DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted February 26, 2026 and October 7, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sykosch (DE 10205989).
In regards to claim 1, Sykosch teaches a support member (1) configured to route at least one fluid or electrical line (6) within a channel of a structural member (2), the support member (1) comprising: a conduit (sleeve of 1 comprising 11) having a wall (see the figure below) defining a passage configured to receive the at least one line (6), wherein the passage is capable to permit free movement of the at least one line (6) along a longitudinal axis of the conduit (sleeve of 1 comprising 11); and a plurality of longitudinal slots (see the figure below) formed in the wall of the conduit and configured to define, in an expanded state of the support member (see the figure below), a plurality of arms (the plurality of walls, see the figure below) radially extending from the conduit (see the figure below).
In regards to claim 2, Sykosch teaches a the support member of claim 1, wherein the conduit (11) and plurality of arms (see figure in claim 1) are configured for deployment within a structural member (2) of a vehicle (pipe - a thing used for transporting people or goods).
In regards to claim 3, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 2, wherein the structural member (2) is an axle (see figure 2).
In regards to claim 4, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein each arm of the plurality of arms is formed from a portion of the wall (see figure 2).
In regards to claim 5, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein the plurality of arms are spaced apart from each about a circumference of the conduit (1) (figure 2).
In regards to claim 6, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 5, wherein the plurality of arms are equally spaced about the circumference of the conduit (1) (figure 2).
In regards to claim 7, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein the plurality of arms comprises at least two arms (see the arms in figure 2).
In regards to claim 8, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 7, wherein the plurality of arms are configured to contact an inner periphery of the channel (see the channel of 2, figure 2).
In regards to claim 9, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 8, wherein the plurality of arms contact the inner periphery of the channel (2) with sufficient force to retain the support member (1) at a location along a length of the structural member (2).
In regards to claim 10, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein each arm of the plurality of arms comprises at least two linear sections defining the arm (se figure 2, starting from the top section and the bottom section of (1)).
In regards to claim 12, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 10, wherein the two linear sections are the same length (see figure 2).
In regards to claim 13, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein the plurality of arms includes a first set of arms at a first location along the longitudinal axis and a second set of arms at a second location along the longitudinal axis (see figure 1).
In regards to claim 14, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 1, wherein the conduit comprises a first conduit part and second conduit part (plurality of conduits 6, see figure 1), where the first conduit part comprises, for each arm of the plurality of arms, a first linear section and where the second conduit comprises, for each arm of the plurality of arms, a second linear section (see figure 1).
In regards to claim 15, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 14, wherein distal ends of the first and second linear sections comprise complementary arm coupling features (4,5) configured to connect the first and second linear sections to each other (see figure 1).
In regards to claim 16, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 14, wherein an end of the first conduit part (6) opposite the first linear section comprises a complimentary conduit (6) coupling feature (4,5) configured to connect the first conduit part (6) to a third conduit part )see the plurality of conduits (6) in figure 1) also comprising the complimentary conduit coupling feature (4,5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sykosch (DE 10205989).
In regards to claim 11, Sykosch teaches the support member of claim 10 and the arm comprises two linear sections defining the arm and forming an arch shape relative to the longitudinal axis of the conduit
Sykosch does not explicitly teach each arm of the plurality of arms comprises two linear sections defining the arm and forming a triangular shape.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to made the arm and forming a triangular shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoi (US 6,809,266) teaches a cable sleeve with slits; Grajewski (DE 19742078) teaches a cable sleeve with slits.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848