Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breed, US 2006/0208169 A1, in view of Kammel, et al., US 2015/0006012 A1.
As per Claim 1, Breed teaches a vehicular control system (¶ 143; “ECU”), the vehicular control system comprising:
an electronic control unit disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (¶ 143);
a camera disposed at a windshield of the vehicle, wherein the camera views at least forward of the vehicle through the windshield (¶¶ 345, 347); and
wherein the camera comprises a CMOS imaging array (¶ 140) having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in columns and rows, and wherein the camera is operable to capture image data (¶¶ 2003-2004; to achieve “a 1 million to one dynamic range at each pixel”);
wherein the vehicular control system is operable to at least partially control driving of the vehicle (¶ 428).
Breed does not expressly teach: that, responsive to a blown tire of the vehicle occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a road, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the road; that the vehicular control system, while at least partially controlling driving of the vehicle along the road responsive to the blown tire of the vehicle, and at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera, determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle; and that the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location. Kammel teaches:
that, responsive to a blown tire of the vehicle occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a road, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the road (¶¶ 31-33);
that the vehicular control system, while at least partially controlling driving of the vehicle along the road responsive to the blown tire of the vehicle, and at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera (¶¶ 23, 26; either “an optical camera” or “an internal camera”), determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle (¶ 35); and
that the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location (¶¶ 38-39).
At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the sensor system of Breed with the emergency control system of Kammel in order to help a troubled vehicle reach a safe stopping location more quickly, without disrupting other traffic.
As per Claim 2, Breed does not expressly teach that, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location. Kammel teaches that, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location (¶ 36; “the guidance of the vehicle may continue to be carried out by the driver, at least partially”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 3, Breed teaches that the indication comprises the driver accelerating the vehicle (¶¶ 2126-2127).
As per Claim 4, Breed teach that the vehicular control system, when at least partially controlling driving of the vehicle, controls at least one from the group consisting of (i) steering of the vehicle (¶¶ 849-851), (ii) braking of the vehicle (¶¶ 817-818) and (iii) acceleration of the vehicle (¶ 817).
As per Claim 5, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system determines the blown tire of the vehicle responsive to one or more sensors of the vehicle (¶ 443, 448, 451, 2296-2297, 2879).
As per Claim 6, Breed teach that the vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle (¶¶ 1874, 2778).
As per Claim 7, Breed does not expressly teach that, responsive to the blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a road construction zone, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone, and teach that the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone responsive to the blown tire, and at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera, determines the target stopping location ahead of the vehicle. In light of Kammel’s teaching of operating near construction sites (¶ 6), monitoring with an “air-pressure sensor in the tires” (¶ 24), and an “optimal stopping place” (¶ 38), a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious that control driving of the vehicle along a road construction zone. See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 8, Breed does not expressly teach that, responsive to the blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a narrow section of a road, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the narrow section of the road, and wherein the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the narrow section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining that the road widens, determines the target stopping location ahead of the vehicle. Kammel teaches that, responsive to the blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a narrow section of a road (¶ 31; as determined by “tire pressure”), the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the narrow section of the road (¶ 33; “control unit 8 develops a strategy for safely parking the vehicle on the road shoulder based on the present situation” as per Figure 1), and that the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the narrow section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining that the road widens, determines the target stopping location ahead of the vehicle (¶¶ 38-39; “optimal stopping place”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 9, Breed does not expressly teach that, responsive to the blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a section of a road that does not have a shoulder, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the section of the road that does not have a shoulder, and wherein the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining that a shoulder of the road begins, determines the target stopping location ahead of the vehicle. Kammel teaches that, responsive to the blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a section of a road that does not have a shoulder (¶¶ 35-38; based on measurable characteristics and suitability of a shoulder), the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the section of the road that does not have a shoulder (¶ 33; through control unit 8 of Figure 1), and that the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining that a shoulder of the road begins, determines the target stopping location ahead of the vehicle (¶¶ 38-39; “optimal stopping place”). See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 10, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system activates an emergency support system responsive to the blown tire of the vehicle (¶¶ 2296-2297).
As per Claim 11, Breed teaches a vehicular control system (¶ 143; “ECU”), the vehicular control system comprising:
an electronic control unit disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (¶ 143);
a camera disposed at a windshield of the vehicle, wherein the camera views at least forward of the vehicle through the windshield (¶¶ 345, 347);
wherein the camera comprises a CMOS imaging array (¶ 140) having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in columns and rows, and wherein the camera is operable to capture image data (¶¶ 2003-2004; to achieve “a 1 million to one dynamic range at each pixel”); and
wherein the vehicular control system is operable to at least partially control driving of the vehicle (¶ 428).
