Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 11012546 B1).
Re claim 1: Song discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a flexible display (display unit 151 in fig 9);
a multi-bar structure (rolling plate 104 in fig 9-10, 12) including a plurality of bars (support bars 1041) spaced apart from each other on a rear surface of the flexible display; and
a first rail frame (left side portion 1023 of frame 102 in figs 4, 6) and a second rail frame (right side portion 1023 of frame 102 in fig 4) coupled to two opposite sides of the multi-bar structure, each including a guide rail (slide rail 1027 in fig 12) guiding movement of the multi-bar structure,
wherein at least one bar of the plurality of bars includes a supporting member (expanded side portion 1042+ slide hook 1043 in figs 13-14) including a stop portion (slide hook 1043) engaged with the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame,
wherein at least one of the guide rail of the first guide frame and the guide rail of the second guide frame includes a stop jaw (see annotated fig 13a; i.e., portion of 1027a/1027c/1027b that abuts 1043 during sliding movement) configured to (i.e., functional language) engage the stop portion.
Re claim 3: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein a diameter of the supporting member (1042 + 1043) increases toward outer end (see “groove” formed between 1042 and 1043 in annotated fig 13a; herein, a diameter of 1043 is greater than a diameter of supporting member where “groove” is formed), and wherein the stop portion (1043) is formed at the outer circumferential surface of the supporting member.
Re claim 4: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein the supporting member (1042 + 1043) further comprises a groove (see “groove” in annotated fig 13a; i.e., groove formed between 1042 and 1043) formed in an outer circumferential surface of the supporting member other than the stop portion.
Re claim 5: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein a cross-sectional shape of at least one of the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame corresponds to a cross-sectional shape of the supporting member (see fig 13a).
Re claim 6: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein at least one of the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame further comprises a stop groove (horizontal portions 1027a, 1027b and curved portion 1027c for receiving 1043) comprising the stop jaw (see annotated fig 13a; i.e., portion of groove in 1027a/1027b/1027c that abuts 1043) and configured to (i.e., functional language) receive the stop portion (1043) of the supporting member, and wherein the stop portion is spaced apart from a portion of the stop groove other than the stop jaw (see space formed between 1043 and upper wall of 1027a in annotated fig 13a).
Re claim 7: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein at least one of the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame includes a stop groove (horizontal portions 1027a, 1027b and curved portion 1027c for receiving 1043) comprising the stop jaw (see annotated fig 13a) and configured to (i.e., functional language) receive the stop portion (1043) of the supporting member, and wherein a size of the stop groove is larger than a size of the stop portion (see figs 13a-13b).
Re claim 8: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein the supporting member (1042 + 1043) further comprises at least one groove (1043a in fig 14) formed along an outer circumferential surface of the supporting member and configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a lubricant (fastening protrusion 1044a of ring-shaped slide roller 1044 in fig 14).
Re claim 11: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein the supporting member (1042 + 1043) further comprises at least one groove (fastening groove 1043a in fig 14) formed in a surface of the stop portion (1043) that contacts the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame, and configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a lubricant (fastening protrusion 1044a of ring-shaped slide roller 1044 in fig 14).
Re claim 12: Song discloses the electronic device, wherein each of the guide rail of the first rail frame or the guide rail of the second rail frame further comprises:
a first rail (1027b in fig 12) having a straight path and positioned at an upper portion of an inner surface of a corresponding one of the first rail frame or the second rail frame;
a third rail (1027a in fig 12) having a straight path and positioned at a lower portion of the inner surface of a corresponding one of the first rail frame or the second rail frame; and
a second rail (1027c in fig 12) having a curved path and having one end in contact with the first rail and another end in contact with the third rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 11012546 B1).
Re claim 2: Song discloses the electronic device.
Song fails to disclose that a diameter of the stop portion increases toward an outer end.
However, the examiner herein notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stop portion such that the diameter thereof increases toward an outer end, and provide corresponding shape of the stop groove in the guide rail as per the designer’s choice. The examiner further notes that change in shape is considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and has a little patentable significance unless a new and an unexpected result is produced.
Re claim 9: Song discloses the electronic device.
Song fails to disclose that the guide rail further comprises at least one groove formed in an inner circumferential surface thereof and extending along a moving direction of the plurality of bars, the at least one groove being configured to (i.e., functional language) receive a lubricant.
However, Song discloses use of a self-lubricating member having high abrasion resistance and low friction resistance, such as polyoxymethylene (POM), to facilitate the movement of the slide hooks 1043 on the slide rail 1027 (column 23, lines 11-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide rail with at least one groove formed in an inner circumferential surface thereof and extending along a moving direction of the plurality of bars in order to reduce contact area between the guide rail and the plurality of bars during sliding movement for friction reduction. Also, providing the at least one groove with a lubricant would further facilitate friction reduction between the guide rail and the plurality of bars for smooth sliding operation.
Re claim 10: Song discloses the electronic device
Song fails to disclose that the guide rail further comprises at least one groove formed in the stop jaw, extending along a moving direction of the plurality of bars, and configured to receive a lubricant.
However, Song discloses use of a self-lubricating member having high abrasion resistance and low friction resistance, such as polyoxymethylene (POM), to facilitate the movement of the slide hooks 1043 on the slide rail 1027 (column 23, lines 11-15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide rail with at least one groove formed in the stop jaw and extending along a moving direction of the plurality of bars in order to reduce contact area between the stop jaw and the stop portion of the plurality of bars during sliding movement for friction reduction. Also, providing the at least one groove with a lubricant would further facilitate friction reduction between the stop jaw and the stop portion for smooth sliding operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach an electronic device including, along with other limitations, a stop portion of at least one bar positioned corresponding to where the flexible display is in a flat state among the plurality of bars is provided not to contact the stop jaw of the rail frame as set forth in the claim.
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach an electronic device including, along with other limitations, a distance between respective stop jaws of the first rail frame and the second rail frame in the first portion is greater than a distance between respective stop jaws of the first rail frame and the second rail frame in the second portion.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841