DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on October 7, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-22 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIKATA (US 20140042849 A1) in view of LAI (TW M434841 U).
In regards to claim 1, NISHIKATA, teaches:
A motor mechanism(Fig 2B; 100), comprising:
a metal base(Fig 3; 114), comprising a base portion(Fig 3; 114a) and a protruding portion(Fig 3; 114b), wherein the protruding portion (Fig 3; 114b)is connected to the base portion(Fig 3; 114a);
a clip member(Fig 3; 116), connected to the metal base (Fig 3; 114)and adjacent to the protruding portion(Fig 3; 114b);
the protruding portion passes(Fig 3; 114b) through the positioning hole(the protruding portion 114b can pass through holes provided in the stator core [last sentence of 0028]; it is also clearly show in Fig 3 and 2B that the protruding portion 114b is goes through the stator 109);
an insulation member(Fig 3; 111), connected to the first pole teeth (Fig 3; 109’)or the second pole teeth, and comprising a third central hole(Fig 3; H3), wherein minimum dimensions of the third central hole (Fig 3; H3) are less than or equal to maximum dimensions of the first central hole (Fig 3; H1)and the second central hole(Fig 3; H2)(the maximum dimension of H1/H2 includes the slot bit while the minimum dimension ofH3 does not; making H3 clearly shorter than H1/H2), and the clip member (Fig 3; 116) clips on the insulation member(Fig 3; 111)(Fig 2B shows insulation member 111 fixed to clip member 116); and
a coil(Fig 3; 112), winding around the first pole teeth or the second pole teeth(Fig 3; 109’)[0026].
NISHIKATA does not teach:
a first silicon steel sheet, comprising a first central hole and a plurality of first pole teeth extended outwardly, wherein a positioning protrusion is formed on an inner surface of the first central hole, the positioning protrusion protrudes inwardly and has a positioning hole, and
a second silicon steel sheet, stacked on the first silicon steel sheet, and comprising a second central hole and a plurality of second pole teeth extended outwardly, wherein the second silicon steel sheet and the first silicon steel sheet have different appearances.
LAI teaches:
a first silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S1), comprising a first central hole (Fig 2; 243) and a plurality of first pole teeth (Fig 2; 242) extended outwardly, wherein a positioning protrusion (Fig 2; 244)is formed on an inner surface of the first central hole(Fig 2; 243), the positioning protrusion (Fig 2; 244)protrudes inwardly and has a positioning hole(Fig 2; 2445-2448), and
a second silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S2), stacked on the first silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S1), and comprising a second central hole (Fig 2; 245)and a plurality of second pole teeth(Fig 2; 242) extended outwardly, wherein the second silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S2) and the first silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S1) have different appearances.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NISHIKATA by using the first and second silicon sheet shape taught by LAI, in order to provide a silicon steel sheet structure for a fan motor that achieves both fixed bearing and dustproof effects [LAI 0003].
In regards to claim 3, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 1:
wherein the clip member (Fig 2B; 116)encloses at least a portion of the protruding portion(Fig 2B; 114b).
In regards to claim 4, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 1:
wherein the clip member (Fig 2B; 116)comprises an annular portion (Fig 2B; 116a) enclosing a periphery of the metal base(Fig 2B; 114).
In regards to claim 5, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 4:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises a shock absorbing member (Fig 2B; 117)connected to the annular portion(Fig 2B; 116a)(bearings are known in the art to support the shaft and stator and thus absorb shock).
In regards to claim 6, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 1:
the motor mechanism further comprises a hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)and a shock absorbing member(Fig 2B; 104), the hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)surrounds the metal base(Fig 2B; 114), and the shock absorbing member (Fig 2B; 104)is disposed between the hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)and the metal base(Fig 2B; 114) and in contact with the hollow frame(Fig 2B; 101).
