means. When power is turned on, the CPU 30 reads the BIOS program from the ROM 31 and executes the BIOS program, thereby reading the operating system program from the hard disk 38. Then, the CPU 30 executes the operating system program, whereby it can control the whole agent unit 10. The display controller 36 forming a part of the display means displays various screens prepared by the CPU 30 on the display 40 under the control of the CPU 30. The input interface 37 encodes signals entered through the mouse 42 and the keyboard 41, thereby inputting user-entered information (a signal indicating a pressed key, vector information entered through the mouse 42, a click signal entered through the mouse 42) into the CPU 30. Any other pointing device than the mouse 42, such as a touch panel, may be connected to the input interface 37. The LAN adapter 33 forming a part of the local information transmission means (electronic mail sending means) stores data output from the CPU 30 in a packet and sends the packet to the LAN 3a. Also, it disassembles a packet received from the LAN 3a and edits the packet to a data form that can be handled by the CPU 30. The RAM 32 is memory used as a work area of the CPU 30 and the operating system program and the agent program read by the CPU 30 from the hard disk 38 are expanded in the RAM 32.) and various memories stored therein.
Cited Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Park et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2015/0092233 A1) discloses an image forming system operable to provide a cloud printing service, the image forming system comprising: a transmitting device operable to transmit content by designating a target phone number; a cloud printing server operable to receive the target phone number and the content from the transmitting device; a receiving device assigned with the target phone number and operable to receive an upload notification of the content with respect to the target phone number from the cloud printing server; and an image forming device operable to print the content by receiving the content from the cloud printing server, wherein the cloud printing server transmits the content to the image forming device registered in the target phone number when the cloud printing service is requested for the content to the target phone number.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683