DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu (US 8851956).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses a plant cover device comprising: an upper end comprising a sealed contiguous apex and defining a plant-receiving cavity therein (uppermost portion of canopy 20, col. 4, ll. 18-20, fig. 1a); a lower tubular end opposite the upper end (side tent fabric 50, col. 4, ll. 57-60, fig. 1a); a medial annular ring-shaped seam coupled between the upper end and the lower tubular end and extending around a peripheral edge of the plant-receiving cavity (sleeve 12, col. 4, ll. 14-17, fig. 1a); the upper end comprising an upper major mesh surface (mesh 212, fig. 1a), and a seam extending along a peripheral edge of the upper major mesh surface (edge attaching mesh 212 to canopy 20, fig. 1a); the lower tubular end comprising a lower major mesh surface (mesh 52, fig. 1a) and having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (top portion and bottom portion of side tent fabric 50, fig. 1a), the first end being coupled to the medial annular ring-shaped seam (upper portion of side tent fabric 50 is coupled to canopy 20, col. 4, ll. 60-62, fig. 1a), the lower tubular end also partially defining the plant-receiving cavity therein (fig. 1a); and a flexible rod carried within the medial annular ring-shaped seam (main spring wire 11, col. 4, ll. 15-17).
Regarding claim 2, Niu discloses wherein the second end of the lower tubular end comprises a solid section at a lowermost end of the lower tubular end (sleeve 42, col. 4, ll. 62-64, fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 5, Niu discloses wherein the flexible rod comprises a loop-shaped support (col. 4, ll. 15-16, fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Niu discloses wherein the flexible rod comprises a single piece flexible rod (main spring wire 11 extends around canopy 20, fig. 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 9, Niu discloses wherein each of the upper major mesh surface and the lower major mesh surface has water permeability and light transmissivity, and prevents intrusion by insects (light and water can enter the playhouse through openings 211 and openings 51A and the nets would prevent insects from entering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu.
Regarding claim 3, Niu teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the solid section is opaque to visible light radiation and waterproof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a solid section, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. 4.
Regarding claim 8, Niu teaches the invention substantially as claimed and further teaches wherein each of the upper major mesh surface and the lower major mesh surface comprises a plurality of mesh openings (nets 212, col. 4, ll. 26-28 and nets 52, col. 4, ll. 65-67) but fails to teach each opening having a diameter of less than 300µm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date to make the different portions of the net of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, in order to appeal to large variety of user. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 21, Niu teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the medial annular ring-shaped seam includes an outer mesh piece, and an annular sleeve coupled to the outer mesh piece. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date to make the different portions of the seam of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, in order to allow a large variety of wires to be positioned within the sleeve. A change in ornamental design having no mechanical function is an aesthetic design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu in view of Brady (US 5137044).
Regarding claim 4, Niu teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein the second end of the lower tubular end comprises a drawstring coupled at a lowermost end of the lower tubular end. However, Brady teaches a drawstring coupled to a tubular end (drawstring 31, col. 6, ll. 6-7, fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Niu’s system with a drawstring as taught by Brady to allow the device to be easily stored away when not in use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-16, 18-20 and 22 are allowed.
The prior art fail to disclose wherein each of the upper major mesh surface and the lower major mesh surface comprises colored mesh material to selectively diffract at least one spectral portion of visible light radiation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, and 18-22 under 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Niu (US 8851956).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647