DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims filed on 6/30/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Current Application:
1. A converter comprising:
a housing including an inner space; and electronic components disposed in the inner space;
wherein the housing includes:
a first pipe disposed on an outer surface of the housing and comprising a first- first pipe and a first-second pipe disposed in parallel to and spaced apart from each other;
a second pipe coupled at both ends thereof to the first-first pipe and the first- second pipe, respectively, and
wherein a gap is formed between the housing and the second pipe.
2. The converter according to claim 1, wherein the first pipe is formed integrally with the housing.
3. The converter according to claim 1, further comprising a heat dissipation plate interposed between the outer surface of the housing and upper and lower surfaces thereof, the heat dissipation plate being in contact with an outer surface of the housing and an outer surface of the second pipe, respectively.
4. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a lengthwise direction of the first pipe is formed in a first direction that is a straight line direction.
5. The converter according to claim 4, wherein the second pipe includes a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
6. The converter according to claim 5, wherein the first coupling part is disposed inside the first-first pipe, and wherein the second coupling part is disposed inside the first-second pipe.
7. The converter according to claim 5, wherein a cross section of a region connecting the connection part and the first coupling part and connecting the connection part and the second coupling part is curved.
8. The converter according to claim 1, wherein an inlet port is coupled to one end of the first-first pipe, and wherein an outlet port is coupled to one end of the first-second pipe.
9. The converter according to claim 8, wherein a material of the inlet port and the outlet port is different from that of the first pipe.
10. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
11. The converter according to claim 1, wherein the housing includes a first side surface and a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface, wherein a cross-sectional area of the first side surface is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second side surface, and wherein a longitudinal direction of the first pipe is parallel to the first side surface of the housing.
12. The converter according to claim 11, wherein one end of the first pipe forms an imaginary coplanar surface with the second side surface of the housing.
13. The converter according to claim 1, wherein the electronic components are disposed to overlap the first pipe or the second pipe.
14. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of a passage in the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a passage in the second pipe.
15. A converter comprising:
a housing including an inner space; electronic components disposed in the inner space;
a first pipe disposed on an outer surface of the housing and comprising a first-first pipe and a first-second pipe disposed in parallel to and spaced apart from each other; and
a second pipe coupled at both ends thereof to the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively,
wherein the first pipe is formed integrally with the housing, and wherein the second pipe is separable from the housing and the first pipe.
16. The converter according to claim 15, further including a heat dissipation plate interposed between the outer surface of the housing and upper and lower surfaces thereof, the heat dissipation plate being in contact with an outer surface of the housing and an outer surface of the second pipe, respectively.
17. The converter according to claim 15, wherein a lengthwise direction of the first pipe is formed in a first direction that is a straight line direction.
18. The converter according to claim 17, wherein the second pipe includes a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
19. The converter according to claim18, wherein the first coupling part is disposed inside the first-first pipe, and wherein the second coupling part is disposed inside the first-second pipe.
Patent 12,143,006:
1. A converter comprising:
a housing including an inner space; electronic components disposed in the inner space;
a first pipe disposed on an outer surface of the housing and comprising a first-first pipe and a first-second pipe disposed in parallel to and spaced apart from each other; and
a second pipe coupled at both ends thereof to the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, wherein the first pipe is formed integrally with the housing, wherein the second pipe is separable from the housing and the first pipe, wherein the first pipe is connected to the outer surface of the housing, and wherein a gap is formed between the outer surface of the housing and the second pipe.
2. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a heat dissipation plate is interposed between the outer surface of the housing and an outer surface of the second pipe, and wherein an upper surface of the heat dissipation plate is in contact with the outer surface of the housing and a lower surface of the heat dissipation plate is in contact with the outer surface of the second pipe.
3. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a lengthwise direction of the first pipe is formed in a first direction that is a straight line direction.
4. The converter according to claim 3, wherein the second pipe includes a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
5. The converter according to claim 4, wherein the first coupling part is disposed inside the first-first pipe, and wherein the second coupling part is disposed inside the first-second pipe.
6. The converter according to claim 4, wherein a cross section of a region connecting the connection part and the first coupling part and connecting the connection part and the second coupling part is curved.
7. The converter according to claim 1, wherein an inlet port is coupled to one end of the first-first pipe, and wherein an outlet port is coupled to one end of the first-second pipe.
8. The converter according to claim 7, wherein a material of the inlet port and the outlet port is different from that of the first pipe.
9. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
10. The converter according to claim 1, wherein the housing includes a first side surface and a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface, wherein a cross-sectional area of the first side surface is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second side surface, and wherein a longitudinal direction of the first pipe is parallel to the first side surface of the housing.
11. The converter according to claim 10, wherein one end of the first pipe forms an imaginary coplanar surface with the second side surface of the housing.
12. The converter according to claim 1, wherein the electronic components are disposed to overlap the first pipe or the second pipe.
13. The converter according to claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of a passage in the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a passage in the second pipe.
