DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12-13, and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The Office also acknowledges the Applicant’s election of the following species of the compound:
This species appears to fall within the limitations of all of the elected claims and corresponds to a compound of claims 17 and 35 wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R7, R8, R11, and R12 are H; R6 and R9 are Br; and R10 is OH.
During the course of the search, the following species was also considered:
. This compound corresponds to a compound of claims 17 and 35 wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R9, R11, and R12 are H; R8 is OH; and R10 is OCH3.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, 35, and 36 are pending. Claims 1-2, 9-10, 12-13, and 15-16 are withdrawn and claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are under examination.
Priority
The application was filed on 10/7/2024 and claims benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 8/31/2026.
The Examiner notes that though the parent application: 17/724969 is filed as a “DIV” of 16/450772, that the NOA dated 1/12/2022 in parent app. no. 16/450772, now US 11390580, indicates that the restriction of record was withdrawn. See p. 2 of the OA. See MPEP 804.01.
Specification
The title and specification are objected to because the words “sphingolipid” and “sphingolipids” are misspelled as –shingolipid—and –shingolipids—in many locations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 17, 23, and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In various place throughout claims 17, 23, and 32, the word –sphingolipid—is misspelled as –shingolipid--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “without substantially inhibiting mammalian sphingolipid synthesis” in claim 17, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification appears to lack any explicit definition for the term, and it is not clear from the examples what constitutes a substantial amount.
Claim 17 contains the following clause:
While the first two lines of the clause are clear in what compound is being excluded from the claimed method, it is not clear which compounds are being excluded in the final three lines of the claim. In particular the requirement that “then R6 and R7 are other than -H and -CH3 or -Br and H, respectively” is unclear. Does this limitation mean: i) that R6 and R7 are not H, CH3, and Br in any combination; ii) that R6 and R7 are not H or CH3, in any combination, or that R6 and R7 are not Br and H, in any combination; or iii) that when R6 is H, that R7 is not CH3; and that when R6 is Br, R7 is not H? The same issue occurs in independent claim 35.
Claims 22 and 31, recite the processes of claim 17 and 26 (which depends from claim 17) respectively, “further comprising contacting the fungus with an amount of an anti-fungal agent”. This limitation is indefinite because claim 17 already appears to require contacting a fungus with the anti-fungal agent having the claimed compound formula. Presumably, the limitation is intended to refer to another, additional anti-fungal agent as evidenced by claims 23 and 32. However, this is not clear from the present claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 20, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 20 recites the following compound:
. This compound appears to lack antecedent basis to independent claims 17, because in this compound R10 is -N(CH3)2. In independent claim 17, which all recite an identical compound structure, R10 can be -NH2, NHR13, or -NHCOR12, but there is no option for a secondary amine. In contrast, see the option “NR14R15” with respect to variables R3-R9, R11, and R12.
Likewise, claim 29, which depends from claim 26, which depends from independent claim 17, recites that R10 can be -NR14R15, which is an improper broadening of the definition from claim 17.
Claim 30, which depends from claim 26, which depends from independent claim 17, recites the following structures:
and
, wherein R10 is -N(CH3)2. These compounds improperly broaden claim 17 for the reasons discussed above.
Claim 30 further recites compounds
and
. These compounds are expressly prohibited by the first proviso in claim 17 “when R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R8, R11, and R12 are each -H, R9 is -Br, and -R10 is -OH or -OCH3, then R7 is other than -CH3”.
Claim 30 also recites the compounds:
and
. These compounds are expressly prohibited by the second proviso in claim 17 “when R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R8, R9, R11, and R12 are each -H, and -R10 is -OH, then R6 and R7 are other than -H and -CH3 or -Br and H, respectively”.
Thus claim 30 teaches a multitude of species which improperly broaden the definition of compound set forth in claim 17.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11390580 (‘580).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2 and 4-13 of ‘580 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘580 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11414378 (‘378).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 3-6 and 18-20 of ‘378 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘378 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11858880 (‘880).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of ‘880 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. For example, see claims 4 and 14. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘880 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12325678 (‘678).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of ‘678 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. For example, see claims 19-20. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘678 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 16, 18-19, 25-26, 32, 37, 41, 43, 46, 48-50, 52, 54, 56, and 63-64 of co-pending U.S. App. No. 19/195513 (‘513).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘513 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. For example, see claim 52. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘513 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 17, 20-21, 26-29, 31-34, and 38 of co-pending U.S. App. No. 18/698584 (‘584).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘584 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. For example, see claims 17 and 20. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘584 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-44 of co-pending U.S. App. No. 19/582745 (‘745).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘745 recite the claimed processes using compounds which are species of the claimed compounds. For example, see claims 10-11. Therefore, the claimed processes of ‘745 are species of the claimed process. Also see MPEP 2131.02. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 20, 22, 26, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Young (US2012/0010075, published on 1/12/2012).
