DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “support part”, “pressing part”, “fastening part”, “body coupling part” and “body moving part” in claim 1; “fastening part” in claim 2; “support part”, in claims 3 and 5; “fixing part” in claim 8; “pressing part” and “support part” in claims 9 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20120091799 (hereinafter KR’799) in view of Park (US 2015/0020419).
Regarding claim 1, KR’799 teaches a laundry treating apparatus (fig. 1, apparatus 100) comprising:
a cabinet (fig. 1) having an accommodation space (fig. 1, unit 1) for accommodating laundry;
a door (fig. 1, door 3) configured to open and close the accommodation space;
a support part (fig. 7, support part 911); the support part being configured to support one surface of the laundry;
a pressing part (fig. 7, pressing plate 931) configured to press the laundry towards the support part (machine translation, para. [0130]);
a shaft (fig. 7, shaft 917) configured to rotate the pressing part (fig. 7, machine translation, para. [0140], [0146], shaft 917 is coupled to hinge 951 to rotate the pressing part toward the support part) to a position where the pressing part faces the support part while being spaced apart from the support part by a predetermined distance (machine translation, para. [0143], as the pressing plate body 931 can be moved by the slot 9513 provided in the detachable hinge 951, the pressing plate is spaced apart from the support part to prevent the wrinkles from being damaged);
a fastening part (annotated fig. 7 below, extension part of support part 911) provided in the door or the support part to couple the shaft to the door or the support part (machine translation, para. [0132], [0140], [0144], shaft 917 is rotated in the annotated fastening part);
a body coupling part (fig. 7, shaft 937) coupled to the pressing part; and
a body moving part (fig. 7, hinge 952) configured to connect the body coupling part to the shaft,
wherein the pressing part is able to move toward the support part for laundry to be pressed between the pressing part and the support part (machine translation, para. [0140], [0146]).
KR’799 does not clearly teach the support part coupled to one surface of the accommodation space or to an inner surface of the door.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches the support part coupled to one surface of the accommodation space or to an inner surface of the door (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support part of KR’799 to be coupled to one surface of the accommodation space or to an inner surface of the door as suggested by Park for the benefit of saving space and energy in performing washing, drying, deodorization, wrinkle removal, and the like related to the laundry.
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches the fastening part is configured to provide a space for the shaft to be rotatable (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0132], [0140], [0144]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a first portion of the pressing part where the shaft is coupled to (KR’799, fig. 7, a right side of the pressing plate 931) and a second portion of the pressing part (KR’799, fig. 7, a left side of the pressing plate 931) that is an opposite side of the first portion are configured to move simultaneously towards the support part (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0143], it is possible to move the pressing plate body 931 in the direction of the supporting plate body 911 after alignment, thereby preventing the wrinkles of the clothes from being damaged as the pressing plate body 931 can be moved by the slot 9513 provided in the detachable hinge 951).
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches the first portion of the pressing part is one of a left side and a right side of the pressing part, and the second portion of the pressing part is the other one of the left side and the right side of the pressing part (KR’799, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches the first portion and the second portion of the pressing part are configured to move simultaneously away from the support part (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0143], by slot 9513).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a groove (KR’799, fig. 7, groove 913) provided in the support part in a height direction of the support part, wherein the groove extends from an upper end of the support part to a lower end of the support part (KR’799, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a groove (KR’799, fig. 7, element 933) provided in the pressing part in a height direction of the pressing part.
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a fixing part (KR’799, fig. 2, bar 53) provided in the accommodation space or the door and located above the support part to place the laundry on the accommodation space or the door.
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a moisture supply part (KR’799, fig. 1, para. [0027], supply unit 2 having a device for supplying air or water) configured to supply steam or mist to the laundry located between the pressing part and the support part (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a through-hole (KR’799, fig. 7, element 933 is a through-hole) formed through the pressing part, wherein the moisture supply part is further configured to supply steam or mist to the accommodation space (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches an air supply part (KR’799, fig. 1, para. [0027], supply unit 2 having a device for supplying air or water) configured to supply heated or unheated air to the laundry located between the pressing part and the support part (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure KR’799-Park teaches a through-hole (KR’799, fig. 7, element 933 is a through-hole) formed through the pressing part, and wherein the air supply configured to supply heated or unheated air to the accommodation space (KR’799, machine translation, para. [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03/06/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03/06/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection to the claims has been withdrawn due to the applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, dated 03/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented. Thus, the amended limitations have been addressed as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732