DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0399590 (Yun).
Regarding claim 1, Yun teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1 shows external electronic device 102 and electronic device 101 comprising the same components as they are both devices of the same caliber as shown in Fig. 6 wherein both electronic device 101 and external electronic device 102 being smartphones; for purposes of this rejection electronic device as claimed is the external electronic device 102 of the reference) [0075-77, 0107-108] comprising: a wireless charging coil (Fig. 1 shows antenna module 197);
a wireless communication circuit (Fig. 1 shows communication module 190);
memory storing one or more computer programs (Fig. 1 shows memory 130); and
one or more processors (Fig. 1 shows processor 120) [0024] communicatively coupled to the wireless charging coil, the wireless communication circuit, and the memory (processor 120 communicatively coupled to antenna module 197, communication module 190, memory 130) [0024-26], wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 1 shows program 140 is being executed) [0027], cause the electronic device to, by using at least one of the wireless charging coil and the wireless communication circuit in a first state that the electronic device is powered off (table 1 shows that the amount of power wirelessly supplied is 0W thereby indicating electronic device 102 being powered off):
receive a ping signal transmitted from an external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows external electronic device 102 receiving beacon 803 ping signal from electronic device 101) [0117], transmit to the external electronic device a first signal strength packet (SSP) responding to the ping signal, based on receiving of the ping signal, perform first authentication for ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the first SSP (external electronic device 102 transmit to electronic device 101 a first SSP 805 responding to the beacon 803 thereby performing first authentication) [0118], and switch the first state to a second state that the electronic device is powered on, based on detecting of a specified event (table 1 shows electronic device 101 being powered on based on receiving 5W power) [0152], while performing the ultra-fast wireless charging based on the first authentication [0144-145], and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, by using at least one of the wireless charging coil and the wireless communication circuit in the second state of the electronic device: transmit a second SSP to the external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows operation 809 wherein external electronic device 102 transmitting a received power packet i.e. second SSP to electronic device 101) [0096, 0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 2, Yun teaches wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to support in-band communication which uses a frequency band used in the wireless charging coil to receive a power signal wirelessly from the external electronic device (PRU parameter is being communicated in the same frequency band as that of a charging signal i.e. power) [0119].
Regarding claim 3, Yun teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to: transmit a third SSP to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the second SSP, and perform second authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the third SSP (multiple RPP is transmitted i.e. third SSP to electronic device 101 based on transmitting second RPP i.e. second SSP and perform second authentication for the wireless charging) [0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 4, Yun teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to perform the second authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, within a specified time range from a time of transmitting the third SSP (multiple RPP is transmitted i.e. third SSP to electronic device 101 based on transmitting second RPP i.e. second SSP and perform second authentication for the wireless charging from time to time) [0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 5, Yun teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to: transmit the first SSP so that the external electronic device recognizes the electronic device of the first state (Fig. 8 shows operation 805 external electronic device 102 transmitting first SSP so that electronic device 101 recognizes the first state) [0118], and transmit the second SSP so that the external electronic device re-recognizes the electronic device of the second state (Fig. 8 shows operation 809 transmitting RPP i.e. second SSP) [0120, 0140] .
Regarding claim 6, Yun teaches further comprising: a battery electrically coupled to the wireless charging coil (Fig. 2 shows external electronic device 202 having a battery 221e electrically coupled to coil 221L), the wireless communication circuit, and the one or more processors, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to switch the first state of the electronic device to the second state (Fig. 8 shows operation 805 external electronic device 102 transmit signal to switch the first state of the external electronic device to the second state as shown in Table 1) [0118, 0152], based on detecting of the specified event in which the battery is charged to have a specified level of a power amount in accordance with the ultra-fast wireless charging [0110-113, 0119].
Regarding claim 7, Yun teaches further comprising: a battery (Fig. 2 shows battery 221e) electrically coupled to the wireless charging coil (Fig. 2 shows battery 221e electrically coupled to coil 221L), the wireless communication circuit (Fig. 2 shows communication circuit 223), and the one or more processors (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors) [0059]; and a power key which supports switching between the first state of the electronic device and the second state of the electronic device [0077], wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to switch the first state of the electronic device to the second state, based on detecting of the specified event in which a user input for the power key is received while the battery is charged to have the specified level of the power amount in accordance with the ultra-fast wireless charging (control circuit 380 determine operation mode of electronic device 301 based on user input i.e. power key to have specified level of power amount according to fast charging having a specific battery charge level) [0110-113, 0119].
