DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al.(US 2015/0224761).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al teaches an image forming apparatus (figs.3,4), comprising:
an image former (1 figs.3,4) that causes a head unit (60) having a plurality of nozzles (64) arranged in a row to eject a color material onto a recording medium (400) conveyed in a conveyance direction to generate dots (figs.3,4);
a mover that relatively moves the recording medium (400) and the head unit (60) in a direction intersecting an arrangement direction of the plurality of nozzles (64) in the head unit (fig.4); and
a hardware processor (10 fig.3),
wherein the hardware processor (10)
detects a first adhesion amount of a color material in a first peripheral region around a nozzle-missing region corresponding to a malfunctioning nozzle (LN) (figs.2,7,8,9,19; paragraphs 0084-0098,0130-0133,0057-0059),
sets an allocation region having an area corresponding to the first adhesion amount (figs.2,7,8,9; paragraphs 0057-0059,0088-0097), and
allocates dot data corresponding to the malfunctioning nozzle to a normal nozzle in the allocation region (figs.19,20; paragraphs 0097,0130-0133).
Regarding claim 5, Sato et al further teaches wherein the hardware processor (10 fig.3) sets the area of the allocation region to be large in a case where the first adhesion amount is large (figs.2,8,9-17,19; paragraphs 0084-0098,0130-0133).
Regarding claim 6, Sato et al further teaches wherein the hardware processor (10 fig.3) sets a length in the conveyance direction of the allocation region according to the first adhesion amount (figs.8,9-17,19).
Regarding claim 7, Sato et al further teaches the method step limitations of claim 7 are inherently performed by the device claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Sato et al further teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer of an image forming apparatus (figs.3,4) that comprises:
an image former (1 figs.3,4) that causes a head unit (60) having a plurality of nozzles (64) arranged in a row to eject a color material onto a recording medium (400) conveyed in a conveyance direction to generate dots (figs.3,4);
a mover that relatively moves the recording medium (400) and the head unit (60) in a direction intersecting an arrangement direction of the plurality of nozzles (64) in the head unit (fig.4); and
a hardware processor (10 fig.3),
wherein the hardware processor (10)
detects a first adhesion amount of a color material in a first peripheral region around a nozzle-missing region corresponding to a malfunctioning nozzle (LN) (figs.2,7,8,9,19; paragraphs 0084-0098,0130-0133,0057-0059),
sets an allocation region having an area corresponding to the first adhesion amount (figs.2,7,8,9; paragraphs 0057-0059,0088-0097), and
allocates dot data corresponding to the malfunctioning nozzle to a normal nozzle in the allocation region (figs.19,20; paragraphs 0097,0130-0133).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853