DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to application no. 18/908,223 filed on 10/07/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed on 10/07/2024 is considered.
The drawings filed on 10/07/2024 is noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1, 8, 15, and all dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the limitation of: “receiving from an access point, a first transmission indicating that one or more STAs intends to perform sectorized operation”.
The limitation of receiving from an access point, a first transmission indicating that one or more STAs intends to perform sectorized operation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claims preclude the steps from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one additional element – using a station transmit a first transmission indicating one or more other STAs intends to perform sectorized operation in a sector to perform both receiving and indicating steps. The station in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer configured to support coordinated and cooperative sectorized transmissions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
In the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of sending, to the AP, a second transmission indicating that the STA is incapable of supporting the sectorized operation. Thus, taken alone, the additional element fails to ensure the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US PG PUB 2015/0139116).
As per claims 1, 3, and 5-7, wang discloses a sector discovery method of an access point (AP) in a wireless local area.
A method comprising:
Receiving, from access point, a first transmission indicating that one or more other STAs intends to perform sectorized operation in a sector; and sending, to the AP, a second transmission indicating that the STA is incapable of supporting the sectorized operation (see., figs 1-4, paragraphs 0001-0038).
As per claim 2, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as stated in 1 above, the second transmission enables the AP to configure a network allocation vector (NAV) for the sectorized operation with the one or more other STAs (see., paragraph 0015).
As per claims 8, 10, and 12-14, Wang discloses a sector discovery method of an access point (AP) in a wireless local area.
A receiver, configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a first transmission indicating that one or more other STAs intend to perform sectorized operation in a sector; and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the AP, a second transmission indicating that the STA is incapable of supporting the sectorized operation (see., Figs 1-4, paragraphs 0001-0038).
As per claim 9, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as stated in 1 above, the second transmission enables the AP to configure a network allocation vector (NAV) for the sectorized operation with the one or more other STAs (see., paragraph 0015).
As per claims 15, 17, and 19-20, Wang discloses a sector discovery method of an access point (AP) in a wireless local area.
A transmitter configured to transmit, to a station (STA), a first transmission indicating that one or more other STAs will perform sectorized operation in a sector; and a receiver configured to receive, from the STA, a second transmission indicating that the STA is incapable of supporting the sectorized operation (see., paragraphs 0001-0036).receiver, configured to receive, from an access point (AP), a first transmission indicating that one or more other STAs intend to perform sectorized operation in a sector; and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the AP, a second transmission indicating that the STA is incapable of supporting the sectorized operation (see., Figs 1-4, paragraphs 0001-0038).
As per claim 16, Wang discloses the claimed limitations as stated in 1 above, the second transmission enables the AP to configure a network allocation vector (NAV) for the sectorized operation with the one or more other STAs (see., paragraph 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US PG PUB 2015/0139116) in view of Kwon et al. (US PG PUB 2013/0272137).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18 wang discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claims 1 and 3 above.
Wang disclose NDP frames but fails to disclose wherein the CTS frame is a short CTS null data packet.
However, Kwon teaches wherein each NDP frame includes short Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) information of the AP, the short BSSID information has a length shorter than a full BSSID of the AP (Figure 1, 4 and 8; Paragraph [0027-0028 and 0033] partial BSSID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Kwon. Kwon provides a solution which enables determining a partial basic service set identification number by the access point so as to avoid using the basic service set identification number as another access point (Kwon Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0009 and 0040]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Hu Kang can be reached on 571 270 1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PIERRE E ELISCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715