Regarding claim 8, Yun teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to: operate with a first low-power state, based on a first driving voltage lower than 3.5V, in the first state of the electronic device (Table 1 shows operate with low-power state based on voltage lower than 3.5V) [0152], and operate with a second low-power state, based on a second driving voltage of at least 3.5V, in the second state of the electronic device (Table 1 shows second low power state based on second driving voltage of at least 3.5V from 5W with a usual current of 1.4A-2A) [0152].
Regarding claim 9, Yun teaches further comprising: a display electrically coupled to the one or more processors (Fig. 2 shows display 225 electrically coupled to control circuit 222 comprising processors), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to: display first content representing a charging state of the electronic device by using the display, in the first state of the electronic device, and display second content representing the charging state of the electronic device by using the display, in the second state of the electronic device (display 225 shows information pertaining to wireless power transfer/reception) [0063].
Regarding claim 10, Yun teaches wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059], cause the electronic device to store information on the first authentication temporarily in the memory, based on performing of the first authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device [0024, 0026-27, 0122].
Regarding claim 11, Yun teaches a wireless charging method of an electronic device (Fig. 1 shows external electronic device 102 and electronic device 101 comprising the same components as they are both devices of the same caliber as shown in Fig. 6 wherein both electronic device 101 and external electronic device 102 being smartphones; for purposes of this rejection electronic device as claimed is the external electronic device 102 of the reference) [0075-77, 0107-108], the method comprising:
by using at least one of a wireless charging coil of the electronic device and a wireless communication circuit of the electronic device in a first state that the electronic device is powered off (table 1 shows that the amount of power wirelessly supplied is 0W thereby indicating electronic device 102 being powered off) [0152]:
receiving a ping signal transmitted from an external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows external electronic device 102 receiving beacon 803 ping signal from electronic device 101) [0117];
transmitting to the external electronic device a first signal strength packet (SSP) responding to the ping signal, based on receiving of the ping signal (external electronic device 102 transmit to electronic device 101 a first SSP 805 responding to the beacon 803 thereby performing first authentication) [0118];
performing first authentication for ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the first SSP [0118]; and
switching the first state to a second state that the electronic device is powered on, based on detecting of a specified event (table 1 shows electronic device 101 being powered on based on receiving 5W power) [0152], while performing the ultra-fast wireless charging based on the first authentication [0144-145], and by using at least one of the wireless charging coil and the wireless communication circuit in the second state of the electronic device (Fig. 2 shows wireless charging coil 221L and communication circuit 223 is used in receiving power) [0050-53]: transmitting a second SSP to the external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows operation 809 wherein external electronic device 102 transmitting a received power packet i.e. second SSP to electronic device 101) [0096, 0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 12, Yun teaches further comprising: supporting, by the wireless communication circuit, in-band communication which uses a frequency band used in the wireless charging coil to receive a power signal wirelessly from the external electronic device (PRU parameter is being communicated in the same frequency band as that of a charging signal i.e. power) [0119].
Regarding claim 13, Yun teaches wherein the transmitting of the second SSP to the external electronic device comprises: transmitting a third SSP to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the second SSP [0120]; and performing second authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the third SSP (multiple RPP is transmitted i.e. third SSP to electronic device 101 based on transmitting second RPP i.e. second SSP and perform second authentication for the wireless charging) [0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 14, Yun teaches wherein the performing of the second authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging comprises performing the second authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, within a specified time range from a time of transmitting the third SSP (multiple RPP is transmitted i.e. third SSP to electronic device 101 based on transmitting second RPP i.e. second SSP and perform second authentication for the wireless charging from time to time) [0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 15, Yun teaches wherein the transmitting of the first SSP to the external electronic device comprises transmitting the first SSP so that the external electronic device recognizes the electronic device of the first state [0118], and wherein the transmitting of the second SSP to the external electronic device comprises transmitting the second SSP so that the external electronic device re-recognizes the electronic device of the second state [0120].
