DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing date of 10/7/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12112159.
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12112158.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
U.S. Patent No. 12112159
Instant Application: 18908092
1. A system for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the system comprising:
1. A system for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the system comprising:
a user interface device, wherein the user interface device is configured to: receive and store a re-program file from a server; and
display a graphical user interface configured to receive a user input to initiate a re-program process for at least one onboard module of a vehicle; and
a programming device configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of the vehicle, wherein the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with the at least one onboard module, the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via a wired or wireless communication, to the user interface device, and the programming device is configured to:
a programming device configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of a vehicle, wherein the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with an onboard module, the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via Bluetooth low-energy communication, to a user interface device, and the programming device is configured to:
receive, via a defined sequence of messages with the user interface device, and store, via defined operations with a local cache, one or combinations of:
receive, via a defined sequence of messages with the user interface device, and store, via defined operations with a local data structure, one or combinations of:
data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data);
data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data);
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-program the at least one onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data; and
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-program the onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data; and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device.
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device.
U.S. Patent No. 12112158
Instant Application: 18908092
1. A system for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the system comprising:
1. A system for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the system comprising:
a user interface device, wherein the user interface device is configured to:
receive and store a re-program file from a server; and
display a graphical user interface configured to receive a user input to initiate a re-program process for at least one onboard module of a vehicle; and
a programming device configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of the vehicle, wherein the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with the at least one onboard module, the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via a wired or wireless communication, to the user interface device, and the programming device is configured to:
a programming device configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of a vehicle, wherein the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with an onboard module, the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via Bluetooth low-energy communication, to a user interface device, and the programming device is configured to:
receive, via a defined sequence of messages with the user interface device, and store, via defined operations with a local cache:
receive, via a defined sequence of messages with the user interface device, and store, via defined operations with a local data structure, one or combinations of:
data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data);
data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data);
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-program the at least one onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data; and
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-program the onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data; and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device.
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20200219335 to Mintz in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20230327882 to Jayaraman.
Per claim 1, Gintz teaches a system for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the system comprising:
a programming device configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of a vehicle, wherein the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with an onboard module, the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via Bluetooth low-energy communication, to a user interface device, and the programming device is configured to: receive, via a defined sequence of messages with the user interface device, and store, via defined operations with a local data structure, one or combinations of: data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data) (see at least paragraphs [0508 & 0511-0516] “The serialized reprogramming request contains the J2534 OEM communications functions, and data, or programming sequence, required to install the ECU profile selected from the manufacturer…” and “Client device 4260 also comprises modules 4261 and 4266. Module 4261 receives the serialized reprogramming command from the system server and retransmits it to local device 4263… the application also establishes a wireless connection by Wi-Fi or Bluetooth (or both) with the local device in order to transfer the reprogramming command request. The reprogramming request is then uploaded to the local device… Buffer 4275 is a data buffer for the J2534 OEM communication functions and data messages submitted for transfer to the vehicle device. In buffer 4275, functions and messages are queued and ordered to reduce the possibility of receiving an error from the vehicle device…”);
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-program the onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data (see at least paragraph [0512] “… The deserialized data consists of the J2534 OEM communication function request and data sent from the technician device. The functions are used to communicate with a vehicle device to initiate and execute the ECU reprogramming…”); and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device (see at least paragraph [0499] “… local device 112 will log completion and serialize the message. At step 4200, local device 112 will transmit a completion message to client device 110…”).
Mintz does not explicitly teach:
bluetooth low-energy communication; and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmit a re-program success message to the user interface device.
