DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed August 5, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Claim Interpretation, the Applicants are directed to parent application 18/112,287, Non-Final dated 4/29/24, page 2. Further, the Applicants’ own drawings show the buffer is in parallel (figs 4-8).
The buffer is clearly in parallel with the battery. It is unclear what other orientation/configuration the Applicants contend is included within the disclosure if not a parallel buffer.
The point of providing the Claim Interpretation was to demonstrate that the Applicants’ buffering module does not have distinct input structure and output structure. They are the same electrical node. The claim attempts to define the buffering module by what the input and output can do, not by the structure of the buffer itself (see also 18/112,287, Interview Summary 8/2/24). The “output” is just an electrical node – it has no power control or regulation functionality. Thus, to state that “the output to provide the stored electrical energy [] at a second rate” describes an intended effect and does not carry patentable weight. The actual functionality of providing the second rate is created by the structure of the buffer. The buffer’s physical construction, physical dimensions and/or chemical characteristics determine how quickly it will release stored energy. A specific buffer structure will create the conditions necessary for a limited maximum energy discharge that is the second rate.
The Applicants, however, are incorrectly giving the output this second rate providing ability. This makes the language ineffective to positively recite the subject matter they contend is present.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicants’ comments rely on an incomplete reading of Jain. When the Jain buffer discharges its stored electrical energy to the panel output 262 – this energy is then transferred to the adjusted panel output 232. The energy from the buffer (252) does not go back into the solar panel (260). Jain could have been clearer in its disclosure, but energy from the buffer (252) to the panel output (262) has nowhere to go but to the right (towards the control system output). As the Applicants acknowledge, the control system provides power to battery 270 (i.e. at the buffering module output).
Regarding Jain’s discharge rate, the solar panel and the buffer combine to provide the battery with equal to or less than its maximum charge current (par 30). Therefore, the buffer’s discharge rate (the second rate) is less than the maximum charge current (threshold charging rate) of the battery. If A + B is ≤ C, and A > 0; then B is < C. (A is the solar output rate; B is the buffer output rate; C is the battery threshold rate).
Regarding claim 5, Jain discloses that the voltage limiting element (240) provides power to the battery system (270) with excess power being absorbed by the energy storage (250; par 29). Thus, if Jain is providing maximum charge to the battery and charging this battery (270), then the output of the voltage limiting element (240) is at a rate above the battery charging threshold rate.
Regarding claim 13, the same analysis as claim 5 applies. That the claims use different name (voltage limiting element, current limiting element) does not further narrow the claim. Neither claim defines the structure of these elements, but rather recites the same intended functionality of “to output electrical energy at a second rate…”. They are defined by the same effect and, therefore, can be cited as anticipated by the same Jain component.
The anticipation rejection citing Jain is maintained.
Regarding the §103 rejections in view of Hopf, the Applicants do not actually dispute the limitations for which Hopf was cited. All of the arguments concern the limitations of the independent claims and Jain.
Regarding the alternative §103 rejection of claim 5 in view of Chang, the Applicants repeat the incorrect conclusion that Jain’s storage element (252) does not provide stored energy to the battery 270. This has been addressed above. Further, Jain’s buffer does provide the claimed discharge rate, as discussed above. The Applicants do not otherwise argue against Chang or its combination with Jain. The arguments are limited to Jain’s disclosure.
Regarding the §103 rejections in view of Parameswaran, the Applicants do not actually dispute the limitations for which Parameswaran was cited. All of the arguments concern the limitations of independent claim 13 and Jain.
The art rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
As noted in the prosecution of the parent application, the claimed buffering module (and its buffer) is placed in parallel to the battery. See Non-Final dated 4/29/24, page 2. A capacitor (or supercapacitor) cannot be in series and also buffer energy. The Applicants are also directed to their own figures, which clearly shows the buffer in parallel to the source and battery (shunted across the positive and ground terminals).
The claimed “input” and “output” are the same node. The claim language giving the nodes different names and descriptions of what the energy they are “to receive” or “to provide” does not overcome this interpretation. This common node is a passive piece of conducting metal – it has no inherent control or regulation ability.
