DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The submitted information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 13-18 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,709.
Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8 and 10-14 of copending Application No. 18/908,382 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the Patent and Copending claims anticipate the instant application claims:
Instant App. Claims
Patent Claims
Copending Claims
1
1
1
2
3
3
3
4
4
4
5
5
5
6
6
6
7
7
7
8
-
8
10
-
9
11
8
10
13
10
11
14
11
12
15
12
13
16
13
14
17
14
15
18
-
16
20
-
Table 1: Instant Claims Compared to Patent and Copending Claims
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of informalities, wherein appropriate correction is required:
In claim 16: the recitation of “the a evaporator unit”, in the last line, should be amended to –an evaporator unit—, for grammatical purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Newel et al. (US 20190368786 A1), herein Newel.
As per claim 1, Newel discloses a refrigeration system (100), comprising a gas cooler (2), a flash tank (6), a work recovery device (30) located downstream (via 31) from the gas cooler (2), and a controller (see at least ¶ 11) communicatively coupled to the work recovery device, wherein:
the flash tank (6) is configured to store refrigerant (15, 16);
the gas cooler (2) is configured to receive the refrigerant (via 1; see at least fig. 1) and facilitate heat transfer from the received refrigerant (¶ 34), thereby cooling the refrigerant;
the controller is configured to:
turn on (e.g., see at least ¶ 49) the work recovery device (30);
cause the work recovery device (30), while turned on, to:
receive (from 3), at a first inlet (top right inlet), a flow of refrigerant cooled by the gas cooler (2);
reduce a pressure (e.g., through at least friction) of the first flow of refrigerant (see arrows in fig. 1);
provide (to 4, 5), from a first outlet (bottom right outlet), the first flow of refrigerant to the flash tank (see arrows in fig. 1);
wherein the work recovery device (30) comprises one of a rotating device (33), or an expander (38).
As per claim 2, Newel discloses a refrigerant conduit (3) configured to allow the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31), wherein the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) comprises vapor refrigerant (i.e., cooled gas).
As per claim 3, Newel discloses wherein the refrigerant provided to the gas cooler (2) is supplied (indirectly) from at least one of a first evaporator unit (12) or a second evaporator unit (22) operating in the refrigeration mode (see arrows in fig. 1).
As per claim 5, Newel discloses wherein the controller (see at least fig. 6) is further configured to at least partially open a first valve (4) to allow the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31).
As per claim 6, Newel discloses wherein the controller is further configured to at least partially close (¶ 35) the first valve (4) to prevent the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31).
As per claim 9, Newel discloses a method of operating a refrigeration system (100), the method comprising:
turning on a work recovery device (30);
causing the work recovery device (30), while turned on (see at least figs. 1-2), to:
receive (from 3), at a first inlet (top right inlet of 31), a flow of refrigerant (see arrows) cooled by a gas cooler (2);
reduce a pressure (e.g., via at least friction) of the first flow of refrigerant (from 3); and
provide (to 4, 5), from a first outlet (bottom right outlet of 31), the first flow of refrigerant to a flash tank (6);
wherein the work recovery device (30) comprises one of a rotating device (33), or an expander (38).
As per claim 10, Newel discloses causing the flow of the refrigerant (via 3) from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31), wherein the refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) comprises vapor refrigerant (i.e., cooled gas).
As per claim 11, Newel discloses wherein the refrigerant provided to the gas cooler (2) is supplied (indirectly) from at least one of a first evaporator unit (12) or a second evaporator unit (22) operating in the refrigeration mode (see arrows in at least figs. 1-2).
As per claim 13, Newel discloses at least partially opening a first valve (4) to allow the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31).
As per claim 14, Newel discloses at least partially closing (e.g., ¶ 35) the first valve (4) to prevent the flow of refrigerant from the gas cooler (2) to the work recovery device (at 31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The prior art, when taken as a whole, neither anticipates nor renders prima facie obvious the claimed invention as recited in the aforementioned claims. There are no prior art teachings that would otherwise supplement or substitute the teachings of Newel to arrive at the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach the specific controller configurations claimed therein.
It should also be noted that the intended purpose and operating principles of Newel require the specific arrangement of components as disclosed and described therein. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that any modifications to Newel to arrive at the claimed invention would be based on improper hindsight, and would render it inoperable for its intended purpose. Assuming arguendo, rearranging the fluid lines and reconfiguring the operating parameters of the system would change the principles of operation thereof, since it would require completely redesigning the structure of cooling circuit as a whole, most likely resulting in unexpected and/or unintended results, which is evidence against a prima facie case of obviousness. Thus, a preponderance of evidence supports the allowability of the claims.
Conclusion
/MIGUEL A DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763