14. A converter comprising:
a housing including an inner space; an electronic component disposed in the inner space;
a first-first pipe disposed on an outer surface of the housing; a first-first pipe disposed on the outer surface of the housing and spaced apart from and parallel to the first-first pipe;
a second pipe having both ends coupled to the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe; and a heat dissipation plate disposed between the housing and the second pipe,
wherein the first pipe is formed integrally with the housing, wherein the second pipe is separable from the housing and the first pipe, wherein the first pipe is connected to the outer surface of the housing, and wherein a gap is formed between the outer surface of the housing and the second pipe.
15. The converter according to claim 14, wherein a lengthwise direction of the first pipe is formed in a first direction that is a straight line direction, and
wherein the second pipe includes a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
16. The converter according to claim 14, wherein a cross-sectional area of the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
17. The converter according to claim 15, wherein a cross section of a region connecting the connection part and the first coupling part and connecting the connection part and the second coupling part is curved.
Claims 1, 3-15, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,006 in view of IIJIMA U.S. Pub. 2011/0110043.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,006 teaches most of claimed limitations of claim 1 of the current application. Except a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, wherein both ends of the second pipe are inserted into inner spaces of the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, and wherein the gap is formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe. (see above claim comparison table).
IIJIMA teaches a similar structure wherein a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a first pipe (57; figure 3) is smaller than a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a second pipe (59; figure 3), wherein one end of the first pipe is inserted (see above figure 3) into inner spaces of the second pipe.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the converter of claim 1 of the current application such that it would comprise a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, wherein both ends of the second pipe are inserted into inner spaces of the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, as suggested by IIJIMA, for the ease of part replacement. Such modification would result in a gap being formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,006 teaches most of claimed limitations of claim 15 of the current application. Except a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, and wherein the gap is formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
IIJIMA teaches a similar structure wherein a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a first pipe (57; figure 3) is smaller than a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a second pipe (59; figure 3), wherein one end of the first pipe is inserted (see above figure 3) into inner spaces of the second pipe.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the converter of claim 15 of the current application such that wherein a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, as suggested by IIJIMA, for the ease of part replacement. Such modification would result a gap being formed between the housing and the second pipe, and wherein the gap would be formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weltsch et al. U.S. Pub. 2020/0006884 in view of IIJIMA U.S. Pub. 2011/0110043.
Regarding claim 1, Weltsch et al. teaches a converter (intended use) comprising:
a housing (14; figure 1) including an inner space (space inside 14); and
electronic components (implicitly taught) disposed in the inner space; wherein the housing includes:
a first pipe (18; figure 1) disposed on an outer surface (upper surface of 14; see figure 1) of the housing and comprising a first- first pipe (see above annotated figure 1) and a first-second pipe (see above annotated figure 1) disposed in parallel (see figure 1) to and spaced apart (see figure 1) from each other;
a second pipe (see above annotated figure 1) coupled at both ends (see figure 1) thereof to the first-first pipe and the first- second pipe, respectively, and wherein a gap (the space accommodates plate 22; see figure 1 ) is formed between the housing (14) and the second pipe.
However, Weltch et al. does not specifically teach a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, wherein both ends of the second pipe are inserted into inner spaces of the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, and wherein the gap is formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
IIJIMA teaches a similar structure wherein a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a first pipe (57; figure 3) is smaller than a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a second pipe (59; figure 3), wherein one end of the first pipe is inserted (see above figure 3) into inner spaces of the second pipe.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the converter of Weltch et al. such that it would comprise a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, wherein both ends of the second pipe are inserted into inner spaces of the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, as suggested by IIJIMA, for the ease of part replacement. Such modification would result in a gap being formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
Regarding claim 3, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1, further comprising a heat dissipation plate (22; figure 1) disposed between the outer surface of the housing (14) and upper surface (upper surface of 22; figure 1) of the second pipe.
Regarding claim 4, Weltsch in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1, wherein a lengthwise (see above figure 1 of Weltsch) direction of the first pipe is formed in a first direction (see above annotated figure 1 of Weltsch) that is a straight line direction.
Regarding claim 8, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1, wherein an inlet port (32; figure 1) is coupled to one end (see figure 1) of the first-first pipe, and wherein an outlet port (29; figure 1) is coupled to one end of the first-second pipe.
Regarding claim 11, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1, wherein the housing further includes a first side surface (surface of long side of 14; figure 1) and a second side surface (surface of short side of 14; figure 1) adjacent to the first side surface, wherein a cross-sectional area (implicitly taught) of the first side surface is greater (implicitly taught; since the first side has larger surface than the second side) than a cross-sectional area (implicitly taught) of the second side surface, and wherein a longitudinal direction (direction along the long side of 14) of the first pipe is parallel to the first side surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 12, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 11, wherein one end (where a coupling forms at the imaginary coplanar surface; see above annotated figure 1) of the first pipe forms an imaginary coplanar surface with the second side surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above, Weltsch in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1.