Young teaches the following compound 147:
. See Table 1, p. 35. This compound corresponds to a compound of claims 17, 20, 22, 26, and 31, wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R9, R11, and R12 are H; R10 is OMe (OR13, wherein R13 is C1 alkyl); and R8 is OH. Young teaches that an effective amount of said compound is used to inhibit the growth of tomato blight (Phytophthora infestans) or LEPTNO (Leptosphaeria nodorum), both fungi, in combination with copper, another anti-fungal agent. See [0111-0114], including Table 2. Also see MPEP 2131.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 20-23, 26, 29-32, and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Young (US2012/0010075, published on 1/12/2012).
Applicant claims various methods of inhibiting the growth of fungus and/or fungal sphingolipid synthesis using a compound of the following formula:
.
The elected species is a compound of the following structure:
. This species corresponds to a compound of claims 17 and 35 wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R7, R8, R11, and R12 are H; R6 and R9 are Br; and R10 is OH.
Young discloses synergistic fungicidal compositions including hydrazone derivatives and copper. See whole document. The compositions have fungitoxic activity against phytopathogenic fungi, against fungal pathogens of mammals, including humans, and against wood decay causing fungi. See [0037-0038]. Regarding claims 23, 26, 32, and 36 Young specifically recites that the fungi include Candida species, Aspergillus species, Fusarium species, Coccidioides immitis, Cryptococcus neoformans, Histoplasma capsulatum, Microsporum species, and Trichophyton species. See [0038]. Regarding claims 17 and 35, the compositions may be administered in effective amounts to the fungus to or a mammal having the fungus in effective amounts. See [0039-0050]. Regarding claims 22, 23, 31, and 32, Young teaches that the mixtures may also comprise additional anti-fungal ingredients. See [0051]. When controlling fungal infections in mammals, the additional anti-fungal ingredients include fluconazole, amphotericin B, and caspofungin. See [0052].
The hydrazone derivatives of Young are of the following Formula I:
. See claim 1.
The following species of formulas 63, 71, 113, 138, 147, 163, 181, 182, 204, 280-286, 482, and 483 are taught:
.
See Table 1 on p. 12-105.
All of these compounds appear to be species of the claimed compounds in claims 17 and 35, wherein instant variable R2 is H and instant variable R1 is H or CH3 (C1 alkyl). Of the above species, compounds 63, 71, 113, 138, 163, 181, 182, and 204 correspond to those wherein R3, R4, R5, and R7 are H and R6 is Br. Compounds 147, 280-286, 482, and 483, which are also all species of claim 20, all teach instant variables R9, R11, and R12 are H; R8 is OH; and R10 is -OCH3, which corresponds to -OR13 wherein R13 is methyl, a C1 alkyl. Compounds 71, 113, 163, 181, 182, and 204 are all species of the meta-substituted Br embodiment of claim 29, wherein R8, R9, R10, R11, and R12 are selected from H, OH, Cl, Br, and CH3.
Young teaches that an effective amount of said compound is used to inhibit the growth of tomato blight (Phytophthora infestans) or LEPTNO (Leptosphaeria nodorum), both fungi, in combination with copper, another anti-fungal agent. See [0111-0114], including Table 2.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.012)
Regarding the elected species of compound, which is recited in claims 21 and 30, Young does not explicitly teach the claimed compound.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation (MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed methods based on the teachings of Young with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare and employ the elected species in the fungal inhibition method of Young, because of the significant structural similarity between the claimed species, and compounds 63, 71, 113, 138, 147, 163, 181, 182, 204, 280-286, 482, and 483 of Young, which were all shown to possess the desired antifungal activity when applied against two different fungi. The species exemplified in Young teach all ofthe substituents on the elected species (Br and OH) in different positions on both rings. The reference only fails to teach their combination in the claimed regiochemistry in a single compound. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled artisan to obtain the claimed compound for use as an anti-fungal agent. Based on the exemplified compounds of Young, there is a reasonable expectation of success of that the claimed species can be predictably substituted for the exemplified compounds in the fungal inhibition method of Young. Also see MPEP 2144.08 and MPEP 2144.09.
With further respect to the claimed genus, as discussed above, since the exemplified compounds of Young are so close in structure to those claimed, especially the elected species, then they would also be expected to possess the same or similar bioactivity. The exemplified compounds of Young, discussed above, fall within the claimed genus, and the genus of Young further shares significant overlap with the claimed genus. Therefore, arriving at the claimed processes based on the teachings of Young would be prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2144.08 and 2144.09.
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692