DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 10/07/2024. The applicant submits an Information Disclosure Statement dated 10/17/2024. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. The applicant does make a claim for Domestic priority for application with filing dates 01/23/2018 and 02/27/2018. Claims dated 03/17/2025 are examined. Claims 2 – 20 are canceled and claims 21 – 39 are new.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains a double semi-colon after the last “obtaining” clause. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawings do not show two image capture devices. Fig. 1 has items 170 and 175, however, the features are distinctly defined in the specification paragraph 0031. Therefore, the two features of a fixed orientation image orientation capture device and adjustable orientation image capture device must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 21 – 39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,111,659. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept of an unmanned aerial vehicle with a fixed and adjustable imaging device collecting a first and second image that is able to control trajectory of the vehicle based upon correlation of the images with respect to a temporal period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21 - 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris US 2017/0275023 in view of Lee US 2017/0351900.
As per claim 1, An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising:
a fixed orientation image capture device; (Harris paragraph 0042 discloses, “the UAV may include fixed imaging components coupled at each corner junction 131-1, 131-2, 131-3, 131-4 and adjustable imaging components coupled to each side of the UAV.”)
an adjustable orientation image capture device; (Harris paragraph 0041 discloses, “ the UAV also includes an imaging component 150 that is coupled to the frame 104 of the UAV with a gimbal 152. The imaging component 150 is discussed in further detail below with respect to FIG. 2. The gimbal 152 may be a one, two, or three axis gimbal that is used to alter an orientation and/or position of the imaging component 150.”)
a processor configured to execute instruction stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium to control the unmanned aerial vehicle to traverse a portion of an operational environment of the unmanned aerial vehicle using relative image capture device orientation calibration by:
obtaining a first image from the fixed orientation image capture device; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining a second image from the adjustable orientation image capture device; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining feature correlation data based on the first image and the second image; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining current object identification data of an object located within a field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device or the adjustable orientation image capture device; (Lee paragraph 0125 teaches, “The position information may be related to a center point and/or edges of the subject. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the photographing information may include position information and size information of two or more objects. When the object is a person, the photographing information may include position information (in the image) and size information of a body part. The body part may be a face of the person. The body part may include the face and/or part or the entire of the body including the face of the person.”)
obtaining current object motion data from the current object identification data by determining motion of a current object between a temporal sequence of images captured; (Lee paragraph 0159 teaches, “The processor 500 during the flight may track the second object corresponding to the first object using the camera module 560, and capture the second image including the second object at or near the second 3D position so that the second image taken by the unmanned photographing device corresponds to the first image.”) and
a trajectory controller configured to control a trajectory of the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the current object. (Lee paragraph 0164 teaches, “The unmanned photographing device 690 may compare and analyze the calculated composition information and the target composition information received from the electronic device, and autonomously fly to the determined photographing location (a position of the target composition).”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 21, The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
a portion of the field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image overlaps a portion of the field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image; ( Harris paragraph 0056 discloses, “the baseline distance (di) that separates the two visual cameras and the orientation of the cameras with respect to one another are arranged such that at least a portion of the two fields of view 206, 208 overlap to form an effective field of view 210. Objects positioned within the effective field of view 210 are detectable by both visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 and images formed by the two cameras will both include representations of the object within the effective field of view 210.”)
obtaining feature correlation data includes obtaining spatial feature correlation data, wherein obtaining the spatial feature correlation data includes obtaining the spatial feature correlation data such that the spatial feature correlation data indicates a correlation between a feature from the first image and a corresponding feature from the second image; (Harris paragraph 0057 discloses, “the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 are calibrated such that the pixel information for each camera corresponding to portions within the effective field of view 210 are correlated such that image information within the effective field of view from the two paired cameras can be merged and, with knowledge of the baseline distance (di), depth information for objects within the field of view may be generated.”) and
obtaining relative image capture device orientation calibration data includes using five- point relative positioning based on the spatial feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 22, The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
the field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image is non-overlapping with the field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image; (Harris paragraph 0061 discloses, “in other implementations the imaging component 250 may include multiple processing components that operate in conjunction or independently to generate the horizontal dimension, vertical dimension, depth dimension, and thermal dimension for each of the pixels within the effective field of view.”) and
obtaining feature correlation data includes obtaining temporal feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0081 discloses, “the object may be monitored for a period of time to determine whether the object is moving.”)