The recitation that “the output to provide the stored electrical energy to the battery storage system” implies that the buffer output and battery storage system are connected. But the claim does not clearly state that this is the case. For comparison, the claim explicitly recites that the buffering module is “coupled” to the intermittent power source. No such language about coupling to the battery storage system is present in the claim.
Then, the recitation of “at a second rate that is at or below the threshold…” does not further limit the claim. It is a description of the intended functionality of the output. This does not further limit the output, because it is just a piece of conducting metal. Defining a maximum energy rate for the output does not further limit the claim. Notably because the output is the input, and the input is already conducting energy at the first rate (which is higher than the second rate).
The buffer is the structure that actually creates the energy provision at the second rate. But the claim makes no mention of the buffer’s construction (physical or chemical) to make it so. The claim incorrectly gives the “second rate” ability to the output.
The claims do not require that the buffer produces the second rate. Thus, it is not required for the prior art to disclose a buffer that does so. The prior art is only required to disclose an output that is “to provide” energy at a second (or third) rate. As the output is just a passive electrical node, the hypothetical potential for the recited rate of energy flow would be inherent in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11, 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain (US 2011/0260676).
With respect to claim 1, Jain discloses a system (fig 2; par 3-4, 13, 21-32) comprising:
an intermittent power source (260) to output electrical energy at a first rate that exceeds a threshold charging rate of a battery storage system;
the battery storage system (270); and
a buffering module (205 as a whole, or just 252; par 13, 23, 25, 30) directly coupled to the intermittent power source, the buffering module comprising:
an input (positive terminal on the left side of 205; near where the label “panel output 262” is written) to receive the electrical energy from the intermittent power source,
a buffer (252) electrically coupled to the input, the buffer to temporarily store the electrical energy received from the intermittent power source, and
an output (positive terminal on the right side of 205) electrically coupled to the buffer, the output to provide the stored electrical energy to the battery storage system at a second rate that is at or below the threshold charging rate of the battery storage system (par 30).
Jain discloses the three claimed elements – intermittent (photovoltaic) source, buffer and battery. The source provides power at a first rate (not disputed by the Applicants). The buffer is connected in parallel and has an input/output node that conducts the incoming/outgoing energy.
As noted above, the intended use of the output (how much energy it is “to provide”) does not further limit the claim. Regardless, Jain discloses this. Jain states, “control system 205 performs a ‘maximum current tracking’ for operating a solar panel system 200 [] to increase the current level of the panel output 262 until either the current level reaches a maximum charge current of the battery or the current level reaches a maximum of the power output…” (par 30, emphasis added). Jain uses a buffering module (205) with a buffer (252) to release energy to compensate for decreases in solar power. As the combined solar power and buffer output remains less than the battery system’s threshold charge rate, the buffer output (by itself) would be less than the battery system’s threshold charge rate. If A + B is ≤ C, and A > 0; then B is < C. (A is the solar output rate; B is the buffer output rate; C is the battery threshold rate).
As noted above, the charge storage 252 output is provided to the panel output 262 and, from there, is provided to the battery system 270. Charge storage (buffer) output is not fed back into the solar panel 260, as appears to be alleged by the Applicants.
With respect to claim 2, Jain discloses the threshold charging rate of the battery storage system is a maximum charging rate of the battery storage system (par 3-4). Claim 2 appears to simply change “threshold” to “maximum”. As a threshold is a critical value/limit – it would be understood to already indicate a maximum.
With respect to claim 3, Jain discloses the threshold charging rate of the battery storage system is an optimized charging rate of the battery storage system (par 4). Further, Jain’s system operates to its satisfaction. Thus, it is “optimized”.
With respect to claims 5 and 10-11, Jain discloses the system, as discussed above in the art rejection of claims 1-3, respectively, and further discloses a voltage limiting element (240) coupled to the intermittent power source, the voltage limiting element to output electrical energy at a second rate that is equal to or less than the first rate, the second rate exceeding the threshold charging rate of the battery storage system (par 29).
Jain discloses that its solar module provides sufficient energy to both be equal to the battery system’s threshold charge rate and to recharge storage 250. Therefore, the energy out of the current switch (240) is above the battery system’s threshold charge rate.