Jayaraman teaches an analogous art relates to installing updates to a vehicle, comprising:
Bluetooth low-energy communication (see at least paragraph [0059] “The network devices 908 may each include any of various devices that enable the described components to send and/or receive data from external devices over networks. Examples of suitable network devices 908 include an Ethernet interface, a Wi-Fi transceiver, a cellular transceiver, or a Bluetooth or Bluetooth low energy (BLE)”); and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmitting, by the programming device, a re-program success message to the user interface device (see at least paragraphs [0046 & 0051] “At operation 716, the diagnostic tool 110 completes the update session. In an example, the diagnostic tool 110 may be disconnected from the diagnostic port 108. In some examples, the diagnostic tool 110 may also receive a confirmation from the central gateway 112 that the update is completed. After operation 716, the process 700 ends….” & “At operation 806, and as discussed at operation 714, the central gateway 112 performs installation of the updates 602. In an example, the central gateway 112 may receive the updates 602 from the diagnostic tool 110 and may validate that those updates are included on the manifest 502 for installation. The central gateway 112 may also verify correctness of checksums of the updates that are indicated in the manifest 502”).
It would have been obvious for a person of an ordinary skilled in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gintz to incorporate the teaching of Jayaraman to verify the checksum of the updates for correctness. One would have been motivated to verify the checksum of the updates for correctness to ensure correctness of the updates.
Per claims 19 and 20, Gintz teaches a computer-implemented method for staging data and updating vehicle modules using staged data, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, at a programming device via a defined sequence of messages with a user interface device, and store, at the programming device via defined operations with a local data structure, one or combinations of: data checksum map metadata, protocol map metadata, data checksum map information, protocol map information, and a data map (collectively, mapping-and-byte data) (see at least paragraphs [0508 & 0511-0516] “The serialized reprogramming request contains the J2534 OEM communications functions, and data, or programming sequence, required to install the ECU profile selected from the manufacturer…” and “Client device 4260 also comprises modules 4261 and 4266. Module 4261 receives the serialized reprogramming command from the system server and retransmits it to local device 4263… the application also establishes a wireless connection by Wi-Fi or Bluetooth (or both) with the local device in order to transfer the reprogramming command request. The reprogramming request is then uploaded to the local device…Buffer 4275 is a data buffer for the J2534 OEM communication functions and data messages submitted for transfer to the vehicle device. In buffer 4275, functions and messages are queued and ordered to reduce the possibility of receiving an error from the vehicle device…”);
in response to receiving an instruction message from the user interface device, re-programing, by the programming device, an onboard module using the mapping-and-byte data (see at least paragraph [0512] “… The deserialized data consists of the J2534 OEM communication function request and data sent from the technician device. The functions are used to communicate with a vehicle device to initiate and execute the ECU reprogramming…”); and
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmitting, by the programming device, a re-program success message to the user interface device (see at least paragraph [0499] “… local device 112 will log completion and serialize the message. At step 4200, local device 112 will transmit a completion message to client device 110…”), wherein the programming device is configured to be physically and communicably coupled to an onboard port of a vehicle, the onboard port is configured to be communicably coupled with the onboard module, and the programming device is configured to be communicably coupled, via a wireless communication, to the user interface device (see at least FIG. 1; see also paragraph [0497] “client device 110 will establish a connection with local device 112 via a local area network, Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, or wide area network, GSM, once J2534 Mode is enabled…”).
Gintz does not explicitly teach
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmitting, by the programming device, a re-program success message to the user interface device.
Jayaraman teaches an analogous art relates to installing updates to a vehicle, comprising:
in response to determining a checksum condition is satisfied, transmitting, by the programming device, a re-program success message to the user interface device (see at least paragraphs [0046 & 0051] “At operation 716, the diagnostic tool 110 completes the update session. In an example, the diagnostic tool 110 may be disconnected from the diagnostic port 108. In some examples, the diagnostic tool 110 may also receive a confirmation from the central gateway 112 that the update is completed. After operation 716, the process 700 ends….” & “At operation 806, and as discussed at operation 714, the central gateway 112 performs installation of the updates 602. In an example, the central gateway 112 may receive the updates 602 from the diagnostic tool 110 and may validate that those updates are included on the manifest 502 for installation. The central gateway 112 may also verify correctness of checksums of the updates that are indicated in the manifest 502”).
It would have been obvious for a person of an ordinary skilled in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Gintz to incorporate the teaching of Jayaraman to verify the checksum of the updates for correctness. One would have been motivated to verify the checksum of the updates for correctness to ensure correctness of the updates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHILLIP H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191