As per claim 23, The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 1, wherein the current object identification data includes a spatial location, trajectory, or both of the current object. (Lee paragraph 0126 teaches, “The composition information may include information about an object type, an image resolution or size (XY ratio), an object position, an object size, an object orientation, and composition area.”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 24, The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 23, wherein the spatial location is determined by triangulating the current object based on orientation calibration data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 25, The unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 24, wherein obtaining the orientation calibration data includes obtaining relative image capture device orientation calibration data using spatiotemporal calibration based on temporal feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 26, A method comprising: (Harris paragraph 0084 and claims 14 – 20)
controlling, by a processor in response to instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, an unmanned aerial vehicle to traverse a portion of an operational environment of the unmanned aerial vehicle using relative image capture device orientation calibration by: (Harris paragraph 0084 discloses, “the UAV control system 814 includes one or more processors 802, coupled to a memory, e.g., a non-transitory computer readable storage medium 820, via an input/output (I/O) interface 810.”)
obtaining a first image from a fixed orientation image capture device of the unmanned aerial vehicle; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining a second image from an adjustable orientation image capture device of the unmanned aerial vehicle; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining feature correlation data based on the first image and the second image; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining current object identification data of an object located within a field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device or the adjustable orientation image capture device; (Lee paragraph 0125 teaches, “The position information may be related to a center point and/or edges of the subject. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the photographing information may include position information and size information of two or more objects. When the object is a person, the photographing information may include position information (in the image) and size information of a body part. The body part may be a face of the person. The body part may include the face and/or part or the entire of the body including the face of the person.”)
obtaining current object motion data from the current object identification data by determining motion of a current object between a temporal sequence of images captured; (Lee paragraph 0159 teaches, “The processor 500 during the flight may track the second object corresponding to the first object using the camera module 560, and capture the second image including the second object at or near the second 3D position so that the second image taken by the unmanned photographing device corresponds to the first image.”) and
controlling a trajectory of the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the current object. (Lee paragraph 0164 teaches, “The unmanned photographing device 690 may compare and analyze the calculated composition information and the target composition information received from the electronic device, and autonomously fly to the determined photographing location (a position of the target composition).”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 27, The method of claim 26, wherein a portion of the field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image overlaps a portion of a field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image. (Harris paragraph 0056 discloses, “the baseline distance (di) that separates the two visual cameras and the orientation of the cameras with respect to one another are arranged such that at least a portion of the two fields of view 206, 208 overlap to form an effective field of view 210. Objects positioned within the effective field of view 210 are detectable by both visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 and images formed by the two cameras will both include representations of the object within the effective field of view 210.”)
As per claim 28, The method of claim 26, further comprising:
obtaining feature correlation data that includes obtaining spatial feature correlation data, wherein obtaining the spatial feature correlation data includes obtaining the spatial feature correlation data such that the spatial feature correlation data indicates a correlation between a feature from the first image and a corresponding feature from the second image; (Harris paragraph 0061 discloses, “in other implementations the imaging component 250 may include multiple processing components that operate in conjunction or independently to generate the horizontal dimension, vertical dimension, depth dimension, and thermal dimension for each of the pixels within the effective field of view.”) and
obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data includes using five-point relative positioning based on the spatial feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0081 discloses, “the object may be monitored for a period of time to determine whether the object is moving.”)
As per claim 29, The method of claim 28, wherein a field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image is non-overlapping with a field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image. (Harris paragraph 0057 discloses, “the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 are calibrated such that the pixel information for each camera corresponding to portions within the effective field of view 210 are correlated such that image information within the effective field of view from the two paired cameras can be merged and, with knowledge of the baseline distance (di), depth information for objects within the field of view may be generated.”)