With respect to claims 13 and 17-18, Jain discloses the system, as discussed above in the art rejections of claims 1-3, respectively, and further discloses a current limiting element (240) coupled to the intermittent power source, the current limiting element to output electrical energy at a second rate that is equal to or less than the first rate, the second rate exceeding the threshold charging rate of the battery storage system (par 29). Claim 13 repeats the language of claim 5, except that it renames “voltage limiting element” as “current limiting element”. This name does not impart any structural differences into the claim. Both claims 5 and 13 define the limiting element by producing exactly the same functionality. Thus, they are both anticipated by Jain’s current switch 240.
With respect to claims 14, Jain discloses the current limiting element is adjusted using a maximum power point tracking (MPPT) algorithm (par 13, 20, 31).
With respect to claim 16, Jain discloses the current limiting element is connected in parallel with the buffering module (see fig 2). The path from the buffering module input (at 262) through the buffer (252) in in parallel with the path from the buffering module input through the current limiting element (240) and storage devices (250 and/or 270).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Hopf (US 2018/0351015).
Jain discloses the buffer is a capacitor, but does not expressly disclose a supercapacitor. Hopf discloses a solar power system and the equivalence of using a capacitor or supercapacitor as an energy storage element (par 24).
Jain and Hopf are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely solar power systems with energy storage. At the time of the earliest priority date of the application, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the Jain capacitor with a supercapacitor, as taught by Hopf. The motivation for doing so would have been to realize the expected benefits of the supercapacitor. Hopf does not disclose any hardships in switching between the different energy storage options.
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Chang (US 2019/0058351).
As an alternative rejection for claim 5, Jain discloses the system (see art rejection of claim 1), but does not expressly disclose the voltage limiting element. Chang discloses a system (fig 1-2; par ) comprising:
an intermittent power source (22) to output electrical energy at a first rate;
a voltage limiting element (D3 and/or D1) coupled to the intermittent power source, the voltage limiting element to output electrical energy at a second rate that is equal to or less than the first rate (obvious function of the diodes as “voltage limiting” elements); and
a buffering module (C1-C3) coupled to the voltage limiting element, the buffering module comprising:
an input (positive node above Cn) to receive the electrical energy from the voltage limiting element,
a buffer (C1-C3) electrically coupled to the input, the buffer to temporarily store the electrical energy received from the intermittent power source, and
an output (positive node above Cn) electrically coupled to the buffer, the output to provide electrical energy.
Chang discloses combining a solar power generation system with voltage regulation elements (diodes). While Chang does not disclose providing the solar power to a battery, this feature (and the regulation of that power to below the battery’s maximum charging rate) is taught by Jain.
Jain and Chang are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely solar power systems. At the time of the earliest priority date of the application, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Jain to include a voltage limiting element, as taught by Chang. The motivation for doing so would have been to regulate power flow from the source. The skilled artisan would have understood the benefits of using diodes in a circuit and would have been motivated to add them to Jain, in the locations taught by Chang.
With respect to claim 6, Chang discloses the voltage limiting element is a Zener diode (D1).
With respect to claim 7, Chang discloses the voltage limiting element is a Schottky diode (D3).
With respect to claim 8, Chang discloses the voltage limiting element (D3) is connected in series between the intermittent power source and the buffering module.
With respect to claim 9, Chang discloses the voltage limiting element (D1) is connected in parallel with the buffering module.
With respect to claims 10-11, Jain discloses the recited limitations, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 12, Chang discloses the buffer is a supercapacitor (C1-C3).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Parameswaran (US 2012/0173031).
For the purpose of the art rejection of claim 15, the Jain current limiting element is interpreted as current sensor 220. Jain discloses the current limiting element is in series between the intermittent power source and the buffering module (see fig 2). Jain discloses a current sensor, but does not expressly disclose it includes a series-resistor. Parameswaran discloses that it is known to construct current sensors with an in-series resistor (fig 1, item 112; par 30). The Applicants’ specification discloses that the current limiting element is a resistor (par 70). Thus, the references’ teachings satisfies the limitation in claim 15.
Jain and Parameswaran are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely solar power systems with current limiters. At the time of the earliest priority date of the application, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the sensor taught by Jain to include a resistor, as taught by Parameswaran. The motivation for doing so would have been to build a sensor with a known and proven design.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADI AMRANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836