In regards to claim 12, NISHIKATA, teaches:
A motor mechanism(Fig 2B; 100), comprising:
a metal base(Fig 3; 114), comprising a base portion(Fig 3; 114a) and a protruding portion(Fig 3; 114b), wherein the protruding portion (Fig 3; 114b)is connected to the base portion(Fig 3; 114a);
a clip member(Fig 3; 116), connected to the metal base (Fig 3; 114)and adjacent to the protruding portion(Fig 3; 114b);
the protruding portion passes(Fig 3; 114b) through the positioning hole(the protruding portion 114b can pass through holes provided in the stator core [last sentence of 0028]; it is also clearly show in Fig 3 and 2B that the protruding portion 114b is goes through the stator 109);
an insulation member(Fig 3; 111), connected to the first pole teeth (Fig 3; 109’)or the second pole teeth, and comprising a third central hole(Fig 3; H3), wherein minimum dimensions of the third central hole (Fig 3; H3) are less than or equal to maximum dimensions of the first central hole (Fig 3; H1)and the second central hole(Fig 3; H2)(the maximum dimension of H1/H2 includes the slot bit while the minimum dimension ofH3 does not; making H3 clearly shorter than H1/H2), and the clip member (Fig 3; 116) clips on the insulation member(Fig 3; 111)(Fig 2B shows insulation member 111 fixed to clip member 116); and
a coil(Fig 3; 112), winding around the first pole teeth or the second pole teeth(Fig 3; 109’)[0026].
NISHIKATA does not teach:
a first silicon steel sheet, comprising a first central hole and a plurality of first pole teeth extended outwardly, wherein a positioning protrusion is formed on an inner surface of the first central hole, the positioning protrusion protrudes inwardly and has a positioning hole, and
a second silicon steel sheet, stacked on the first silicon steel sheet, and comprising a second central hole and a plurality of second pole teeth extended outwardly, wherein the positioning protrusion is exposed from the second central hole in an axial direction;
LAI teaches:
a first silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S1), comprising a first central hole (Fig 2; 243) and a plurality of first pole teeth (Fig 2; 242) extended outwardly, wherein a positioning protrusion (Fig 2; 244)is formed on an inner surface of the first central hole(Fig 2; 243), the positioning protrusion (Fig 2; 244)protrudes inwardly and has a positioning hole(Fig 2; 2445-2448), and
a second silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S2), stacked on the first silicon steel sheet(Fig 2; S1), and comprising a second central hole(Fig 2; 245) and a plurality of second pole teeth (Fig 2; 242) extended outwardly, wherein the positioning protrusion (Fig 2; 2445-2448) is exposed from the second central hole (Fig 2; 245)in an axial direction;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NISHIKATA by using the first and second silicon sheet shape taught by LAI, in order to provide a silicon steel sheet structure for a fan motor that achieves both fixed bearing and dustproof effects [LAI 0003].
In regards to claim 14, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 12:
wherein the clip member (Fig 2B; 116)encloses at least a portion of the protruding portion(Fig 2B; 114b).
In regards to claim 15, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 12:
wherein the clip member (Fig 2B; 116)comprises an annular portion (Fig 2B; 116a) enclosing a periphery of the metal base(Fig 2B; 114).
In regards to claim 16, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 15:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises a shock absorbing member (Fig 2B; 117)connected to the annular portion(Fig 2B; 116a)(bearings are known in the art to support the shaft and stator and thus absorb shock).
In regards to claim 17, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 12:
the motor mechanism further comprises a hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)and a shock absorbing member(Fig 2B; 104), the hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)surrounds the metal base(Fig 2B; 114), and the shock absorbing member (Fig 2B; 104)is disposed between the hollow frame (Fig 2B; 101)and the metal base(Fig 2B; 114) and in contact with the hollow frame(Fig 2B; 101).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIKATA (US 20140042849 A1), in view of LAI (TW M434841 U), in further view of PETER (US 20020109426 A1).
In regards to claim 8, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 1.
Combination NISHIKATA/LAI does not teach:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises:
a hollow frame, surrounding the metal base and having a first engaging structure and an additional first engaging structure;
a case, detachably connected to the hollow frame and having a second engaging structure; and
a connecting terminal, disposed on the case, wherein when the second engaging structure is connected to the first engaging structure, an opening of the connecting terminal faces a first direction, wherein when the second engaging structure is connected to the additional first engaging structure, the opening of the connecting terminal faces a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction.
PETER teaches:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises:
a hollow frame(Fig 1: 14), surrounding the metal base(Fig 4: 36) and having a first engaging structure (Fig 1: 16b)and an additional first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b);
a case(Fig 1: 12), detachably connected to the hollow frame (Fig 1: 14)and having a second engaging structure(Fig 1: 16a); and
a connecting terminal(Fig 1: 16), disposed on the case(Fig 1: 12), wherein when the second engaging structure (Fig 1: 16a)is connected to the first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b), an opening of the connecting terminal(Fig 1: 16) faces a first direction, wherein when the second engaging structure(Fig 1: 16a) is connected to the additional first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b), the opening of the connecting terminal (Fig 1: 16)faces a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination NISHIKATA/LAI by using the hollow frame and case taught by PETER, in order to create an autonomous assembly that does not require any structural parts to mount [PETER 0003], thus making assembly easier and require fewer pieces.