As per claim 30, The method of claim 26, wherein the current object identification data includes a spatial location, trajectory, or both of the current object. (Lee paragraph 0126 teaches, “The composition information may include information about an object type, an image resolution or size (XY ratio), an object position, an object size, an object orientation, and composition area.”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 31, The method of claim 30, wherein the spatial location is determined by triangulating the current object based on orientation calibration data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 32, The method of claim 31, wherein obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data includes obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data using spatiotemporal calibration based on temporal feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 33, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising processor- executable instructions for controlling, by a processor in response the instructions, an unmanned aerial vehicle to traverse a portion of an operational environment of the unmanned aerial vehicle using relative image capture device orientation calibration by:
obtaining a first image from a fixed orientation image capture device of the unmanned aerial vehicle; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining a second image from an adjustable orientation image capture device of the unmanned aerial vehicle; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining feature correlation data based on the first image and the second image; (Harris paragraph 0014 discloses, “the imaging component may include a first camera and a second camera that are separated by a known baseline distance such that a field of view of the first camera overlaps with at least a portion of the field of view of the second camera. The first camera and the second camera are configured to form images using visible light.”)
obtaining current object identification data of an object located within a field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device or the adjustable orientation image capture device; (Lee paragraph 0125 teaches, “The position information may be related to a center point and/or edges of the subject. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the photographing information may include position information and size information of two or more objects. When the object is a person, the photographing information may include position information (in the image) and size information of a body part. The body part may be a face of the person. The body part may include the face and/or part or the entire of the body including the face of the person.”)
obtaining current object motion data from the current object identification data by determining motion of a current object between a temporal sequence of images captured;; (Lee paragraph 0159 teaches, “The processor 500 during the flight may track the second object corresponding to the first object using the camera module 560, and capture the second image including the second object at or near the second 3D position so that the second image taken by the unmanned photographing device corresponds to the first image.”) and
controlling a trajectory of the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the current object. (Lee paragraph 0164 teaches, “The unmanned photographing device 690 may compare and analyze the calculated composition information and the target composition information received from the electronic device, and autonomously fly to the determined photographing location (a position of the target composition).”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 34, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 33, wherein a portion of the field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image overlaps a portion of a field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image. (Harris paragraph 0056 discloses, “the baseline distance (di) that separates the two visual cameras and the orientation of the cameras with respect to one another are arranged such that at least a portion of the two fields of view 206, 208 overlap to form an effective field of view 210. Objects positioned within the effective field of view 210 are detectable by both visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 and images formed by the two cameras will both include representations of the object within the effective field of view 210.”)
As per claim 35, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 33, wherein:
obtaining feature correlation data includes obtaining spatial feature correlation data, wherein obtaining the spatial feature correlation data includes obtaining the spatial feature correlation data such that the spatial feature correlation data indicates a correlation between a feature from the first image and a corresponding feature from the second image; (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”) and
obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data includes using five-point relative positioning based on the spatial feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 36, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35, wherein the field of view of the fixed orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the first image is non-overlapping with a field of view of the adjustable orientation image capture device corresponding to capturing the second image. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 37, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 33, wherein the current object identification data includes a spatial location, trajectory, or both of the current object. (Lee paragraph 0126 teaches, “The composition information may include information about an object type, an image resolution or size (XY ratio), an object position, an object size, an object orientation, and composition area.”)
Harris discloses combining depth and thermal information for object detection and avoidance. Harris does not disclose controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Lee teaches of controlling trajectory relative to a current object. Therefore, at the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the teachings of Lee et.al. into the invention of Harris. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure maintaining the camera on the target.
As per claim 38, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 37, wherein the spatial location is determined by triangulating the current object based on orientation calibration data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
As per claim 39, The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 38, wherein obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data includes obtaining the relative image capture device orientation calibration data using spatiotemporal calibration based on temporal feature correlation data. (Harris paragraph 0059 discloses, “in addition to calibrating the two visual cameras 202-1, 202-2 so that depth information can be obtained, the IR camera 204 is also calibrated so that the pixel information within the effective field of view 210 that is encompassed by the field of view of view of the IR camera 204 is correlated with the pixel information of the IR camera 204.”)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664