Even though, Weltsch in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach that the first pipe is formed integrally with the housing, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to integrally form said first pipe with the housing, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formally been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art, to minimize part assembly. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 8.
Even though, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach wherein a material of the inlet port and the outlet port is different from that of the first pipe, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use different material for the inlet/outlet ports from the first pipe, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1.
Even though, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach wherein a cross-sectional area of the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pipe, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a cross-sectional area of the first pipe to be larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pipe, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, to provide male-female couplings. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13,as mentioned above, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1.
Even though, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach that the electronic components are disposed to overlap the first pipe or the second pipe, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to arrange or rearrange the electronic components such that they would be disposed to overlap the first/second pipe to optimize heat dissipation, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 1.
Even though, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach wherein a cross-sectional area of a passage in the first pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a passage in the second pipe, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a cross-sectional area of a passage in the first pipe to be larger than a cross-sectional area of a passage in the second pipe, to establish male-female couplings, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, to provide male-female couplings. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Weltsch et al. teaches a converter (intended use) comprising:
a housing (14; figure 1) including an inner space (space inside 14);
electronic components (implicitly taught) disposed in the inner space;
a first pipe (18; figure 1) disposed on an outer surface (upper surface of 14; figure 1) of the housing and comprising a first-first pipe (see above annotated figure 1)and a first-second pipe (see above annotated figure 1) disposed in parallel to and spaced apart from each other; and
a second pipe (see above annotated figure 1) coupled at both ends (see figure 1) thereof to the first-first pipe and the first-second pipe, respectively, wherein the first pipe is formed integrally (see above figure 1) with the housing, and wherein the second pipe is separable (see figure 1) from the housing and the first pipe.
However, Weltsch et al. does not specifically teach a gap is formed between the housing and the second pipe, wherein a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, and wherein the gap is formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
IIJIMA teaches a similar structure wherein a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a first pipe (57; figure 3) is smaller than a cross-sectional area (see above figure 3) of a second pipe (59; figure 3), wherein one end of the first pipe is inserted (see above figure 3) into inner spaces of the second pipe.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the converter of Weltch et al. such that wherein a cross-sectional area of the second pipe is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the first pipe, as suggested by IIJIMA, for the ease of part replacement. Such modification would result a gap being formed between the housing and the second pipe, and wherein the gap would be formed due to a difference between the cross-sectional area of the first pipe and the cross-sectional area of the second pipe.
Regarding claim 16, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 15, further comprising a heat dissipation plate (22; figure 1) disposed between the outer surface of the housing (14) and upper surface (upper surface of 22; figure 1) of the second pipe.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in the above rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weltsch et al. U.S. Pub. 2020/0006884 in view of IIJIMA U.S. Pub. 2011/0110043 and in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent 11,304,336.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA teaches the converter according to claim 4.
However, Weltsch et al. in view of IIJIMA does not specifically teach that the second pipe includes a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
Kim et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electronic device, comprises a second pipe includes a connection part (see above annotated figure 2 of Kim et al.) formed in a second direction (see above annotated figure 2 of Kim et al.) perpendicular to the first direction (see above annotated figure 2 of Kim et al.), and a first coupling part (implicitly taught in figure 2) and a second coupling part (implicitly taught in figure 2) respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the second pipe of Weltsh et al. in view of IIJIMA with a connection part formed in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a first coupling part and a second coupling part respectively disposed at both ends of the connection part and formed in the first direction, as suggested by Kim et al., in order to couple said first/second pipes together.
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above, Weltsch in view of IIJIMA/Kim et al. teaches the converter according to claim 5.
However, Weltsch in view of IIJIMA/Kim et al. does not teach wherein the first coupling part is disposed inside the first-first pipe, and wherein the second coupling part is disposed inside the first-second pipe.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that such male/female coupling parts have been commonly known for coupling two parts.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide and dispose the first coupling part inside the first-first pipe of the converter of D1, and to provide and dispose the second coupling part inside the first-second pipe of the converter of Weltsch in view of IIJIMA/Kim et al., as suggested by the Examiner’s Official Notice, for coupling said first pipe and said second pipe together.
Note: See MPEP 2144.03©
if applicant does not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or applicant’s traverse is not adequate, the examiner should clearly indicate in the next Office Action that the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate. If the traverse was inadequate, the examiner should include an explanation as to why it was inadequate.
Since the Applicant did not challenge the Examiner’s above given Official Notice, the above given Official Notice has become the Applicant’s prior art admission.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Weltsch et al. in view of in view of IIJIMA /Kim et al. would result in the converter according to claim 5, wherein a cross section (see figure 1 of Weltsch et al. and figure 2 of Kim et al.) of a region connecting the connection part and the first coupling part and connecting the connection part and the second coupling part is curved (see figure 1 of Weltsch et al. and figure 2 of Kim et al.; since both first and second pipes of Weltsch et al. and of Kim et al. are rounded).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in the above rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in the above rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841