In regards to claim 19, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 12.
Combination NISHIKATA/LAI does not teach:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises:
a hollow frame, surrounding the metal base and having a first engaging structure and an additional first engaging structure;
a case, detachably connected to the hollow frame and having a second engaging structure; and
a connecting terminal, disposed on the case, wherein when the second engaging structure is connected to the first engaging structure, an opening of the connecting terminal faces a first direction, wherein when the second engaging structure is connected to the additional first engaging structure, the opening of the connecting terminal faces a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction.
PETER teaches:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises:
a hollow frame(Fig 1: 14), surrounding the metal base(Fig 4: 36) and having a first engaging structure (Fig 1: 16b)and an additional first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b);
a case(Fig 1: 12), detachably connected to the hollow frame (Fig 1: 14)and having a second engaging structure(Fig 1: 16a); and
a connecting terminal(Fig 1: 16), disposed on the case(Fig 1: 12), wherein when the second engaging structure (Fig 1: 16a)is connected to the first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b), an opening of the connecting terminal(Fig 1: 16) faces a first direction, wherein when the second engaging structure(Fig 1: 16a) is connected to the additional first engaging structure(Fig 1: 16b), the opening of the connecting terminal (Fig 1: 16)faces a second direction, and the first direction is different from the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination NISHIKATA/LAI by using the hollow frame and case taught by PETER, in order to create an autonomous assembly that does not require any structural parts to mount [PETER 0003], thus making assembly easier and require fewer pieces.
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIKATA (US 20140042849 A1), in view of LAI (TW M434841 U), in further view of CHEN(US 20220140696 A1).
In regards to claim 11, NISHIKATA, in view of LAI, teaches the motor mechanism as claimed in claim 1:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises a shaft (Fig 2B; 105)and a rotating member(Fig 2B; 106), the shaft(Fig 2B; 105) is accommodated in the third central hole(Fig 3; H3), the rotating member (Fig 2B; 106)is connected to the shaft(Fig 2B; 105).
Combination NISHIKATA/LAI does not teach:
a first hole and a plurality of second holes are formed on the rotating member, wherein in a radial direction, a distance between the shaft and the first hole is less than a distance between the shaft and the second holes, wherein in the radial direction, the first hole is overlapped with at least two second holes.
CHEN teaches:
a first hole (Fig 2; 34’) and a plurality of second holes (Fig 2; 34)are formed on the rotating member(Fig 2; 30), wherein in a radial direction, a distance between the shaft and the first hole (Fig 2; 34’)is less than a distance between the shaft and the second holes(Fig 2; 34), wherein in the radial direction, the first hole(Fig 2; 34’) is overlapped with at least two second holes(Fig 2; 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination NISHIKATA/LAI by adding the first and second holes on the rotor as taught by CHEN, in order to make the heat dissipation efficient in the self-cooling motor [CHEN 0045].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, 7, 9-10, 13, 18, and 20-21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
the block structures are extended away from the positioning hole.
However, the prior art does not teach: the protruding portion has a plurality of block structures accommodated in the second central hole (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claims 2 and 13 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of the protruding portion accommodating the second central hole is too specific which makes it novel.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises a case detachably connected to the hollow frame, the case comprises a positioning protruding portion.
However, the prior art does not teach: the shock absorbing member comprises a positioning slot, wherein when the case is connected to the hollow frame, the positioning protruding portion enters the positioning slot.(The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claims 7 and 18 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of the positioning protruding portion enters the positioning slot is too specific which makes it novel.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
wherein the motor mechanism further comprises:
a shaft, accommodated in the third central hole;
a case, disposed on a side of the metal base;
having a hole, wherein a position of the hole corresponds to a position of the shaft;
a cantilever structure, connected to the case and accommodated in the hole; and
a sealing member, filled into the hole and in contact with the case and the cantilever structure, wherein the sealing member is flexible.
However, the prior art does not teach: the metal base and having a hole, wherein a position of the hole corresponds to a position of the shaft(The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claims 9 and 20 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of position of the hole corresponds to a position of the shaft is too specific which makes it novel.
Claims 10 and 21 also contains allowable subject matter because they depend from claims 9 and 20 respectively.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834