Regarding claim 16, Yun teaches wherein the switching of the first state to the second state, that is, the state where the electronic device is powered on comprises switching the first state of the electronic device to the second state (table 1 shows first state having 0W power wirelessly transferred and in second state having 5W power wirelessly transferred) [0152], based on detecting of the specified event in which a battery of the electronic device is charged to have a specified level of a power amount in accordance with the ultra-fast wireless charging (control circuit 380 determine operation mode of electronic device 301 based on user input i.e. power key to have specified level of power amount according to fast charging having a specific battery charge level) [0110-113, 0119].
Regarding claim 17, Yun teaches wherein the switching of the first state to the second state, that is, the state where the electronic device is powered on comprises switching the first state of the electronic device to the second state [0077], based on detecting of the specified event in which a user input for a power key included in the electronic device is received while a battery of the electronic device is charged to have the specified level of the power amount in accordance with the ultra-fast wireless charging (control circuit 380 determine operation mode of electronic device 301 based on user input i.e. power key to have specified level of power amount according to fast charging having a specific battery charge level) [0110-113, 0119].
Regarding claim 18, Yun teaches further comprising: operating at least one processor of the electronic device with a first low-power state, based on a first driving voltage lower than 3.5V (Table 1 shows operate with low-power state based on voltage lower than 3.5V) [0152], in the first state of the electronic device; and operating the at least one processor with a second low-power state, based on a second driving voltage of at least 3.5V, in the second state of the electronic device (Table 1 shows second low power state based on second driving voltage of at least 3.5V from 5W with a usual current of 1.4A-2A) [0152].
.
Regarding claim 19, Yun teaches further comprising: a display electrically coupled to the one or more processors (Fig. 2 shows display 225 electrically coupled to control circuit 222 comprising processors), wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0025], cause the electronic device to: display first content representing a charging state of the electronic device by using the display (Fig. 2 shows display 225), in the first state of the electronic device, and display second content representing the charging state of the electronic device by using the display, in the second state of the electronic device (display 225 shows information pertaining to wireless power transfer/reception) [0063].
Regarding claim 20, Yun teaches further comprising: storing information on the first authentication temporarily in memory of the electronic device (Fig. 2 shows control circuit 222 comprising processors to operate electronic device 202) [0059],, based on performing of the first authentication for the ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device [0024, 0026-27, 0122].
Regarding claim 21, Yun teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors individually or collectively, cause an electronic device to perform operations (Fig. 1 shows external electronic device 102 and electronic device 101 comprising the same components as they are both devices of the same caliber as shown in Fig. 6 wherein both electronic device 101 and external electronic device 102 being smartphones; for purposes of this rejection electronic device as claimed is the external electronic device 102 of the reference having processor 120) [0024, 0075-77, 0107-108], the operations comprising:
by using at least one of a wireless charging coil of the electronic device (Fig. 1 shows antenna module 197) and a wireless communication circuit of the electronic device (Fig. 1 shows communication module 190) in a first state that the electronic device is powered off (table 1 shows that the amount of power wirelessly supplied is 0W thereby indicating electronic device 102 being powered off):
receiving a ping signal transmitted from an external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows external electronic device 102 receiving beacon 803 ping signal from electronic device 101) [0117];
transmitting to the external electronic device a first signal strength packet (SSP) responding to the ping signal, based on receiving of the ping signal (Fig. 8 shows operation 805 transmitting SSP responding to beacon 803) [0118];
performing first authentication for ultra-fast wireless charging with respect to the external electronic device, based on transmitting of the first SSP (external electronic device 102 transmit to electronic device 101 a first SSP 805 responding to the beacon 803 thereby performing first authentication) [0118]; and
switching the first state to a second state that the electronic device is powered on, based on detecting of a specified event (table 1 shows electronic device 101 being powered on based on receiving 5W power) [0152], while performing the ultra-fast wireless charging based on the first authentication [0144-145], and by using at least one of the wireless charging coil and the wireless communication circuit in the second state of the electronic device: transmitting a second SSP to the external electronic device (Fig. 8 shows operation 809 wherein external electronic device 102 transmitting a received power packet i.e. second SSP to electronic device 101) [0096, 0120, 0136].
Regarding claim 22, Yun teaches the operations further comprising supporting, by the wireless communication circuit, in-band communication which uses a frequency band used in the wireless charging coil to receive a power signal wirelessly from the external electronic device (PRU parameter is being communicated in the same frequency band as that of a charging signal i.e. power) [0119].
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/R.N.B/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836