Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 3/11/2026.
Claims 1-19, 21 & 22 are pending.
Signed copies of the IDS’ are attached.
The Drawings filed 10/7/2024 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 17-19, 21 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Disch et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2018/0350375 A1, hereafter “375 reference”.)
Regarding Claims 1, 21 & 22: The ‘375 reference discloses a computer-implemented method (Abstract), comprising: obtaining a set of decorrelation filters, (Fig. 1 and related descriptions); identifying a set of simulated audio signals, (e.g., ¶ 99); selecting, from among the set of decorrelation filters, a subset of the decorrelation filters based at least on a measure of decorrelation provided by the subset of the decorrelation filters, (e.g., ¶ 144); and applying the selected subset of the decorrelation filters to the set of simulated audio signals, (Fig. 1 and related descriptions).
Regarding Claim 2: The ‘375 reference discloses the measure of decorrelation comprises a measure of cross-correlation between the subset of the decorrelation filters, (e.g., ¶¶ 15, 17, 18).
Regarding Claim 3: The ‘375 reference discloses the measure of decorrelation is based at least on one or more properties of the identified set of simulated audio signals, (e.g., ¶ 187).
Regarding Claim 17: See ‘375 reference e.g., ¶¶ 216, 356.
Regarding Claim 18: See ‘375 reference e.g., ¶¶ 23-26, 101.
Regarding Claim 19: See ‘375 reference e.g., ¶¶ 366, 382, 383.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the ‘375 reference in view of Disch et al. (U.S. Pub. No.: 2023/0421979 A1, hereafter “979 reference”.)
The ‘375 reference discloses the invention substantially but does not make explicit the property includes a delay between audio signals. However, in a related invention, the ‘979 reference teaches introducing delays in an audio decorrelator system, (‘979 reference, e.g., Abstract, ¶¶ 4, 5, 10, 80.) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have introduced a delay calculation parameter as suggested by the ‘979 reference, in system of the ‘375 reference for several reasons including efficiently allocating computing resources, (e.g., ‘979 reference, ¶ 4.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: A thorough search of the prior art yielded references to U.S. Pub. No.: 2018/0350375 A1 and U.S. Pub. No.: 2023/0421979 A1. These references are relied on herein and of record on the attached references-cited (892) form.
However, these references fail to disclose, suggest or render obvious, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
Per Claims 5-13: computing a respective measure of decorrelation for each of different combinations of decorrelation filters in the set of decorrelation filters.
Per Claims 14-16: wherein the measure of decorrelation comprises a measure of inefficacy of decorrelation provided by a combination of filters within the set of decorrelation filters.
Conclusion
Additional Relevant References: See 892
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715