3DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 12, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO document no. WO2021068141, hereinafter known as Lu. (IDS submitted art). English translation attached and referenced below.
As to claim 1, Lu discloses a wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the first PDCCH is used to schedule a first transport block (TB), and the first TB corresponds to a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process (Lu, page 21 and 22, UE receiving indication of PDDCH uplink communication for transport block carrying HARQ); and determining, by the terminal device, discontinuous reception (DRX) behavior of the terminal device based on a mode corresponding to the first HARQ process, wherein the mode corresponding to the first HARQ process comprises a first mode and a second mode, and the first mode corresponds to DRX behavior different from the second mode (LU, page 17, paragraph 4 on the page starting with “In the embodiment of the present invention” is disclosed HARQ in mode one, “on state” with associated DRX behaviour and HARQ in mode two, “off state” and another associated DRX behaviour).
As to claim 12, Lu discloses wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell (Lu, page 6, NTN system), wherein the terminal device is a narrowband internet of things (NB-IoT) terminal device and/or an enhanced machine type communication (eMTC) terminal device (Lu, page 14, UE or terminal device being Internet of Things device).
As to claims 5 and 13, the claims are each rejected as applied to claims 1 above by Lu.
As to claim 20, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 12 above by Lu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Li et al, application no. 2022/0173842, hereinafter known as Li.
As to claim 2, Lu discloses wherein the DRX behavior comprises a start time of a first timer, and the first timer comprises a DRX deactivation timer and/or a DRX retransmission timer (Lu, page 17, paragraph 4 on the page starting with “In the embodiment of the present invention” DRX retransmission timer for an HARQ transmission), wherein if the first HARQ process is in the second mode, the start time of the first timer is determined based on first information (LU, page 17, paragraph 4 on the page starting with “In the embodiment of the present invention” is disclosed HARQ in mode one, “on state” with associated DRX behaviour and HARQ in mode two, “off state” and associated DRQ behaviour; HARQ in second mode (second manner) based a timer that may be retransmission timer). Lu does not disclose however Li discloses and the first information comprises one or more of the following: a transmission time of a first channel, wherein the first channel carries the first TB; or timing duration of a first HARQ round-trip time (RTT) timer, wherein the first HARQ RTT timer corresponds to the first HARQ process, wherein the first channel is a PDSCH or a PUSCH (Li, [0117]-[0120], use of HARQ round trip time used as timer for HARQ process, one for each HARQ process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lu to include the limitations of and the first information comprises one or more of the following: a transmission time of a first channel, wherein the first channel carries the first TB; or timing duration of a first HARQ round-trip time (RTT) timer, wherein the first HARQ RTT timer corresponds to the first HARQ process, wherein the first channel is a PDSCH or a PUSCH as taught by Li. Use of round trip timer is known in the art to account for time needed to process a communication before taking further steps.
As to claims 6 and 14, the claims are each rejected as applied to claim 2 above by Lu in view of Li.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-11 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467