Breed does not expressly teach: that, responsive to a blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a section of a road that does not have a shoulder, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the section of the road that does not have a shoulder; wherein the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining, at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera, that a shoulder of the road begins, determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle; wherein the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location; and wherein, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location. Kammel teaches:
that, responsive to a blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a section of a road that does not have a shoulder, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the section of the road that does not have a shoulder (¶ 31-33, 35; after “checking the suitability of the road shoulder for parking the vehicle”);
that the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the section of the road responsive to the blown tire, and responsive to determining, at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera (¶¶ 23, 26; either “an optical camera” or “an internal camera”), that a shoulder of the road begins, determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle (¶¶ 35-36);
that the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location (¶¶ 38-39); and
that, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location (¶ 44; if “the driver does not accept” a driver assistance function).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 12, Breed teaches that the indication comprises the driver accelerating the vehicle (¶¶ 2126-2127).
As per Claim 13, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system, when at least partially controlling driving of the vehicle, controls at least one from the group consisting of (i) steering of the vehicle (¶¶ 849-851), (ii) braking of the vehicle (¶¶ 817-818) and (iii) acceleration of the vehicle (¶ 817).
As per Claim 14, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system determines the blown tire of the vehicle responsive to one or more sensors of the vehicle (¶ 443, 448, 451, 2296-2297, 2879).
As per Claim 15, Breed teaches that the vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle (¶¶ 1874, 2778).
As per Claim 16, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system activates an emergency support system responsive to the blown tire of the vehicle (¶¶ 2296-2297).
As per Claim 17, Breed teaches a vehicular control system (¶ 143; “ECU”), the vehicular control system comprising:
an electronic control unit disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular control system (¶ 143);
a camera disposed at a windshield of the vehicle, wherein the camera views at least forward of the vehicle through the windshield (¶¶ 345, 347);
wherein the camera comprises a CMOS imaging array (¶ 140) having at least one million photosensor elements arranged in columns and rows, and wherein the camera is operable to capture image data (¶¶ 2003-2004; to achieve “a 1 million to one dynamic range at each pixel”);
wherein the vehicular control system is operable to at least partially control driving of the vehicle (¶ 428).
Breed does not expressly teach that, responsive to a blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a road construction zone, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone; wherein the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone responsive to the blown tire, and at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera, determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle; wherein the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location; and wherein, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location. Kammel teaches:
that, responsive to a blown tire occurring while the vehicle is traveling along a road construction zone, the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone (¶ 6, 31-33);
that the vehicular control system, while controlling driving of the vehicle along the road construction zone responsive to the blown tire, and at least in part via processing of image data captured by the camera (¶¶ 23, 26; either “an optical camera” or “an internal camera”), determines a target stopping location ahead of the vehicle (¶ 35);
that the vehicular control system at least partially controls driving of the vehicle to the target stopping location (¶¶ 38-39); and
wherein, responsive to an indication that is indicative of a driver of the vehicle not wanting to stop the vehicle at the target stopping location, the vehicular control system does not stop the vehicle at the target stopping location (¶ 44; if “the driver does not accept” a driver assistance function).
See Claim 1 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine.
As per Claim 18, Breed teaches that the indication comprises the driver accelerating the vehicle (¶¶ 2126-2127).
As per Claim 19, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system, when at least partially controlling driving of the vehicle, controls at least one from the group consisting of (i) steering of the vehicle (¶¶ 849-851), (ii) braking of the vehicle (¶¶ 817-818) and (iii) acceleration of the vehicle (¶ 817).
As per Claim 20, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system determines the blown tire of the vehicle responsive to one or more sensors of the vehicle (¶ 443, 448, 451, 2296-2297, 2879).
As per Claim 21, Breed teaches that the vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle (¶¶ 1874, 2778).
As per Claim 22, Breed teaches that the vehicular control system activates an emergency support system responsive to the blown tire of the vehicle (¶¶ 2296-2297).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,115,978 (“the ‘978 patent”) , over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,618,442 (“the ‘442 patent”), and over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 10,889,293 (“the ‘293 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘978 patent, the ‘442 patent and the ‘293 patent each teach an autonomous vehicle with a set of sensors, including a CMOS camera mounted on the windshield that looks forward from the vehicle, determines an emergency driving situation, controls either a steering, acceleration or braking function of the vehicle, and guides the vehicle to a safe stopping location along a shoulder of the road on which the vehicle is traveling.
Conclusion
ATUL TRIVEDI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/ATUL TRIVEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661